Louisiana Purchase Exposition - Saint-Louis 1904

Celebration of the centenary of the purchase of the Louisiana territory, April 30, 1803

April 30, 1904 - December 1, 1904


Back - List of Pavilions

Sports

manque image

This solid, massive Missouri granite building looks more like the gateway to some ancient fortress than an Exposition Palace.

It is situated at the western end of the city, bordered on the south by Fourth Avenue and on the north by the Aeronautics building sites.

The execution process followed by the architect is very simple: high, thick walls with unadorned openings.

The entire façade consists of two square towers that rise up on either side of the entrance like bastions, ending in a platform and battlements, and are pierced over the entire height by mullioned openings with two or three crosspieces. They seem to be supports for dizzying recoveries, an invitation to climb, a challenge to the most agile, the best muscled.

The entrance is set back and has the appearance of a large arched window at the top, adorned with sculptures, the only decorative motifs to be found in the entire building. The portcullis and drawbridge are missing from the portal.

The sides are of the same construction as the towers, a bare wall pierced by cross-tiles.

At the rear, the walls are lowered and only rise to half the height of the side walls. They are supported by buttresses.

The athletics and sports headquarters is 64 metres long and 34 metres wide.

The special character of its architecture is a marked tendency towards the Gothic style.

The interior is more ornate, with porticoes surrounding the courtyards, exercise rooms, hydrotherapy rooms, and rooms containing exhibitions of the various industries involved in physical education: games, weapons, clothing, apparatus, and also everything related to the moral and plastic side: documents, graphics, various works, etc. The special system of tables designed to facilitate the development of schoolchildren without interrupting their studies, and Dr. Richer's statuettes, which add a French artistic touch, can be found here.

The athletic field is attached to the palace and follows it. Its track is 1/3 of a mile long (536 metres); in a straight line it is more than 200 metres long. Resistant, soft and elastic, it is dug with such a perfect drainage system, that the most violent rain storm does not leave a trace after a few minutes, so that the soggy ground is never a cause of postponement.

Seats for 25,000 spectators are arranged on the south side of the track, supported on the natural slope of the clay bench that was used to build this immense amphitheatre.

This is where the Olympic Games are held. If the winners no longer enjoy the intoxicating triumphs of ancient Greece, if the medals are less glorious than the olive wreaths, and if there is not as much poetry in the diplomas as in the stanzas of Pindar, the fervour for the games of strength and skill, the cult of physical beauty, has remained as lively.

Football, running, lawn-tennis, long-palm and fencing were all practised in the same place. Gymnastics and sports societies have their own apparatus and tracks, and shooting societies their own stands.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Sports



Cette solide et massive construction en granit du Missouri ressemble plutôt à la porte de quelque ancienne forteresse qu'à un palais d'Exposition.

Elle est située à l'extrémité ouest bordée au sud par Fourth Avenue, au nord par les emplacements de l'Aéronautique.

Le procédé d'exécution suivi par l'architecte est très simple : hauts et épais murs percés d'ouvertures sans ornementation.

Toute la façade consiste en deux tours carrées qui se dressent de chaque coté de l'entrée comme des bastions, se terminent par une plate-forme et des créneaux et sont percées sur toute la hauteur d'ouvertures à meneaux à deux ou trois croisées. On dirait des appuis offerts aux rétablissements vertigineux, une invitation à l'escalade, un défi aux plus agiles, aux mieux musclés.

L'entrée est en retrait et présente l'aspect d'une grande baie cintrée en haut, et ornée de sculptures, les seuls motifs de décoration qu'on puisse trouver dans tout l'édifice. On songe à la herse et au pont-levis qui manquent au portail.

Les côtés sont de même construction que les tours, une muraille nue percée de croisées.

A l'arrière, les murs s'affaissent et ne montent qu'à mi-hauteur des pans latéraux. Ils sont appuyés par des contre-torts.

Le quartier général de l'athlétisme et des sports mesure 64 mètres de long sur 34 de large.

Le caractère particulier de son architecture est une tendance marquée vers le style gothique.

L'intérieur est plus orné et on y remarque les portiques des salles qui entourent les cours, salles d'exercice, d'hydrothérapie, salles qui renferment les Expositions des diverses industries qui intéressent l'éducation physique : jeux, armes, vêtements, appareils : et aussi tout ce qui se rapporte au côté moral et à la plastique : documents, graphiques. ouvrages divers, etc. C'est là que se trouvent les tables à système spécial destinées à faciliter le développement des écoliers sans interrompre leurs études, et les statuettes du Dr Richer qui jettent leur note artistique si française.

Le champ athlétique tient au palais et lui fait suite. Sa piste a 1/3 de mille de circuit (536 mètres); en ligne droite plus de 200 mètres. Résistante, douce et élastique, elle est creusée d'un système de drainage si parfait, que la plus violente pluie d'orage ne laisse pas de trace au bout de quelques minutes, de sorte que la détrempe du terrain n'est jamais une cause de remise.

Des sièges pour 25.000 spectateurs sont disposés du coté sud de la piste, soutenus sur l'inclinaison naturelle du banc d'argile qui a servi à l'établissement de cet immense amphithéâtre.

C'est là que se disputent les jeux olympiques. Si les vainqueurs ne goûtent plus les enivrements du triomphe, comme dans la Grèce antique : si les médailles sont moins glorieuses que les couronnes d'olivier et s'il ne se rencontre pas autant de poésie dans les diplômes que dans les strophes de Pindare, la ferveur pour les jeux de la force et de l'adresse, le culte de la beauté physique sont restés aussi vifs.

Le foot-ball, la course à pied, lawn-tennis, longue-paume, escrime sont pratiqués dans la même enceinte. Les sociétés de gymnastique et de sports y ont leurs appareils et leurs pistes, les sociétés de tir leurs stands.

©Exposition internationale de Saint Louis 1904. Rapport général