Back - List of Pavilions

Old Paris - Expo Paris 1900

Old Paris at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

It was certainly a charming idea to evoke, for the pleasure of the eyes, the Paris of the past, which we can guess from a few monuments, churches, private mansions, and sections of streets, but which has nevertheless disappeared. The rare specimens of architecture that have been preserved are too scattered and above all too out of place in the midst of the modern buildings that surround them for us to be able, even with a great deal of good will, to imagine what the capital was like during the various periods of which we still have samples. Even more so, one can hardly imagine it as it was before, if what remains is not enough to bring back to mind the centuries that have passed.
Buildings are not everything in a city; they are like pure diamonds that represent an intrinsic value on their own, but whose price is doubled when they are set, surrounded, mounted with their procession of precious metals, fine stones and pearls. We still have Notre-Dame, for example, but the famous basilica, which is the whole world in itself, is no longer surrounded as it once was by those pointed gabled houses whose gutters ended up criss-crossing the narrow, twisting streets; It no longer emerges from the swarming chaos at its feet, and although it has retained the prestigious grandeur of superhuman works, it perhaps no longer impresses as much as it did when it dominated with all its imposing and superb height the jumble of hovels lurking in the shadow of its towers. The house, which also had its own character, has collapsed; it has been pulled down. The merchant, the bourgeois, the craftsman have changed their appearance by changing their environment; the costume has changed with their habits and customs. The great egalitarian and cold road has taken away with its tramway line the picturesque and the unexpected, the individuality of the dwelling as well as that of the inhabitant: our houses all look alike and we have made, it seems, a considerable and meritorious effort when we decided on a more or less dark overcoat.
Paris had other aspects! And it is these various aspects that we see again at the exhibition, on the banks of the Seine. The situation of the building overhanging the water is a real find, and the millions of visitors who followed the river path could not hold back a cry of real admiration at the incomparable view presented by the uninterrupted sequence of buildings that form the Cité des Nations on the left bank, the palace of the Army and Navy, with, as a counterpart on the right bank, the extraordinary and striking Old Paris of Robida, the master draughtsman, reflecting its turrets, its bell towers, its thousand windows in the glittering water.
This is not the first time that reconstructions of this kind have been carried out; but it must be said that nothing so perfect, so completely true, has been done until now. Often, it was only a kind of decor with, on the ground floor, some practicable interiors, all the rest being only trompe l'oeil. Here the houses are houses from top to bottom, and the buildings are real buildings, containing rooms full of people, where everything is life, activity and movement. This Paris, or rather these old Parises, for there are several periods juxtaposed to form a homogeneous whole, varied but not disparate, are recreated Parises, with their streets, their squares, their crossroads: it was necessary, no doubt, to spend a lot of talent, ingenuity... and money to achieve such a result.
First of all, the location adopted, which was very favourable on the one hand because of the Seine and the Champs-Elysées, which are just a stone's throw away, lacked width: this was found, but at the price of what work!
Old Paris is largely built on stilts, the riverbank being far from sufficient for its development. For months the platform was prepared where the buildings of the good old days would rise, strange and graceful. This platform, with more than 300 metres of frontage on the Seine, represents a surface area of 6500 metres. It was established above the high water level by means of a thousand piles, varying from 10 to 15 metres in length and 1 metre in diameter, driven to refusal, from 2.5 to 6 metres, according to the geological layers encountered, by a 1000 kilo sheep, falling back up to five hundred times, to make the most recalcitrant ones penetrate by barely a millimetre at each blow. This preparatory work alone, but how important, was a curiosity. Today the eye immediately goes to what has risen as if by magic on the ground conquered by force, forgetting this forest of beaten piles, coming from the renowned fir-trees of the Orne and the Eure, and to this unique façade, composed of an infinite number of types of architecture grouped in three divisions, from the Middle Ages to the eighteenth century, passing through the Renaissance.
Old Paris plays a leading role in the general decor of the Exhibition; it stands out, by the diversity of its buildings, against the mass of palaces facing it, and it has the additional advantage, which forms such a pretty picture, of allowing, once one has entered it, to admire at one's ease the marvels unfolding as far as the eye can see.
The main entrance to Old Paris is at the Pont de l'Alma. We are in the middle ages, that is to say in the presence of a massive, military architecture, and as this architecture seems to really date back to the distant period it represents, as the stones bear the marks of the years on their worn walls, as the ironwork and the roofs have an air of venerable obsolescence, the visitor is immediately led to wonder by what process such an interesting result has been obtained. Here is how the architects and artists have worked: after much research to gather serious documentation on each building to be reproduced, the framework trusses were covered with moulded staf from the impressions taken from the patterns modelled for the sculptures. The stones, which were larger or smaller, and differently arranged according to the period, were imitated to a fault, thanks to the care taken by the masons to add certain oxides to their plaster. The painters came next; they gave the woodwork, the carved parts and the walls the appropriate colour. In addition, as we were ahead of schedule, the exterior of all these constructions underwent the action of heat, cold and rain; the result was an inimitable patina, a happy complement to the measures taken to provide the most complete illusion of reality. The entrance, as we have just said, takes us right into the Middle Ages; the visitor has, in front of him, the rampart and the turreted building of the Porte Saint-Michel, one of the gates of Philippe Auguste's enclosure, on the left bank, rebuilt under Charles V, when Paris, growing, required the establishment of the fourth wall built since Lutetia, seeing the Romans coming, had to be fortified.
The enclosure, at the time of Charles V, consisted, on the left bank, of a curtain wall flanked by semicircular towers and very close together; on the right bank, the square towers were more widely spaced; there were two castles, the Bastille and the Louvre. The enclosure was naturally pierced by gates with a very pronounced defensive character. They consisted of a large building, flanked by towers or turrets, with a barbican on the other side of the moat, or an unlined earthen boulevard.
The Porte Saint-Michel rests on the rampart, the debris of fortifications, pieces of curtain walls, large walls, such as were left in place by the continual expansion of Paris, which for a long time preserved the vestiges of its previous enclosures, vestiges to which the houses clung, which were transformed into convents, military buildings, or which were used for public services.
After passing through the arch of the Porte Saint-Michel, you come to the Place du Pré-aux-Clercs, framed by the gable of the Maison aux Piliers and the Tour du Louvre. The very reverse side of the Porte Saint-Michel is represented by the entrance portal of the Chartreuse du Luxembourg. The Maison aux Piliers, which was the first hotel in the city of Paris, consisted of three gables similar to those of Old Paris, which were attached to the hospice of the Orphans of the Holy Spirit. The Louvre tower is typical of the high Parisian towers flanked by the turret where the spiral staircase runs, with a crenellated platform and a pepperpot roof.
Under the gable of the Maison aux Piliers, the rue des vieilles Ecoles leads to a number of Parisian houses that are interesting both for their architecture and for the people who lived in them. The first is Molière's birthplace or Pavillon des singes, rue des Etuves. The name "Pavillon des singes" comes from the corner post or cornice, sculpted from top to bottom, with monkeys climbing. The last of these corner posts, a marble of Jesse, was recently removed from a House of Nicolas Flamel, which still exists in rue de Montmorency, 45, but completely damaged; the restitution was made with such scrupulousness, according to a drawing of the time, that its former owner, the illuminator, would return to it with his eyes closed. He could take back to his shop the patient pen and meticulous brush with which he calligraphed and coloured for the rich bourgeois, the nobles, and even the king, the missals that museums now compete for at a high price. Nicolas Flamel was an artist in his own right; he had more talent than all his colleagues gathered around him in shops similar to his; he also earned a lot of money, and as Dame Pernelle, his worthy companion, was a wise housewife, the couple could afford the luxury of showing themselves to be generous with the parish and compassionate with the poor; it did not take much more for superstition to become attached to the name of Nicolas Flamel: The vulgar made him an alchemist, attributed to him the secret of the philosopher's stone and the gift of eternal life. Nicolas Flamel's philosopher's stone was work, and his alchemy a prudent management of his goods: he was only so rich because he put the needs of the unfortunate before the satisfaction of his desires, and anyone can be rich on that account.
Then there is the house of Théophraste Renaudot, founder of the Gazette, our ancestor, the newspaper at its birth, preparing to fulfil its role of propagator in the world, thanks to typography; the house of the master printer Robert Estienne, the Tower of the Collège Fortet, still visible near the Panthéon, and finally the famous Cabaret de la Pomme de Pin, which is included in the composition of the paintings of the time, spoken of in the vaudevilles à couplets, Finally, the prototype of the literary tavern, where the red maritorne is the counterpart of the owner, eager to meet the customers approaching his stone staircase, when these customers were called Boileau, Molière, Racine, La Fontaine, Chapelle, Lully or Mignard in the great century.
After the rue des Vieilles-Ecoles and the picturesque rue des Remparts, with its curious dwellings and stalls full of small merchants, come the crossroads and the church of Saint-Julien-des-Ménestriers, whose portal on the rue Saint-Martin contains a legion of little angels playing all known instruments. On the right, a statue of Saint Genest, patron saint of jugglers; on the left, Saint Julien. Saint-Julien-des-Ménestriers was, among the hundred churches whose sharp bell towers pierced the sky, the corporate chapel of the musicians, minstrels and jugglers of Paris and all France. In front of its porch, the musicians were praised, and the chief of the minstrels of Saint-Julien extended his power over all the guilds of the provinces.
Saint-Julien, with its gabled roof, its chevet framed by houses and shops, produces the best effect on the small square; the pretty chapel and the Pilori of Saint-Germain-des-Prés mark the limit of the Gothic style. With the old Halles, we pass into the eighteenth-century quarter. The square includes the turret of the Château Gaillard, the old gables that followed each other along the streets forming the edge of the pillars of the Halles, and the Grille de Lully, which comes from the house of the famous musician, located in the rue des Petits-Champs, at the corner of the rue Saint-Anne. This grille is authentic.
Here is the Grand-Châtelet, as it was restored during the reign of Louis XII, according to an etching of 1650. The building above the vault is flanked by two turrets, a large decorated clock can be seen under a very advanced canopy. The bell tower of a small chapel, which disappeared under Louis XIV, rises above the fortified door. Passing the arch, it leads, as in the past, to the Pont-au-Change, which gives an exact idea of these old bridges with houses of the past, forming on the water streets with irregular constructions planted in corbelling on the beams or on the stones of the bridge, above the mills. As bridges were rare, and as the houses, which all had shops, left little room for horsemen, carts and pedestrians, it is conceivable that the bridges were always places where people were heavily hustled, which was a source of delight to the wool pullers and other crooks.
The gable that can be seen next, with its two glass windows and rose window, on the façade overlooking the Seine, belongs to the Palais de la Cité. This is the great hall, the hall of solemnities, of royal feasts; later the great hall of the Palace rebuilt by Saint Louis and Philippe le Bel after the disappearance of the Roman Palace, there were magnificent pieces that we can appreciate, since they still exist: the Clock Tower, the Conciergerie, the Sainte-Chapelle.
The great hall was destroyed by fire. It dated from the last years of the fourteenth century and had been completed by Enguerrand de Marigny. It is this room that has been exactly rebuilt with its windows, its roses in the gables, sending light under the panelled vaults, painted in azure and decorated with gold flowers, its statues of kings fixed to the pillars, legendary statues, the history of France represented by these portraits and the inscriptions accompanying them. Good and bad kings, who have reigned well or badly, are there, with their swords raised or lowered, depending on whether tradition grants them merit or accuses them of incapacity. In the great hall of the palace, we will see Pharamond, Clotaire, Clovis, Chilperic, Dagobert, Hugues Capet, Pépin le Bref, Saint-Louis and Philippe Auguste, not only sculpted in stone or wood, but also variously painted in bright colours, with vivid blue contrasting with bright red, with yellow to represent the gold embroidery. At the back of the room was the marble table, said to be in one piece, where the king and the highest court officials sat. We see it again in the present room, but with a completely different purpose, since it serves as a platform for various speakers, speakers and artists, kings in their own right if you like, but who are no longer of the same race as those of the statues that contemplate them somewhat astonished.
Following the same itinerary, in the direction of the river's course, one reaches the Grand Degrees of the Saint-Chapelle, through which King Louis XII, who was ill with gout, could be carried in a litter. These steps, built as hors-d'oeuvres, parallel to those of the Chambre des Comptes, passed under four ogival arches, supported by pillars decorated with fleurs-de-lis ending in flowered pinnacles framing a network of flamboyant curves.
To accompany the famous staircase of the Sainte-Chapelle, architectural details from different periods were borrowed, such as the windows of the Trésor des Chartes, the Bretèche of the Hôtel de Bourbon, an enclosed balcony that the seigneurial dwellings had, and the Tour de l'Archevêché, which remained until 1831 between the south side of Notre-Dame and the Seine.
Opposite the Grands Degrés stands d'Harcourt, formerly located near the College on the left bank. Finally, the ramp leading to the footbridge over the Seine in front of the Palais des Armées de Terre et de Mer is decorated with a three-storey Renaissance wooden bretèche and eleventh-century houses, followed by a reduction of the famous eighteenth-century Foire Saint-Laurent.
This description of the built-up part of Old Paris would give only a faint idea of what this artistic reconstruction really is. It is almost a resurrection one should say, for Old Paris is essentially alive. From morning till the middle of the night, the animation does not cease, justified by the innumerable merchants installed in the stalls, the shops, the cabarets, the inns, the hostelries, the theatres, where the crowd crowds with a rustle of joyful laughter. The Grand Théâtre, situated above the Vieilles Halles, gives hospitality to the Colonne concerts. The hall, so vast and so characteristic, is a sort of wooden hall whose bays span more than twenty-six metres. The usual chandeliers or floor lamps have been replaced by lanterns suspended from their pulleys, and the seats, on the same level, are made of old oak. At the back, the stage is enclosed by magnificent seventeenth-century tapestries depicting Lebrun battles, which are perfectly preserved.
The population of this real little town wears the costume of the four periods: Middle Ages, Renaissance, seventeenth and eighteenth centuries until the Revolution. The picturesque signs beat in the wind; one runs from the three Scriptures to the Wheel of Fortune; to the Harping Goat or to the Three Faces; one stops at the stall of the frivolity dealer as well as that of the antique dealer; one passes from the medals of Saint-Julien to the knick-knacks of the Chat qui pêche, and time passes so quickly, so quickly, that one no longer thinks of the slight anachronism which can result from the modern crowd circulating through the vestiges of ancient times, elbowing men-at-arms, musketeers and picturesquely costumed bourgeois: The audience is simply a century, added to the centuries that have passed!

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vieux Paris


Vieux Paris à l'exposition de Paris 1900

C’était, assurément, une idée charmante que d’évoquer, pour le plaisir des yeux, le Paris des Temps passés que nous devinons par quelques monuments, des églises, des hôtels particuliers, quelques tronçons de rues, mais qui est bien disparu néanmoins. Les rares spécimens d’architecture conservés sont par trop éparpillés et surtout trop dépaysés au milieu des construction modernes qui les entourent pour qu’on puisse, même avec beaucoup de bonne volonté, se représenter ce que fut la capitale aux diverses époques dont on a encore des échantillons. A plus forte raison, ne pet-on guère se la figurer telle qu’elle était antérieurement, si ce qui reste ne suffit pas à faire revivre mentalement les siècles écoulés.
C’est que les édifices ne sont pas tout dans une ville ; ils sont comme de pur diamants qui représentent à eux seuls une valeur intrinsèque, mais dont le prix se double lorsqu’il sont enchâssés, entourés, montés avec leur cortège de métaux précieux, de pierres fines, de perles. Nous avons encore Notre-Dame, par exemple, mais la célèbre basilique, qui est à elle seule tout le monde, n’est plus comme autrefois environnée de ces maison à pignon pointus dont les gouttières finissaient par s’entrecroiser à travers les rues étroites et tortueuses ; elle n’émerge plus du chaos grouillant à ses pieds, et quoiqu’elle ait conservé la prestigieuse grandeur des œuvres surhumaines, elle n’impressionne peut-être plus autant que lorsqu’elle dominait de toute sa hauteur imposante et superbe le fouillis de masures tapi à l’ombre de ses tours. La maison qui avait, elle aussi, son caractère, s’est écroulée ; on l’a abattue. Le marchand, le bourgeois, l’artisan ont changé de physionomie en changeant de milieu ; le costume s’est modifié avec les habitudes et les mœurs. La grande voie égalitaire et froide a emporté avec sa ligne de tramway le pittoresque et l’imprévu, l’individualité de l’habitation en même temps que celle de l’habitant : nos maisons se ressemblent toutes et nous avons fait, semble t-il, un effort considérable et méritoire quand nous nous sommes décidés pour un pardessus plus ou moins foncé.
Paris a eu d’autres aspects ! Et ce sont ces aspects variés que nous revoyons à l’exposition, sur les bords de la Seine. Rien que la situation en encorbellement au-dessus de l’eau est une trouvaille, et les millions de visiteurs qui ont suivi la voie du fleuve n’ont pu retenir un cri de réelle admiration au coup d’œil incomparable présenté par la suite ininterrompue de constructions que forment sur la rive gauche la Cité des Nations, le palais des Armées de terre et de mer, avec, en pendant sur la rive droite, l’extraordinaire et saisissant Vieux Paris de Robida, le maître dessinateur, mirant ses tourelles, ses clochers, ses mille fenêtres dans l’eau scintillante.
Ce n’est pas le première fois qu’on se livre à es reconstitutions du même genre ; mais il faut bien dire que jusqu’ici rien d’aussi parfait, d’aussi complètement vrai n’avait été fait. Souvent, il ne s’agissait que d’une sorte de décor avec, au rez-de-chaussée, quelques intérieurs praticables, tout le reste n’étant que du trompe l’œil. Ici les maisons sont des maisons du haut en bas, et les édifices, de véritables édifices, contenant des salles pleines de monde, où tout est vie, activité mouvement. Ce Paris, ou plutôt ces Paris anciens, car il y a plusieurs époques se juxtaposant pour former un ensemble homogène, varié mais non point disparate, sont des Paris recrées, avec leurs rues, leurs places, leurs carrefours : il a fallu, sans doute, dépenser beaucoup de talent, d’ingéniosité… et d’argent pour arriver à un pareil résultat.
Tout d’abord l’emplacement adopté, très favorable d’une part à cause de la Seine et des Champs-Elysées qui en sont à deux pas, maquait de largeur : on en a trouvé, mais au prix de quels travaux !
Le Vieux Paris est en grande partie construit sur pilotis, la berge étant loin de suffire à son développement. Durant des mois on a préparé la plate-forme où s’élèveraient, bizarre et gracieuses, les constructions du bon vieux temps. Cette plate-forme ayant plus de 300 mètres de façade sur le Seine représente une surface de 6500 mètres. Elle a été établie au-dessus du niveau des hautes crues au moyen d’un millier de pieux, variant de 10 à 15 mètres de longueur et de 1 mètres de diamètre, enfoncés jusqu’à refus, de 2,5 à 6 mètres, suivant les couches géologiques rencontrées, par un mouton de 1000 kilos, retombant jusqu’à cinq cents fois, pour faire pénétrer les plus récalcitrants à peine d’un millimètre à chaque coup. Rien que ce travail préparatoire, mais combien important, constitua une curiosité. Aujourd’hui l’œil va tout de suite à ce qui s’est élevé comme par enchantement sur le sol conquis par la force, en oubliant cette forêt de pieux battus, provenant des sapinières renommée de l’Orne et de l’Eure, et à cette façade unique dans son genre, composée d’une infinité de types d’architecture groupé en trois divisions, du moyen âge au dix-huitième siècle, en passant par la Renaissance.
Le Vieux Paris joue un rôle de premier ordre dans le décor général de l’Exposition ; il tranche, par la diversité de ses bâtiments, sur la masse des palais qui lui font face, et il présente en outre l’avantage, lui qui forme un si joli tableau, de permettre, lorsqu’on y a pénétré, d’admirer à son aise les merveilles se déroulant à perte de vue.
L’entrée principale du Vieux Paris est au pont de l’Alma. On est là en plein moyen âge, c’est à dire en présence d’une architecture massive, militaire, et comme cette architecture paraît remonter réellement à l’époque lointaine qu’elle représente, comme les pierres portent sur leurs parois usées la marque des ans, comme les ferrures, les toits ont un air de vétusté tout à fait vénérable, le visiteur est aussitôt amené à se demander par quel procédé on a obtenu un résultat aussi intéressant. Voici comment les architectes et les artiste ont opéré : après maintes recherches pour réunir une documentation sérieuse sur chaque édifice à reproduire, des fermes en charpente ont été recouvertes de staf moulé d’après les empreintes prises sur des motifs modelés pour les sculptures. Les pierres plus ou moins grandes, et différemment disposées suivant les époques, ont été imitées à s’y méprendre grâce au soin qu’ont eu les maçons d’ajouter certains oxydes à leur plâtre. Les peintres sont venus ensuite ; ils ont donné aux boiseries, aux parties sculptées, aux murailles la teinte qui convenait. De plus, comme on était en avance, l’extérieur de toutes ces constructions a subi l’action de la chaleur, du froid, de la pluie ; il en résulte une patine inimitable, heureux complément des dispositions prises pour procurer l’illusion la plus complète de la réalité. L’entrée, ainsi que nous venons de la dire, nous met en plein moyen âge ; le visiteur a, en face de lui, le rempart et le bâtiment à tourelles de la Porte Saint-Michel, une des portes de l’enceinte de Philippe Auguste, sur la rive gauche, refaites sous Charles V, lorsque Paris, se développant, nécessitait l’établissement de la quatrième muraille construite depuis que Lutèce, voyant survenir les Romains, dut être fortifiée.
L’enceinte, au temps de Charles V, se composait, sur la rive gauche, d’une courtine flanquée de tours semi-circulaires et très rapprochées ; sur la rive droite, les tours carrées étaient plus espacées ; il y avait deux châteaux forts, la Bastille et le Louvre. L’enceinte était naturellement percée de portes présentant un caractère défensif très accentué. Elles se composaient d’une grosse bâtisse, flanquée de tours ou de tourelles, avec une barbacane de l’autre côté du fossé, ou un boulevard en terre sans revêtement.
La Porte Saint-Michel s’appuie au rempart, débris de fortification, morceaux de courtines, gros murs, comme en laissait de place en place la continuelle extension de Paris qui conservait longtemps des vestiges de ses précédentes enceintes, vestiges auxquels s’accrochaient les maisons, qu’on transformait en couvents, en bâtiment militaires, ou que l’on affectait à des services publics.
Après avoir franchi la voûte de la porte Saint-Michel, on rencontre la place du Pré-aux-Clercs encadrée par le pignon de la maison aux Piliers et la Tour du Louvre. Le revers même de la porte Saint-Michel est figuré par le portail d’entrée de la Chartreuse du Luxembourg. La maison aux Piliers, qui fut le premier hôtel de la ville de Paris, se composait de trois pignons semblables à celui du Vieux Paris qui s’appuyaient à l’hospice des Orphelins du Saint-Esprit. La tour du Louvre est de type des hautes tours parisiennes flanquées de la tourelle où se déroule l’escalier à vis, avec plate-forme à créneaux et comble en poivrière.
Sous le pignon de la Maison aux Piliers, débouche la rue des vieilles Ecoles où se trouvent réunies un certain nombre de maisons parisiennes intéressantes à la fois par leur architecture et par les personnages qui les habitèrent. La première est la Maison natale de Molière ou Pavillon des singes, rue des Etuves. Ce nom de Pavillon des singes lui venait du poteau d’angle ou cornier, sculpté de haut en bas, avec des singes grimpant. Le dernier de ce poteaux d’angle, un marbre de Jessé, a été retiré tout dernièrement d’une Maison de Nicolas Flamel, qui existe encore rue de Montmorency, 45, mais complètement abîmée ; la restitution en a été faite avec tant de scrupule, d’après un dessin du temps, que son ancien propriétaire, l’enlumineur, y rentrerait les yeux fermés. Il pourrait reprendre dans son échoppe la plume patiente et le pinceau minutieux avec lequel il calligraphiait et coloriait pour le compte des riches bourgeois, des nobles, du roi même, les missels quel es musées se disputent aujourd’hui à prix d’or. Nicolas Flamel était un artiste en son genre; il avait plus de talent à lui seul que tous ses confrères réunis autour de lui dans des échoppes semblables à la sienne ; aussi gagnait-il gros, et comme dame Pernelle, sa digne compagne, était une sage ménagère, le couple pouvait se donner le luxe de ce montrer généreux avec la paroisse et compatissant aux pauvres ; il n’en fallut pas davantage pour que la superstition s’attachât au nom de Nicolas Flamel : le vulgaire le fit alchimiste, lui attribua le secret de la pierre philosophale et le don de vie éternelle. La pierre philosophale de Nicolas Flamel était le travail, et son alchimie une prudente gestion de ses biens : il n‘était si riche que parce qu’il faisait passer les besoins des malheureux avant la satisfaction de ses désirs, et tout le monde peut être riche à ce compte-là.
Viennent ensuite la maison de Théophraste Renaudot, fondateur de la Gazette, notre ancêtre, le journal à sa naissance, s’apprêtant à remplir dans le monde, grâce à la typographie, son rôle de propagateur ; la maison du maître imprimeur Robert Estienne, la Tour du Collège Fortet, visible encore près du Panthéon, et enfin le fameux Cabaret de la Pomme de Pin, qu’on fait entrer dans la composition des tableaux du temps, dont on parle dans les vaudevilles à couplets, prototype enfin de la taverne littéraire, où la rouge maritorne fait pendant au patron empressé près des clients abordant son perron de pierre, quand ces clients s’appelaient au grand siècle Boileau, Molière, Racine, La Fontaine, Chapelle, Lully ou Mignard.
Après la rue des Vieilles-Ecoles et la pittoresque rue des Remparts, avec ses curieux logis et ses échoppes où pullulent les petits marchands, viennent le carrefour et l’église Saint-Julien-des-Ménestriers dont le portail, sur le rue Saint-Martin, contient une légion de petits anges jouant de tous les instruments connus. A droite, statue de Saint Genest, patron des jongleurs ; à gauche, Saint Julien. Saint-Julien-des-Ménestriers était, parmi les cent églises dont les clochers aigus perçaient le ciel, la chapelle corporative des musiciens, ménestrels, jongleurs de Paris et de toute la France. Devant son porche, se faisaient la loue des musiciens, et le chef des ménestrels de Saint-Julien étendait son pouvoir sur toutes les corporations des provinces.
Saint-Julien, avec son pignon en charpente, son chevet encadré de maisons et d’échoppes, produit sur la petite place le meilleur effet ; la jolie chapelle et le Pilori de Saint-Germain-des-Prés marquent la limite du style gothique. On passe avec les vieille Halles dans le quartier du dix-huitième siècle. La place comprend la Tourelle du Château Gaillard les vieux pignons qui se suivaient le long des rues formant la bordure des piliers des Halles, et la Grille de Lully, provenant de la maison du célèbre musicien, située rue des Petits-Champs, à l’angle de la rue Saint-Anne. Cette grille est authentique.
Voici le Grand-Châtelet, dans l’état où il se trouvait restauré sous le règne de Louis XII, d’après une eau-forte de 1650. Le bâtiment au-dessus de la voûte est flanqué de deux tourelles, on voit une grosse horloge décorée, sous un auvent très avancé. Le clocheton d’une petite chapelle, disparue sous Louis XIV, s’élance au-dessus de la porte fortifiée. Passons la voûte, elle conduit, comme jadis dans la réalité, au Pont-au-Change, qui donne une idée exacte de ces vieux ponts à maisons d’autrefois, formant sur l’eau des rues à constructions irrégulière plantées en encorbellement sur les poutres ou sur les pierres du pont, au-dessus des moulins. Comme les ponts étaient rares, comme les maisons qui avaient toutes des boutiques laissaient peu de place aux cavaliers, aux chariots, aux piétons, on conçoit que les ponts furent toujours des endroits où l’on était fortement bousculé, ce qui faisait la joie des tire-laine et autres malandrins.
Le pignon qu’on aperçoit ensuite, avec ses deux verrières, sa rosace, en façade sur la Seine, appartient au Palais de la Cité. C’en est la grande salle, salle des solennités, des festins royaux ; plus tard grande salle du Palais reconstruit par Saint Louis et Philippe le Bel après la disparition du Palais Roman, il y avait de magnifiques morceaux que nous pouvons apprécier, puisqu’ils existent encore : la Tour de l’Horloge, la Conciergerie, la Sainte-Chapelle.
La grande salle fut détruite par un incendie. Elle datait des dernières années du quatorzième siècle et avait été terminée par Enguerrand de Marigny. C’est cette salle qu’on a réédifiée exactement avec ses fenestrages, ses roses dans les pignons, envoyant la lumière sous les voûtes lambrissées, peinte couleur d’azur et fleurdelisées d’or, ses statues de rois fixées aux piliers, statues légendaires, histoire de France figurée par ces portraits et les inscriptions les accompagnant. Rois bons et mauvais, ayant bien ou mal régné sont là, l’épée haute ou basse, suivant que la tradition leur accordait des mérites ou les accusait d’incapacité. On reverra dans la grande salle du Palais : Pharamond, Clotaire, Clovis, Chilpéric, Dagobert, Hugues Capet, Pépin le Bref, Saint-Louis et Philippe Auguste, non pas seulement sculptés dans la pierre ou dans le bois, mais diversement peints en couleurs franches, le bleu vif tranchant sur le rouge éclatant, avec du jaune pour représenter les broderies d’or. Au fond de la salle se trouvait la table de marbre, réputée d’un seul morceau, où s’asseyaient le roi et les plus hauts personnages de la cour. On la revoit à la salle actuelle, mais avec une tout autre destination, puisqu’elle sert d’estrade à des conférenciers, diseurs et artistes divers, rois dans leur genre si l’on veut, mais qui ne sont plus tout de même de la même race que ceux des statues qui les contemplent un peu étonnées.
Suivant toujours le même itinéraire, dans le sens du cours du fleuve, on parvient aux Grands Degré de la Saint-Chapelle par lesquelles le roi Louis XII, qui était goutteux, pouvait se faire monter en litière. Ces degré construits en hors-d’œuvre, parallèlement à ceux de la chambre des comptes, passaient sous quatre arcades ogivales, soutenues par des piliers semés de fleurs de lis terminés par des pinacles fleuris encadrant un réseau de courbes flamboyantes.
Pour accompagner l’escalier fameux de la Sainte-Chapelle, on a emprunté des détails d’architecture à différentes époques, tels que les fenêtres du Trésor des Chartes, la Bretèche de l’Hôtel de Bourbon, balcon fermé que possédaient les logis seigneuriaux, et la Tour de l’Archevêché qui subsista jusqu’en 1831 entre le flanc sud de Notre-Dame et la Seine.
A l’opposé des Grands Degrés s’élève d’Harcourt, situé autrefois à proximité du Collège de la rive gauche. Enfin la rampe conduisant à la passerelle jetée sur la Seine devant le palais des Armées de terre et de mer est ornée d’une bretèche en bois à trois étages, de la Renaissance, et de maisons du onzième siècle ; puis une réduction de la Foire Saint-Laurent célèbre au dix-huitième siècle.
Cette description de la partie construite du Vieux Paris ne donnerait q’une faible idée de ce qu’est réellement cette artistique reconstitution. C’est presque une résurrection qu’on devrait dire, car le Vieux Paris est essentiellement vivant. Du matin jusqu’au milieu de la nuit, l’animation ne cesse pas, justifiée par les innombrables marchands installés dans les échoppes, dans les magasins, les cabarets, les auberges, hostelleries, théâtres, où la foule s’entasse avec un bruissement de rires joyeux. Le Grand Théâtre, situé au-dessus des Vieilles Halles, donne l’hospitalité aux concerts Colonne. La salle si vaste et si caractéristique est une sorte de halle en bois dont les travées ont plus de vingt-six mètres de portée. Les lustres ou lampadaire habituels sont remplacés par des lanternes suspendues à leurs poulies, et les sièges, de plain-pied, sont en vieux chêne. Au fond, la scène est fermée par de magnifiques tapisseries du dix-septième siècle représentant des batailles de Lebrun, d’une conservation parfaite.
La population de cette véritable petite ville porte le costume des quatre époques : moyen âge, Renaissance, dix-septième et dix-huitième siècles jusqu’à la Révolution. Les enseignes pittoresques battent le vent ; on court des trois Ecritoires à la Roue de la Fortune ; à la Chèvre qui harpe ou aux Trois Visages ; on s’arrête à l’étalage de la marchande de frivolités comme à celui de l’antiquaire ; on passe des médailles de Saint-Julien aux bibelots du Chat qui pêche, et le temps passe si vite, si vite, que l’on ne songe plus au léger anachronisme qui peut résulter de la foule moderne circulant à travers les vestiges des époques anciennes, coudoyant hommes d’armes, mousquetaires et bourgeois pittoresquement costumés : Le public, c’est tout simplement un siècle, qui s’ajoute aux siècles écoulés !

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Librairie Hachette & Cie – 1901