International Exposition of Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industry and Fine Arts

April 1, 1867 - November 3, 1867


Back - List of Pavilions

German Quarter

German Quarter à l'exposition de Paris 1867

We gave the Belgian quarter after the French quarter: we are now giving the German quarter, while waiting for the English quarter. To describe a portion of the Park, with all the various and often disparate establishments that encumber it, we must use the same procedure as to describe one of the transverse streets of the Palace, with the products of different nature and of different matter that border it, in a word, to do as the bee does in a whole flowerbed, touching each flower.

The German quarter is perhaps the most crowded part of the Park. There is a little of every country, minus England. The Orient itself is represented here, not by the Russian tents, but by a Prussian pavilion destined for I don't know which emir of the Idumea. This oriental dwelling, imported from the banks of the Mein, is a rectilinear fantasy, according to the formula. It charms the eye, but leaves it cold. We drew this too deliberate fantasy in one of our previous issues: it has a small lake in front of it, and a well-enamelled lawn, which contributes singularly to the pleasantness of its appearance.

If you want us to take the Prussian oriental pavilion as the central point of our description, here is what we find in the vicinity: turned towards the Palace, the Austrian village, described by us on a general drawing, is close by on our left. This village consists of a brewery in the centre, a wooden building very well laid out, where the waiters of the establishment do not speak French, and where the counter girls learn our language. Around the brewery are various tastefully decorated houses representing the domestic architecture of various provinces of the Austrian Empire. Next to this group is the Württemberg annex, which bears on one of its sides the relief painting about which our collaborator Mr. Simonin has described the wonders of the antediluvian world. The interior of this building is used for the manufacture of wood paper: these Germans have no doubts! Further on, behind us, is the marvellous exhibition of Austrian woods, which M. de La Blanchère also told you about. From there, going up the main avenue towards the Military School, we meet on the right the exhibition of the Northern departments, the garden equipment of the Ménagère, the Travel Bazaar with its tents, the grills and trellises of M. Thiry, and finally, the School of Royal Saxony; on the left, the exhibition of agricultural material of Prussia and North Germany (it is all one), followed by the office of the same confederation, the whole protected, in the vanguard, by the statue of King William of Prussia, on the great alley of Belgium. But, continuing our route along the circular path towards the Military School, we have opposite, next to the Docks of the camp, the offices of the customs handling, where our respectable friend Moréno-Henriquès is enthroned, in the midst of the agricultural and other exhibits that surround him, and having next to it the annex of class 91 which he watches with a father's eye.

We have thus arrived at the door of the Military School. We have before us the great Belgian avenue which leads to the main axis of the Palace, cut in the middle by a corrugated iron roof which overhangs it in all its width, that is to say with an opening of 18.60 metres.

On the German side of this aisle, the Bavarian Fine Arts annex, which contains the magnificent box by M. de Kaulbach, the Reformation, and the Belgian Machinery and Equipment annex are located. We have already mentioned the offices of the German Confederation and the statue of the King of Prussia, which are also located here.

If, from the door of the Military School, we follow the street parallel to the Avenue Lamothe-Piquet, after the annex of class 91 of which we have spoken, we find the large workers' restaurant, of which we have more than once spoken to our readers, and further on, in the same line, the sheds of the gas works and those of the water works.

Here we are at the corner of Avenue Lamothe-Piquet and Avenue Suffren. Following the path parallel to the latter avenue, we see the agricultural annex of Spain, whose rich and severe architecture Mr. Léon Plée has described to you, and further on the elegant Manoëlian palace which serves as an annex to Portugal. Right against the avenue, the sheds that serve as a shelter for French agricultural and food machines stretch out.

This brings us to the Swiss Fine Arts Annex, which has been the subject of a detailed study for us. If we turn our gaze to the right, our eyes take in the various Norwegian, Swedish and Danish buildings, which our readers should also remember.

Further on, in the narrow space between the avenue and the outline of the Palace, are the various Russian buildings, to which we do not think it necessary to return.

In this rapid tour of the German quarter, we have neglected to mention a few establishments that are very interesting in various ways, such as the Prussian primary school, on which we would do well to model ourselves, the home for the insane, which M. Jules Duval gave you such a moving description, the Austrian stud farm in the Austrian village, the Bohemian workers' home, which is not visited as much as it deserves to be, and finally the establishment of bathing apparatus, where the science of bathing is demonstrated with supporting documents. I do not know how an equestrian statue of Don Pedro IV, King of Portugal and first constitutional emperor of Brazil, got lost there, if not to match the Manoëlian palace.

Mr. Ciceri is a more precise and striking topographical indicator with his pencil than I can be with my pen. It is therefore to him that I refer you, dear readers, content to have put a label on each of the establishments that he has represented so well and so faithfully.

I told you at the time about the bells exhibited in the German quarter, on the edge of an alley, and which each walker shook as he passed. These bells are still there: but they have been chained up, to the great relief of those who were annoyed by their perpetual noise.

Note, moreover, that since they are no longer shaken, the German quarter is much more frequented, especially the Viennese brewery.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée

Exposition Universelle de Paris 1867

Agriculture, Industrie et Beaux-Arts

1er Avril 1867 - 3 Novembre 1867


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Quart allemand

Quart allemand à l'exposition de Paris 1867

Nous avons donné le quart belge après le quart français : nous donnons aujourd’hui le quart allemand, en attendant le quart anglais. Pour décrire une portion du Parc, avec tous les établissements divers et souvent disparates qui l’encombrent, il faut employer le même procédé que pour décrire une des rues transversales du Palais, avec les produits de différente nature et de matière différente qui la bordent, en un mot faire comme l'abeille qui butine sur tout un parterre en effleurant chaque fleur.

Le quart allemand est peut-être la portion du Parc la plus encombrée. Il y a un peu de tous les pays, moins l’Angleterre. L’Orient lui-même y est représenté, je ne dis pas par les tentes russes, mais par un pavillon prussien destiné je ne sais à quel émir de l’Idumée. C’est de la fantaisie rectiligne et selon la formule, que cette habitation orientale importée des rives du Mein. Cela charme l’œil pourtant, mais le laisse froid. Nous avons dessiné cette fantaisie trop voulue dans une de nos précédentes livraisons : elle a un petit lac devant elle, et une pelouse bien émaillée, ce qui contribue singulièrement à l’agrément de son aspect.

Si vous voulez que nous prenions le pavillon oriental prussien comme point central de notre description, voici ce que nous trouvons aux alentours : tournés vers le Palais, lé village autrichien, décrit par nous sur un dessin d'ensemble, est tout près à notre gauche. Ce village se compose d’une brasserie au centre, construction en bois fort bien disposée, où les garçons de l’établissement affectent de ne pas parler français, et où les filles de comptoir apprennent notre langue. Autour de la brasserie, sont diverses maisonnettes décorées avec goût qui représentent l’architecture domestique de diverses provinces de l’empire autrichien. A côté de ce groupe se trouve l’annexe du Wurtemberg, qui porte sur un de ses côtés le tableau en relief à propos duquel notre collaborateur M. Simonin vous a décrit les merveilles du monde antédiluvien. L’intérieur de cette construction est affecté à la fabrication du papier de bois : ces Allemands ne doutent de rien ! Plus loin, derrière nous, est la merveilleuse exposition des bois d’Autriche, dont M. de La Blanchère vous a également parlé, A côté, s’élève un trophée de terres cuites bien composé. De là, en remontant la grande allée vers l’École militaire, nous rencontrons à droite l'exposition des departements du Nord, le matériel de jardin de la Ménagère, le Bazar du voyage avec ses tentes, les grilles et treillages de M. Thiry, et enfin, l’École de la Saxe royale; à gauche, l’exposition de matériel agricole de la Prusse et de l’Allemagne du Nord (c’est tout un), suivi du bureau de la même confédération, le tout protégé, à l’avant-garde, par la statue du roi Guillaume de Prusse, sur la grande allée de Belgique. Mais, en poursuivant notre route par l’allée circulaire vers l’École militaire, nous avons en face, à côté des Docks du campement, les bureaux de la manutention de la douane, où trône notre respectable ami Moréno-Henriquès, au milieu des expositions agricoles et autres qui l’entourent, et ayant à côté l’annexe de la classe 91 qu’il surveille d'un œil de père.

Nous sommes arrivés ainsi à la porte de l’École militaire. Nous avons devant nous la grande allée de Belgique qui mène au grand axe du Palais, coupée au milieu par une couverture en tôle ondulée qui la surplombe dans toute sa largeur, c’est-à-dire avec une ouverture de 18m,60.

C’est sur le bord de cette allée, du côté du quart allemand, que sont situées d’abord l’annexe des beaux-arts de la Bavière, qui contient le magnifique carton de M. de Kaulbach, la Réformation, et ensuite l’annexe des machines et équipages de Belgique. Nous avons déjà mentionné les bureaux de la Confédération allemande et la statue du roi de Prusse qui s’y trouvent également.

Si, de la porte de l'École militaire, nous suivons la rue parallèle à l’avenue Lamothe-Piquet, après l’annexe de la classe 91 dont nous avons parlé, nous trouvons le grand restaurant des ouvriers, dont nous avons plus d’une fois entretenu nos lecteurs, et plus loin, sur la même ligne, les hangars des travaux du gaz et de ceux des eaux.

Nous voici à l'angle de l’avenue Lamothe-Piquet et de l’avenue Suffren. En suivant le chemin parallèle à cette dernière avenue, se présente à nos yeux l’annexe agricole de l’Espagne, dont M. Léon Plée vous a décrit l’architecture riche et sévère, et plus loin l’élégant palais Manoëlien qui sert d’annexe au Portugal. Tout contre l’avenue, s’étendent les hangars qui servent d’abri aux machines agricoles et alimentaires françaises.

Nous arrivons ainsi jusqu’à l’annexe des beaux-arts de la Suisse, qui a été pour nous l’objet d’une étude détaillée. Si nous tournons le regard vers la droite, nos yeux embrassent les diverses constructions norwégienne, suédoise et danoise, dont nos lecteurs doivent également se souvenir.

Plus loin, dans l’espace resserré entre l'avenue et le contour du Palais, se trouvent les diverses constructions russes, sur lesquelles il nous paraît inutile de revenir.

Dans ce parcours rapide fait par nous autour du quart allemand, nous avons négligé de mentionner quelques établissements fort intéressants à des titres divers, tels que l’école primaire prussienne sur laquelle nous ferions bien de prendre modèle, la maison des aliénés, dont M. Jules Duval vous a fait une description si émue, le haras d’Autriche dans l’enceinte du village autrichien, la maison d’ouvriers de la Bohême, qu’on ne visite pas autant qu’elle mériterait de l’être, et enfin l’établissement des appareils balnéaires, où la science du bain est démontrée avec pièces à l’appui. Je ne sais comment une statue équestre de Don Pedro IV, roi de Portugal, et premier empereur constitutionnel du Brésil, s'est égarée là, sinon pour faire pendant au palais Manoëlien.

M. Cicéri est un indicateur topographique plus précis et plus saisissant avec son crayon que je ne saurais l’être avec la plume. C’est donc à lui que je vous renvoie, chers lecteurs, me contentant d’avoir mis une étiquette sur chacun des établissements qu’il a si bien et si fidèlement représentés.

Je vous avais parlé dans le temps des cloches exposées dans le quart allemand, sur le bord d’une allée, et que chaque promeneur ébranlait en passant. Ces cloches y sont toujours : mais on les a enchaînées, au grand soulagement de ceux que leur bruit perpétuel agaçait.

Notez, d’ailleurs, que depuis qu’on ne les ébranle plus, le quart allemand est beaucoup plus fréquenté, la brasserie viennoise surtout.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1867 Illustrée