Back - List of Pavilions

Animated Journeys -

Animated Journeys at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

Among the projects selected by the Exhibition's general commissioner was an attraction entitled Les voyages animés.

This attraction, located within the Exhibition grounds, at the foot of the Trocadero, on the banks of the Seine, to the left of the Pont d'Iéna, comprises a charming little theatre built on a small space of 240 metres. Everything is graceful in this small room, and on the stage, in still and filmed views, the most beautiful sites of France parade by.

The authors have endeavoured to prove that there is no need to go abroad to admire beautiful views, and that our country offers us the marvels that we seek in Switzerland, Italy, Spain, etc. M. Manceaux Duchemin, Director of Animated Travel, first secured the assistance of Messrs. Lumière, of Lyon, who were responsible for all the cinematographic views, of M. Lévy, for the colour projections, and of M. Gaumont, for the chromophotography. He decided with them on the composition of seven shows, corresponding to the days of the week: Savoy, Dauphiné, Champagne and Vosges, the Pyrenees, Provence and the Côte d'Azur, Auvergne and Limousin, and Brittany.

However perfect these views may be, their parade before the eyes of the audience would have been a little monotonous, if the management had not entrusted M. Bertol-Graivil with the task of presenting them to the spectators, in verse and in rhythmic prose, verse and prose on which the master Francis Thomé embroidered one of his most exquisite scores.

We attended several performances. The colourful views, deliciously tinted, of the lakes of Bourget and Annecy, of Mont Blanc, of the Mer de Glace at Chamonix, of the Grande Chartreuse, of Vizille, etc., were delightfully charming. Champagne and the Vosges inevitably give us Joan of Arc, Domrémy and Vaucouleurs, and it is Belfort, with its bronze lion "turning grey under the snow". The Auvergne offers us its picturesque dances; the Pyrenees, the religious ceremonies of Lourdes; Brittany its beaches; Provence its poetry. And finally, the Côte d'Azur.

Here everything is pleasure and joy.
All is bright and all is blazing, Under the burning rays of an eternal sun.
Here everything breathes life,
Everything charms and delights you. Enchanted dreams are the sweetest awakening.
In your dreams nothing is a mirage;
The lapping of the shore brings you the songs of joyful sailors.
Nice is the triumphant city,
City whose intoxicating life, Throws happiness into your heart and eyes.

We have said that M. Francis Thomé had embroidered exquisite music on the text. We must add that the verses and prose of M. Bertol-Graivil are deliciously told by Mlle Varly, and wonderfully sung by Mmes Alberti and Nougier.

©L'Illustre Soleil du Dimanche

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Voyages Animés


Voyages Animés à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Parmi les projets retenus par le commissariat général de l'Exposition, figure une attraction ayant pour titre Les voyages animés.

Cette attraction, située dans l'enceinte de l'Exposition, au pied du Trocadéro , sur les bords de la Seine, à gauche du pont d'Iéna, comporte un coquet petit théâtre construit sur un espace réduit de 240 mètres. Tout est gracieux en cette petite salle, et sur la scène défilent, en vues fixes et en vues cinématographiques, les plus beaux sites de France.

Les auteurs se sont efforcés de prouver que point n'était utile d'aller à l'étranger pour admirer de jolis points de vue, et que notre pays nous offre les merveilles que nous allons chercher en Suisse, en Italie, en Espagne, etc. M. Manceaux Duchemin, Directeur des Voyages animés, s'est d'abord assuré le concours de MM. Lumière, de Lyon, qui se sont chargés de toutes les vues cinématographiques, de M. Lévy, pour les projections en couleurs, et de M. Gaumont, pour la chromophotographie. Il a arrêté avec eux la composition de sept spectacles, correspondant aux jours de la semaine : la Savoie, le Dauphiné, la Champagne et les Vosges, les Pyrénées, la Provence et la Côte d'Azur, l'Auvergne et le Limousin, la Bretagne.

Qu'elle que soit la perfection de ces vues, leur défilé sous les yeux du public aurait été un peu monotone, si la direction n'avait chargé M. Bertol-Graivil de les présenter aux spectateurs, en vers et en prose rythmée, vers et prose sur lesquels le maître Francis Thomé broda une de ses plus exquises partitions.

Nous avons assisté à plusieurs représentations. Les vues en couleurs, délicieusement teintées, des lacs du Bourget et d'Annecy, du Mont Blanc, de la mer de Glace à Chamonix, de la Grande Chartreuse, de Vizille, etc., nous ont délicieusement charmés. La Champagne et les Vosges donnent forcément Jeanne d'Arc, Domrémy et Vaucouleurs, et c'est Belfort, avec son lion d'airain « grisonnant sous la neige ». L'Auvergne nous offre ses danses pittoresques ; les Pyrénées, les cérémonies religieuses de Lourdes; la Bretagne ses plages; la Provence sa poésie. Puis, pour finir, la Côte d'Azur.

Ici tout est plaisir et joie.
Tout est brillant et tout flamboie, Sous les rayons ardents d'un éternel soleil.
Ici tout respire la vie,
Tout vous charme et tout vous ravie. Des rêves enchantés c'est le plus doux réveil.
Dans vos songes rien n'est mirage ;
Les clapotements du rivage Vous rapportent les chants des matelots joyeux.
Nice est la ville triomphante,
Ville dont la vie enivrante, Vous jette du bonheur plein le cœur et les yeux.

Nous avons dit que M. Francis Thomé avait brodé une musique exquise sur le texte. Nous devons ajouter que les vers et la prose de M. Bertol-Graivil sont délicieusement dits par Mlle Varly, et merveilleusement chantés par Mmes Alberti et Nougier.

©L'Illustre Soleil du Dimanche