Back - List of Pavilions

Missouri -

Missouri at the Exhibition Expo Saint-Louis 1904

At the top of the hill is a magnificent piece of Roman architecture, the largest structure on the Plateau of the States, the Missouri Pavilion.
The Missouri Building consists of three monumental masses connected by balcony links, the crown of the dome and the tower are profusely decorated with sculptures. The dome, a perfect half-sphere, without any embellishment, is gilded and crowned by a statue representing "The Spirit of Missouri", created by the sculptor. Miss Carrie Wood, of St. Louis.

A beautiful colonnade of Corinthian columns, each pair of which is crowned by a seated figure, surrounds the drum of the cupola. This construction surmounts the central mass, and at each corner is a gigantic carved group symbolising the arts of peace, music, literature, art and architecture.

The building is entirely surrounded on two levels by balconies and verandas, which provide an uninterrupted two-level walkway around the pavilion, one 30 feet above the other, and provide an unobstructed view of the Exhibition from all sides. A similar 15-foot wide promenade surrounds the dome at the base, 130 feet above the exhibition grounds.

The visitor enters the building through a gigantic rotunda, 76 by 76 feet, whose ceiling is the soffit of the dome.
An electric fountain in the centre of this rotunda sprays artificially cooled water, which cools the surrounding areas to a pleasant temperature on hot days.

Passing through the rotunda, the visitor arrives at the State Hall in a wing at the southern end of the building. This auditorium is 50 by 75 feet, excluding the gallery, and 40 feet high, with seating for nearly 1,000 people. On the coffered ceiling, as well as on the panelled walls, the wall decorator has exercised his skill.

On this floor there are also exhibition rooms with viewing galleries surrounding them on all four sides.

The Governor's suite is on the first floor, while the south-west rooms are in the western connecting link. They are furnished with satin walnut wood produced in Missouri. The state room, or auditorium, is finished in the same material. The west terrace on the second floor houses the commissioner's rooms, with a comfortable lounge for the use of the commissioners. The East Terrace on the same floor contains the hospital, nursery and rest room for women, where they can have the services of nurses and a matron.

This pavilion covers a floor space of 366 by 160 feet and cost $105,480.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Missouri


Missouri à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

En haut de la colline se trouve une magnifique pièce d'architecture romaine, la plus grande structure sur le Plateau des Etats, c’est le pavillon du Missouri.
Le bâtiment du Missouri se compose de trois masses monumentales reliées par des liens avec balcon, la couronne du dôme et la tour sont abondamment décoré de sculptures. Le dôme, une demi-sphère parfaite, sans aucune fioriture, est doré et couronné par une statue représentant «L'Esprit du Missouri" , crée par la sculptrice. Mlle Carrie Wood, de Saint-Louis.

Une belle colonnade de colonnes corinthiennes, dont chaque couple de colonnes est couronné d'un personnage assis, entoure le tambour de la coupole. Cette construction surmonte la masse centrale, à chaque coin se trouve un groupe gigantesque sculpté symbolisant des arts de la paix, de la musique, de la littérature, de l'art et de l'architecture.

Le bâtiment est entièrement entourée sur deux étages de balcons et vérandas, qui fournissent une promenade ininterrompue à deux niveaux tout autour du pavillon, l'une de 30 pieds au-dessus de l'autre, et fournissent une vue imprenable sur l'Exposition de tous les côtés. Une autre promenade similaire de 15 pieds de large entoure le dôme à la base, à 130 pieds au-dessus du terrain de l’exposition.

Le visiteur pénètre dans le bâtiment par une rotonde gigantesque, de 76 par 76 pieds, dont le plafond est le soffite en fresques de la coupole.
Une fontaine électrique au centre de cette rotonde projette de l'eau refroidie artificiellement, qui refroidit les parties qui entourent à une température agréable les jours de grande chaleur.

En passant par la rotonde, le visiteur arrive à la salle de l'État dans une aile à l'extrémité sud du bâtiment. Cet auditorium est de 50 par 75 pieds, à l'exclusion de la tribune, et 40 pieds de haut, avec des places assises pour près de 1.000 personnes. Sur le plafond à caissons, aussi bien que sur les murs lambrissés, le décorateur mural a exercé sa compétence.

A cet étage, il y a aussi des salles d'expositions avec des galeries d'observation les entourant des quatre côtés.

La suite du Gouverneur se situe au premier étage, les chambres du sud ouest se trouvent quant à elles dans le lien de connexion ouest. Elles sont meublées en bois de noyer satiné produit dans le Missouri. La salle d'Etat, ou l'auditorium, est fini dans le même matériau. La terrasse Ouest au deuxième étage abrite des salles du commissaire, avec un salon confortable pour l'utilisation des commissaires. La terrasse Est au même étage contient l'hôpital, la crèche et la salle de repos pour les femmes, où elles peuvent avoir les services d'infirmières et d'une matrone.

Ce pavillon couvre une surface au sol de 366 par 160 pieds et a coûté 105.480 $.