Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

Pike

Pike at the Exhibition Saint-Louis 1904

The Exhibition is a show, a splendid show, but a serious one, to a certain extent severe. A time comes when the eye tires of admiring mechanical and artistic masterpieces, when the mind tires of grasping their meaning. In every man there is a child who needs recreation.

The organisers of all the Exhibitions have foreseen this need and provided for it. They have provided for it with Cairo streets, Midway attractions, Paris streets, Pike, which are the fair side of the serious work.

The promoters of the "Greatest Fair in the World" were careful not to neglect this aspect of the fair: they gave it a gigantic development. The Rue du Caire, the Rue de Paris, the Midway attraction itself, although American, were only alleys compared to the St. Louis Pike. But the Pike is not only bigger, it is something else, something essentially modern, where science and the art of staging combine to give us, with the help of ingenious tricks, light and ice effects, spells and artifices of the electricity fairy, what the "World's Fair Bulletin" calls a "colourful page of the world's life"; something very American which astonishes by its variety, its strangeness, and, let's cut the word, its picturesque incoherence.

Nearly 8,000 extras, 6,000 humans of all races, 1,500 animals of all species in more than 500 "shows," worth a total of more than $5,000,000, are spread out along the spacious avenue which, from the main entrance of the Exposition, leads to the foreign pavilions, along the buildings of Transportation and various Industries: this is the Pike; "a mile of wonders" which "Pikers" can see unfold in 5 hours and 40 minutes at the American pace.

Let's go in: this is the eastern end. We are in the Tyrolean village, in the middle of alpine life, everything is there, the mountain, the torrent, the chalet, the colourful comings and goings of the crowd: agrarian shepherds, friendly Tyrolean women and the dances and songs from over there, everything, right down to the jingling bell and the dogs of Mount St. Bernard. But hadn't we seen and heard this somewhere else, or something like it?

What is quite new to us is the village next door, the Irish village, made in part, we are assured, of earth imported from the Celtic Isle. The old "Department House" acts as a café, where we hastily down a glass of authentic Irish Whisky.

Because one of the main "illusions" of the Pike is there, which requires us, the "underwater journey" with aerial return. A sort of openwork Nautilus dives into the bitter chasms, takes us, to the amazement of the fish, through the enchantments of the Ocean to the mouth of the Seine; then, somehow, a lift lifts us to the top of the Eiffel Tower, from where another ship, this one aerial, takes us back and lands us in the heart of the Exhibition we left twenty minutes ago.

And already we are in Seville, vibrating to the adventures of a bullfight mimed by puppets.

Further on, here is the aptly named Animal Paradise, where all the fauna of the jungle, the desert, the prairie: bear, tiger, ostrich, lion, kangaroo, camel, elephant, wolf and lamb, all reconciled, I believe, are frolicking together in a wild site: lakes, rocks, gardens, icebergs, palm trees...

Now we cross the "Mysterious Asia". "Ceylon, where tea blooms": Tehran: a Japanese garden where forty real Geishas dance and sing for American gentlemen.

But time is short and our programme is full. On our way to the Hells that are calling for us, we overhear the burial of our old acquaintance del Soto, in the Mississippi "Father of waters": and we sink into the "Kingdom of Shadows"; we pass the Acheron on the boat of a Caron who recites Dante to us: and we must greet his Majesty Satan, prince of evil, and shudder at the torment of the damned before going back up to Paradise, which is illuminated by the star of Bethlehem.

Without transition, we are in old St. Louis, then in New Orleans, in Cebaldo's palace where "living persons" who are Napoleon, Livinsgtone, Marbois, Monroe, debate before our eyes the purchase of Louisiana.

From there, let us jump to "Paris on the Pike" where we recognise the Bruant cabaret; from there to Rome, which Nero sets on fire for our joy: and leaping back, further, much further, we wander into chaotic darkness; a voice proclaims: "Let there be light" and there is light, and chaos is ordered. This is the creation of Rollair's world. Because, no doubt, man's first concern on earth was to groom, the Creation Palace is next to the Costume Palace, a revival from 1900.

Further on, the Wild-West; Redskins from 51 different tribes, Apaches, Sioux, Mohawks in warlike garb: Cowboys, Centaurs of the prairie: 850 actors.

And we return to Asia, to see nobly severe passages unfold through the windows of the Trans-Siberian Railway.

In contrast to these august solitudes, here is a teeming street in Cairo, where there is no lack of donkeys, camels and monkeys; then Constantinople, the famous Bazaar of Stamboul.

Not far away, the Chinese village; a group of Eskimos lost in the Arctic ice; the Klondike camp.

For the thrill-seeker, the Whirlpool Magic offers a plunge into a Maelstrom, from which, after what delicious anguish - "avalanche will you take me in your fall" - they will emerge in an enchanted lake.

Nearby are the caverns of prehistoric Mexico; and the maritime theatre, where at all hours of the day, between battleships, torpedo boats and cruisers, frightening naval battles are fought.

But how tempting this shadowy verandah is: it is the entrance to "an old plantation" that reminds us where we are, throwing us into the middle of a southern Negro village before the slave war. Here is the patriarchal hut and all the family that lives there, from the three-month-old to the "mammy" and the legendary old "uncle": and around the hut, the garden where tobacco, wheat, and watermelons "dear to the palate of the Negro" have been planted. As a perspective, cotton fields as far as the eye can see. It is the triumph of local colour, a striking evocation of the past: a past that is not quite dead, that lives again in these negro games, in the negro songs, a sort of melancholy drawl accompanying the popular dances of Alabama and Mississippi: the pigeon wing of old Virginia, the double march of Carolina; the "Pas Mala of the French negro": "souvenir of the Cake-Walk", what do you want from us?

Let us tear ourselves away from the lament of Creole Louisiana: let us now pass through scenes of carnage borrowed from all the wars of the New World: the war of independence, the Indian wars, the civil war: let us pass through the terrors of the flood where Galveston Island sinks; among the smoke and flames of a fire in New York: Let's cross the North Pole again to sit in the Scenic Railway, the unforgettable roller coaster, which through underground tunnels, dizzying bridges, takes us on the most fantastic, the most dizzying, the most bewildering journey.

Then, to make us completely dizzy, the slide of the flatboats, the waterfalls and the irruption in the raised waters of the lake.

And after the water, the fire.
Here we are in a kind of circus: men as agile as acrobats, as disciplined as soldiers, play out the tragedy of fire before us.

At the fire station, the alarm has just been sounded. These men jump from their bunks, harness their horses, equip themselves, rush in orderly fashion through the shifting panorama of a New York street.

And, just in front of us, a gigantic building burns, a glowing block: at the windows, people stretch out their arms, call for help. A gallop of horses and the rescuers arrive. Immediately, the manoeuvre begins, fast, precise, among torrents of smoke and flames. We see them, with aerial hooks, snatching the victims from death. Around the actors and the drama, the fire puts a red halo. It is very beautiful, very true.

Moreover, you can hear that there is no fire at all, that the fire is an illusion, like the view of New York, like the Pike. What is not an illusion, however, is the skill, the coolness, the science of these acrobats who are genuine firemen, the first firemen in the world, the best equipped, the best trained, the Hale's Fire Fighters of Kansas City, famous throughout the universe.

And that's it, the Hale's Fire Fighters Brigade marks the western boundary of the Pike and the end of this crazy race: 5 hours 40 minutes.

Yet we haven't said it all: more amazing than any of the Pike's wonders is the Street of Babel, where
i
There is Babel Street, where all the races meet and mingle, a multicoloured dust, white, black, red, yellow: where the Jefferson guards parade majestically, where negroes go, important planters, rich farm women, many a Creole lady "with unknown charms", and even a few Parisian women, too rare for the exiled Parisian. At night especially, the spectacle is magical, when the human river rolls its streams, chattering and disparate, under the blinding downpour of lights, a deluge of lights, compared to which all that we have seen elsewhere is only mourning and darkness, it is a dazzling sight! Where are we? In what century and in what country? in Africa? in Asia? in America? No. We are at the Pike, on any day, on any evening of the 212 days and evenings of the giant Fair.

It's a different matter when there's a "parade". This time, we have to hand over to the native Barnum, whose only grandiloquence equals the things he says:
"The parade of peoples and beasts on Pike Day. writes the World's Fair Bulletin, is indeed the greatest spectacle the world has ever beheld. In its barbarous magnificence, in its human interest, it far surpasses the Queen's Jubilee, the triumphs of the conquerors at Rome, the visit of the Queen of Sheba to Solomon.

Amidst a hurricane of music, the murmur of thirty languages, the shimmer of a thousand colours, an unparalleled caravan unfurls its serpentine course through the city of Palaces: Six thousand natives from near and far, two thousand animals of all kinds, advance in the strangest procession seen since the day they sought refuge in the ark! And only Noah's family was saved from the waves, while here representatives of all human races march towards the polyglot Pike in this solemn march of nations: Chinese, Japanese, Russians, Tyroleans, Irish, French, Turks, Caffres, Assyrians, African Pygmies and giant Patagons.

And Barnum goes on... but we are out of breath.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pike


Pike à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

Qui dit Exposition dit spectacle, spectacle splendide, soit, mais sérieux, jusqu'à un certain point sévère. Un temps vient où l'œil se lasse d'admirer des chefs-d'œuvre mécaniques et artistiques, où l'esprit se fatigue à en pénétrer le sens. Dans tout homme, il y a un enfant qui a besoin de récréation.

Les organisateurs de toutes les Expositions ont prévu ce besoin et y ont pourvu. Ils y ont pourvu avec des rues du Caire, des Midway attractions, des rues de Paris, des Pike, qui sont le coté foire de l'œuvre grave.

Ce coté foire, les promoteurs de « la plus Grande Foire du monde » n'avaient garde de le négliger : ils lui ont donné un développement gigantesque. La rue du Caire, la rue de Paris, la Midway attraction elle-même, encore qu'américaine, n'étaient que des ruelles au regard du Pike de Saint-Louis. Mais le Pike n'est pas seulement plus grand, c'est autre chose, quelque chose d'essentiellement moderne où la science et l'art de la mise en scène s'allient pour, à l'aide de trucs ingénieux, jeux de lumière et de glaces, sortilèges et artifices de la fée électricité, nous offrir ce que le « World's Fair Bulletin » appelle une « page colorée de la vie du monde » ; quelque chose de très américain qui étonne par sa variété, son étrangeté, et, tranchons le mot, sa pittoresque incohérence.

Près de 8.000 figurants, 6.000 humains de toutes les races, 1.500 animaux de toutes les espèces répartis dans plus de 500 «shows», d'une valeur totale de plus de 5.000.000 de dollars, s'échelonnent sur la spacieuse avenue qui, de l'entrée principale de l'Exposition, va jusqu'aux pavillons étrangers, le long des bâtiments des Transports et des Industries variées : voilà le Pike ; « un mille de merveilles » que les « Pikers » peuvent voir se dérouler en 5 h. 40 selon l'allure américaine.

Entrons : c'est l'extrémité orientale. Nous sommes dans le village tyrolien, en pleine vie alpestre, tout y est, la montagne, le torrent, le chalet, le va-et-vient coloré de la foule : pâtres agrestes, avenantes tyroliennes et les danses et les chants de là-bas, tout, jusqu'à la tintinnabulante clochette et les chiens du mont Saint-Bernard. Mais n'avions-nous point vu et ouï cela ailleurs ou quelque chose qui y ressemblait?

Ce qui nous est tout à fait nouveau, c'est le village d'à côté, le village irlandais, fait en partie, nous assure-t-on, avec de la terre importée de l'ile Celte. L'antique « Maison du Département » y joue l'office de café, où hâtivement nous avalons un petit verre d'authentique Irish Whisky.

Car une des principales « illusions » du Pike est là, qui nous requiert, le « voyage sous-marin » avec retour aérien. Une sorte de Nautilus ajouré plonge dans les gouffres amers, nous emporte aux yeux ébahis des poissons, à travers les féeries de l'Océan jusqu'à l'embouchure de la Seine ; puis, je ne sais comment, un ascenseur nous élève au sommet de la Tour Eiffel, d'où un autre navire, aérien celui-là, nous ramène et nous pose au coeur de l'Exposition quittée il y a vingt minutes.

Et déjà, nous sommes à Séville, vibrant aux péripéties d'une corrida de Toros mimée par des marionnettes.

Plus loin, voici le Paradis animal, bien nommé, où toute la faune de la jungle, du désert, de la prairie: ours, tigre, autruche, lion, kangourou, chameau, éléphant, loup et agneau réconciliés, je crois, ma foi qu'il y sont s'ébattent fraternellement, dans un site sauvage : lacs, rochers, jardins, icebergs, palmiers...

Maintenant, nous traversons la « Mystérieuse Asie ». « Ceylan, où fleurit le thé » : Téhéran: un jardin du Japon où quarante véritables Geishas dansent et chantent pour les gentlemen américains.

Mais le temps presse et notre programme est chargé. Chemin faisant vers les Enfers qui nous réclament, nous surprenons l'ensevelissement de notre vieille connaissance del Soto, dans le Mississipi "Père des eaux" : et nous nous enfonçons dans le «Royaume des Ombres»; nous passons l'Achéron sur la barque d'un Caron qui nous récite du Dante: et il nous faut saluer sa Majesté Satan, prince du mal, et frémir au supplice des damnés avant de remonter au Paradis qu'éclaire l'étoile de Bethléem.

Sans transition, nous sommes dans le vieux Saint-Louis, puis dans la Nouvelle-Orléans, au palais de Cebaldo où "des personnes vivantes" qui sont Napoléon, Livinsgtone, Marbois, Monroe, débattent sous nos yeux l'achat de la Louisiane.

De là, sautons à « Paris sur le Pike » où nous reconnaissons le cabaret Bruant ; de là à Rome que Néron incendie pour notre joie : et reculant d'un bond en arrière, plus loin, beaucoup plus loin, nous errons en pleines ténèbres chaotiques; une voix clame: « Que la lumière soit » et la lumière est, et le chaos s'ordonne. C'est la création du monde de Rollair. Parce que, sans doute, le premier souci de l'homme sur la terre fut de toilette, le palais de la Création voisine avec le palais du Costume, un ressuscité de 1900.

Plus loin encore, le Wild-West ; des Peaux-Rouges de 51 tribus différentes, Apaches, Sioux, Mohawks en tenues guerrières : des Cowboys, Centaures de la prairie : 850 acteurs.

Et nous revenons en Asie, pour voir se dérouler par les vitres du Transsibérien, des passages noblement sévères.

En contraste avec ces solitudes augustes, voici une rue grouillante du Caire, où ne manquent ni ânes, ni chameaux, ni singes; puis Constantinople, le fameux Bazar de Stamboul.

Non loin, le village chinois ; un groupe d'Esquimaux perdus dans les glaces arctiques ; le camp du Klondike.

Aux amateurs d'émotions vives, le magie Whirlpool offre un plongeon dans un Maëlstrom, d'où, après quelles délicieuses angoisses !,« avalanche veux-tu m'emporter dans ta chute » — ils émergeront en un lac enchanté.

Tout près, ce sont les cavernes du Mexique préhistorique ; et le théâtre maritime, où se livrent à toute heure du jour, entre cuirassés, torpilleurs et croiseurs, d'effarantes batailles navales.

Mais que cette ombreuse vérandah est tentante : c'est l'entrée « d'une vieille plantation » qui nous rappelle où nous sommes, en nous jetant au beau milieu d'un village nègre du sud, avant la guerre de l'esclavage. Voici la case patriarcale et toute la famille qui l'habite, depuis le bambin de trois mois jusqu'à la "mammy" et au vieil "uncle" légendaire : et autour de la case, le jardinet où l'on a planté du tabac, du blé, les pastèques "chers au palais du noir". Comme perspective, des champs de coton à perte de vue. C'est le triomphe de la couleur locale, toute une évocation saisissante du passé : d'un passé qui n'est pas tout à fait mort, qui revit dans ces jeux nègres, dans les chansons nègres, sortes de mélopées traînantes et mélancoliques accompagnant les danses populaires de l'Alabama et du Mississippi : l'aile de pigeon de la vieille Virginie, la double marche de la Caroline ; le "Pas Mala du nègre français" : "souvenir du Cake-Walk" que nous veux-tu ?

Arrachons-nous «à la complainte de la Louisiane créole : franchissons maintenant des scènes de carnage empruntées à toutes les guerres du Nouveau-Monde : guerre d'indépendance, guerres indiennes , guerre civile : passons à travers les terreurs de l'inondation où sombre l'ile Galveston; parmi les fumées et les flammes d'un incendie à New-York : enjambons encore le Pôle Nord pour nous asseoir dans le scenic Railway, les inoubliables montagnes russes, qui par des tunnels souterrains, des ponts vertigineux, nous font faire le plus fantastique, le plus étourdissant, le plus ahurissant des voyages.

Puis, afin de nous étourdir tout à fait, la glissade des bateaux-plats, des water-chutes et l'irruption dans les eaux soulevées du lac.

Et après l'eau, le feu.
Nous voici dans une sorte de cirque : des hommes agiles comme des acrobates, disciplinés comme des soldats, jouent devant nous la tragédie du feu.

Au poste d'incendie, on vient de sonner l'alarme. Ces hommes sautent de leur couchette, harnachent leurs chevaux, s'équipent, se précipitent en ordre à travers le panorama mouvant d'une rue New-Yorkaise.

Et, juste en face de nous, un bâtiment gigantesque brûle, bloc rougeoyant : aux fenêtres, des gens tendent les bras, appellent au secours. Un galop de chevaux et les sauveteurs arrivent. Tout de suite, la manoeuvre commence, rapide, précise, parmi des torrents de fumée et de flammes. On les voit, avec des crochets aériens arracher les victimes à la mort. Autour des acteurs et du drame, le feu met une rouge auréole. C'est très beau, très vrai.

Au surplus, vous entendez bien qu'il n'y a pas de feu du tout, que le feu est une illusion, comme la vue de New-York, comme le Pike. Ce qui, par contre, n'est pas une illusion, c'est l'adresse, le sang-froid, la science de ces acrobates qui sont des pompiers authentiques, les premiers pompiers du monde, les mieux outillés, les mieux entrainés, la brigade des Hale's Fire Fighters de Kansas-City, célèbres dans tout l'univers.

Et voilà tout, la Hale's Fire Fighters Brigade marque la borne occidentale du Pike et la fin de cette course folle : 5 heures 40 Il était temps !

Pourtant, nous n'avons pas tout dit : plus étonnant qu'aucune des merveilles du Pike. il y a la rue de Babel où se croisent, se
i
coudoient, se mêlent, grouillante poussière multicolore, toutes les races : la blanche, la noire, la rouge, la jaune : où paradent majestueux les gardes Jefferson, où vont des nègres, des planteurs importants, de plantureuses fermières, mainte dame créole "aux charmes ignorés", voire quelques Parisiennes, trop rares au gré du Parisien exilé. La nuit surtout, le spectacle est magique, quand le fleuve humain roule ses flots, bavards et disparates, sous l'aveuglante averse des lumières, un déluge de feux à côté de quoi tout ce que nous avons vu ailleurs n'est que deuil et ténèbres, c'est un éblouissement ! Où sommes-nous? en quel siècle et dans quel pays? en Afrique? en Asie? en Amérique ? Non. nous sommes au Pike, un jour quelconque, un soir quelconque des 212 jours et soirs de la géante Foire.

C'est bien autre chose lorsqu'il y a « parade ». Cette fois, il faut céder la parole au Barnum indigène, dont la seule grandiloquence égale les choses qu'il dit :
«La parade des peuples et des bêtes le jour du Pike. écrit le World's Fair Bulletin, est bien le plus grand des spectacles que le monde ait contemplés. Par sa magnificence barbare, par son intérêt humain, cela dépasse de loin le Jubilé de la Reine, les triomphes des conquérants à Rome, la visite de la Reine de Saba à Salomon. »

Au milieu d'un ouragan de musiques, du murmure de trente langues, du miroitement de mille couleurs, une caravane sans pareille, déroule sa course serpentine parmi la cité des Palais : Six mille indigènes de proches et lointains climats, deux mille animaux de toutes espèces, s'avancent dans la plus étrange procession qu'on ait vue depuis le jour où ils cherchèrent refuge dans l'arche ! Et seule la famille de Noé fut sauvée des flots alors qu'ici des représentants de toutes les races humaines défilent vers le Pike polyglotte, en cette marche solennelle des nations : Chinois, Japonais, Russes, Tyroliens, Irlandais, Français, Turcs, Caffres, Assyriens, Pygmées africains et Patagons géants.

Et Barnum continue... mais le souffle nous manque.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général