Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Mechanics

Mechanics at the Exhibition Paris 1900

In 1820, while ten thousand steam engines were developing a force of 200,000 horsepower in England, there were barely a hundred in France, where Denis Papin was born. This comparison can give an idea of the advance taken by English industry.

The movement did not even occur in France until 1850. It has accelerated to the point where our steam engines now number one hundred thousand, developing 7 million horsepower.

In spite of the experimental discoveries of scientists, headed by the names of Sadi Carnot and Victor Regnault, the successive improvements due to engineers and the daily progress of construction, the margin that still separates practice from theory can be measured by the fact that the power output of steam engines only reaches one tenth of the total energy produced by the combustion of coal.

Oil engines, of recent application, already present advantages which will undoubtedly only increase.

Gas engines, which are invaluable in small-scale industry, are on the way to bringing about profound economic changes in large-scale industry, by using blast furnace gases, which have hitherto been unused.

Water turbines, using natural forces, are also set to play an increasingly important role.

These various engines, distributed in the Palace of Electricity and in the Palace of Mechanics, some huge and rather slow, others small and all the more rapid, developed their powerful and silent movements. From this absence of noise, indicating the perfection of the workmanship, from this stable immobility of the mass framing the agitation of the organs, there was a quiet sensation of strength. They were no longer blind and fearsome monsters, but wise instruments under the hand of the man who knew how to operate them.

Whatever the origin of manufacture, French or foreign, an intelligent concern for the decoration made the brass shine and the polished steel gleam; the roughness of the rough surfaces of the cast iron was softened.

This care is not a vain luxury; a man becomes attached to his tool if he honours it by its good behaviour. In the absence of art, which would be out of place here, the cleanliness of the workshop is essentially moralizing.

Machine tools have a double mission: they multiply the result and reduce fatigue. In the galleries of the Exhibition and in the American annex of Vincennes, one could see them lending themselves to the most varied tasks, surprising especially in the manufacture of small objects, like needles.

Mechanics have arrived at movements of a flexibility equal to human action, but more regular and more constant. Without mentioning machines with infinite complications, certain tools, fulfilling a modest mission of friction, gave the impression of a living hand to the point of obsession.

The workers looked at these instruments with grateful attention. The time has passed when the introduction of mechanical work caused rebellion. Today it is considered by those primarily concerned as a reduction in fatigue and a reason for an increase in salary, a double expression of social progress.

©L'Exposition du Siècle - 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mécanique


Mécanique à l'exposition de Paris 1900

En 1820, pendant que dix mille machines à vapeur développaient en Angleterre une force de 200.000 chevaux, on en comptait à peine une centaine en France, où était né Denis Papin. Cette comparaison peut donner une idée de l'avance prise par l'industrie anglaise.

Le mouvement ne se produit même chez nous qu'à partir de 1850. Il s'est accéléré au point que nos moteurs à vapeur sont actuellement au nombre de cent mille, développant 7 millions de chevaux.

Malgré les découvertes expérimentales des savants, en tête desquels se placent les noms de Sadi Carnot et de Victor Regnault, les améliorations successives dues aux ingénieurs et les progrès quotidiens de la construction, on mesurera la marge qui sépare encore la pratique de la théorie, par cette constatation que le rendement en force des machines à vapeur n'atteint que le dixième de l'énergie totale produite par la combustion de la houille.

Les moteurs à pétrole, d'application récente, présentent déjà des avantages qui ne feront sans doute que s'accroître.

Ceux à gaz, précieux dans la petite industrie, sont en passe d'apporter de profondes modifications économiques dans la grande industrie, par l'utilisation des gaz des hauts fourneaux, jusqu'à présent inutilisés.

Les turbines à eau, en utilisant les forces naturelles, sont aussi appelées à jouer un rôle de plus en plus important.

Ces moteurs divers, répartis dans le Palais de l'Électricité et dans celui de la Mécanique, les uns énormes et plutôt lents, les autres petits et d'autant plus rapides, développaient leurs mouvements puissants et silencieux. De cette absence de bruit indiquant la perfection de la fabrication, de cette immobilité stable de la masse encadrant l'agitation des organes, se dégageait une tranquille sensation de force. Ce n'étaient plus des monstres aveugles et redoutables, mais des instruments bien sages sous la main de l'homme sachant les conduire.

Quelle que fût l'origine de fabrication, française ou étrangère, un intelligent souci du décor faisait briller les cuivres et reluire les aciers polis; la rugosité des surfaces brutes de la fonte était adoucie.

Ces soins ne constituent pas un vain appareil de luxe ; l'homme s'attache à son outil s'il lui fait honneur par sa bonne tenue. A défaut d'art qui serait ici déplacé, la propreté de l'atelier est essentiellement moralisatrice.

Les machines-outils ont une double mission : elles multiplient le résultat et diminuent la fatigue. Dans les galeries de l'Exposition et dans l'annexe américaine de Vincennes, on les voyait se prêter aux besognes les plus variées, surprenantes surtout dans la fabrication des petits objets, comme les aiguilles.

La mécanique est arrivée à des flexions de mouvements d'une souplesse égale à l'action humaine, mais plus régulière et plus constante. Sans parler des machines aux complications infinies, certain outil, remplissant une modeste mission de frottement, donnait jusqu'à l'obsession l'impression d'une main vivante.

Les ouvriers regardaient ces instruments avec une attention reconnaissante. Le temps n'est plus où l'introduction du travail mécanique soulevait des rébellions. Il est considéré aujourd'hui par les premiers intéressés comme une diminution de fatigue et une raison d'augmentation de salaire, double expression du progrès social.

©L'Exposition du Siècle - 1900