Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Ponsin Light Palace

Ponsin Light Palace at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

Architect(s) : Ponsin

It is said that the Khalifa Haroun-al-Rechid had an extraordinary pavilion in his gardens, on the banks of the Tigris, whose windows were illuminated at night by eighty chandeliers; the result was a splendid illumination whose radiance could be seen throughout the city of Baghdad.

I cannot see the luminous Palace, which shines its capricious architecture into the lake of the Champ de Mars, without thinking of the wonder of the oriental tale. It is not that the design of this building is very harmonious, nor its decoration of a very pure taste, but it has a fantastic aspect which confounds the imagination. Its shape is reminiscent of the kiosks with curved roofs and bells that are reproduced on screens; as for the transparent and fragile material used in its construction, it reminds one of the spun sugar of some gigantic piece of confectionery.

Nothing is more difficult than to describe this monument: it is a bizarre assembly of decorative motifs from all over the world, Louis XVI rocaille, Chinese clochetons, Arab arches, melted in coloured glass. If the Palais Ponsin is of an extraordinary effect the day, it is even more surprising the evening; that it is seen of outside or interior, it appears completely luminous without that nowhere a single point of fire is visible there. Twelve thousand electric lamps, skilfully placed, provide a focus of incandescence equally spread throughout the building. The steps, risers and banisters of the two staircases leading to the Palace become phosphorescent; the columns seem, like the famous columns of the temple of Tyre, to be carved from precious stones endowed with nocturnal radiance; the walls are illuminated; the roofs unfold flamboyant outlines in the darkness; finally, at the summit of the monument, on a globe of fire which seems to revolve in the air, stands the Goddess of Light brandishing two dazzling torches.

The Luminous Palace should not be considered as a mere amusement for the eyes; it deserves to be studied as an extremely curious specimen of the latest perfection in the art of glassmaking. Conceived and designed by Mr. Ponsin, who died before seeing it built, this monument was constructed by the famous Société des Manufactures de Glaces de Saint-Gobain, which was joined by the Verrerie de Saint-Denis for the manufacture of blown glass pieces.

Glass is the only element in the construction and decoration of the Palace. This apparently fragile and rigid material has been shaped in a thousand ways; it has been cast in massive blocks; it has been modelled like stucco; it has been cut like marble; it has been made alternately opaque and transparent; sometimes it shines with the most brilliant colours and sometimes, reflecting images, it deceives the eye with astonishing games of perspective. The roof tiles, the pillars and the balustrades are made of glass; the halls are paved with glass; the walls are made of three thousand six hundred pieces of moulded glass; the dome is made of printed glass plates. In jewel cases, glass imitates the rarest gems; it is even woven into sumptuous draperies and carpets.

The Luminous Palace not only shows glass used in the most unexpected ways, but also introduces the layman to the secret of the metamorphoses of this wonderful material. In the caves beneath the building, a furnace has been installed and skilled workers blow the glass before the eyes of the visitors; while on the first floor, jewellers cut it and give it the fire of a diamond.

Blasé by the countless discoveries of the 19th century, we have little appreciation of the industrial inventions that make our daily lives easy and pleasant. We regard as very simple manufacturing processes which for a long time were considered as astonishing secrets. The Saint-Gobain Exhibition will awaken our admiration for one of the most beautiful and useful materials created by human industry.

©L'illustre Soleil du Dimanche

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais Lumineux Ponsin


Palais Lumineux Ponsin à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Architecte(s) : Ponsin

On raconte que le khalife Haroun-al-Rechid avait dans ses jardins, sur le bord du Tigre, un pavillon extraordinaire, dont les fenêtres étaient éclairées, la nuit, par quatre-vingts lustres; il en résultait une illumination splendide dont le rayonnement s'apercevait de toute la ville de Bagdad.

Je ne puis voir le Palais lumineux, qui mire dans le lac du Champ de Mars son architecture capricieuse, sans songer à la merveille du conte oriental. Ce n'est pas que le dessin de cet édifice soit très harmonieux, ni sa décoration d'un goût très pur, mais il a un aspect fantastique qui confond l'imagination. Sa forme rappelle celle des kiosques à toits contournés et à clochettes qui sont reproduits sur les paravents; quant à la matière transparente et fragile qui a servi à sa construction, elle fait penser au sucre filé de quelque gigantesque pièce de confiserie.

Rien de plus difficile que de décrire ce monument : c'est un assemblage bizarre de motifs décoratifs de tous les pays, rocailles Louis XVI, clochetons chinois, arceaux arabes, fondus en verre de couleur. Si le Palais Ponsin est d'un effet extraordinaire le jour, il est plus surprenant encore le soir; qu'il soit vu de l'extérieur ou de l'intérieur, il apparaît complètement lumineux sans que nulle part un seul point de feu y soit visible. Douze mille lampes électriques, habilement disposées, fournissent un foyer d'incandescence également répandu à travers tout l'édifice. Les marches, les contremarches et les rampes des deux escaliers qui donnent accès au Palais deviennent phosphorescentes; les colonnes semblent, comme les fameuses colonnes du temple de Tyr, taillées dans des pierres précieuses douées de rayonnement nocturne; les murs s'éclairent; les toitures,déploient dans les ténèbres de flamboyants contours ; enfin, au faîte du monument, sur un globe de feu qui paraît tourner dans les airs, se dresse la déesse de la Lumière brandissant deux flambeaux éblouissants.

Le Palais lumineux ne doit pas être considéré comme un simple amusement des yeux ; il mérite d'être étudié comme un spécimen extrêmement curieux des derniers perfectionnements de l'art de la verrerie. Conçu et projeté par M.Ponsin, qui est mort avant de l'avoir vu édifié, ce monument a été construit par la célèbre Société des Manufactures de Glaces de Saint-Gobain, à laquelle s'est adjointe la Verrerie de Saint-Denis pour la fabrication des pièces en verre soufflé.

Le verre est l'unique élément de la construction et de la décoration du Palais. On a façonné de mille manières cette matière d'apparence si fragile et si rigide; on l'a coulée en blocs massifs; on l'a modelée comme du stuc; taillée comme du marbre; on l'a rendue tour à tour opaque et transparente; tantôt elle brille des plus éclatantes couleurs et tantôt, réfléchissant les images, elle abuse les regards par d'étonnants jeux de perspective. En verre sont les tuiles des toits, les piliers et les vasques des balustrades; en verre sont pavées les salles; les murs sont faits de trois mille six cents pièces de verre moulé; la coupole de plaques de verre imprimé. Dans des écrins, le verre imite à s'y méprendre les gemmes les plus rares ; il se tisse même en draperies et en tapis somptueux.

Le Palais lumineux ne se contente pas de montrer le verre utilisé de la façon la plus imprévue, il initie les profanes au secret des métamorphoses de cette matière merveilleuse. Dans les grottes ménagées au-dessous de l'édifice a été installé un four, et d'habiles ouvriers soufflent le verre sous les yeux des visiteurs; tandis qu'au premier étage, des joailliers le taillent et lui donnent le feu du diamant.

Blasés par les innombrables découvertes du XIXe siècle, nous apprécions mal les inventions industrielles qui rendent notre vie journalière aisée et agréable. Nous regardons comme fort simples des procédés de fabrication qui pendant longtemps ont passé pour d'étonnants secrets. L'Exposition de la Société de Saint-Gobain réveillera notre admiration pour une des matières les plus belles et les plus utiles qu'ait créées l'industrie humaine.

©L'illustre Soleil du Dimanche