Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Chemical Industries

Chemical Industries at the Exhibition Paris 1900

The search for the philosopher's stone or the elixir of long life by the alchemists of the Middle Ages was not all lost to science, but chemistry only really took shape with Lavoisier. For the past twenty years, its development has been mainly due to the union of scientists and industrialists. Applications have always closely followed discoveries, and factories have been created from scratch to manufacture this or that product.

However, we do not have in France establishments like certain private houses in Germany where a score of chemical engineers, doctors of science, form a highly paid elite whose mission is to do nothing. They search and search for years. Those who do not find anything are not troubled by their prolonged failure; in one day they will pay a hundredfold the cost of waiting.

The German exhibition, which had been arranged with an understanding of the effect of the triumph of the "art of the jar", was, according to the specialists, of a scientific height that could only be compared to the extent of its applications. A Linde air liquefying machine was in operation before the eyes of the public, which was all the more amazed because the operation seemed mysterious. Russia also presented its numerous chemical products, its leather with a special fragrance due to the birch bark, and its state papers with impeccable watermarks in a very picturesque way.

Austria had set up three salons, in the decorative style it never abandons; beautiful paintings represented the picturesque countryside surrounding the main factories, especially the paper mills.

Belgium showed paintings symbolising glass, paper, dyeing, soda applications, and a very full exhibition of her chemical industries, which owe their great development to the vicinity of the coal factories.

Chemistry has begun to enter the pharmaceutical field, and the simple substances are replaced by their active principles, glucosides or alkaloids, created from scratch in the laboratories. If one is reluctant to grant chemical preparations the same healing sweetness as natural plants, at least it must be acknowledged that antiseptics and sterilising devices have saved many human lives. The display of these substances in iridescent colours of all the shades of the prism was presented in showcases of an unforeseen style, where light irons curved in delicate spirals, to support gracefully shaped cups and jars. Remedies or poisons could not be offered in a more gallant way than the architect Benouville had done.
Perfumery could once have claimed a place among the products of agriculture; today it is well within the domain of chemistry.
Vanillin has replaced the scented pod of the tropics, and there is no longer any need to kill chamois to obtain musk. Judging by the heaviness of certain perfumes, the delicacy of the sense of smell has not been enhanced. They have also been democratised from the point of view of price, and to use them for half a million a year, as legend has it from Mme de Pompadour, would require a great deal of willpower.

Perhaps out of posthumous gratitude to a similar client, the perfume industry class had been inspired by the Louis XV style, modernised, however, by artists such as Mucha, for the very rich decoration of its salon, which had not been able to find a place in its real palace and had been installed in that of the Fils et Tissus.

His retrospective museum, composed almost exclusively of the Klotz collection, was amusing in its frivolous jewellery and elegant trivia. All the accessories of the toilet and the prints that surrounded them testified to the seriousness of our time; women, one would think, spend much less time than in the past on the care of their person!

The superiority of French perfumery is demonstrated by this figure: of the 30 million produced annually, two thirds are exported.

The German industry, however, is close to us. It had organised a delightful little collective pavilion. Its usual seriousness had been amused by imagining a small miniature theatre where the spectators were replaced by boxes and bottles of the most coquettish effect.

In the retrospective exhibition, beautiful paintings, some of which we have reproduced, depicted the workshops of a paper mill in the last century. Like the war, the industry was made of lace. The master papermaker, owner of the stream and the neighbouring meadows, walked quietly among the placid workers, at least in appearance, for they already had their claims and their strikes. The work was done in families; all the paper vats in the kingdom would not have provided enough for the consumption of a daily newspaper of our time.

The introduction of wood pulp and the manufacture of continuous paper machines transformed this industry. The need created the tool. In 1900, France consumed nearly one and a half million kilograms of paper per day for the many uses to which it was put and which were constantly increasing. By this means, the forests on the surface of the globe could be exhausted at the same time as the underground forests by the extraction of coal.
Few machines are as exciting as paper machines, because the transformation of the pulp can be followed in a comprehensible way.

Today, paper machines are being built that produce 1,000 to 1,500 kilograms of paper per hour, depending on the thickness of the paper, over a width that will soon reach 4 metres. The public admired several of them at the Exhibition, including one from the Darblay company, which manufactures the paper for the Petit Journal, and a German-made machine whose enormous cogs seemed to be assembled with the care of a clockwork.
The last gift of the beasts to mankind, the prepared hides offered all the varieties of leather in a very artistically presented exhibition.

The reporter of the 1889 jury estimated the turnover of the leather industries at 3 billion
to leather, and the personnel employed at four hundred thousand workers. The importance of the French tannery has increased still further, and its products, sought after everywhere for the quality of their preparation, are exported in considerable quantities.

In spite of the development of certain establishments and the substitution of chemical processes for the long tanning with oak bark, the industry has generally remained family-owned. It is spread over the whole of France, whose herds supply it almost completely for oxen and cows and about half for the rest.

Without going into the details of the numerous preparations of the skins, let us recall that oxen and cows provide the leather for soles and large shoes, for strong saddlery, for transmission belts; pigs and horses also, but for a much lower quality; calves are used above all for fine footwear and bodywork; leather goods and basanes come from sheep; goats are used for glove-making. Depending on the way it is prepared, leather can be used for an infinite number of purposes.

©L'Exposition du Siècle - 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Industries Chimiques


Industries Chimiques à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Les recherches de la pierre philosophale ou de l'élixir de longue vie des alchimistes du moyen âge n'ont pas toutes été perdues pour la science, mais la chimie n'a véritablement pris corps qu'avec Lavoisier. Depuis une vingtaine d'années, son développement est né surtout de l'union des savants et des industriels. Les applications ont toujours suivi de près les découvertes, et des usines se sont créées de toutes pièces pour la fabrication de tel ou tel produit.

Nous ne comptons pas cependant en France des établissements comme certaines maisons privées d'Allemagne où une vingtaine d'ingénieurs-chimistes, docteurs es sciences, forment une élite grassement rétribuée dont la mission consiste, à ne rien faire. Ils cherchent, ils cherchent pendant des années. Ceux qui ne trouvent pas ne sont point troublés de leur insuccès prolongé ; en un jour ils payeront au centuple les frais de l'attente.

Aussi l'exposition allemande, aménagée avec une entente de l'effet où triomphait « l'art du bocal », était-elle, au dire des spécialistes, d'une hauteur de science qui ne pouvait être comparée qu'à l'ampleur des applications. Une machine à liquéfier l'air, du système Linde, y fonctionnait sous les yeux du public, d'autant plus émerveillé que l'opération lui paraissait mystérieuse. La Russie avait également présenté de façon très pittoresque ses nombreux produits chimiques, ses cuirs au parfum spécial dû à l'écorce du bouleau, ses papiers d'Etat aux filigranes impeccables.

L'Autriche avait disposé trois salons, dans le style décoratif qu'elle n'abandonne jamais; de jolies peintures représentaient les pittoresques paysages agrestes entourant les principales usines, surtout les papeteries.

La Belgique relevait de tableaux symbolisant le verre, le papier, la teinture, les applications de la soude, une exposition très fournie de ses industries chimiques, qui doivent leur grand développement au voisinage des usines de charbon.

La chimie a commencé d'entrer dans le domaine pharmaceutique, et les simples sont remplacés par leurs principes actifs, glucosides ou alcaloïdes, créés de toutes pièces dans les laboratoires. Si l'on a quelque hésitation à accorder aux préparations chimiques la même douceur de guérison qu'aux plantes de la nature, au moins faut-il reconnaître que les antiseptiques et les appareils de stérilisation ont permis d'économiser bien des vies humaines. L'exposition de ces substances aux couleurs irisées de tous les tons du prisme était présentée dans des vitrines d'un style imprévu, où des fers légers se contournaient en spirales délicates, pour soutenir coupes et bocaux aux formes gracieuses. Remèdes ou poisons ne sauraient être offerts de plus galante façon que ne l'avait fait l'architecte Benouville.
La parfumerie aurait pu autrefois revendiquer un emplacement au milieu des produits de l'agriculture; elle ressort bien aujourd'hui du domaine de la chimie.
La vaniline a remplacé la gousse odorante des tropiques, et plus n'est besoin de tuer des chamois pour se procurer du musc. A en juger par la lourdeur de certains parfums, la délicatesse de l'odorat n'y a point gagné. Ils se sont aussi démocratisés au point de vue des prix, et à en user pour un demi-million par an, ainsi que la légende le rapporte de Mme de Pompadour, il faudrait mettre beaucoup de volonté.

Peut-être par reconnaissance posthume envers une semblable cliente, la classe de la parfumerie s'était inspirée du style Louis XV, modernisé toutefois par des artistes tels que Mucha, pour la très riche décoration de son salon, qui n'avait pas pu trouver place dans son véritable palais et s'était installé dans celui des Fils et Tissus.

Son musée rétrospectif, composé presque exclusivement par la collection Klotz, était bien amusant par ses bijoux frivoles et ses futilités élégantes. Tous les accessoires de la toilette et les estampes qui les entouraient témoignaient du caractère sérieux de notre époque; les femmes, le croirait-on, consacrent beaucoup moins de temps qu'autrefois aux soins de leur personne!

La supériorité de la parfumerie française se démontre par ce chiffre: sur les 30 millions de la production annuelle, les deux tiers sont exportés.

L'industrie allemande, toutefois, nous serre de près. Elle avait organisé un petit pavillon collectif vraiment délicieux. Sa gravité habituelle s'était amusée en imaginant un petit théâtre-miniature où les spectateurs étaient remplacés par des boîtes et des flacons du plus coquet effet.

De jolies peintures que nous reproduisons en partie, représentaient dans l'exposition rétrospective les ateliers d'une papeterie au siècle dernier. Comme la guerre, l'industrie s'y faisait en dentelles. Le maître papetier, propriétaire du cours d'eau et des prairies voisines, s'y promenait tranquillement au milieu d'ouvriers placides, tout au moins en apparence, car ils avaient déjà leurs prétentions et leurs grèves. Le travail s'y faisait en famille ; toutes les cuves à papier du royaume n'auraient pas fourni à la consommation d'un journal quotidien de notre époque.

L'introduction des pâtes de bois et la fabrication des machines à papier continu ont transformé cette industrie. Le besoin a créé l'outil. En 1900, la France consomme près de 1 million et demi de kilogrammes de papier par jour pour les multiples usages auxquels il se prête et qui vont sans cesse en croissant. De ce train, les forêts de la surface du globe pourront être épuisées en même temps que les forêts souterraines par l'extraction de la houille.
Il est peu de machines aussi captivantes que les machines à papier, parce que les transformations de la pâte peuvent s'y suivre de façon compréhensible.

On en construit aujourd'hui qui produisent, sur une largeur qui va bientôt atteindre 4 mètres, 1.000 à 1.500 kilogrammes de papier à l'heure, suivant son épaisseur. Le public en admirait plusieurs à l'Exposition, entre autres celle de la maison Darblay, fabriquant le papier du Petit Journal, et une machine de construction allemande, dont les énormes rouages paraissaient montés avec le soin d'une pièce d'horlogerie.
Dernier cadeau fait par les bêtes aux hommes, les peaux préparées offraient toutes les variétés des cuirs dans une exposition très artistiquement présentée.

Le rapporteur du jury de 1889 estimait à 3 milliards le mouvement des affaires des industries se rattachant
aux cuirs, et le personnel employé à quatre cent mille ouvriers. L'importance de la tannerie française s'est encore accrue, et ses produits, recherchés partout pour le fini de leur préparation, sont exportés en quantités considérables.

Malgré le développement de certains établissements et la substitution de procédés chimiques au long tannage à l'écorce de chêne, l'industrie est en général restée familiale. Elle est répartie sur toute la surface de la France, dont les troupeaux l'alimentent presque complètement pour les bœufs et les vaches et environ par moitié pour le reste.

Sans entrer dans le détail des nombreuses préparations des peaux, rappelons que les bœufs et les vaches fournissent les cuirs des semelles et des grosses chaussures, de la bourrellerie forte, des courroies de transmission; les porcs et les chevaux également, mais pour une qualité bien inférieure; les veaux servent surtout à la chaussure fine et à la carrosserie; les maroquins et les basanes proviennent du mouton; les chèvres servent'à la ganterie. Suivant la façon dont il est préparé, le cuir est susceptible de se prêter à une infinité d'usages.

©L'Exposition du Siècle - 1900