Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

Great Britain

Great Britain at the Exhibition Saint-Louis 1904

England, like France and Germany, preferred to reproduce an official building, and it was the Orangery of the Palais-Royal in Kensington, with part of the famous gardens of Kew, that it chose to give the Americans an idea of its national architecture.

A low, red-brick building, it had neither the elegance of the Trianon nor the imposing mass of Charlottenburg Palace.

The gardens, with their terraces, hedges and pruned boxwood, were not lacking in character, and the whole had the character of those old houses from the time of Queen Anne, at the beginning of the 18th century.

Part of this building was used as offices for the Royal Commission, and the public was only allowed to visit the few salons which were largely furnished with antique furniture of the Queen Anne, Sheraton, Adams, etc., period.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Célébration du centenaire de l'achat du territoire de la Louisiane, le 30 avril 1803

30 avril 1904 - 1er décembre 1904


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Grande Bretagne

Grande Bretagne à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

L'Angleterre, comme la France, comme l'Allemagne, a préférée reproduire un bâtiment officiel, et c'est l'Orangerie du Palais-Royal do kensington, avec une partie des fameux jardins de Kew, qu'elle a choisie pour donner aux Américains une idée de son architecture Nationale.

Construction basse, tout en briques rouges, elle n'avait ni l'élégance du Trianon, ni la masse imposante du Palais de Charlottenburg.

Les jardins, avec terrasses, haies et buis taillés, ne manquaient pas cependant de caractère, et l'ensemble avait bien le cachet de ces vieilles demeures du temps de la reine Anne, au commencement du XVIIIe siècle.

Une partie de ce bâtiment servait de bureaux à la Commission royale, et le public n'était admis à visiter que les quelques salons meublés en grande partie, avec dos objets mobiliers anciens de l'époque Queen-Anne, Sheraton, Adams, etc.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général