Back - List of Pavilions

Louisiana -

Louisiana at the Exhibition Expo Saint-Louis 1904

On the site next to the United States Government Pavilion is a faithful reproduction of the famous Cabildo as it was in 1803, when, on 20 December 1803, the document that concluded the sale of Louisiana was signed. It is furnished with furniture of the period and style of the eighteenth century.

In the reproduction of the Supreme Court room, where the transfers of Louisiana to France from Spain and France to the United States were signed, is displayed a facsimile of the treaty between France and the United States, signed by Livingston, Monroe and Marbois. In the same room portraits of the signatories, as well as those of Jefferson, Napoleon, Salcedo, Laussat, Wilkinson and Claiborne are displayed. In the large courtyard room on the second floor is the mahogany desk on which the Louisiana Purchase Act was signed.

In the courtyard is an original stone filter showing the method of obtaining drinking water at that time.

In one of the prison cells in the courtyard of the Cabildo are the original stocks used by the Spaniards in punishing prisoners, which were removed from the Cabildo in New Orleans. The lower hall of the Cabildo now used as a city courthouse, serves as a general reception and reading room where Louisianans are "at home". The building is 95 by 107 feet and cost $22,000.

Louisiana offers exhibits in nine buildings, including displays of its three major products based on sugar, rice and cotton: vegetables, sultanas, nuts, wood, game and fish. The unique displays of the Mine Palace are the devil in sulphur, and Lot's wife in salt.

But Louisiana, rich in historical tradition that gathers on the great events that commemorate the exhibition, has made great agricultural progress. Ten years ago, much of the rice consumed in the United States was imported from Japan and Honduras. Today, rice is grown intensively in Louisiana. During this period, the state has created a new agricultural activity that competes with the production of two other products, sugar and cotton. It is typical of the state's growth.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Louisiane


Louisiane à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

Sur l’emplacement voisin de celui du Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis se trouve une reproduction fidèle du célèbre Cabildo telle qu'il était en 1803, où, le 20 Décembre 1803, a été signé le document qui a conclu la vente de la Louisiane. Il est meublé avec des meubles de l'époque et du style du XVIIIe siècle.

Dans la reproduction de la salle de la Cour suprême, où les transferts de la Louisiane à la France de l'Espagne et de la France vers les Etats-Unis ont été signés, est exposé un fac-similé du traité entre la France et les Etats-Unis, signé par Livingston, Monroe et Marbois. Dans la même salle des portraits des signataires, ainsi que ceux de Jefferson, Napoléon, Salcedo, Laussat, Wilkinson et Claiborne. Dans la grande salle de la cour, au deuxième étage, se trouve le bureau en acajou sur lequel le l'acte d'achat de la Louisiane a été signé.

Dans la cour se trouve un filtre de pierre d'origine montrant la méthode d'obtention de l'eau potable à cette époque.

Dans l'une des cellules de la prison dans la cour du Cabildo sont les stocks originaux utilisés par les Espagnols en punissant les prisonniers, qui ont été retirés du Cabildo à la Nouvelle-Orléans. La salle basse du Cabildo maintenant utilisé comme un tribunal de la ville, sert de réception générale et salle de lecture où Louisianais sont «à la maison». Le bâtiment est de 95 par 107 pieds et a coûté 22.000 dollars.

Louisiane propose des expositions dans neuf bâtiments, y compris les présentations de ses trois grands produits à base de sucre, le riz et le coton: les légumes, les raisins secs, les noix, bois, gibier et du poisson. Les présentations uniques du Palais des Mines sont le diable en soufre, et la femme de Loth en sel.

Mais la Louisiane, riche en tradition historique qui se regroupent sur les grands événements qui commémore l'exposition, a réalisé un grand progrès agricole. Il y a dix ans, une grande partie du riz consommé aux États-Unis a été importé du Japon et du Honduras. Aujourd'hui, le riz est cultivé intensivement en Louisiane. Pendant cette période, l'Etat a créé une nouvelle activité agricole qui rivalise avec la production de deux autres produits, le sucre et le coton. Il est typique de la croissance de l'État.