Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

Electricity

Electricity at the Exhibition Saint-Louis 1904

Standing firm on its broad foundations, solid on its Ionic columns and bearing high its steel armour, the Palace of Electricity has the same general characteristics of the Renaissance style, the same classical lines as the other buildings of the Exhibition.

Placed on the east side, just in front of the main lagoon and reflecting in its waters its marvellous frontispiece, while its north-western facade overlooks the great basin, in direct view of the luminous fountains, the peristyle of the Festival Palace and the Fine Arts building, bordered on the north and south by the lagoon, it is entirely surrounded by canals criss-crossed by light boats, either rowing or motorised.

It looks like a Venetian palace with wider quays, more coquettishly adorned with trees, statues and sculpted steps that go down to the water's edge and through which visitors can access. This particular situation, in the centre of the avenues leading from the bridges, contributes in large part to the general decoration.

It is shaped like a trapezium with a slight curve at its largest point. It is 200 metres long and almost 180 metres wide: no other building comes closer than 300 metres.

It has a row of simple colonnades on all sides.

The columns supported on a stylobate with marbled panels reach almost to the ground, which gives the facades more height and raises the frontispieces. These are further accentuated by ornaments on the upper parts and by the towers that dominate the four main entrances and the corners.

The main doors are supported by twin columns; they end in an arch and are continued by a rounded transom: their upper part is finished in a triangle without much ornamentation. This style is quite rare and is not found in any of the other buildings at the Exhibition.

The ends are flanked by pylons bearing a very busy crown, with decoration forming a silhouette, with bells at all angles; a statue rises to the top.

There are no decorated pediments on the doors, all of which are joined by horizontal lintels, except at the main entrances where the doors, as well as the transoms, end in arches.

All the arcades are of Ionic order; only the columns at the main entrances are composite and ornamented in the Corinthian style.

Inside the porticoes that surround the building, a flat base carries the windows, which are numerous rather than spacious. This provides adequate light while retaining a large amount of wall space, resulting in a more powerful artistic impression.

In addition, there are loggias on two sides which further increase the effects of light and shade.

The large number of openings in the facade also suits the purpose of the building and gives the illusion of a huge blaze when everything in the Palace is lit up at night.

The roof is flat, covered in zinc with spans, and pierced with numerous glass windows. Below the roofs a terrace runs around the whole building. This terrace is ornamented at close intervals with pedestals topped with vases and pavilions in the colours of the various nations represented.

There is a central courtyard reproducing exactly the plan of the Palace. This courtyard is surrounded by colonnades and decorated with flower beds and tall green plants; seats and benches are arranged, and visitors find there a quiet retreat, a charming rest among the perfumes and under the thick foliage of tropical shrubs.

This simple architecture, derived from the pure memories of the school, with no tendency to depart from the classical except in the ornamentation of the corners, a little overloaded and reminiscent of the roofs of pagodas, has required no sacrifice of interior convenience.

Plan and building are arranged for well-sectioned locations.

The interior fittings are, in fact, happily arranged and allow the development of very wide central aisles and a large number of small passages.

On one side, the heavy installations, on the other, the light ones: so that objects of the same kind, powerful machines and accessories are grouped together and appear as if on a kind of synoptic table.

The ensemble and the nature of the things exhibited, from the electric locomotive to the devices of Rœntgen and the most recent specimens of the wonders of electro-chemistry, make this palace a unique centre of attraction.

This is the temple of a young science, a science that has only just begun to speak, but which is marvelling every day with some new discovery.

"After having stolen the thunderbolt from the sky and the sceptre from the tyrants", according to the famous Latin verse dedicated to Franklin and which applies as much to science as to the scientist, will it snatch its enigma from life? Will she break the scythe in the hands of Time with a shock?

Already the fiction of Prometheus enters reality, and man begins to hope for victory, the definitive triumph over nature.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Electricité


Electricité à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

Bien campé sur ses larges assises, solide sur ses colonnes ioniques et portant haut ses armures d'acier, le Palais de l'Electricité présente les mêmes caractères généraux du style Renaissance, les mêmes lignes classiques que les autres bâtiments de L'Exposition.

Placé à l'est, juste en face de la lagune principale et mirant dans ses eaux son merveilleux frontispice, tandis que sa façade nord-ouest donne sur le grand bassin, en vue directe des fontaines lumineuses, du péristyle du Palais des Fêtes et du bâtiment des Beaux-Arts, bordé au nord et au sud par la lagune, il est entièrement environné de canaux que sillonnent de légères embarcations, à rame ou à moteur.

On dirait un palais vénitien avec des quais plus larges, plus coquettement parés de leurs arbres, leurs statues, leurs gradins sculptés qui descendent jusqu'au bord de l'eau et par où les visiteurs peuvent accéder. Cette situation particulière, au centre des avenues qui débouchent des ponts, contribue pour une large part à la décoration générale.

Sa forme est celle d'un trapèze faisant une légère courbe sur sa plus grande base. Il mesure 200 mètres de long sur près de 180 de large: aucun autre bâtiment ne l'approche à plus de 300 mètres.

Il présente sur toutes ses faces la rangée de ses colonnades simples.

Les colonnes appuyées sur un stylobate à panneaux marbrés vont presque jusqu'au sol, ce qui donne plus de hauteur aux façades et élance les frontispices. Ceux-ci sont encore accentués par des ornements aux parties supérieures et par les tours qui dominent les quatre entrées principales et les coins.

Les portes principales s'appuient sur des colonnes jumelées; elles s'arrêtent en arc et se continuent par une imposte arrondie : leur partie haute est terminée en triangle sans grande ornementation. Cette manière est assez rare et ne se retrouve dans nul autre des édifices de l'Exposition.

Les extrémités sont flanquées de pylônes portant un couronnement très chargé, à décoration formant silhouette, avec des clochetons à tous les angles; une statue s'élance au sommet.

Pas de frontons décorés aux portes, toutes Unies par des linteaux horizontaux, sauf aux entrées principales où les portes, ainsi que les impostes finissent en arc.

L'ensemble des arcades est ordre ionique; seules, les colonnes des entrées principales sont composites et ornementées selon le mode corinthien.

A l'intérieur des portiques qui entourent le bâtiment, un soubassement plat porte les fenêtres plutôt nombreuses que spacieuses. Cela donne une lumière convenable en conservant une grande quantité de mur, et il en résulte une impression artistique plus puissante.

Sur deux côtés se trouvent, en outre, des loggias qui augmentent encore les effets de la clarté et de l'ombre.

La grande quantité d'ouvertures ménagées dans la façade convient d'autre part à la destination de l'édifice et donne l'illusion d'un immense flamboiement quand tout s'allume la nuit dans le Palais.

Le toit est plat; couvert en zinc avec travées, et percé de nombreux châssis vitrés. Au-dessous des toits une terrasse en bordure contourne tout l'édifice. Cette terrasse est ornementée à intervalles rapprochés de socles surmontés de vases et de pavillons aux couleurs des diverses nations représentées.

Il y a une cour centrale reproduisant exactement le plan du Palais. Cette cour est environnée de colonnades et agrémentée de massifs de fleurs et de hautes plantes vertes; des sièges, des bancs y sont disposés, et les visiteurs trouvent là une retraite tranquille, un repos charmant parmi les parfums et sous l'épaisse frondaison des arbustes des tropiques.

Cette architecture simple, issue des purs souvenirs de l'école, sans tendance à sortir du classique sauf en ce qui concerne l'ornementation des coins, un peu surchargée et rappelant les combles des pagodes, n'a exigé aucun sacrifice de la commodité intérieure.

Plan et bâtisse sont disposés pour les emplacements bien sectionnés.

Les aménagements intérieurs sont, en effet, heureusement rangés et permettent le développement d'allées centrales très larges et d'une grande quantité de petits passages.

D'un côté, les installations lourdes, de l'autre, les légères : de façon que les objets de même sorte, les machines puissantes et les accessoires se trouvent groupés et se présentent comme sur une sorte de tableau synoptique.

L'ensemble et la nature des choses exposées, depuis la locomotive électrique jusqu'aux appareils de Rœntgen et les spécimens les plus récents des merveilles de l'électro-chimie font de ce palais un centre d'attraction unique.

C'est ici le temple d'une science toute jeune, d'une science qui n'a encore dit que son premier mot, mais qui chaque jour émerveille par quelque nouvelle découverte.

« Après avoir ravi la foudre au ciel et le sceptre aux tyrans», selon le fameux vers latin dédié à Franklin et qui s'applique aussi bien à la science qu'au savant, arrachera-t-elle son énigme à la vie? Brisera-t-elle d'un choc la faux dans les mains du Temps?

Déjà la fiction de Prométhée entre dans la réalité, et l'homme se reprend à espérer la victoire, le triomphe définitif sur la nature.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général