Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

International Railway Exhibition

International Railway Exhibition at the Exhibition Paris 1900

In a vast hall, a real international station divided into 5 sections, each containing 4 tracks, i.e. a total of 20 tracks, separated by pavements, all the French, European and American railway companies exhibited their complete equipment: high-speed and goods locomotives, complete trains, luxury cars, etc. To the left of the hall, the French section, occupying four tracks: specimens of new high-speed, P.L.M, Northern and Eastern machines.

Next to the machines, the wagons, always more comfortable, stretched with fresh draperies or upholstered with "French Lincrusta Walton", the beautiful luxury cars of the great express, etc. See especially the powerful machines of the East, reaching speeds of 120 km/h.

Russia comes next with 2 tracks; then the United States (2v), present their gigantic oil-fired locomotives, whose driving wheels are nearly 3m in diameter, mixed locomotives with 10 coupled wheels, real monsters in charge of towing freight trains on the steep ramps of the Rocky Mountain lines. Of particular interest is the giant map of the railway networks in the United States with the relief of the rivers and railways. It is 42 metres high and 69 metres wide; each railway line is indicated by special electric lighting; at specific times, another electric lighting device marks the location of the various trains running on the territory of the United States at the time indicated.

Russia exhibits new types of three-cylinder fast running locomotives for mail trains, as well as 1st class wagons with sleeping compartments equipped with all the most modern improvements (St. Petersburg-Moscow line). The Nicholas Railway is still exhibiting the removable part of its iron bridge over the Volkosa River. Italy sends us its mountain trains; Algeria, its South Algerian, etc. Great Britain comes next, then the United States. Great Britain comes next, then Belgium, and behind it, Switzerland, with its curious mountain trains (cog railways).
To the right of the hall, Austria, Hungary, Germany and Italy (mountain trains), Algeria with the new equipment of the Sud-Algérien, etc.

©Paris Exposition 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition Internationale des Chemins de Fer


Exposition Internationale des Chemins de Fer à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Dans un vaste hall, véritable gare internationale divisée en 5 sections contenant chacune 4 voies, soit au total 20 voies, séparées par des trottoirs, toutes les Compagnies de chemins de fer de France, d'Europe et des Etats-Unis exposent leur matériel complet : Locomotives à grande vitesse et à marchandises, Trains complets, Voitures de luxe, etc. A gauche du hall, la section française, occupant quatre voies : spécimens de machines nouvelles à grande vitesse, du P.L.M, du Nord et de l'Est.

A côté des machines, les wagons, toujours plus confortables, tendus de fraiches draperies ou tapissés de "Lincrusta Walton française", les belles voitures de luxe des grands express, etc. Voir surtout les puissantes machines des l'Est, atteignant la vitesse de 120 km/h.

La Russie vient ensuite avec 2 voies; puis les Etas-Unis (2v), présentent leurs gigantesques locomotives chauffées au pétrole, dont les roues motrices ont près de 3m de diamètre, locomotives mixtes à 10 roues couplées, véritables monstres chargés de remorquer les trains de marchandises sur les fortes rampes des lignes des Montagnes Rocheuses. A signaler la Carte géante des réseaux de chemins de fer aux Etats-Unis avec indication du relief des cours d'eau et des voies ferrées. Elle mesure 42 mètres de hauteur sur 69 mètres de largeur; chaque ligne de chemin de fer est indiquée par un éclairage électrique spécial; à des heures déterminées, un autre dispositif d'éclairage électrique marque le situation des divers trains circulant sur le territoire des Etats-Unis au moment indiqué.

La Russie expose de nouveau types de locomotives à trois cylindres à marche rapide pour trains-courriers, ainsi que des wagons de 1ère classe avec des compartiments-lits pourvus de tous les perfectionnements les plus modernes (ligne de Saint-Pétersbourg-Moscou). Le chemin de fer Nicolas expose encore la partie démontable de son pont de fer sur la rivière Volkosa. L'Italie nous envoie ses trains de montagne; l'Algérie, son Sud-Algérien, etc. La grande-Bretagne vient ensuite, puis la Belgique, et derrière, la Suisse, avec ses curieux trains de montagne (chemins de fer à crémaillère).
A droite du hall, l'Autriche, la Hongrie, l'Allemagne et l'Italie (trains de montagne), l'Algérie avec le nouveau matériel du Sud-Algérien, etc.

©Paris Exposition 1900