Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina at the Exhibition Paris 1900

Architect(s) : Paneck

In this vast pavilion, which was dedicated to the eastern provinces of the Monarchy, Bosnia and Herzegovina, everything reminded us that we were in a country that was once still in the hands of the Turks and of which part of the population is still Muslim. That is why the architect took one of the old stately residences from the time of Ottoman rule as his type. A high, massive tower dominated the roof of the building, which was intersected by galleries and terraces. These were like the observation posts of a keep that was once part of all the manor houses in Bosnia, when it was in constant struggle against the Turk and his plundering soldiers. This kind of fortification, with its upper posts, made it possible to inspect the surroundings and observe the enemy's movements. But once tranquillity was achieved, the needs were modernised. The walls of these fortresses were pierced with large openings. The other part of the building was of a completely different style. It consisted of a rusticated main building with external galleries formed by arches supporting pink marble colonnades. The facades were decorated with wonderfully carved wooden applications or brightly coloured mosaics, against which the green tones of perennials that climbed to the balconies protruding from the upper floors stood out.
In the interior of this palace, not only were all the products of the two provinces of Bosnia and Herzegovina brought together, but also everything that could give the public an insight into the history and customs of their inhabitants. Thus, on entering under the vestibule, there was, on the right, a very faithful reproduction of the haremlik or family flat of a rich Bosnian Muslim, animated by characters dressed in picturesque costumes, while on the opposite side we were presented with a salon arranged according to modern taste, but with furniture and hangings made in the country.
In the large hall where we then entered, the interesting products of the decorative art schools of the two provinces were grouped under glass cabinets: inlaid metals, engraved copper vases, stamped leathers, etc. The back of this vast and luxuriously decorated room was filled with an immense diorama of the city of Seraevo, with its crowded market place, its narrow streets and the perspective of its houses and mosques rising up the sides of a picturesque hill. In front of this diorama, one could see native workers executing those beautiful embroideries so famous in the East, and in other parts of the pavilion were installed workshops where goldsmiths, chiselers, and boilermakers, dressed in elegant costumes, worked under the eyes of the public. A room to the right of the central hall contained a superb archaeological collection of weapons, jewellery and fabrics of incomparable wealth. Mannequins dressed in the rich costumes of the indigenous women were displayed here and there.
The technical part of this exhibition was completed by the galleries on the first floor where, next to samples of the products of this rich territory, grains, wines, tobaccos, honeys, etc., there were sections on public works and primary education, accompanied by reproductions of mosques, schools and public buildings.

©Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bosnie Herzégovine


Bosnie Herzégovine à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Architecte(s) : Paneck

Dans ce vaste pavillon qui était consacré aux provinces orientales de la Monarchie, la Bosnie et l’Herzégovine, tout nous rappelait que nous étions dans un pays naguère encore aux mains des Turcs et dont une partie de la population est encore musulmane. Aussi l’architecte a-t-il pris comme type une des anciennes résidences seigneuriales au temps de la domination ottomane. Une haute tour massive dominait la toiture de l’édifice qui était coupée de galeries et de terrasses superposées. C’était comme les postes d’observation d’un donjon qui faisait partie jadis de toutes les demeures seigneuriales de la Bosnie, alors qu’elle était en lutte constante contre le Turc et ses soldats pillards. Cette sorte de fortifications, avec ses postes supérieurs, permettait d’inspecter les environs et d’observer les mouvements de l’ennemi. Mais la tranquillité une fois acquise, les besoins se modernisèrent. Les murs de ces forteresses furent percés de larges baies. C’est ainsi que l’autre partie de l’édifices était d’un tout autre style. Elle se composait d’un corps de logis rustique avec des galeries extérieures formées d’arceaux qui soutenaient des colonnades en marbre rose. Les façades étaient décorées par des applications de bois merveilleusement sculptées ou par des mosaïques aux couleurs éclatantes, sur lesquelles se détachaient les tons verdoyants de plantes vivaces qui grimpaient jusqu’aux balcons faisant saillies aux étages supérieurs. »
On avait réuni dans l’intérieur de ce palais non seulement tous les produits des deux provinces de Bosnie et d’Herzégovine, mais aussi tout ce qui pouvait donner au public un aperçu de l’histoire et des mœurs de leurs habitants. C’est ainsi qu’en entrant sous le vestibule on trouvait, à droite, une très fidèle reproduction du haremlik ou appartement de famille d’un riche musulman bosniaque, animé par des personnages vêtus de costumes pittoresques, tandis que du côté opposé on nous présentait un salon disposé selon le goût moderne, mais avec des meubles et des tentures fabriqués dans le pays.
Dans le grand hall où l’on entrait ensuite, on avait groupé sous des vitrines les intéressants produits des écoles d’art décoratif des deux provinces : métaux incrusté, vases de cuivre gravé, cuirs frappés, etc. Le fond de cette vaste salle, luxueusement décorée, était rempli par un immense diorama de la ville de Séraïévo, avec sa place du marché grouillant de monde, ses rues étroites et la perspective de ses maisons et de ses mosquées s’étageant sur les flancs d’une pittoresque colline. Devant ce diorama, on voyait des ouvrières indigènes exécutant ces belles broderies si réputées en Orient, et dans d’autres parties du pavillon étaient installées des ateliers où orfèvres, ciseleurs, chaudronniers, vêtus d’élégants costumes, travaillaient sous les yeux du public. Une salle, à droite du hall central, renfermait une superbe collection archéologique d’armes, de bijoux et d’étoffes d’une incomparable richesse. Puis çà et là, on avait disposé des mannequins revêtus des riches costumes des femmes indigènes.
La partie technique de cette exposition était complétée par des galeries du premier étage où, à côté des échantillons des produits de ce riche territoire, grains, vins, tabacs, miels, etc., on trouvait les sections des travaux publics, de l’enseignement primaire, accompagnées de reproductions de mosquées, d ‘écoles, d’édifices publics.

Louis Rousselet - L'Exposition Universelle de 1900 - Librairie Hachette & Cie – 1901