Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

Federal Government

Federal Government
 at the Exhibition Saint-Louis 1904

The first building one encounters when entering the Exhibition through the eastern gate is the Federal Government pavilion.

Elsewhere we have said that the Union Government has allocated nearly $1,500,000 to its particular Exhibition. Of that sum, the two buildings - for there are two - of the Government figure for about $500,000.

It does not appear that the Washington Government has misused that sum. On the contrary. First of all, it has chosen the right site for its Palace; it stands on the height east of Festival Hall, west of the Mines and Metallurgy from which the green lawns of Sunken Garden separate it. With its large dome visible from the centre of the Great Fair, it looks really great. Climbing plants and flowers supplied by Agriculture frame it nicely. It is not only imposing, it is sturdy, as Uncle Sam's house must be. The only one of the Exhibition buildings, it is built with a metal frame, with no interior support points.

To the south of this pavilion, and connected with it by a stepped path, is its annex, the Fisheries, (135 feet square), of a classical style, which completes the Government Exhibition.

From the outside, let us move on to the inside.

The character and merit of all that is seen here is, in short, that it is distinctly American.

The National Museum and the Smithsonian Institute take the lead. In the distribution of funds, they have had the lion's share.

The ministries or departments of state are strongly represented; that of Agriculture, which occupies the largest space in the main building, has endeavoured to show us the role of the state alongside the farmer; what are the forms and limits of official assistance; how it enlightens, directs, and encourages the effort of the individual. The agricultural colleges, the agronomic stations of the United States, Alaska, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, show interesting things. A bureau of plant industry gives us an overview of the work of the outdoors and the laboratory. Further on, we are shown the development and benefits of irrigation.

And from the fields we move on to the city.

The city will be represented, if you like, by this postal service of the United States, which we see operating before our eyes, with all its latest improvements. There is nothing like the spectacle of this beehive at work to give us the sensation of intense life, of that doubly modern life which is that of the great cities of the new world.

The Department of the Interior exhibits a panorama, with the most characteristic views of American flora and fauna, mostly taken in Yellow stone Park.

Distinct, though still dependent on the Government, is the Indian Exposition, which has a special appropriation of $40,000.

But the work of peace does not absorb all the energies of the citizen of the United States. The importance of the War and Naval Exhibitions can be seen when visiting this Palace.

Already, during the Dedication, we noticed the growing taste of the Americans for military parades, for the soldier. We make the same observation here, in another form.

First of all, a collection of cannons, illustrious weapons: precious relics, historical documents, among others, the original of the famous transfer treaty.

There is nothing, of course, in all these parchments, in all these piously displayed souvenirs, that smells of gunpowder; but not far from them is a very complete collection of war equipment, not dating back a hundred years.

The Navy is even more martial in appearance. It offers to black curiosity the very deck of an American warship, which we are free to inspect; a dry dock: scale models of each unit of the fleet: a miniature reproduction of the Annapolis Naval Accalmie, one of the latest creations of Congress, which has endowed it with 10. Finally, 200 sailors performing the exercise before our eyes: a whole ensemble that suggests that Uncle Sam, farmer, industrialist and businessman, would know how to put on the armour and wield the sword if necessary.

All in all, an installation and exhibition worthy of the great lord that he is, superior in scope, in wealth, in interest to those he had offered himself and us in Chicago.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Gouvernement Fédéral


Gouvernement Fédéral à l'exposition de Saint-Louis 1904

Le premier bâtiment qu'on rencontre quand on pénètre dans l'Exposition par la porte de l'est, c'est le pavillon du Gouvernement fédéral.

Ailleurs nous avons dit que le Gouvernement de l'Union avait affecté près de 1.500.000 dollars à son Exposition particulière. Sur cette somme, les deux bâtiments, car ils sont deux — du gouvernement figurent pour 500.000 dollars environ.

Il ne semble pas que le Gouvernement de Washington ait fait un mauvais emploi de cette somme. Au contraire. Il a d'abord bien choisi le site où bâtir son Palais ; il se dresse sur la hauteur à l'est de Festival-Hall, à l'ouest des Mines et Métallurgie dont le séparent les verdoyantes pelouses de Sunken garden. Avec son large dôme visible du centre de la Grande Foire, il a vraiment grand air. Des plantes grimpantes, des fleurs fournies par l'Agriculture, l'encadrent joliment. Il n'est pas seulement imposant, il est robuste, comme doit être la maison de l'Oncle Sam. Seul des bâtiments de l'Exposition, il est construit avec une armature métallique, sans points d'appui intérieurs.

Au sud de ce pavillon, et reliée à lui par un chemin en escalier, son annexe, les Pêcheries, (carré de 135 pieds), d'un style classique, qui complète l'Exposition du Gouvernement.

Du dehors, passons au dedans.

Le caractère et le mérite de tout ce qu'on y voit, c'est en somme d'être américain, nettement.

Le Musée national et l'Institut Smithsonian y tiennent le premier rang. Dans la répartition des fonds, ils ont eu la grosse part.

Les ministères ou départements d'Etat sont fortement représentés; celui de L'Agriculture, qui occupe la plus grande place dans le bâtiment principal, s'est appliqué à nous montrer le rôle de l'Etat à côté du fermier ; quelles sont les formes et les limites de l'Assistance officielle ; comment elle éclaire, dirige, encourage l'effort de l'individu. Les collèges agricoles, les stations agronomiques des Etats-Unis, d'Alaska, de Porto-Rico, d'Hawaï, exposent des choses intéressantes. Un bureau de l'Industrie des plantes (bureau of plant industrie) , nous donne un aperçu des travaux du plein air et du Laboratoire. Plus loin, on nous montre le développement et les bienfaits de l'irrigation.

Et des champs nous passons à la ville.

La ville, elle sera figurée, si vous voulez, par ce service postal des Etats-Unis, que nous voyons fonctionner sous nos yeux, avec tous ses derniers perfectionnements. Rien ne vaut le spectacle de cette ruche en travail pour nous donner la sensation de la vie intense, de cette vie doublement moderne qui est celle des grandes cités du nouveau monde.

Le département de l'Intérieur expose un panorama, avec les vues les plus caractéristiques de la flore et de la faune américaines, prises pour la plupart à Yellow stone Park.

Distincte, bien que dépendante encore du Gouvernement, l'Exposition indienne qui bénéficie d'un crédit spécial de 40.000 dollars.

Mais les travaux de la paix n'absorbent pas toutes les énergies du citoyen des Etats-Unis. On s'en aperçoit bien en visitant ce Palais, à l'importance des Expositions de la guerre et de la marine.

Déjà, lors de la Dédicace, nous avons remarque le goût croissant des Américains pour les parades militaires, pour le soldat. Nous faisons, sous une autre forme, la même constatation ici.

D'abord, une collection de canons, d'armes illustres: des reliques précieuses, des documents historiques, entre autres, l'original du fameux traité de transfert.

Rien, certes, dans tous ces parchemins, dans tous ces souvenirs pieusement exhibés, qui sente la poudre; mais, non loin d'eux, s'étale un matériel de guerre très complet et qui ne date pas d'il y a cent ans.

La Marine est d'allure encore plus martiale. Elle offre à noire curiosité le pont même d'un navire de guerre américain, qu'il nous est loisible d'inspecter; un dock à sec: des modèles en réduction de chaque unité de la flotte: une reproduction en miniature de l'Accalmie navale d'Annapolis, une des dernières créations du Congrès qui l'a dotée de 10.000.000 de dollars; enfin 200 marins qui font l'exercice sous nos yeux : tout un ensemble qui donne à penser que l'Oncle Sam, laboureur, industriel, homme d'affaires saurait, au besoin, revêtir la cuirasse et manier le glaive.

Au total, installation et Exposition dignes du grand seigneur qu'il est, supérieures par l'étendue, par la richesse, par l'intérêt à celles qu'il s'était et nous avait offertes à Chicago.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général