Back - List of Pavilions

Serbia - Expo Paris 1900

Serbia at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900
Architect(s) : Baudry

The Palace of Serbia was built in the Byzantine style and was very picturesque. A large dome dominated the centre and at the corners were four smaller domes which separated the four equal branches of a double transept. On the side of the main entrance, which protruded from the building, was a large flat-roofed portico that represented the narthex of Byzantine churches.
The exterior decoration of the palace was most pleasing to the eye. The walls were made of small squares of worked stone alternating with brick courses. As for the domes, they had been coated with a layer of paint that gave the illusion of bronze.
The interior of the building, decorated with brightly coloured murals, consisted of a single very high hall where the architect, Mr. Baudry, was able to arrange the support points of the domes in such a way as to leave all the space available for the exhibition and circulation. The aisles were divided into bays, which were occupied by the official exhibition of the Serbian government and by a number of national products sent by individuals.
The official exhibition included a very large collection from the Mining Department. The samples it contained gave us an idea of the richness of the silver and gold deposits in the region. Opposite, there were showcases containing the work of the students of the Kragujevatz military school of arts and crafts. This exhibition included everything relating to weapons, equipment and munitions of war. Further on, the Tobacco Board and the Department of Agriculture had exhibited the variety of products of the land.
But the visitor's attention was especially drawn to the rich collection of national costumes, which, together with a large number of Pirot carpets, Belgrade embroideries and beautiful gold and silver filigree jewellery, showed us what a man and woman in Serbia wore.
These brightly coloured costumes, overlaid with gold and silver embroidery, were dressed on artistically arranged mannequins, which together constituted a most interesting ethnographic museum.
The finery, more or less rich, differed only in detail and had an undeniable air of kinship between them. The main characteristic of Serbian women's costume was a coat, which was worn by women of all classes of society, from the grande dame to the most humble peasant woman, and which was differentiated only by the richness of the embroidery. The rest of the costume consisted of a bolero, jeletché, and a chalvari, which was a kind of skirt-cum-culotte, similar to that of our cyclewomen. Serbian women wore a belt around their waist, sometimes woven with fine pearls, and ending with a high metal clasp that served as a sort of corset; they wore a cap embroidered with silver and pearls.

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Serbie


Serbie à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Architecte(s) : Baudry

Le palais de la Serbie appartenait au style byzantin et était d’un ensemble très pittoresque . Une grande coupole dominait le centre et aux angles s’élevaient quatre coupoles de plus petite dimension qui séparait les quatre branches égales d’un double transept. Du côté de l’entrée principale, formant saillie sur la construction, on voyait un grand portique à toit plat qui représentait le narthex des églises byzantines.
La décoration extérieure du palais était des plus agréable à l’œil. Les murs étaient faits de petits carrés de pierre travaillé qui alternaient avec des assises de briques. Quant aux coupoles, elle avaient été revêtues d’une couche de peinture qui donnait l’illusion du bronze.
L’intérieur de l’édifice, décoré de peintures murales aux couleurs éclatantes, se composait d’un hall unique très élevé où l’architecte, M. Baudry, a su disposer les points d’appui des coupole de façon à laisser toute la place disponible à l’exposition et à la circulation. Les bas-côtés étaient divisés en travées qui étaient occupées par l’exposition officielle du gouvernement serbe et par une quantité de produits nationaux envoyés par des particuliers.
L’exposition officielle était figurée notamment par une très importante collection du service des mines. Les échantillons qu’elle comprenaient nous donnaient une idée de la richesse des gisements argentifères et aurifère de la région. En face, se trouvait les vitrines où étaient rassemblés les travaux des élèves de l’école militaire des arts et métiers de Kragoujévatz. Cette exposition comprenait tout ce qui était relatif à l’armement, aux engins et aux munitions de guerre. Plus loin, la régie des tabacs, le département de l’agriculture avaient exposé la variété des produits de la terre.
Mais ce qui frappait surtout l’attention du visiteur, c’était, avec un lot très important de tapis de Pirot, de broderies de Belgrade et de jolis bijoux en filigrane d’or et d’argent, une riche collection de costumes nationaux qui nous montraient ce qu’était une parure de l’homme et de la femme en Serbie.
Ces costumes aux couleurs vives et tranchées, que surchargaient des broderies d’ort et d’argent, habillaient des manenequins artistement disposés, dont l’ensemble constituait un musée ethnographique des plus intéressants.
Les parures, plus ou moins riches, ne se différenciaient que par les détails et avaient entre elles un indéniable air de parenté. Le costume féminin serbe avait pour caractéristique principale un manteau dont les femmes de toutes les classes de la société, depuis la grande dame jusqu’à la plus humble paysanne, se revêtaient, et que la richesse seule des broderies différenciait. Le reste du costume comportait un boléro, jeletché, et un chalvari, qui était une sorte de jupe-culotte, semblalbe à celle de nos cyclewomen. Les femmes serbes s’entouraient la taille d’une ceinture, parfois tissée de perles fines, et qui se terminait par une haute agrafe de métal qui servait, en quelque sorte, de corset ; elles se coiffaient d’une calotte brodée d’argent et de perles.

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Librairie Hachette & Cie – 1901