Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Romania

Romania at the Exhibition Paris 1900

Architect(s) : Formigé

The Romanian palace was situated, not on the quay, on the Rue des Nations where, squeezed between a high curtain of trees and the rolling pavement, it was difficult to judge its truly monumental ensemble. The types of Romanian architecture from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries that most inspired Mr. Formigé, the author of this palace, are the churches of Argesu and the three hierarchs of Iassy and Horezu.
On the façades were reproduced various motifs inspired by the architecture and decoration of the religious monuments of Romania. The main door was the porch of the church in Horezu. The windows imitated those of the church of Stavropoleos, the colonnades at the ends were inspired by both the pronaos of Horezu and that of Argesu; finally, on the main façade, the arch of the large tympanum, whose curve was of powerful effect, was borrowed from the church of Argesu and was further enriched by the corbelled cornice of the church of the three hierarchs in Iassy. The latter church also provided the design of the frieze that formed a rich belt around the entire monument.
In the hall, surmounted by a 30-metre high dome, was a staircase leading to the galleries of the first floor, which ended in two elegant pavilions, crowned by two belfries.
Part of the ground floor of the pavilion was reserved for the exhibition of rock salt, the deposits of which are one of Romania's riches. The various varieties of salt were represented by blocks of different sizes, among which was a globe 2 metres in diameter resting on a pedestal 1.5 metres high, also made of salt.
On the ground floor were also exhibited the instruments and processes of letters, sciences and arts, mechanics and metallurgy, and minerals with their industrial derivatives, from petroleum, paraffin, ozokerite, to fossil wax, the beautiful black amber of Wallachia, alabaster, earth coal, lignites, etc...
In the galleries on the first floor were the exhibitions of various industries, military engineering, social economy, education and teaching, where one could admire a collection of remarkable publications of the Romanian Academy, which included more than 110 volumes, one of which, richly bound, was intended for the President of the Republic. A retrospective exhibition completed the series of collections in the pavilion. Also on display were religious fabrics and embroideries belonging to the Bucharest Museum and coming from various convents in Romania, products of Romanian typographic art from the beginning of the fifteenth century (psalters, gospels, liturgical books, in Slavic and Romanian languages); finally, a magnificent handwritten gospel, with illuminations, by the Queen of Romania (Carmen Sylva), whose execution is a marvel of art, and which His Majesty has offered to the cathedral of Argesh.
The Romanian government had also sent the famous treasure of Petroassa to be added to these collections. This solid gold treasure, enriched with gems, is one of the rare specimens of barbarian silverware in Europe and most likely belonged to Athalaric, King of the Visigoths. In view of the considerable value of this treasure, it seemed preferable not to leave it in this pavilion, which is difficult to guard, and it was placed in the Louvre in the Galerie des Bijoux anciens for the duration of the Exhibition.

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Roumanie


Roumanie à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Architecte(s) : Formigé

Le palais de la Roumanie était situé, non pas sur le quai, sur la Rue des Nations où, resserré entre un haut rideau d’arbres et le trottoir roulant, il était difficile de juger de son ensemble vraiment monumental. Les types d’architecture roumaine des seizième et dix-septième siècles qui ont le plus contribué à inspirer M. Formigé l’auteur de ce palais, sont les églises d’Argesu et les trois hiérarques de Iassy et d’Horezu.
Sur les façades étaient reproduits divers motifs inspirés par l’architecture et la décorations des monuments religieux de la Roumanie. La porte principale n’était autre que le porche de l’église d’Horezu. Les fenêtres imitaient celles de l’église de Stavropoleos, les colonnades des extrémités tenaient à la fois du pronaos d’Horezu et de celui d’Argesu ; enfin, sur la façade principale, l’arc de grand tympan, dont la courbe était d’un effet puissant, avait été emprunté à l’église d’Argesu et il avait été encore enrichi de la corniche à consoles de l’église des trois hiérarques de Iassy. C’est également cette dernière église qui avait fourni le dessin de la frise qui formait une riche ceinture à tout le monument.
Dans le hall, surmonté d’une coupole mesurant 30 mètres de hauteur, était aménagé un escalier conduisant aux galeries du premier étage, qui se terminait par deux élégant pavillons, couronnés de deux clochetons.
Une partie du rez-de-chaussée du pavillon était réservée à l’exposition du sel gemme, dont les gisements constituent une des richesses de la Roumanie. Les diverses variétés de sels étaient représentées par des blocs de grosseurs différentes, parmi lesquels on admirait un globe de 2 mètres de diamètre reposant sur un piédestal de 1m,50 également en sel.
C’était aussi au rez-de-chaussée qu’étaient exposés les instruments et procédés des lettres, des sciences et des arts, la mécanique et la métallurgie, et les minerais avec leurs dérivés industriels, depuis le pétrole, la paraffine, l’ozokérite, jusqu’à la cire fossile, le bel ambre noir de Valaquie, l’albâtre, le charbon de terre, les lignites, etc…
Dans les galeries du premier étage se trouvaient les expositions des industries diverses, du génie militaire, de l’économie sociale, de l’éducation et de l’enseignement où l’on admirait une collection de remarquables publications de l’Académie roumaine qui comprenait plus de 110 volumes dont un, richement relié, était destiné au président de la République. Une exposition rétrospective complète la série des collections du pavillon. On remarquait aussi des étoffes et des broderies religieuses appartenant au musée de Bucarest et provenant de divers couvents de Roumanie, des produits de l’art typographique roumain du commencement du quinzième siècle ( psautiers, évangiles, livres de liturgie, en langues slave et roumaine) ; enfin un magnifique évangile manuscrit, avec enluminures, par la reine de Roumanie (Carmen Sylva), dont l’exécution est une merveille d’art, et que sa Majesté a offert à la cathédrale d’Argesh.
Le gouvernement roumain avait aussi envoyé, pour être joint à ces collections, le célèbre trésor de Petroassa. Ce trésor en or massif, enrichi de pierreries, est l’un des rares spécimens que l’on possède en Europe de l’orfèvrerie barbare et a appartenu, selon toute vraisemblance, à Athalaric, roi des Visigoths. Vu la valeur considérable de ce trésor, il a paru préférable de ne pas le laisser dans ce pavillon, d’une surveillance difficile, et on l’a placé au Louvre dans la galerie des Bijoux anciens pour la durée de l’Exposition.

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Librairie Hachette & Cie – 1901