Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

Jerusalem

Jerusalem at the Exhibition Expo Saint-Louis 1904

It was doubtless thought that the majesty of the Holy City would not be well suited to the neighbourhood of the Rue de Seville, the Hagenbach menagerie or the Ferris Wheel, and this is obviously the first reason why Jerusalem Deserting the Pike was set apart, to the west of the Cascade Gardens.

The other reason for its isolation is its importance. It needed a lot of space, and space in the Pike was at a premium.

It was not along this populated avenue that one could have found the 11 acres of undulating land necessary to plant a city: a city with its ramparts pierced by the six famous gates: the Damascus, Jaffa, Golden, St. Stephen's, Western, and Southern gates: a city with its 1,000 inhabitants imported directly from Palestine; a city with a population of 1,000. Its 22 streets: the crowd of its historical monuments, the Mosque of Omar which is illuminated every night by the Crescent: the Church of the Holy Sepulchre; the Way of Sorrows with its 9 stations; the Tower of David: and, bizarrely, a vast modern hotel, the American Consulate, the Austrian hospital, the wheat market...

For it is not one, but two Jerusalems that we are offered: the old and the new, this one noisy, animated, populated by Hebrews, Turks, Armenians, a true cosmopolitan city; that one serious, recollected, having kept its ancient physiognomy so familiar to all the students of the Bible, and there are legions of them on the other side of the sea. The adventures of the little people of Israel fascinate the great American people to a degree we hardly suspect.

And this is perhaps the reason for the place given to Jerusalem in the World's Greatest Fair.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jerusalem


Jerusalem à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

On a, sans doute, pensé que la majesté de la Cité sainte s'accommoderait mal du voisinage de la rue de Séville, de la ménagerie d'Hagenbach ou de la grande Roue, et c'est évidemment la première raison qui a fait que Jérusalem désertant le Pike soit établie à part, à l'ouest des jardins de la Cascade.

L'autre raison de son isolement, c'est son importance. Il lui fallait beaucoup de place, et la place dans le Pike était mesurée.

Ce n'est point le long de cette avenue si peuplée, qu'on aurait pu trouver les 11 acres de terrain ondulant nécessaires pour y planter une ville : une ville avec ses remparts percés des six portes fameuses: les portes de Damas, de Jaffa, d'Or, de Saint-Etienne, de l'Ouest, du Sud: une ville avec ses 1.000 habitants Importés directement de Palestine; ses 22 rues: la foule de ses monuments historiques, la mosquée d'Omar qu'illumine chaque nuit le Croissant : l'église du Saint-Sépulcre; la Voie Douloureuse avec ses 9 stations; la tour de David: et, bizarre rencontre, un vaste hôtel moderne, le Consulat américain, l'hôpital autrichien, le marché au blé...

Car ce n'est pas une. c'est deux Jérusalem qu'on nous offre : l'ancienne et la nouvelle, celle-ci bruyante, animée, peuplée d"Hébreux, de Turcs, d'Arméniens, véritable cité cosmopolite; celle-là grave, recueillie, ayant gardé sa physionomie d'autrefois si familière à tous les étudiant de la bible, et ils sont légion de l'autre coté de la mer. Les aventure du petit peuple d'Israël passionnent le grand peuple américain à un degré que nous ne soupçonnons guère.

Et voilà peut-être la raison qui explique la place faite à Jérusalem dans la plus Grande Foire du monde.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général