Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Furniture and Miscellaneous Industries (French Section)

Furniture and Miscellaneous Industries (French Section) at the Exhibition Paris 1900

The artistic industries of our country have asserted themselves with mastery in their various exhibitions. Even if one sacrifices to the general fault of French opinion, which consists in preferring works from abroad to national productions, it is impossible to affirm that our industrial arts cannot stand comparison with what is produced beyond our borders. Our similar industries face this comparison with ease, and only preconceived minds will speak of inferiority. "A comparative walk through the two lines of the Palais des Invalides proves this abundantly, and in many cases our superiority would be undeniable, if our industrialists, by virtue of previous successes, did not remain in the reconstructions of the past, instead of moving forward.
For the ordinary public, the great defect of this exhibition at the Invalides is that it repeats what can be seen daily at the stalls of our boulevards and our elegant streets, because the industries represented, if they have their workshops and manufacturing plants in the provinces, maintain in Paris depot shops which constitute as many permanent exhibitions.
For this reason, we will shorten this review, by limiting ourselves to the manifestations of the new art, which characterize in a special way the Exhibition of 1900. Let us mention them at random, because, in spite of the much-vaunted classification, the most perfect disorder reigns in this exhibition, and the most disparate products are brought together and confused, as if to offer a challenge to sound logic.

If we enter under the pretty peristyle of the Palais de M. Tropey-Bailly, along the rue de Grenelle, we find ourselves in the jewellery and in the sparkle of the most precious gems: there, reigns, by virtue of its mass, the Jubilee, a diamond of 239 carats, which is coveted by an admiring crowd. Not far away, an exhibition attracts and holds us, that of M. Lalique, with his dreamy and enchanting jewels, of such new inspiration, such perfect execution and such delicate colouring. The precious material no longer counts; the jewel of M. Lalique is a poet's work, which is only revealed to the initiated. Let us leave jewellery and the rivers of diamonds, often contemplated in the shop windows of the Rue de la Paix, and move on to goldsmiths, where the masters of genius have accumulated marvels; there too, art nouveau asserts its right to be present, and in the salon of the Maison Christophe, among other marvels, we notice a table top with electric lighting.

Let us not speak of religious goldsmithing; it is high time that this art was renewed and left the odious banality in which it is confined. In the art bronzes, among the impeccable productions, too clean and too raked, the exhibition of Mrs Sarah Bernhard stops us by the capricious pace, the fantasy and the nervousness of the art bronzes which surround the masterly bust of the master Victorien Sardou. Also worth seeing are the bronzes by M. Frémiet, among which are reproductions of the biscuit statue exhibited further on by the Manufacture de Sèvres, which has a much more powerful effect in bronze with a golden patina than in the pale aspect of biscuit.

Behind a classical colonnade, furniture and tapestries spread out and stop the visitor; this is the centennial exhibition, which, beginning with a chronological licence with the Louis XVI period, leads us to the Second Empire. Furniture from the first Empire dominates, in choice examples; industrial art, at this time, shows a unity, an unchanging line; cold, dry and gloomy, it stands together, but what can be said of the Restoration and especially of the time of Louis-Philippe? A (Gothic!) showcase is submitted to our admiration, where a reproduction of Joan of Arc, by Princess Marie d'Orléans, is lounging, which is the height of hideousness. As for the Second Empire, it is the splendour of glitz and bad taste, in spite of the furniture of Fourdinois, which is recommended by an astonishing execution, but of an overloaded composition. A series of furnished, stretched and upholstered rooms complete this interesting lesson. First there is a delightful Louis XVI room; then a bedroom (1791) with light grey lacquered furniture and toile de Jouy hangings; then a Directoire room with a Pompeian décor. We pass to the First Empire salon, with a woodwork of Ionic pilasters and overmantels of yellow silk damask; dark mahogany furniture with chased and gilded brass, matt; the obligatory harp and the tapestry loom on which is spread a superb cashmere shawl. Here is Talma's room, in lemon tree and light blue silk damask, brocaded in pale yellow; further on a Restoration room with a monumental cartonnier. The royalty of 1830 is represented by furniture of lemon tree, inlaid with ebony; damask hangings on draped muslin; the wallpaper reproduces this hanging.

As for the Napoleon III salon, it is furnished with furniture that pretends to imitate the Louis XVI style.

The contemplation of these reconstructions allows one to grasp the forward march, attempted in the name of art nouveau, of which one finds interesting examples in the exhibition of furniture, and in the decorative ensembles. Alongside luxury furniture, we see complete installations, of average price, and this is a happy attempt. Rich people had the resource of acquiring skilful copies of the past, but people of modest means had to make do with obnoxious woodwork, decorated with shoddy carvings. Simple and economical furniture did not exist; it would seem that a renaissance is underway in this area. The death of the mirror cabinet, whose career was long enough, should also be noted. This symbol of cheap luxury expired at the beginning of the 20th century.

©L'Exposition de Paris - 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mobilier et des Industries Diverses (Section française)


Mobilier et des Industries Diverses (Section française) à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Les industries artistiques de notre pays se sont affirmées avec maîtrise, dans leurs expositions diverses. Alors même que l'on sacrifie au travers général de l'opinion Française, qui consiste à préférer aux productions nationales les œuvres venues de l'étranger, il est impossible d'affirmer que nos arts industriels ne peuvent soutenir la comparaison avec ce que l'on fabrique au delà de nos frontières. Cette comparaison, nos industries similaires l'affrontent avec tranquillité, et seuls les esprits préconçus pourront parler d'infériorité. « Nous tenons notre bout », comme disent les ouvriers, et sans peine encore; une promenade comparative dans les deux lignes de Palais des Invalides le prouve surabondamment, et, dans bien des cas, notre supériorité s'établirait indéniable, si nos industriels, en vertu des succès antérieurs, ne se tenaient dans les reconstitutions du passé, au lieu de marcher de l'avant.
Pour le public ordinaire, le grand défaut de cette exposition des Invalides, c'est qu'elle répète ce qu'on peut voir journellement aux étalages de nos boulevards et de nos voies élégantes, car les industries représentées, si elles ont leurs ateliers et usines de fabrication en province, entretiennent à Paris des magasins de dépôt qui constituent autant d'expositions permanentes.
Pour cette raison, nous abrégerons celle revue, en nous tenant aux manifestations de l'art nouveau, qui caractérisent d'une façon spéciale l'Exposition de 1900. Citons au hasard de la promenade, car, en dépit de la classification si vantée, le désordre le plus parfait règne en cette exhibition, et les produits les plus disparates sont rapprochés et confondus, comme pour offrir un défi à la saine logique.

Si nous entrons sous le joli péristyle du Palais de M. Tropey-Bailly, le long de la rue de Grenelle, nous voici dans la joaillerie et dans l'étincellement des gemmes les plus précieuses : là, règne, par la vertu de sa masse, le Jubilé, diamant de 239 carats, que convoite des yeux une Foule admirative. Non loin, une exposition nous attire et nous retient, celle de M. Lalique, avec ses bijoux de rêve et de féerie, d'une inspiration si neuve, d'une exécution si parfaite et de colorations si délicates. La matière précieuse ne compte plus; le bijou de M. Lalique est une oeuvre de poète, qui ne se révèle qu'aux initiés. Laissons la joaillerie et les rivières de diamants, maintes fois contemplées aux vitrines de la rue de la Paix, et passons à l'orfèvrerie, où les maîtres du génie ont accumulé des merveilles; là aussi l'art nouveau affirme son droit de cité, et dans le salon de la maison Christophe, parmi d'autres merveilles, nous remarquons un surtout de table avec éclairage électrique.

Ne parlons pas de l'orfèvrerie religieux; il serait grand temps que cet art se renouvelât et sortit de l'odieuse banalité où il se confine. Dans les bronzes d'art, parmi les impeccables productions, trop propres et trop ratissées, l'exposition de Mme Sarah Bernhard nous arrête par l'allure capricieuse, la fantaisie et la nervosité des bronzes d'art qui entourent le magistral buste du maître Victorien Sardou. A voir aussi 1es bronzes de M. Frémiet, parmi lesquels des reproductions du surtout, en biscuit, exposé plus loin par la manufacture de Sèvres, d'un effet autrement puissant en bronze, à patine dorée, que sous l'aspect blafard du biscuit.

Derrière une colonnade classique, des meubles, des tapisseries s'étalent et arrêtent le visiteur; c'est l'exposition centennale, qui, débutant avec une licence chronologique par l'époque Louis XVI, nous mène jusqu'au second Empire. Les meubles du premier Empire dominent, en exemplaires de choix; l'art industriel, à cette époque, montre une unité, une ligne immuable; froid, sec et lugubre, il se tient d'ensemble, mais que dire de la Restauration et surtout de l'époque de Louis-Philippe ? On soumet à notre admiration une vitrine (gothique!), où se prélasse une reproduction de la Jeanne d'Arc, de la princesse Marie d'Orléans, qui est le comble de la hideur. Quant au second Empire, c'est la splendeur du clinquant et du mauvais goût, en dépit des meubles de Fourdinois, qui se recommandent par une exécution étonnante, mais d'une composition surchargée. Une série de pièces meublées, tendues et tapissées, complètent cette intéressante leçon de choses. C'est d'abord une pièce Louis XVI, ravissante ; ensuite une chambre à coucher (1791), meubles laqués en gris clair et tentures en toile de Jouy; puis une pièce Directoire avec un décor pompéien. Nous passons au salon premier Empire, avec une boiserie de pilastres ioniques et des trumeaux de damas de soie jaune; meubles en acajou foncé avec cuivres ciselés et dorés, mat; la harpe obligée et le métier à tapisserie sur lequel est étalé un superbe châle de cachemire. Voici la chambre de Talma, en citronnier et damas de soie bleu clair, broché de jaune pâle; plus loin une chambre de la Restauration avec un monumental cartonnier. La royauté de 1830 est représentée par un mobilier de citronnier, incrusté d'ébène; tentures de damas sur mousselines drapées; le papier peint reproduit cette tenture.

Quant au salon Napoléon III, il est garni de meubles qui ont la prétention d'imiter le Louis XVI.

La contemplation de ces reconstitutions permet de saisir la marche en avant, tentée au nom de l'art nouveau, dont on rencontre d'intéressants exemples dans l'exposition du mobilier, et dans les ensembles décoratifs,. A côté des meubles de luxe, on voit des installations complètes, de prix moyens, et c'est là une heureuse tentative. Les gens riches avaient la ressource d'acquérir d'habiles copies du passé, mais les gens aux ressources modestes devaient se contenter d'odieuses boiseries, ornées de sculptures de pacotilles. Le meuble simple et économique n'existait pas; il semblerait qu'une renaissance existe de ce coté-là. A signaler aussi la mort de l'armoire à glace, dont la carrière a été suffisamment longue. Ce symbole du luxe a bon marché expire au seuil du XXe siècle.

©L'Exposition de Paris - 1900