Back - List of Pavilions

Paris Chamber of Commerce - Expo Paris 1900

Paris Chamber of Commerce at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

Finally, the Paris Chamber of Commerce had erected a very elegant pavilion near the Palais de la Navigation de Commerce; this was a very appropriate location, since the port of Paris, although it is only a river port with the Seine and the Ourcq Canal, is nonetheless the most important port in France.

Placed on the threshold of the Champ de Mars, the Chamber of Paris welcomed foreign trade. This honour was rightfully itss, for no institution takes more to heart the development of our relations and the concern for our peaceful prosperity.

Without mentioning all its foundations, it may be recalled that it is to the Paris Chamber of Commerce that are due the Ecole des Hautes Etudes Commerciales, the Ecole Supérieure de Commerce, the Ecole Commerciale and the evening classes, the whole scale of education which is the increasingly necessary basis for the functioning of modern societies.

The work of the students was exhibited in the salons of the pavilion built by Mr. Lucien Roy, decorated with frescoes by Joannon and a stained glass window by Grasset, recalling the cycle of the Company's ordinary occupations.

If French industry and trade have in many respects allowed themselves to be left behind by the competition of facts, one thing has remained intact on which the most certain assurances can be based: our ancient reputation for courtesy and loyalty.

©L'Exposition du Siècle - 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chambre de Commerce de Paris


Chambre de Commerce de Paris à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Enfin, la Chambre de commerce de Paris avait élevé un très élégant pavillon près du Palais de la Navigation de commerce ; ce voisinage était tout indiqué, car le port de Paris, pour n'être que fluvial avec la Seine et le canal de l'Ourcq, n'en est pas moins le plus important des ports de France.

Placée au seuil du Champ de Mars, la Chambre de Paris souhaitait la bienvenue au commerce étranger. Cet honneur lui revenait de droit, car aucune institution ne prend plus à cœur le développement de nos relations et le souci de notre prospérité pacifique.

Sans citer toutes ses fondations, on peut rappeler que c'est à la Chambre de commerce de Paris que sont dus l'École des Hautes Etudes commerciales, l'Ecole supérieure de Commerce, l'École commerciale et les cours du soir, toute l'échelle de l'enseignement qui est la base de plus en plus nécessaire du fonctionnement des sociétés modernes.

Les travaux des élèves étaient exposés dans les salons du pavillon construit par M. Lucien Roy, décoré de fresques de Joannon et d'un vitrail de Grasset, rappelant le cycle des occupations ordinaires de la Compagnie.

Si l'industrie et le négoce français se sont sur bien des points laissé distancer par la concurrence des faits, une chose est restée intacte sur laquelle les plus certaines assurances peuvent s'appuyer : notre antique renom de courtoisie et de loyauté.

©L'Exposition du Siècle - 1900