Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

Manufactures

Manufactures at the Exhibition Saint-Louis 1904

Almost at the centre of the Exhibition, the Palais des Manufactures occupies a place of honour.

The Place Saint-Louis, whose horseshoe-shaped terraces border the building on its eastern side, the statue of Peace which dominates the 33-metre high column commemorating the cession of the province to the United States, the allegorical groups of the Missouri and the Mississippi, the statues of Saint Louis, patron saint of the city, of Joliet, the explorer of Louisiana, and of Pizarre's companion Hernandez de Soto, the white man who is said to have been the first to gaze upon the waters of the Mississippi; The pylons, the basins, the whole set of decorations of the square give a more powerful attraction to a construction otherwise remarkable by itself.

The Palace covers an area of more than 5 hectares.

Bordered on the south by the lagoon, on the east by the Place d'Orléans, on the west by the Place Saint-Louis, and on the north by the main municipal street, it offers, as the crow flies, the appearance of two squares set at a slight angle to the connecting axis, projecting to the south and recessed to the north: it looks like an open book, with the large median aisle forming a kind of hinge in the book.

The style is simple and easy, although with an obvious search for elegance and variety, and recalls the Renaissance.

Moreover, the advertisement is not exclusive of art.

Arcades and porticoes all around; columns with slender shafts, but sufficiently narrow to support a fairly heavy entablature; all in the Ionic order, with a few fanciful flourishes. The southern porticoes are pierced by geminated columns.

To the west, the main entrance is surmounted by a sort of tiered capital, a truncated pyramid with guardians, with an allegorical group and trophies at the top. The south portal is heightened by an arched pediment resting on smooth capitals.

The windows are framed by double columns and intersected by a horizontal lintel, above which is a transom barred by the shaft of the inner base column.

The entrances at the four corners and in the middle form a vestibule and are symmetrically similar in style.

The roofs of the front buildings are arched and fall almost straight down onto a balustrade gallery that surrounds the building and bears a crest of cut metal, trefoil or foliage motifs.

In the centre of the palace there is an open-air inner courtyard crossed by the two main alleys. It is a sort of interior garden, decorated with plants and greenery, which evokes in the mind the memory of the interior courtyard of our Petit Palais on the Champs-Elysées.

This vast circumference is bordered by a gallery with double columns, in the same style as those outside, but lighter and with large arched bays between them. It has been said above that the Palace resembles an open book: a book without leaves, where the whole story would be written on the cover page, but where the interest, the attractiveness, the variety of the most compact of volumes would be gathered together on this page.

About 900 industries are represented there by their finest productions, and all the great nations of the world have brought their most remarkable products.

Japan occupies a vast space at the western end of the building: France and Germany are amply and advantageously represented.

Carpets, tapestries, furnishings, fabrics, crystals, glass, plumbing, heating and ventilation equipment, and lighting are on display. Among other things, one can see steel feathers, paper boxes, shoes and hats being made before one's eyes.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Manufactures


Manufactures à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

Presque au centre de l'Exposition, le Palais des Manufactures y occupe une place d'honneur.

La place Saint-Louis, dont les terrasses en fer à cheval bordent le bâtiment sur toute la face est, la statue de la Paix qui domine du haut des 33 mètres de la colonne commémorative de la cession de la province aux Etats-Unis, les groupes allégoriques du Missouri et du Mississippi, les statues de saint Louis, patron de la ville, de Joliet, l'explorateur de la Louisiane, celle du compagnon de Pizarre, Hernandez de Soto, le blanc qui, le premier, dit-on, ait posé le regard sur les eaux du Mississippi ; les pylônes, les vasques, tout cet ensemble des décorations de la place donne un attrait plus puissant à une construction d'ailleurs remarquable par elle-même.

Le Palais embrasse un espace de plus de 5 hectares.

Bordé au sud par la lagune, à l'est par la place d'Orléans, à l'ouest par la place Saint-Louis, au nord par la grande rue Municipale, il offre, à vol d'oiseau, l'aspect de deux carrés rapportés et légèrement biaisés sur l'axe de raccord en saillie au sud, en retrait au nord: on dirait un livre ouvert, la grande allée médiane formant comme la charnière de ce livre.

Le style en est simple et facile, bien qu'avec une recherche évidente de l'élégance et de la variété, et rappelle la Renaissance.

D'ailleurs, la réclame n'est point exclusive de l'art.

Des arcades et des portiques tout autour; des colonnes à fût grêle, mais suffisamment resserrées pour porter un entablement assez chargé; le tout d'ordre ionique, avec quelques fioritures fantaisistes. Les portiques sud sont percés par des colonnes géminées.

A l'ouest, l'entrée principale est surmontée d'une sorte de chapiteau étage, pyramide tronquée à gardiens, avec au faite, un groupe allégorique et des trophées. Le portail sud est exhaussé d'un fronton en arc reposant sur les chapiteaux lisses.

Les fenêtres sont encadrées par des colonnes doubles et coupées par un linteau horizontal, au-dessus duquel se continue une imposte barrée par le fût de la colonne intérieure de base.

Les entrées des quatre coins et celles des milieux forment vestibule et sont, symétriquement, de style semblable.

Les toits des bâtiments en façade sont cintrés et tombent presque droit sur une galerie à balustres qui contourne l'édifice et porte une crête de motifs en métal découpé, trèfle ou feuillages.

Au centre du Palais s'étend à ciel ouvert une cour intérieure traversée en croix par les deux allées principales. C'est une sorte de jardin intérieur, orné de plantes et de verdure, qui évoque à l'esprit le souvenir de la cour intérieure de notre Petit Palais des Champs-Elysées.

Cette vaste circonférence est bordée d'une galerie à colonnes doubles, de même style que celles de l'extérieur, mais plus légères et laissant entre elles de larges baies en arceaux. Il a été dit plus haut que le Palais ressemblait à un livre ouvert : livre sans feuillets, où tout le récit serait écrit sur la page de couverture, mais où se trouveraient réunis, sur cette page, l'intérêt, l'attrait, la variété du plus compact des volumes.

Environ 900 industries sont représentées là par leurs productions les plus raffinées, et toutes les grandes nations du monde ont apporté ce qu'elles avaient de plus remarquable.

Le Japon occupe un vaste espace à l'extrémité ouest du bâtiment: la France et l'Allemagne sont largement et avantageusement représentées.

Tapis, tapisseries, ameublements, tissus, cristaux, verres, plomberie, appareils de chauffage et d'aération, d'éclairage sont exposés. On voit entre autres choses, fabriquer sous ses yeux les plumes d'acier, les boites en papier, les souliers, les chapeaux.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général