Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Horticultural Palace

Horticultural Palace at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

Their description can be summarised in a few words. Imagine two parallel naves, in all respects similar, 82 metres long, 33 metres wide, and 18 metres high at the top of the arch. They faced each other across an esplanade and their similar facades in the form of large pointed-arch porticoes had three arched doorways opening side by side; as in a Gothic cathedral there were multiple bays in the back of the vast porches. Two light pylons, 19 metres high, completed the decoration of the facade, which was made of iron and glass like the rest of the greenhouse. The iron had been treated as lightly as possible; it was only used in thin, almost invisible lines, the essential frame for the glass, which was, moreover, hidden under light green and pale pink trellises, harmonising very well with the grey tint given to the metal fittings and the inevitable frames.
When we entered one of the greenhouses, we were astonished by the lightness and beauty of the construction, which had not been so skilfully combined until now. The building consisted of a central oblong nave, the vault of which was supported by slender columns, seven on each side, these columns, with iron braces, were also covered with latticework; they had as a capital, at the point of the sections where the arch of the dome began, a planter-corner, which was filled with plants with drooping foliage, and which constituted a delightful novelty.
Bordering the nave were "high" sides, raised by three steps, separated by the columns and forming a semi-circular corbelled window on the outside terrace, and opposite, on the same level as the rue de Paris. This new arrangement was a great success. Indeed, in the central nave, the Sociéténationale d'Horticulture de France, which had organised fortnightly floral exhibitions, had been able to lay out a delightful French garden with beds, baskets, flowerbeds for outdoor plants, roses, pansies, violets, and all the other plants that are the glory of our gardens, and to use the windows for exhibitions of a different character: orchids, succulents, rarities, etc. With the climbing plants attached to the columns, a fountain here, a statue there, and the virgin forest of tropical plants with sharp points, terrifying blades, and extraordinary shapes, piled up in the circular rotunda which ended the greenhouse, at the opposite end of the portico, we obtain an unexpected result, which made the joy of the visitors.
Each of the greenhouses had a surface area of approximately 2200 m2. When the Horticultural Society made the greenhouses available after the exhibition, a number of annual competitions were held in better conditions than before.
For the 1900 World Exhibition, the first greenhouse belonged to the Horticultural Society; the second, down the Seine, was reserved for foreign exhibitors. There were representatives from Luxembourg, where the cultivation of roses had been pushed so far; from Belgium with its forced fruits, its "coal" grapes and its peaches which had known no other sun than electric light; from Holland with its tulips; from Japan and China with their peonies and chrysanthemums; from Mexico with its orchids; from the United States and Canada with their apples and their phenomenally large fruits.

A superb aquarium with a fish farming section was installed under the floor of these vast greenhouses. The Guillaume brothers who built it brought a lot of imagination to its layout; it was with pleasure that the public, increasingly initiated into maritime life by frequent visits to the beaches, saw again the living and moving fish and crustaceans that they were used to seeing piled up on the stone of the ports or on the marble of the markets.

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de l'Horticulture


Palais de l'Horticulture à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Leur description tient en quelques mots. Imaginez deux nefs parallèles, en tous points semblables, une longueur de 82 mètres, sur 33 de largeur, et 18 mètres de hauteur au sommet du cintre. Elles se regardaient à travers une esplanade et leurs façades similaires en forme de grands portiques en arc brisé avaient trois portes cintrées s'ouvrant les unes à côté des autres; comme dans une cathédrale de style gothique on voyait des baies multiples percées au fond des vastes porches. Deux légers pylones de 19 mètres de hauteur complétaient la décoration de la façade tout en fer et en verre comme l'ensemble de la serre. Le fer avait été traité de la façon la plus légère qu'on avait pu; il n'intervenait que par lignes minces presque invisible, carcasse indispensable au montage des vitres, et qui était, de plus, dissimulées sous des treillages vert clair et rose pâle, s'harmonisant fort bien avec la teinte grise donnée aux ferrures métalliques et aux chassis inévitables.
Entrions dans l'une des serres et nous étions étonnés de la légèreté, de la beauté de ligne des construction, qu'on ne s'était pas préoccupé jusqu'ici de combiner avec tant d'adresse. L'édifice se compasait d'une nef centrale, oblongue, dont la voûte était supportée par de minces colonnettes, au nombre de sept de chauqe côté, ces colonnettes, encroisillons de fer, étaient elles aussi granies de treillages; elles avaient en guise de chapiteau, au point des section où commencait l'arc de la coupole, une jardinière-corbeille, qu'on remplissait de plantes à feuillage retombant, et qui constituait une nouveauté ravissante.
Bordant le nef, se trouvait,dans le sens de la longueur,des "hauts" côtés, surélevés de trois marches, séparés par les colonnettes et formantwindow, en encorbellement semi-circulaire, sur la terrasse extérieure, et en face, de plain-pied avec la rue de Paris. Cette disposition inédite avait obtenu le plus vif succès. En effet, dans la nef centrale, la Sociéténationale d'horticulture de France, qui y avait organisé des expositions florales, se renouvelant de quinzaine, avait pu tracer un délicieux jardin à la française avec massifs, corbeilles, plates-bandes, pourles plantes de pleine terre, rosiers, pensées, violettes, auxquells succédait tout ce qui fait la gloire de nos jardins, etse servir des windows pour des expositions d'un autre caractère : orchidées, plantes grasses,raretés, etc. Avec les plantes grimpantes accolées aux colonnes, unefontaine ici, une statue là, et la forêt vierge des plantes tropicales aux pointes acérées, aux lames terrifiantes, aux formes extraordinaires, entassées dans la rotonde circulaire qui terminait la serre, à l'extrémité opposée au portique, on obtient un résultat inattendu, qui a fait la joie des visiteurs.
Chacune des serres avait environ 2200 m2 de superficie. Quand la Société d'Horticulture en disposa après l'exposition, de multiples concours annuels furent organisés dans des conditions préférables à ce qui avait lieu auparavant.
Pour l'exposition Universelle de 1900, la première serre seulement appartenait à la société d'Horticulture; la seconde en descendant la Seine, était réservée aux exposants étrangers. on trouvait là les représentants du Luxembourg, où la culture du rosier était poussée si loin; de la Belgique avec ses fruits forcés, ses raisins "à la houille" et ses pêches qui n'avaient connu peut-être d'autre soleil que la lumière électrique; la Hollande et ses tulipes; le Japon et la Chine avec leurs pivoines ou leurs chrysanthèmes; le Mexique et ses orchidées; les Etats-unis et le Canada avec leurs pommes, leurs fruits de dimensions phénoménales.

C'est sous le sol même de ces vastes serres que l'on installa un superbe aquarium avec une section pisciculture. Les fréres Guillaume qui l'ont construit ont apporté beaucoup d'imagination dans son aménagement; c'est avec plaisir que le public, de plus en plus initié à la vie maritime par des séjours fréquents sur les plages, revoyait vivant et mouvant les poissons et les crustacés qu'il était habitué à rencontrer entassé sur la pierre des ports ou sur la marbre des marchés.

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Libairie Hachette & Cie - 1901