Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Nicaragua

Nicaragua at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

Nicaragua had its exhibition in a large showcase on the ground floor of the Ecuador pavilion.

The exhibitors were represented by Mr. Crisanto Médina, Nicaragua's sympathetic Minister Plenipotentiary and Commissioner General.

In the first place, samples of rubber were on display and, thanks to the importance that this product has acquired in modern industry, they attracted the attention of European specialists who have already recognised its great qualities of flexibility and resistance.
A few specimens of tobacco, which is highly valued and whose cultivation is growing day by day, filled a part of the showcase in which minerals were also admired, the mere appearance of which already shows their wealth.

There were also sugars, and the best ones at that, coming from all the Nicaraguan traiches and especially from those of San Antonio and Polvon, immense plantations and splendid refineries set up with the most modern improvements. And finally, but above all, coffee, which constitutes the main wealth of the country and which is excellent.

All in all, it was a modest but interesting glimpse of a country that its president, J. Santos Zelaya, has been able to make people love and respect, which is not the least of his claims to fame.

Among the five nations that were once the Republic of Morazan and that are now, although separated politically, still,? Of the five nations which were once the Republic of Morazan, and which now, though separated physically, are still, ? by their fraternal feelings and by the community of their interests, a true federation, Nicaragua is one of the largest and most populous, and if Guatemala and Honduras are equivalent to it in territorial importance, and if El Salvador exceeds it in density of population, it is not, however, an exaggeration to say that Nicaragua is the republic which has made the most rapid progress in recent years. Indeed, it is enough to compare the state in which the country was in the past with its present state to realise its rapid and sure march towards progress. If it is true that the greatness of a people is measured by the length of its railways, it must be believed that Nicaragua is at the head of civilisation in Central America, for its railways, built with national resources and without the support of foreign capital, cover a more extensive network than those of neighbouring countries. But this axiom is not strictly true, because Nicaragua is no better or worse than its four sisters.

Reforms are obviously proceeding faster than in its neighbours, but Nicaragua is only making up for lost time.

Like Switzerland, and perhaps of greater proportions, Nicaragua is covered with mountains and lakes. Two Cordilleras cross it from north to south, erecting their snowy peaks, their basalt foothills and their volcanic peaks, the most modest of which are no less than 1000 metres high. Among these craters, all of which are now extinct, we should mention Cosigûina, which erupted for two days in 1835, spewing out more than 50 million cubic metres of rock that formed real islands in the middle of the Pacific.

It is also worth mentioning Momotombo, which Victor Hugo described in the Légende des Siècles as a superb heresiarch of nature.

These Cordilleras contain a large number of prehistoric caves in the depths of which scientists have discovered traces of all the ancient indigenous civilisations. The mineralogist Crawford, in particular, has made finds of the greatest interest there, unearthing, for example, the enormous skeletons of a tribe of giant Indians.

As for the lakes, it is enough to look at the map of the country to realise their importance; so we will only mention, among the largest and most beautiful, those of Nicaragua and Managa.

From a practical point of view, the lakes of Nicaragua are of great utility; all are already criss-crossed by steamers serving between their various ports and developing more and more commercial traffic.

Nicaragua, like all the countries of Central America, exports coffee, cocoa, rubber, indigo, and dyewood, partly exposed as we have seen above. Its most important markets are England, France, Germany, Italy, the United States, Spain, Belgium, Chile, Peru, etc.

In order to appreciate the European importance of Nicaragua, it is sufficient to consult, in the chancelleries of its consulates, the statistics established by means of consular invoices, in which it can be seen that no republic in Central America achieved, during the year 1899, the same turnover as Nicaragua.

The industry, still in its cradle, is nevertheless, despite the initial trials and tribulations, giving proof of what it can one day produce. As in all the countries of Spanish America, the worker loves his work as an artist and gives it a charming finish to which we are no longer sufficiently accustomed.

©Paul Gers - 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Nicaragua


Nicaragua à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Le Nicaragua avait son exposition dans une grande vitrine au rez-de-chaussée du pavillon de l'Equateur.

Les exposants étaient représentés par M. Crisanto Médina, le sympathique ministre plénipotentiaire de Nicaragua et son commissaire général.

En premier lieu, des échantillons de caoutchouc y figuraient et, grâce à l'importance que ce produit a acquise dans l'industrie moderne, ils attiraient l'attention des spécialistes européens qui ont déjà reconnu ses grandes qualités de souplesse et de résistance.
Quelques spécimens de tabacs, qui sont fort appréciés et dont la culture croît de jour en jour, remplissaient une partie de la vitrine dans laquelle on admirait également des minéraux le seul aspect extérieur fait déjà voir leur richesse.

On voyait également des sucres et des meilleurs, venus un peu de tous les trapiches de Nicaragua et très particulièrement de ceux de San Antonio et du Polvon, plantations immenses et raffineries splendides montées avec les perfectionnements les plus modernes. Et enfin, mais surtout, le café, qui constitue la richesse principale du pays et qui est excellent.

C'était, en somme, un aperçu trop modeste mais intéressant d'un pays que son président J. Santos Zelaya a su faire aimer et respecter, ce qui n'est pas un de ses moindres titres de gloire.

Parmi les cinq nations qui furent autrefois la république de Morazan et qui, maintenant, quoique séparées po litiquement, sont encore,?par leurs sentiments fraternels et par la communauté de leurs intérêts, une véritable fédération, le Nicaragua est une des plus grandes grandes et des plus peuplées, et si le Guatémala et le Honduras lui sont équivalent en importance territoriale, et si le Salvador le dépasse en densité de population, il n'est cependant pas exagéré de dire que le Nicaragua est la république qui a fait les plus rapides progrès dans ces dernières années. Il suffit, en effet, de comparer l'état dans lequel se trouvait le pays naguère, avec son état actuel, pour se rendre compte de sa marche rapide et sûre vers le progrès. S'il est vrai que la grandeur des peuples se mesure à la longueur de ses voies ferrées, il faut croire que, dans l'Amérique centrale, le Nicaragua est à la tète de la civilisation, car ses chemins de fer, construits avec les ressources nationales et sans l'appui de capitaux étrangers, couvrent un plus vaste réseau que ceux des pays voisins. Mais cet axiome n'est pas rigoureusement exact, car le Nicaragua ne vaut ni plus ni moins que ses quatre sœurs.

Les réformes y vont évidemment plus vite aujourd'hui que chez ses voisines, mais c'est qu'au Nicaragua on ne fait que rattraper le temps perdu.

Comme la Suisse, et dans des proportions plus grandioses peut-être, le Nicaragua est couvert de montagnes et de lacs. Deux Cordillères le traversent du nord au sud, érigeant leurs sommets neigeux, leurs contreforts de basaltes et leurs pics volcaniques dont les plus modestes ne mesurent pas moins de 1000 mètres. Parmi ces cratères, tous éteints maintenant, il faut citer le Cosigûina qui, en 1835, fit éruption pendant deux jours, vomissant plus de 50 millions de myriamètres cubes de roches qui formèrent en plein Pacifique de véritables îles.

Il convient de citer aussi le Momotombo, dont Victor Hugo a parlé dans la Légende des Siècles comme d'un superbe hérésiarque de la nature.

Ces Cordillères renferment un grand nombre de grottes préhistoriques au fond desquelles les savants ont découvert les traces de toutes les antiques civilisations indigènes. Le minéralogiste Crawford, surtout, y a fait des trouvailles du plus grand intérêt en déterrant, par exemple, les squelettes énormes d'une tribu d'Indiens géants.

Quant aux lacs, il suffit de regarder la carte du pays pour se rendre compte de leur importance ; aussi ne citerons-nous, parmi les plus grands et les plus beaux, que ceux de Nicaragua et de Managa.

Au point de vue pratique, les lacs du Nicaragua sont d'une grande utilité ; tous sont déjà sillonnés de bateaux à vapeur faisant le service entre leurs différents ports et développant toujours de plus en plus le trafic commercial.

Le Nicaragua, comme tous les pays de l'Amérique centrale, exporte du café, du cacao, du caoutchouc, de l'indigo, des bois de teinture, exposés en partie comme on l'a vu plus haut. Ses marchés les plus considérables sont : l'Angleterre, la France, l'Allemagne, l'Italie, les États-Unis, l'Espagne, la Belgique, le Chili, le Pérou, etc.

Pour se rendre compte de l'importance européenne au Nicaragua, il suffit de consulter, dans les chancelleries de ses consulats, les statistiques établies au moyen des factures consulaires et dans lesquelles on peut voir qu'aucune république de l'Amérique centrale n'a atteint, pendant l'année 1899, le même chiffre d'affaires que le Nicaragua.

L'industrie, encore au berceau, comme cependant, et malgré les tâtonnements du début, à donner des preuves de ce qu'elle pourra un jour produire. Comme dans tous les pays de l'Amérique espagnole, l'ouvrier aime son travail en artiste et lui donne un fini charmant auquel nous ne sommes plus assez habitués.

©Paul Gers - 1900