Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

France

France at the Exhibition Expo Saint-Louis 1904

Architect(s) : Umbdenstock, Roger Bouvard

As soon as France had sent its official adhesion to the Exhibition, the United States granted it the most important site, 32,000 square metres, and the best situated for the construction of its National Palace.

It was decided that our Pavilion would be a faithful reproduction of the Grand Trianon of Versailles; the architects Umbdenstock, who had distinguished himself in 1900 with his Palais des Armées de Terre et de Mer, and Roger Bouvard fils drew up the plan and presided over the execution.

As it happens in these kinds of affairs, the expenses exceeded the forecasts. A sum of 150,000 francs had been allocated to the French Committee to ensure the construction of a National Palace. The participation of the Beaux-Arts had not been envisaged at that time, nor had it been thought that the importance of the French Section in Saint-Louis would oblige us to build a Palace worthy of our Exhibition and which would not be inferior to those of other nations.

The construction costs alone amounted to more than 380,000 francs, which were covered by two subsidies of 150,000 francs each granted by the Ministry of Commerce and the Ministry of Public Instruction out of the credits made available to them by Parliament: a subsidy of 50,000 francs voted by the City of Paris and another of 25,000 francs granted by the Chamber of Commerce of Paris.

There were only the bare walls. The interior design was entrusted to the Mobilier National, which organised the large Salon d'Honneur. The national manufactures of Sèvres, Gobelins and Beauvais decorated the salons with their marvellous tapestries. For the rest, the State resorted to private initiative. Several rooms were allocated for their Exhibitions to artistic works, which had to install and furnish them themselves, under government control. Three rooms were reserved for the City of Paris, to exhibit art objects and documents relating to the City: the Paris Chamber of Commerce also had its own exhibition. Our most famous artists had contributed their work and the ceilings of Besnard, Géo Roussel, Dubufe, Carrier Belleuse, etc. were admired.

Great houses of locksmiths and furniture makers offered their help and their objects free of charge. Spaces had been reserved for the exhibitions of some of the workers' associations that the Government had subsidised.

The offices of the Commissariat Général were installed in the Pavilion National.

The organisation of the French gardens around the Palais cost 150,000 francs, covered by subsidies from the Ministry of Trade (70,000 francs), the Ministry of Fine Arts (3,000 francs), the Ministry of Agriculture (30,000 francs), and the City of Paris (25,000 francs).

They were laid out by the distinguished head gardener of the City of Paris. M. Vacherot. accompanied by 6 assistants obligingly lent for the occasion. The horticulturists had provided plants, shrubs and also their advice.

In these international jousts, the Pavilion is the nation, it is the tangible emblem of its genius. Our Pavilion was the most noticed and admired of the buildings erected by the various nations. Framed by its immense garden, marvellously designed, the Grand Trianon stood fresh and pink in a green setting, an image of the purity and delicacy of French taste. All the visitors hurried there with a curiosity mixed with a certain instinctive respect which led some of them to discover themselves on entering the House of France.

It was begun in the early months of 1903 and officially inaugurated on 16 May 1904.

In a less imposing situation than the German Pavilion, blinded by the smoke from the factory chimneys of the Machinery Hall, crushed by the Eaux et Forets building, whose unfortunate silhouette formed a background against which it stood out from afar, our National Pavilion nonetheless personified the grace and spirit of France in one of its purest expressions of the end of the 17th century.

No need for its tricolour flag to indicate to any trained eye that this Pavilion, so graceful and so graceful, could only be a manifestation of French genius and taste.

The beautiful monumental gate from the workshops of M. Maison, the French parterres, so well designed and organised by M. Vacherot, the eminent chief gardener of the city of Paris, with their groups and statues, are of the best effect, and perfectly frame the Pavilion which was the joy of all lovers of Versailles and of our past glories*.
The white and pink marble pilasters would have benefited from being a little more old-fashioned, but the whole was certainly a great credit to Messrs G. Umbdenstock and Roger Bouvard, who were responsible for this reconstruction.
The Great Gallery of Honour.

The decoration was entrusted to the Garde-Meuble National, which had sent three marvellous tapestries of the gibelins enhanced with gold, according to the drawings of Van der Meulen of the XVIIth century, and a very beautiful piece of the series of doors of the triumphal chariot with the arms of France and Navarre, according to the drawings of Charles Lebrun.

As magnificent as these pieces are, and as admired as they were, it is regrettable that, as in the case of Sèvres, it was not thought necessary, in high places, to give a place to the modern products of the Gobelins and Beauvais factories, and that their Exhibitions
were placed in a Fine Arts room, mixed with a number of exhibitions by private manufacturers, which did not help to raise the prestige of our national manufactures in the eyes of visitors.

The ceiling of this Gallery, divided into three large panels, was executed by M. Geo Roussel.

Gilded wooden consoles and sheaths supporting busts, including that of the President of the Republic, completed the furnishings of this room, which was covered with tapestries known as "Savonnerie", and whose brocatelle hangings in a pretty blue colour highlighted the tapestries.

Salon of the Manufacture de Sèvres.

What a delightful sensation, full of charm and rest, one felt on entering the Salon reserved for the Manufacture nationale de Sèvres, when one arrived at the Pavilion de Trianon, after a long run through these immense Palaces, many of which seemed to have an unfinished decoration.

Here was an atmosphere of calm harmony, of taste and lightness. Pale blue moire walls, soft in tone, like a morning sky: all around, a frieze of yellow and cream arches connecting with the ceiling; a few ceramic cabochons adorned the arches; a plain beige carpet making the blue and yellow range of the walls sing.

The display cabinets, oh so simple! blond oak bases supporting the large glass panes set in green velvet with a base of delicious blue star, discreetly laminated with metal.

So much for the cage: as for the birds, worthy in every way of their aviary: delicious biscuits "Héro et Léandre", by Gascq: a peasant woman suckling her child, by Dalou, etc., etc.

More authoritative pens than ours will describe the beauty of stoneware, the technique of hard porcelain, the grand feu colours under glaze and over glaze, etc., but what we have to say is that the most important thing is to be able to see the whole picture, But what we have to praise here is the ingenious arrangement of the room, the delicious colouring, the charm and the bliss of coming here to refresh oneself after the daily grind; and we owe a debt of gratitude to the organiser, to the distinguished director of the works of art of the Manufacture de Sèvres, M. Sandier, the devoted collaborator of the museum. Sandier, the Administration's devoted collaborator, Mr. Baumgart, the expression of our sincere admiration and our deep gratitude for the delightful hours we spent in this Salon.

Salons des Arts décoratifs.

Although already known, (this Salon is, in fact, that of the Pavilion of Decorative Arts of the Exhibition of 1900, organized by Geo Hoentschel) one feels, to see it again, a feeling of sharp pleasure as with the sight of an already old friend. The rather simple ensemble does not exclude the decorative and architectural character.

Besnard's delightful panel, "L'Ile heureuse", perhaps even better displayed than in 1900, is still a feast for the eyes.

The hangings of the panels, designed by that delicate artist Karbowski, have also acquired a tone, even more discreet, and harmonise admirably with the softly toned woods.

The somewhat empty display cabinets, in our opinion, occupy the cut sections: in the middle of the room is the table and the few leather upholstered armchairs already seen in 1900.


Salons for decorative artists.


Two Salons had been reserved for modern decorative artists and were entirely organised and decorated by the care and direction of Mr. Dubufe and the Société des artistes décorateurs, in agreement with the Comité français des Expositions à l'étranger and the Société d'Encouragement à l'art et à l'industrie.

While praising and admiring these Salons as they deserve, one may wonder whether they were in the right place and whether it would not have been preferable to exhibit them in the Decoration classes, whose brilliance they would have enhanced; whereas, placed in this reconstitution of a historic and ancient palace, they did not seem to be "the right thing in the right place.

Salons de la Ville de Paris.

The City of Paris occupied no less than three Salons in the right wing of the Palais national. The departments of Architecture, Public Roads, Metropolitan Railways, Public Assistance, etc. formed a technical Exhibition, most instructive, but leaving something to be desired from the artistic point of view after the Grande Galerie and the Salon de la Manufacture de Sèvres. The graphics of the Primary Education and the Exhibition of the Administration of the Mont-de-Piété could, it seems to us, have found a more appropriate setting.

Salon of the Paris Chamber of Commerce.

At the entrance to the left wing, a large Salon had been reserved for the Paris Chamber of Commerce, which had contributed to the expenses of the construction of the Palais national.

This Company had had the happy idea of calling upon several great furniture houses to decorate and furnish this room and to make it, as it were, the Salon and meeting place for the delegates, jurors and exhibitors who found there a meeting room after the toil of the long sessions in the Palaces where their mission called them.

The chalcography of the Louvre, with its beautiful proofs, and the Administration of Coins and Medals, with a collection of its most beautiful and interesting pieces, completed the Salons of the National Pavilion, which formed a corner of France and cast a reflection on the Exhibition of the elegant and spiritual art of the 17th and 18th centuries.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France


France à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

Architecte(s) : Umbdenstock, Roger Bouvard

Dès que la France eut fait parvenir son adhésion officielle à l'Exposition, les Etats-Unis lui accordèrent l'emplacement le plus important, 32.000 mètres carrés, et le mieux situé pour l'édification de son Palais national.

Il fut décidé que notre Pavillon serait une reproduction fidèle du Grand Trianon de Versailles; MM. les architectes Umbdenstock, qui s'était signalé en 1900 par son Palais des Armées de Terre et de Mer, et Roger Bouvard fils dressèrent le plan et présidèrent à l'exécution.

Connue il advient en ces sortes d'affaires, les dépenses dépassèrent les prévisions. Une somme de 150.000 francs avait été allouée au Comité français à charge d'assurer la construction d'un Palais national. On n'avait point envisagé alors la participation des Beaux-Arts, ni songé que l'importance de la Section française à Saint-Louis nous créerait l'obligation d'édifier un Palais digne de notre Exposition et qui ne le cédât en rien à ceux des autres nations.

Les frais de construction seuls montèrent à plus de 380.000 francs, qui furent couvert grâce à deux subventions de 150.000 francs chacune accordées par le Ministère du Commerce et le Ministère de l'Instruction Publique sur les crédits mis à leur disposition par le Parlement: à une subvention de 50.000 francs votée par la Ville de Paris et à une autre de 25.000 francs accordée par la Chambre de Commerce de Paris.

Il n'y avait que les murs nus. L'aménagement intérieur fut confié au Mobilier national qui organisa le grand Salon d'honneur. Les Manufactures nationales de Sèvres, des Gobelins, de Beauvais décorèrent les salons de leurs merveilleuses tapisseries. Pour le reste, l'État eut recours à l'initiative privée. Plusieurs salles furent attribuées pour leurs Expositions à des oeuvres artistiques, qui devaient, sous le contrôle du gouvernement. procéder elles-mêmes à leur installation et à leur aménagement. Trois salles furent réservées à la Ville de Paris, pour y exposer des objets d'art et des documents relatifs à la Ville: la Chambre de Commerce de Paris eut aussi son salon. Nos plus célèbres artistes avaient apporté leur collaboration et on admirait les plafonds de Besnard, de Géo Roussel, de Dubufe, de Carrier Belleuse, etc…

De grandes Maisons de serrurerie d'art, d'ameublements offrirent à titre gracieux leur concours et leurs objets. Des espaces avaient été réservés pour les expositions de certaines des associations ouvrières que le Gouvernement avait subventionnées.

Les bureaux du Commissariat général étaient installés au Pavillon national.

L'organisation des jardins à la française disposés autour du Palais coûta 150.000 francs couverts par des subventions du Ministère du Commerce (70.000 francs) , du .Ministère des Beaux-Arts (3.000 francs), du Ministère de l'Agriculture (30.000 francs), et de la Ville de Paris (25.000 francs).

Ils furent aménagés par le distingué jardinier en chef de la Ville de Paris. M. Vacherot. accompagné de 6 aides obligeamment prêtés pour la circonstance. Les horticulteurs avaient fourni des plantes, des arbustes et aussi leurs conseils.

Dans ces joutes internationales, le Pavillon, c'est la nation, il est l'emblème tangible de son génie. Notre Pavillon fut le plus remarqué et le plus admiré des bâtiments élevés par les diverses nations. Encadré de son immense jardin, merveilleusement dessiné, le Grand Trianon se dressait tout frais et tout rose dans un décor de verdure, image de la pureté et de la délicatesse du goût français. Tous les visiteurs s'y empressaient avec une curiosité mélangée d'un certain respect instinctif qui en amenait quelques-uns à se découvrir en entrant dans la Maison de la France.

Commencé dans les premiers mois de 1903. il fut inauguré officiellement le 16 mai 1904.

Dans une situation moins imposante que le Pavillon allemand, aveuglé par la fumée des cheminées d'usine du Machinery Hall, écrasé par le bâtiment des Eaux et Forets, dont la silhouette fâcheuse formait un fond sur lequel il se découpait de loin, notre Pavillon national n'en personnifiait pas moins la grâce et l'esprit français dans une de ses plus pures expressions de la fin du XVIIe.

Point n'était besoin de son drapeau tricolore pour indiquer à tout œil un peu exercé que ce Pavillon si coquet, si gracieux, ne pouvait être qu'une manifestation du génie et du goût français.

La belle grille monumentale sortie des ateliers de M. Maison, les parterres à la française, si bien dessinés et organisés par M.Vacherot, l'éminent jardinier en chef de la ville de Paris, avec leurs groupes et statues, sont du meilleur effet, et encadrent parfaitement le Pavillon qui fit la joie de tous les amoureux de Versailles et de nos gloires passées*.
Les pilastres de marbre blanc et rose auraient gagné à être un peu plus passés de ton, mais 1'ensemble faisait certes grand honneur à MM. G. Umbdenstock et Roger Bouvard qui avaient été chargés de cette reconstitution.
La Grande Galerie d'honneur.

La décoration a été confiée au Garde-Meuble national, qui avait envoyé trois merveilleuses tapisseries des gibelins rehaussées d'or, d'après les dessins de Van der Meulen du XVIIe siècle, et une très belle pièce de la série des portières du Char de triomphe aux armes de France et de Navarre, d'après les dessins de Charles Lebrun.

Si magnifiques que soient ces pièces, et si admirées qu'elles aient été, il est regrettable que comme pour Sèvres, on n'ait pas cru devoir, en haut lieu, faire une place aux produits modernes des manufactures des Gobelins et de Beauvais, et que leurs Expositions
aient été placées dans une salle des Beaux-Arts, mélangées avec quantité d'expositions de fabricants privés, ce qui ne contribuait pas à relever le prestige de nos Manufactures nationales aux yeux des visiteurs.

Le plafond de cette Galerie, divisé en trois grands panneaux, a été exécute par M. Geo Roussel.

Des consoles en bois doré et des gaines supportant des bustes dont celui du Président de la République, complétaient, avec quelques banquettes recouvertes de tapisserie, dite « Savonnerie », l'ameublement de cette salle, dont les tentures en brocatelle d'un joli bleu faisaient valoir les tapisseries.

Salon de la Manufacture de Sèvres.

Quelle sensation délicieuse, toute faite de charme et de repos on éprouvait en entrant dans le Salon réservé à la Manufacture nationale de Sèvres, quand on arrivait au Pavillon de Trianon, après une longue course à travers ces immenses Palais dont plusieurs semblaient avoir une décoration inachevée.

Ici, une atmosphère de calme harmonie, de goût et de légèreté. Des murs en moire bleue pâle, douce de ton, comme un ciel du matin : tout autour, une frise à arcades jaune et crème se reliant avec le plafond; quelques cabochons eu céramique ornaient les arcatures; un tapis uni beige faisant chanter la gamme bleue et jaune des murs.

Les vitrines, oh ! si simples ! des soubassements eu chêne blond supportant les grandes vitres enchâssées en velours vert avec base en délicieuse étoile bleue, lamée discrètement de métal.

Voilà pour la cage : quant aux oiseaux, dignes en tout point de leur volière: des biscuits délicieux « Héro et Léandre », par Gascq: une paysanne allaitant son enfant, de Dalou, etc., etc.

Des plumes plus autorisées que la nôtre décriront la beauté des grès, la technique des porcelaines dures, des couleurs grand feu sous couverte et sur couverte, etc., mais ce qu'il nous appartient de louer ici, c'est l'arrangement ingénieux de la salle, c'est la coloration délicieuse, c'est le charme, la béatitude qu'on éprouvait à venir s'y retremper après le labeur quotidien ; et nous nous acquittons ici d'une dette de reconnaissance en adressant à l'organisateur, au distingué directeur des travaux d'art de la Manufacture de Sèvres, M. Sandier, le dévoué collaborateur de l'Administration, M. Baumgart, l'expression de notre sincère admiration et de notre vive gratitude pour les heures délicieuses que nous avons passées dans ce Salon.

Salons des Arts décoratifs.

Bien que déjà connu, (ce Salon est, en effet, celui du Pavillon des Arts décoratifs de l'Exposition de 1900, organisé par Geo Hoentschel) on éprouve, à le revoir, un sentiment de vif plaisir comme à la vue d'un déjà vieil ami. L'ensemble d'une assez grande simplicité n'exclut pas le caractère décoratif et architectural.

Le délicieux panneau de Besnard, « L'Ile heureuse » mieux en valeur peut-être encore qu'en 1900, est toujours un régal pour les yeux.

Les tentures des panneaux, dessinées par cet artiste délicat qu'est Karbowski, ont acquis aussi une tonalité, plus discrète encore et s'harmonisent admirablement avec les bois si doux de ton.

Les vitrines un peu vides, à notre sens, occupent les pans coupés: au milieu de la pièce se retrouve la table et les quelques fauteuils tendus de cuir déjà vus en 1900.


Salons des artistes décorateurs.


Deux Salons avaient été réservés aux artistes décorateurs modernes et entièrement organisés et décorés par les soins et sous la direction de M. Dubufe et de la Société des artistes décorateurs, d'accord avec le Comité français des Expositions à l'étranger et la Société d'Encouragement à l'art et à l'industrie.

Tout en louant et en admirant ces Salons comme ils le méritent, on peut se demander s'ils étaient bien là à leur place et s'il n'aurait pas été préférable de les exposer dans les classes de la Décoration dont ils auraient rehaussé l'éclat ; tandis que, placés dans cette reconstitution d'un Palais historique et ancien, ils ne semblaient pas « the right thing in thé right place ».

Salons de la Ville de Paris.

La Ville de Paris n'occupait pas moins de trois Salons dans l'aile droite du Palais national. Les services d'Architecture, de la Voie publique, du Chemin de fer métropolitain, de l'Assistance publique, etc.. formaient une Exposition technique, des plus instructives, mais laissant à désirer au point de vue artistique après la Grande Galerie et le Salon de la Manufacture de Sèvres. Les graphiques de l'Enseignement primaire et l'Exposition de l'administration du Mont-de-Piété auraient pu, il nous semble, trouver un cadre plus approprié.

Salon de la Chambre de Commerce de Paris.

A l'entrée de l'aile gauche, un grand Salon avait été réservé à la Chambre de Commerce de Paris qui avait contribué aux dépenses de la construction du Palais national.

Cette Compagnie avait eu l'heureuse idée de l'aire appel à plusieurs grandes maisons d'ameublements pour décorer et meubler cette pièce et en faire, en quelque sorte, le Salon et le rendez-vous des délégués, jurés et exposants qui trouvaient là une salle de réunion, après le labeur des longues séances dans les Palais où les appelait leur mission.

La chalcographie du Louvre, avec ses belles épreuves, et l'Administration des monnaies et médailles, avec une collection de ses pièces les plus belles et les plus intéressantes, complétaient les Salons du Pavillon national, qui formait comme un coin de France et jetait sur l'Exposition un reflet de l'art si élégant et spirituel des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général