Back - List of Pavilions

Spain -

Spain at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

The Royal Pavilion of Spain was in the purest Spanish Renaissance style. The details of its construction had been borrowed from various historical monuments; the façade of the University of Alcala, built by Rodrigo Gil de Ontafion in 1555; the main façade of the Alcázar of Toledo, entrusted to the famous Alfonso de Covarubias by Charles V, when this sovereign transformed the ancient fortress built by Alfonso X into a sumptuous palace; the University of Salamanca, one of the most complete models of the so-called "plateresco" style, which was made known at that time by the attempts of Enrique de Egas in Santa Cruz de Toledo and Santa Cruz de Valladolid; and finally, the palace of the Counts of Monterey (property of the ducal house of Alba), remarkable for its magnificent crowning crest built in 1534.
All these masterpieces from one of the most brilliant periods of the Spanish nation have inspired some of the details or have been exactly reproduced in the construction of the Royal Pavilion.
The building itself, rectangular in shape, was of a dazzling whiteness that contrasted with the violent colouring of its German neighbour; it was flanked at the eastern corner by a square tower, 26 metres high, whose base, hollowed out by large arches supported by statues, extended as far as the quay ramp.
The interior of the palace had a courtyard (patio) with columns in the same architectural style, with galleries on both floors, an elegant balustrade and a superb frieze also in the Renaissance style. In the centre stood a beautiful statue of Velasquez, whose pedestal featured subjects from some of the most famous paintings by this great Spanish master. The staircase that led to the first floor opened into this courtyard and was decorated with a boss that was a reproduction of those of the University of Alcala and in which the strange and curious whims of Renaissance art were played out.
The royal pavilion was occupied in its entirety, except for the part reserved for the general commissariat, by an exhibition of retrospective art, for which the Queen had lent some of the marvels contained in the royal residences, among others the magnificent collections of tapestries from the palace of Madrid; the government had sent the curiosities of the national museums and many private individuals the valuable objects which they kept in their collections and which were a proof of the greatness and a memory of the discoveries of Spain.
There were thus gathered together a considerable number of objects of art, of incomparable value and which, for the most part, had never been presented to the public eye.
All these marvels had been arranged with exquisite taste in vast halls, which seemed somewhat empty to the ignorant stream of visitors, but where they were placed in full view for the admiration of amateurs.
On the ground floor, the walls were hung with Flemish tapestries of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, a number of which had belonged to Charles V. Especially admirable was the series of marvellous paintings woven in gold wool, representing the Conquest of Tunis and scenes from the Old and New Testaments, executed in 1543 from cartoons by Juan Vermayen, the Flemish painter of choice of the great emperor; it was impossible to imagine a more admirable execution than these canvases, whose figures seemed to stand out with an incomparable vigour, which painting itself had perhaps never equalled.
Some ancient weapons, from the museums of the Armeria and the Escurial, all of great wealth, were scattered in these ground floor rooms, under glass cases.
Of particular note were two ceremonial shields of Charles, one made of steel and gold engraved with etching, the other damascened with gold and silver; two others of Philip II and a fifteenth-century helmet.
On the first floor, the Throne Room contained the canopy that housed Charles V's throne. The background of the canopy was a superb Flemish tapestry depicting Christ on the cross; at the foot of the cross stood the Virgin and St John on one side, and on the other, Human Justice putting its sword back into its sheath and Mercy collecting the blood of Man. Under the canopy, a white marble bas-relief by Benllure reproduced the features of the young king Alfonso XIII, his mother the queen and the two infantes.
In the other room, on the Seine, there were still hangings belonging to the Duke of Sesto, tapestries made from cartoons by the Flemish painter Van der Weyden, which had been included in the inventory of Joanna the Mad, and magnificent silk carpets bought by Philip II in 1530 and depicting scenes from the History of Rome. This room still contained display cabinets where we see helmets and salads from the time of Charles V, Barbarossa and Philip the Handsome. In the middle, the arms of Boabdil, the last Moorish king of Granada, and his tunic in stamped red velvet, property of the Marquise of Viana.
All these rare and incomparably rich pieces made up a veritable museum, of which we must be grateful to noble Spain, tried by recent misfortunes, for having so generously divested itself to embellish our Universal Exhibition.

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Espagne


Espagne à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Le pavillon royal d’Espagne était du plus pur style de la Renaissance espagnole. Les détails de sa construction avaient été empruntés à divers monuments historiques ; la façade de l’Université d’Alcala, construite par Rodrigo Gil de Ontafion en 1555 ; la façade principale de l’Alcazar de Tolède, confiée au célèbre Alfonso de Covarubias par Charles-Quint, lorsque ce souverain transforma en somptueux palais l’antique forteresse construite par Alphonse X ; l’Université de Salamanque, un des modèles les plus achevés du genre appelé « plateresco » que firent connaître, à cette époque, les essais d’Enrique de Egas à Santa Cruz de Tolède et à Santa Cruz de Valladolid ; enfin le palais des comtes de Monterey (propriété de la maison ducale d’Albe), remarquable par sa magnifique crête de couronnement construite en 1534.
Tous ces chefs-œuvre d’une des plus brillantes époques de la nation espagnole ont inspiré quelques détails ou ont été exactement reproduits dans la construction du pavillon royal.
Le bâtiment lui-même, de forme rectangulaire, était d’une éclatante blancheur qui contrastait avec le violent bariolage de son voisin allemand ; il était flanqué à l’angle oriental d’une tour carrée, de 26 mètres de hauteur, dont la base, évidée de grandes arcades soutenues par des statues, avançait jusqu’à la rampe du quai.
L’intérieur de ce palais comportait une cour (patio) à colonnes du même style d’architecture, avec galeries aux deux étages, une élégante balustrade et une superbe frise également du style Renaissance. Au centre se dressait une belle statue de Velasquez, dont le piédestal présentait des sujets de quelques-uns des tableaux les plus célèbres de ce grand maître espagnol. L’escalier qui menait au premier étage débouchait dans cette cour et était orné d’un bossage qui était la reproduction de ceux de l’Université d’Alcala et dans lequel se jouaient les caprices étranges et curieux de l’art de la Renaissance.
Le pavillon royal était occupé en entier, sauf la partie réservée au commissariat général, par une exposition d’art rétrospectif, pour laquelle la Reine avait prêté quelques-unes des merveilles que renfermaient les résidences royales, entre autres les magnifiques collections de tapisseries du palais de Madrid ; le gouvernement avait envoyé les curiosités de musées nationaux et de nombreux particuliers le objets de valeur qu’il conservaient dans leurs collections et qui étaient une preuve de la grandeur et un souvenir des découvertes de l’Espagne.
On trouvait donc réunis là un nombre considérables d’objets d’art, d’une valeur incomparable et qui, pour la plupart, n’avaient en quelque sorte jamais été présentés au regard un public.
Toutes des merveilles avaient été disposées avec un goût exquis dans de vaste salles, qui paraissaient un peu vides au flot ignorant des visiteurs, mais où elles se trouvaient placées bien en lumière pour l’admiration des amateurs.
Au rez-de-chaussée, les murs étaient tendus de tapisseries flamandes du quinzième et du seizième siècle, dont un certain nombre avaient appartenu à Charles-Quint. On pouvait admirer surtout la série de merveilleux tableaux tissés de laine d’or représentant la Conquête de Tunis et des scènes de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Testament, exécutés en 1543 d’après les cartons de Juan Vermayen, le peintre flamand de prédilection du grand empereur ; il était impossible d’imaginer une exécution plus admirable que ces toiles dont les figures semblaient se détacher avec une incomparable vigueur, que la peinture elle-même n’avait peut-être jamais égalée.
Quelques armes anciennes, provenant des musées de l’Armeria et de l’Escurial, toutes d’une grande richesse, étaient disséminées dans ces salles du rez-de-chaussée, sous des vitrines.
Nous signalons surtout deux boucliers d ‘apparat de Charles, l’un en acier et or gravé à l’eau –forte, l’autre damasquiné d’or et d’argent ; puis deux autres de Philippe II et un casque de quinzième siècle.
Au premier étage, la salle du Trône contenait le dais qui abritait le trône de Charles-Quint. Ce dais avait pour fond une superbe tapisserie flamande représentant le Christ en croix ; au pied de la croix se tenaient, d’un coté, la Vierge et Saint Jean, de l’autre, la Justice humaine remettant son glaive dans le fourreau et la Miséricorde recueillant le sang de l’Homme. Sous le dais, un bas-relief en marbre blanc, de Benllure, reproduisait les traits du jeune roi Alphonse XIII, de la reine sa mère et des deux infantes.
Dans l’autre salle, sur la Seine, on trouvait encore des tentures appartenant au duc de Sesto, des tapisseries exécutées d’après les cartons du peintre flamand Van der Weyden, qui avaient figuré à l’inventaire de Jeanne la Folle, et de magnifiques tapis de soie achetés par Philippe II en 1530 et représentant des scènes de l’Histoire de Rome. Cette pièce contenait encore des vitrines où nous voyons des casques, des salades, de l’époque de Charles-Quint, de Barberousse et de Philippe le Beau. Au milieu, les armes de Boabdil, le dernier roi maure de Grenade, et sa tunique en velours rouge frappé, propriété de la marquise de Viana.
Toutes ces pièces rares et d’une richesse incomparable composaient un véritable musée, dont nous devons être reconnaissants à la noble Espagne, éprouvée par de récents malheurs, de s’être si généreusement dessaisie pour embellir notre Exposition Universelle.

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Librairie Hachette & Cie – 1901