Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Palace of Threads, Fabrics and Clothing

Palace of Threads, Fabrics and Clothing at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

This palace is magnificent. A central dome whose vault is decorated with charmingly painted glass windows, a large portico 27 metres wide, and, on the right and left, a colonnade of the most ravishing effect. Inside, there are three longitudinal naves and secondary galleries, on the first floor other galleries, and upstairs and downstairs luxurious showcases.

In this palace, this hall, these showcases, the whole history of yarn, hemp, linen, cotton, wool, silk yarn, and everyone knows that this history is marvellous.

How much work, how many different operations to make from cotton these fabrics that we call calico, cotonnade, jaconas, muslin, tulle; from this hemp or linen thread the rope, the canvas, the batiste, the lace; from this woolen thread our clothes and our hangings, from this silk thread such rich fabrics!

French and foreign showcases contain the raw materials, sent perhaps from all parts of the world, to be used in our factories in Europe and France.

Here is cotton as it is harvested, and then as it is made in raw preparations; there is linen and hemp, unworked, worked; and this exhibition is adorned with flowers of hemp, linen and cotton, painted garlands that run along the wall, framing the names of the manufacturers.

Here are the silk cocoons, varying in shade and size according to the species of the insect and the country of origin; here is even the precious caterpillar, already languishing, which drags itself along the leaves of the mulberry tree.

Here is the wool in its raw state, then sorted, dried, washed, greased, carded, spun, woven into a fabric that other operations degrease, pinch, crush, shear, press and finally make it suitable for our clothing or furnishings.

If we want to learn, we will find within a stone's throw this ingenious equipment, these powerful machines which help in the preparation and manufacture of our fabrics.

The cotton industry occupies more than 500,000 workers in France; Rouen, Lille, Roubaix, Amiens, Saint-Quentin, Tarare, etc., etc., which work the colony, have sent us their most beautiful products. The muslins of Tarare, while keeping their own style, compete with the most beautiful foreign products. Our cotton fabrics are in the place of honour, which does not prevent us from admiring the English and American productions, from bowing with respect before the windows of Piedmont and Lombardy, before Russia for its so charming Indian fabrics. These beautiful red Indians from Vladimir and Moscow look like silk.

Woolen fabrics, which include short fabrics, merino, poplin, serge, damask, tartan, Utrecht velvet, and felted fabrics, drap, Casimir, woollen satin, come to us mainly from the provinces where the sheep breed prospers. Roubaix and Tourcoing thus exhibit woolen fabrics of all kinds; Saint-Quentin and Reims light fabrics; Amiens its Utrecht velvets; Elbeuf, Lisieux, Sedan incomparable sheets.

Linen is no less interesting than cotton at the Palais du Fil: with Lille, Valenciennes, Cambrai, Flers, Voiron, fabrics of all grains and prices, linen cloths and bed sheets dazzling in their whiteness and finesse, which are certainly as good as the finest fabrics from Holland.

And what an enchantment if from the cloth we go to the tableware, to the thread batiste, to the lace! We stop at all the windows, we linger; this one has no rival: it is Alençon, our point of France. But Venice is not far away, but Brussels, but Bruges, Barcelona and its blondes, the stitch of England with its three symbolic flowers mixed with the most graceful garlands. After the queens of lace, we still have admiration and enthusiasm for our superb chantilly, our Bayeux, for Calais, Mirecourt and Le Puy, for our ravishing guipures.

And on all sides, in each and every window, whether they bear a French or a foreign name, dresses on mannequins all in black or white lace, an unheard-of luxury that transports us into a dreamy fairyland.

Another enchantment when visiting the silk factories. Lyon, Saint-Etienne, Paris, in the front row as always.

Paris has reserved a central pavilion for itself. Its exhibition is of unequalled richness and perfect good taste. Lyon, which does not yield to Paris, has long since prevailed over Piedmont and Lombardy for its silks, its failles, its satins; over Genoa, Siena and Venice, for its gold and silver cloths, its velvets, its lampas, its brocades. Saint-Etienne has no rivals for ribbons of velvet, gauze, silk, and salt, in the freshest and most delicate shades.

Lyon and Saint-Etienne, by a new and graceful inspiration, throw velvet flowers, velvet patterns on their richest fabrics, also called artistic velvet. It is a delightful effect. The chasuble of Lyon with its angelic banner, its Salvatoris chasuble, its mitres, one of which is intended for Mgr de Tarbes, is more brilliant than ever.

Switzerland also has a pretty exhibition, silk muslins of great beauty. A fully made and warm silk dressing gown from Vienna (Austria) weighs only 500 grams; it is on its scales. Embroidery is mixed with silk, muslin and lace.

Lyon and Paris present rich furnishing fabrics embroidered with exquisite art, dresses embroidered on silk, saline, gauze, muslin, next to lace dresses, tulles embroidered in silks of various colours, crêpelines strewn with sequins.

Lunéville throws gold and silver flowers on its tulles. Saint-Quentin uses 140 shades to embroider the curtains of a bedroom. And what a bed throw! We would have to name all our cities...

The blinds and curtains of France and abroad are of unequalled beauty.

A very curious and beautiful embroidery in the Clothing gallery, which has nothing to do with clothing: Christ before Pilate, "on the Place aux Dalles", says the legend, natural size, evening and needlework. The background of the painting is in dark red velvet. The embroidery, which goes from white to black in an infinite number of shades, took twenty years. Only one person, a lady, has done this work. From the same stitch, portraits: the Holy Father, the Emperor of Russia and President Carnot, Queen Victoria, Pasteur, Christopher Columbus.

Japan has wonderfully beautiful hangings, screens, fans, and paintings in satin embroidery. Here herons, there owls, landscapes, forests and waterfalls, the door of the famous temple of Nikko on a festive day.

Our Paris fans, made of feathers, sequins, embroidered on silk or decorated with artistic paintings, are worth a fortune in themselves, and rival the most beautiful that Spain has ever made.

Another luxury object, a great luxury, is fur. Sweden, Russia, Siberia have the most beautiful exhibition in the world: stuffed animals, prepared and made-up skins. Here too it would take hours for a complete study. But it is impossible to say everything, to paint everything, perhaps to see everything.

Clothing, French and foreign, occupies a large place in the Sons and Fabrics palace, elegantly arranged mannequins. Hungary, Holland, Switzerland, Romania also show us the costumes of their countries. Paris has its salons. One comes to see the fashion of 1900 to compare it with the fashion of the century that is coming to an end, Grand Empire and Restoration, 1830 and Louis-Philippe, Napoleon II and the Empress Eugénie, Do we have regrets?

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais des Fils, Tissus et Vêtements


Palais des Fils, Tissus et Vêtements à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Ce palais est magnifique. Dôme central dont la voûte est ornée de verrières à peintures charmantes, grand portique de 27 mètres de largeur, et, de droite et de gauche, une colonnade du plus ravissant effet. A l'intérieur, trois nefs longitudinales et des galeries secondaires, au premier étage d'autres galeries, en haut et en bas de luxueuses vitrines.

Dans ce palais, ce hall, ces vitrines, toute l'histoire du fil, fil de chanvre, de lin, de coton, de laine, de soie, et chacun sait que cette histoire est merveilleuse.

Que de travail, que d'opérations diverses pour faire du coton ces tissus que nous appelons calicot, cotonnade, jaconas, mousseline, tulle ; de ce fil de chanvre ou de lin la corde, la toile, la batiste, la dentelle ; de ce fil de laine nos vêtements et nos tentures, de ce fil de soie de si riches étoffes !

Des vitrines françaises et étrangères contiennent les matières premières, envoyées peut-être de toutes les parties du monde, pour être mises en œuvre dans nos fabriques d'Europe et de France.

Ici, le coton tel qu'on le récolte, puis tel que le font les préparations premières ; là, le lin et le chanvre non travaillés, travaillés ; et cette exposition est ornée de fleurs de chanvre, de lin et de coton, guirlandes peintes qui courent sur la muraille, encadrent le nom des fabricants.

Voici les cocons de soie variant de nuance, de grosseur, selon l'espèce de l'insecte et le pays d'origine ; voici même la chenille précieuse, déjà languissante qui se traîne sur les feuilles du mûrier.

Voici la laine à l'état brut, puis triée, dessuintée, lavée, séchée, graissée, cardée, filée, tissée en une étoffe que d'autres opérations dégraissent, épincettent, foulent, tondent, pressent et rendent enfin propre à être employée pour notre habillement ou notre ameublement.

Si nous voulons nous instruire, nous trouverons à deux pas cet outillage si ingénieux, ces puissantes machines qui aident à la préparation et à la confection de nos tissus.

L'industrie cotonnière occupe en France plus de 500000 ouvriers; Rouen, Lille, Roubaix, Amiens, Saint-Quentin, Tarare, etc., etc, qui travaillent le colon, nous ont envoyé leurs plus beaux produits. Les mousselines de Tarare, tout en gardant le genre qui leur est propre, rivalisent avec ce que l'étranger fait de plus beau. Nos cotonnades sont à la place d'honneur, ce qui ne nous empêche pas d'admirer les fabrications anglaises et américaines, de nous incliner avec respect devant les vitrines du Piémont et de la Lombardie, devant la Russie pour ses indiennes si charmantes. On dirait de la soie, ces belles indiennes rouges de Vladimir et de Moscou.

Les étoffes de laine qui comprennent les tissus ras, mérinos, popeline, serge, damas, tartan, velours d'Utrecht, et les tissus feutrés, drap, Casimir, satin de laine, nous viennent principalement des provinces où prospère la race ovine. Roubaix et Tourcoing exposent donc des lainages de toutes sortes; Saint-Quentin et Reims des tissus légers; Amiens ses velours d'Utrecht; Elbeuf, Lisieux, Sedan des draps incomparables.

Le lin n'est pas moins intéressant que le coton, au palais du Fil : avec Lille, Valenciennes, Cambrai, Flers, Voiron, des toiles de tout grain et de tout prix, des toiles pour linge et des draps de lit éblouissants de blancheur et de finesse, qui valent certainement les plus belles toiles de Hollande.

Et quel enchantement si de la toile nous allons aux services de table, à la batiste de fil, à la dentelle! On s'arrête à toutes les vitrines, on s'attarde; celle-ci n'a point de rivale : c'est Alençon, notre point de France. Mais Venise n'est pas loin, mais Bruxelles, mais Bruges, Barcelone et ses blondes, le point d'Angleterre avec ses trois fleurs symboliques mêlées aux guirlandes les plus gracieuses. Après les reines de la dentelle, il nous reste de l'admiration et de l'enthousiasme pour notre superbe chantilly, notre bayeux, pour Calais, Mirecourt et le Puy, pour nos ravissantes guipures.

Et de toutes parts, dans chacune et chacune des vitrines, qu'elles portent un nom français ou un nom étranger, des robes sur mannequins tout en dentelle noire ou blanche, luxe inouï qui transporte en rêve dans le pays des fées.

Autre enchantement en visitant les soieries. Lyon, Saint-Etienne, Paris, au premier rang comme toujours.

Paris s'est réservé un pavillon central. Son exposition est d'une richesse sans égale et d'un parfait bon goût. Lyon, qui ne le cède point à Paris, l'a emporté depuis longtemps sur le Piémont et la Lombardie pour ses soiries, ses failles, ses satins; sur Gênes, Sienne et Venise, pour ses draps d'or et d'argent, ses velours, ses lampas, ses brocarts. Saint-Etienne n'a pas de rivaux pour la rubanerie, rubans de velours, de gaze, de soie, de salin, aux nuances les plus fraîches et les plus délicates.

Lyon et Saint-Etienne, par une nouvelle et gracieuse inspiration, jettent des fleurs de velours, des motifs de velours sur leurs plus riches tissus, dit aussi velours artistique. C'est d'un effet ravissant. La chasublerie de Lyon avec sa bannière angélique, sa chasuble Salvatoris, ses mitres dont l'une est destinée à Mgr de Tarbes, est plus brillante que jamais.

La Suisse a aussi une jolie exposition, des mousselines de soie de toute beauté. Une robe de chambre en soie de Vienne (Autriche) toute confectionnée et bien chaude ne pèse que 500 grammes ; elle est sur sa balance. La broderie se mêle à la soie, à la mousseline, à la dentelle.

Lyon et Paris présentent de riches étoffes d'ameublement brodées avec un art exquis, des robes brodées sur soie, salin, gaze, mousseline, à côté des robes en dentelle, des tulles brodés en soies de diverses couleurs, des crêpelines parsemées de paillettes.

Lunéville jette sur ses tulles des fleurs d'or et d'argent. Saint-Quentin emploie 140 nuances pour broder les rideaux d'une chambre à coucher. Et quel jeté de lit ! Il faudrait nommer toutes nos villes…

Les stores et les rideaux de la France et de l'étranger sont d'une beauté sans égale.

Une broderie fort curieuse et fort belle dans la galerie du Vêtement, et qui n'a point rapport au vêtement : le Christ devant Pilate, "sur la place aux Dalles", dit la légende, grandeur naturelle, travail en soir et à l'aiguille. Le fond du tableau est en velours rouge foncé. La broderie, qui va du blanc au noir par un nombre infini de nuances, a demandé vingt ans. Une seule personne, une dame, a accompli ce travail. Du même point, des portraits : le Saint-Père, l'empereur de Russie et le président Carnot, la reine Victoria, Pasteur, Christophe Colomb.

Le Japon a des tentures, des paravents, des écrans, des éventails, des tableaux en broderie sur satin d'une beauté merveilleuse. Ici des hérons, et là des hiboux, des paysages, forêts et cascades, la porte du célèbre temple de Nikko un jour de fête.

Nos éventails de Paris, en plumes, en paillettes, brodés sur soie ou décorés d'artistiques peintures, valent, à eux seuls, une fortune, et rivalisent avec ce que l'Espagne a jamais fait de plus beau.

Autre objet de luxe, de grand luxe, la fourrure. La Suède, la Russie, la Sibérie ont la plus belle exposition du monde: animaux empaillés, peaux préparées et confectionnées. Là aussi il faudrait des heures pour une complète étude. Mais il est impossible de tout dire, de tout peindre, peut-être de tout voir.

Les vêtements, France et étranger, occupent une large place dans le palais des Fils et Tissus, mannequins élégamment disposés, La Hongrie, la Hollande, la Suisse, la Roumanie nous font aussi connaître les costumes de leur pays. Paris a ses salons. On vient voir la mode de 1900 pour la comparer à la mode du siècle qui s'achève, Grand Empire et Restauration, 1830 et Louis-Philippe, NapoléonlII et l'impératrice Eugénie, Avons-nous des regrets ?

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Libairie Hachette & Cie - 1901