Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Monaco

Monaco at the Exhibition Paris 1900

It was not without some surprise to see in the City of Nations, in the first rank of the European powers, between Germany and Sweden, the principality of Monaco, this tiny state, the smallest in the world and whose territory of 2200 hectares, enclosed on our coastline, hardly reaches the dimensions of a large estate. By granting it such a considerable site on this privileged and hotly contested spot, out of proportion to its real importance, the Exhibition's organising committee no doubt wanted to show its esteem for the remarkable services rendered to science by a prince who, on the other hand, has always shown such a strong devotion to France and whose son is currently serving in our armed forces.

Prince Albert has, moreover, taken very generous advantage of this privilege. The pavilion he had built was not the least of the ornaments of the superb scenery which bordered the Seine at this point. Of vast proportions, it represented the reproduction of various parts of the ancient Monegasque residence of the Grimaldis. A high 13th century feudal tower, pierced with battlements, stood on the very edge of the quay and dominated the whole building, whose main façade, facing east and in the Italian style, had an elegant arched gallery on the first floor, decorated with frescoes based on paintings from the Palace of Monaco.

The centre of the palace was a glassed-in courtyard surrounded by two floors of arcades, where magnificent exotic plants grown under the blessed skies of the Côte d'Azur had been grouped.

On the ground floor, a few specimens of earthenware, cements and liquors represented the modest industry of the principality. The rest of the palace was devoted to the exhibition of scientific collections gathered by the prince during his numerous cruises. For several years, Prince Albert had been travelling the ocean on his yacht Princesse-Alice, admirably fitted out for this purpose, to explore the depths and study the beings, so little known until now, that inhabit them.

Continuing the remarkable work of Milne-Edwards, he had thus revealed to us a marine fauna of which the numerous samples arranged in the showcases made us appreciate the oddity of the forms and the strangeness of the organism.

Next to the brightly coloured fishes of the prism, with their enormous mouths and finely serrated fins, we could see blind monsters with long tentacles, extraordinary crustaceans, actinids armed with suction cups, a whole mysterious and fearsome world which is agitated and swarming in the depths of the sea, where daylight never reaches and on which enormous pressures weigh, up to 200 and 300 atmospheres, which would flatten our organism like a sheet of paper.

In front of the display cabinets were the nets of fine silk gauze of great resistance and the heavy trawls used to dredge these abysses. Numerous watercolours lining the walls made it possible to follow these various operations.

Finally, in the basement, where a cinematograph was in operation, which allowed us to witness the main scenes of Monegasque life, a beautiful panorama gave us an overall view of the tiny but admirable territory of the principality.

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Monaco


Monaco à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Ce n’était pas sans quelque surprise que l’on voyait figurer dans la Cité des Nations, au premier rang des puissances européennes, entre l’Allemagne et la Suède, la principauté de Monaco, ce minuscule état, le plus petit du globe et dont le territoire de 2200 hectares, enclavé sur notre littoral, atteint à peine les dimension d’un grand domaine. En lui accordant sur ce point privilégié et si vivement disputé un emplacement aussi considérable, hors de proportion avec son importance réelle, la commission d’organisation de l’Exposition avait voulu sans doute témoigner de son estime pour les remarquables services rendus à la science par un prince qui, d’autre part, a toujours témoigné un si vif dévouement à la France et dont le fils sert en ce moment sous nos drapeaux.

Le prince Albert a, du reste, très généreusement profité de ce privilège. Le pavillon qu’il a fait élever n’était pas un des moindre ornements du superbe décor qui bordait la Seine sur ce point. De vastes proportions, il nous représentait la reproduction de diverses parties de l’antique résidence monégasque des Grimaldi. Une haute tour féodale du XIIIe siècle, percée de créneaux, se dressait sur le bord même qu quai et dominait l’ensemble de l’édifice, dont la façade principale tournée vers l’est et de style Italie, portait au premier étage une élégante galerie à arceaux, décorée de fresques d’après des peintures du palais de Monaco.

Le centre du palais était occupé par une cour vitrée entourée de deux étages d’arcades et où l’on avait groupé de magnifiques plantes exotiques cultivées sous le ciel béni de la Côte d’Azur.

Au rez-de-chaussée, quelques spécimens de faïence, de ciments, de liqueurs représentaient la modeste industrie de la principauté. Tout le reste du palais était consacré à l’exposition des collections scientifiques réunies par le prince au cours de ses nombreuses croisières. Le prince Albert parcourrait, en effet, depuis plusieurs années l’océan sur son yacht Princesse-Alice, admirablement aménagé dans ce but, pour en explorer les profondeurs et en étudier les êtres, si peu connus jusqu’ici, qui les habitent.

Continuant les remarquables travaux de Milne-Edwards, il nous avait ainsi révélé une faune marine dont les nombreux échantillons rangés dans les vitrines nous faisaient apprécier la bizarrerie des formes et l’étrangeté de l’organisme.

A côté de poissons diaprés des plus vives couleurs du prisme, aux gueules énormes, au nageoires finement dentelées, nous pouvions voir des monstres aveugles, aux longs tentacules, d’extraordinaires crustacés, des actinies armées de ventouses, tout un monde mystérieux et redoutable qui s’agite et grouille dans ce fond de la mer où jamais ne parvient la lumière du jour et sur lequel pèsent des pression énormes allant jusqu’à 200 et 300 atmosphères qui aplatiraient notre organisme comme une feuille de papier.

Devant les vitrines, on avait disposé les filets de fine gaze de soie d’une grande résistance et les lourds chaluts qui servent à draguer ces abîmes. De nombreuses aquarelles garnissant les murs permettaient de suivre ces diverses opérations.

Enfin, dans le sous-sol, où fonctionnait un cinématographe, qui nous faisait assister aux principales scènes de la vie monégasque, un beau panorama nous présentait une vue d’ensemble du minuscule, mais admirable territoire de la principauté.

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Librairie Hachette & Cie – 1901