Back - List of Pavilions

Festival Hall - Expo Paris 1900

Festival Hall at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900
Architect(s) : Raulin

Several fair criticisms have been made of the general construction and especially the situation of the Salle des Fêtes at the 1900 Exhibition. It cannot be seen from the outside; crouched under the tubular glass of the nave of the former Galerie des Machines, it has been said to produce the effect of an enormous pumpkin enclosed in a gigantic frame.

On the other hand, relegated to the very back of the Champ de Mars buildings, behind the Palais de l'Electricité which defends the approaches, it only communicates with the outside through a single door, low and unstylish, opening opposite the Ecole Militaire: this is an unfortunate arrangement for a festival hall intended, on the main days, to receive 14 to 15,000 visitors from all parts of the Exhibition.

Having made these reservations, the harmonious taste of the architect, Mr. Raulin, who designed the interior of the hall, is to be commended. In spite of its colossal proportions, the whole is elegant and of a pretty colour.

The building consists of a dome of about 4000 metres in area, supported by a system of arches about 45 metres high. Under the arcade on the Avenue de La Mothe-Picquet side is the official gallery, while the opposite arcade houses a monumental staircase leading to a reception room.

The dome is illuminated by a stained glass window of 1700 metres in area, the work of Messrs Ehrmann and Gaudin; its brilliant colours, dominated by pink, yellow, purple and gold, give the light in the hall soft, warm shades. This stained glass window is supported by a metal framework placed on a latticework designed to attenuate the effects of dilation and contraction produced by the heat.

Four groups of paintings, signed by Messrs Cormon, François Flameng, Albert Maignan and Rochegrosse, decorate the room. In spite of the height at which they are placed they harmonize marvelously with the general colouring, of a soft yellow mixed with reseda. Vigorous golds and soft blue ornaments raise what could be a little bland in this tone. The crests of the thirty-six exhibiting nations are spread in a crown below the cornice of the dome and add even more vivid and cheerfully multicoloured notes to the whole. The symphony is completed by the deep pink of the arches, the buttercup draperies of the four main stands, and the alternating brick-red or white backdrops, heightened with grey, of the amphitheatre stands.

These stands are distributed three by three; they are designed in the form of a niche and are lit from above. They are accessed by corridors in the outer perimeter.

Let us add that the ventilation of the room is ensured by powerful apparatuses which emerge, not, according to the usual practice, through orifices placed in the upper parts, but through a clerestory made in the parquet floor, in the centre of the room.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Salle des Fêtes


Salle des Fêtes à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Architecte(s) : Raulin

On a fait plusieurs justes critiques sur la construction générale et surtout la situation de la Salle des Fêtes de l'Exposition de 1900. On ne la voit point de l'extérieur ; accroupie sous le vitrage tubulaire de la nef de l'ancienne Galerie des Machines elle produit,a-t-on dit, l'effet d'une énorme citrouille enfermée sous un châssis gigantesque.

D'autre part, reléguée tout au fond des constructions du Champ de Mars, derrière le Palais de l'Electricité qui en défend les approches, elle ne communique avec l'extérieur que par une seule porte, basse et sans style, s'ouvrant en face de l'Ecole militaire : c'est là une disposition fâcheuse pour une salle de fêtes destinée, aux grands jours, à recevoir de tous les points de l'Exposition 14 à 15000 visiteurs.

Ces réserves faites, il convient de louer le goût harmonieux de l'architecte, M. Raulin, qui a présidé à l'aménagement intérieur de la salle. En dépit de ses proportions colossales l'ensemble en est élégant et d'une jolie couleur.

La construction est formée d'une coupole de 4000 mètres environ de superficie portée sur un système d'arcades de 45 mètres environ de hauteur. Sous l'arcade qui se trouve du côté de l'avenue de La Mothe-Picquetaété installée la tribune officielle, tandis que l'arcade opposée abrite un escalier monumental conduisant à un salon de réception.

La coupole est éclairée par un vitrail de 1700 mètres de superficie dû à la collaboration de MM. Ehrmann et Gaudin; ses éclatantes couleurs où dominent le rose, le jaune, le pourpre et l'or donnent à la lumière de la salle des nuances douces et chaudes.Ce vitrail est soutenu par une charpente métallique posée sur un grillage en lacis, destiné à atténuer les effets de dilatation et de contraction produits par la chaleur.

Quatre groupes de peintures, signées des noms de MM. Cormon, François Flameng, Albert Maignan et Rochegrosse décorent la salle. Malgré la hauteur à laquelle elles sont placées elles s'harmonisent à merveille avec la coloration générale, d'un jaune doux mêlé de réséda. Des ors vigoureux et des ornements d'un bleu tendre relèvent ce que cette tonalité pourrait avoir d'un peu fade. Les écussons des trentes-six nations exposantes sont répartis en couronne au-dessous de la corniche du dôme et jettent sur le tout des notes plus vives encore et gaiement multicolores. La symphonie est complétée par le rose soutenu des voussures, les draperies bouton d'or des quatre tribunes principales, et les fonds alternativement rouge brique ou blanc, rehaussé de gris, des tribunes d'amphithéâtre.

Ces tribunes sont réparties trois par trois; elles sont conçues en forme de niche et^ prennent jour par en haut» On y accède par des couloirs pratiqués dans le pourtour extérieur.

Ajoutons que la ventilation du local est assurée par de puissants appareils qui débouchent, non pas, suivant l'habitude, par des orifices placés dans les parties hautes, mais par une claire-voie pratiquée dans le parquet, au centre de la salle.