Back - List of Pavilions

Palace of Optics -

Palace of Optics at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

For two and a half centuries, astronomers have multiplied and clarified their observations to the point of being able to draw up a map of the moon; but this document is still very imperfect, because of the inadequacy of the instruments available up to now. The construction of the large telescope installed by Mr. François Deloncle at the Palais de l'Optique will allow photographs of the lunar surface to be taken at a very considerable magnification. If it is not true, as is commonly said, that the moon can be seen at the Palais de l'Optique at a distance of one metre, it is true that we have the illusion of seeing it at four kilometres, which is already a prodigious result.

Fifteen years ago, all the large glasses had only objectives suitable for the direct observation of the stars. MM. Paul and Prosper Henry, of the Paris Observatory, were the first to construct a lens of 0.60m aperture, where the optical achromatism is frankly subordinated to the requirements of photography. Their system received many improvements which were used in the telescope of M. Deloncle.

Sheltered in a gallery and supported by metallic pillars, it extends horizontally its gigantic tube of 60 meters in length, and of one and a half meter in diameter, a kind of luminous tunnel where a man can easily pass. The rays of the star to be observed are reflected in a siderostat, or mirror, 2 metres in diameter, 3o centimetres thick, and weighing with its frame about 7,000 kilograms. This mirror, subtracted from the rotation of the earth by a clockwork mechanism which gives it an equal and opposite impulse, collects the luminous radiation of the moon and sends it back through the two monster lenses of the objective to the one of the eyepiece. There, the image is received, magnified about 10,000 times on a screen; now, the moon 10,000 times magnified is the moon at about 80 kilometres. Photography will help to bring it closer.

Instead of receiving the image of the eye on a screen, we can collect it on a sensitive plate, make a durable print which we then project with enlargement; we thus obtain a reproduction of the lunar disk covering 12 metres; a mass of 5o metres on the satellite appears like a fly. In a word, one has the illusion of seeing the star at a distance of 4 kilometres. It is only an illusion, because the photographic enlargement, as you can see, does not constitute a real approximation of the ocular image.

M. François Deloncle, who wants to interest the public as well as serve science, did not think it necessary to back down from this little trick; in the name of popularisation, he even allows himself to put shows of grandiose fantasy before the eyes of the public. In dioramas, he reproduces lunar landscapes; then he paints an imaginary journey in a star; finally, crossing the centuries as easily as space, he tells in twenty pictures the genesis of the earth. To these astronomical views is joined, in other rooms, the spectacle of all the miracles of light; all the discoveries of optical science, all the wonders of the fairground are gathered in this marvellous palace. In three quarters of an hour, the visitor passes through twenty-six rooms and attends sixty different shows.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de l'Optique


Palais de l'Optique à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Depuis deux siècles et demi, les astronomes ont multiplié et précisé leurs observations au point de pouvoir dresser une carte de la lune; mais ce document est encore fort imparfait, à cause de l'insuffisance des instruments dont on a disposé jusqu'à présent. La construction de la grande lunette installée par M. François Deloncle au Palais de l'Optique, va permettre des photographies du sol lunaire à un grossissement très considérable. S'il n'est pas vrai, comme on le dit vulgairement, qu'on voie au Palais de l'Optique la lune à un mètre, il est exact qu'on a l'illusion de la voir à quatre kilomètres, ce qui est déjà un prodigieux résultat.

Il y a quinze ans, toutes les grandes lunettes ne possédaient que des objectifs appropriés à l'observation directe des astres. MM. Paul et Prosper Henry, de l'Observatoire de Paris, ont été les premiers à construire une lentille de 0,60m d'ouverture, où l'achromatisme optique est franchement subordonné aux exigences de la photographie. Leur système a reçu de nombreux perfectionnements qui ont été utilisés dans la lunette de M. Deloncle.

Abritée dans une galerie et soutenue par des piliers métalliques, elle étend horizontalement son tube gigantesque de 60 mètres de longueur, et d'un mètre et demi de diamètre sorte de tunnel lumineux où un homme peut passer aisément. Les rayons de l'astre à observer sont réfléchis dans un sidérostat, ou miroir, de 2 mètres de diamètre, de 3o centimètres d'épaisseur, et pesant avec son armature environ 7.000 kilogrammes. Ce miroir, soustrait au mouvement de rotation de la terre, par un mécanisme d'horlogerie qui lui imprime une impulsion égale et contraire, recueille donc le rayonnement lumineux de la lune, et le renvoie à travers les deux lentilles monstres de l'objectif jusqu'à celle de l'oculaire. Là, l'image est reçue,environ 10.000 fois grossie sur un écran; or, la lune 10.000 fois agrandie, c'est la lune à 80 kilomètres environ. La photographie va aider à la rapprocher davantage.

Au lieu de recevoir l'image oculaire sur un écran, on peut, en effet, la recueillir sur une plaque sensible, en tirer une épreuve durable qu'on projette ensuite avec agrandissement; on obtient ainsi une reproduction du disque lunaire couvrant 12 mètres; une masse de 5o mètres sur le satellite apparaît comme une mouche. En un mot, on a l'illusion de voir l'astre à une distance de 4 kilomètres. On n'en a que l'illusion, car l'agrandissement photographique, on le comprend bien, ne constitue pas un réel rapprochement de l'image oculaire.

M. François Deloncle, qui veut intéresser la foule en même temps que servir la science, n'a pas cru devoir reculer devant cette petite supercherie; au nom de la vulgarisation, il se permet même de mettre sous les yeux du public des spectacles d'une fantaisie grandiose. Dans des dioramas, il reproduit des paysages lunaires; puis il peint un voyage imaginaire dans un astre; enfin, franchissant les siècles aussi aisément que l'espace, il raconte en vingt tableaux la genèse de la terre. Aces vues astronomiques est joint,dans d'autres salles, le spectacle de tous les miracles de la lumière; toutes les découvertes de la science optique, tous les prodiges des fêtes foraines sont réunis dans ce palais merveilleux. En trois quarts d'heure, le visiteur traverse vingt-six salles et assiste à soixante spectacles différents.