Back - List of Pavilions

Horticulture - Expo Saint-Louis 1904

Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Saint-Louis 1904

Next to the Palace of Agriculture, of which it is the southern extension, stands the Palace of Horticulture. As the crow flies, it looks like a rectangle cut in the middle by a square, which gives it the shape of a Greek cross. It is one of the few buildings at the Exhibition that has more than four sides.

It measures 270 metres in front and 150 metres in depth, and occupies the highest site of the Exhibition, which it dominates with its parterres.

It is surrounded by beautiful gardens and flowerbeds, shrubs with various types of foliage and lawns.

The architecture is based on the same principles as that of the Palais de l'Agriculture; the same projecting pylons resting on a plain base.

The main entrance is square. Cut by a horizontal lintel, it has a projecting cornice that joins the two openwork belfries that rise from the sides and distinguish the building from its neighbour.

The entire façade of the central square is higher and decorated with some sculptures. A balustrade, enhanced at regular intervals with flags, runs around the cornice.

The lower sides are in the same style. The roofs are flat and glazed, cut into two pieces; the upper bays are arched over metal supports and form a frame over the second part which itself ends in a canopy. The large side doors are square and finished with a triangular pediment without ornamentation.

The interior offers the seductions of elegance and comfort; it consists of a square room, with wings on all four sides, an arrangement indicated by the plan of the building. All the exhibitors are on the ground floor. In the middle of the inner courtyard, under the open sky, a decor of palm trees, green plants and tall tropical flowers adds a bright and fresh note.

Ventilation and lighting are perfect. The light comes from the windows on the facades and from the monitors on the roofs, and in such a way that the sun cannot touch the exhibits or bother the visitors.

A restaurant, a tea garden, a reading and correspondence room make it a very busy place.

The exhibition is not without its own interest. It is the most complete of its kind that we have seen so far. It should have included, but did not include, everything that concerns Horticulture: ornamental plants and vegetable plants, carrots and roses, the useful and the pleasant; apparatus and methods of pomology, viticulture, floriculture, arboriculture, the tools of the gardener and the nurseryman; desserres, aquariums, garden designs, plans, models, tables and technical books. Only pomology was brilliantly represented by the whole variety of fruits of California.

A wing was reserved for beekeeping, where all varieties of bees could be seen at their daily task.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Horticulture


Horticulture à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

Tout à côté du Palais de l'Agriculture dont il est comme la dépendance et le prolongement an sud, s'élève le Palais de l'Horticulture. Il présente à vol d'oiseau l'aspect d'un rectangle coupé au milieu par un carré, ce qui lui donne à peu près la forme d'une croix grecque. C'est un des rares bâtiments de l'Exposition qui ait plus de quatre côtés.

Il mesure 270 mètres de front sur 150 de profondeur, et occupe le site le plus élevé de l'Exposition qu'il domine de ses parterres.

De beaux jardins et des massifs de fleurs, des arbustes aux feuillages divers, des gazons l'entourent.

L'architecture procède des mêmes principes que celle du Palais de l'Agriculture ; mêmes pylônes saillants reposant sur un soubassement uni.

L'entrée principale est carrée. Coupée par un linteau horizontal, elle porte une corniche en saillie réunissant les deux clochetons ajourés qui partent des cotés et distinguent surtout l'édifice de son voisin.

Toute la façade du carré central est plus élevée et décorée de quelques sculptures. Une balustrade, rehaussée à intervalles réguliers de drapeaux, court tout autour de la corniche.

Les côtés, plus bas, sont de même style. Les toits sont plats et vitrés, coupés en deux morceaux ; les travées du haut s'arcboutent en saillie sur des supports métalliques et forment châssis sur la seconde partie qui se termine elle-même en auvent. Les grandes portes latérales sont carrées et finies par un fronton triangulaire sans ornementation.

L'intérieur offre les séductions de l'élégance et du confortable; il consiste en une pièce carrée, avec des ailes sur les quatre côtés, organisation indiquée par le plan de l'édifice. Tous les exposants ont place au rez-de-chaussée. Au milieu île la cour intérieure, à ciel ouvert, un décor de palmiers, de plantes vertes et de hautes fleurs tropicales apporte sa note éclatante et fraîche.

Aération et éclairage sont parfaits. La lumière vient des fenêtres des façades et des monitors des toits, et de telle façon que le soleil ne puisse toucher les objets exposés, ni incommoder les visiteurs.

Un restaurant, un jardin pour le thé, une pièce salon de lecture et de correspondance en font un endroit très fréquenté.

L'Exposition d'ailleurs n'est pas sans intérêt propre. C'est la plus complète de ce genre qu'on ait vue jusqu'ici. Elle devait comprendre, mais n'a pas compris, tout ce qui regarde l'Horticulture : plantes d'agrément et plantes potagères, les carottes et les roses, l'utile et l'agréable; les appareils et méthodes de pomologie, viticulture, floriculture, arboriculture, l'outillage du jardinier et du pépiniériste ; desserres, des aquariums, des dessins de jardins, plans, modèles, tableaux et livres techniques. Seule la pomologie était brillamment représentée par toute la variété des fruits de la Californie.

Une aile était réservée à l'apiculture ; on pouvait y voir toutes les variétés d'abeilles à leur tâche quotidienne.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général