Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Belle Meunière

Belle Meunière at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

Architect(s) : Tronchet

This establishment, located in a magnificent situation downstream from the Pont d'Iéna (right bank), occupied 300 square metres, partly on the bank, partly on the upper quay. M. Tronchet built it on behalf of Mrs. Quinton, the concessionaire.

Above the quay, there was a basement (bar and cellar), a mezzanine floor (restaurant and various annexes); above the quay, a ground floor accessible via the Iéna and Passy side façades (restaurant and office), a first floor (restaurant) with a mezzanine floor (office), and finally a three-storey terrace, from which customers enjoyed a wonderful view.

Towards the Seine, the building had: on the basement level, a Tyrolean plastered base, pierced by three large arcades; on the mezzanine level, three windows above the basement bays; on the ground floor, three balconies crowning the windows and three bays with rounded corners; on the first floor, a high corbelled glazed gallery, supported by brackets and covered by a tiled canopy; on the terrace level, a wooden balustrade and masts. The architect had left out the sculptural motifs and achieved a very picturesque appearance. Although simpler, the architecture of the other facades was connected to that of the Seine facade.

On the ground and ground floors, the decorative effect of the interior was mainly achieved by exposed wooden frames: posts, arches, crosspieces, curved brackets, baluster baskets, joists, American beams with frieze. The wainscoting on the first floor consisted of a balustrade-fence with openwork, showing flowers and wheat in its gaps. All the wood on the ground floor was painted white; the wood on the first floor was stained yellow-green and varnished.

©Exposition universelle de 1900 à Paris

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Belle Meunière


Belle Meunière à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Architecte(s) : Tronchet

Cet établissement, place dans une situation magnifique en aval du pont d'Iéna (rive droite), occupait 300 mètres carrés, partie sur la berge, partie sur le quai haut. M. Tronchet l'édifia pour le compte de Mme Quinton, concessionnaire.

Dans la hauteur du quai se trouvaient un sous-sol (bar et cave), un entresol (salle de restaurant et annexes diverses); au-dessus du quai, un rez-de-chaussée accessible par les façades latérales Iéna et Passy (restaurant et office), un étage (restaurant) avec partie entresolée (office), enfin une terrasse à trois niveaux, d'où les consommateurs jouissaient d'une vue merveilleuse.

Vers la Seine, le bâtiment présentait : au sous-sol, un soubassement en crépi tyrolien, percé de trois grandes arcades; à l'entresol, trois windows surmontant les baies du sous-sol; au rez-de-chaussée, trois balcons couronnant les windows et trois baies aux angles arrondis; à l'étage, une haute galerie vitrée en encorbellement, portée par des consoles et couverte d'un auvent en tuiles; au niveau de la terrasse, une balustrade en bois et des mâts. L'architecte avait écarté de parti pris les motifs de sculpture et réalisé un aspect très pittoresque. Bien que plus simple, l'architecture des autres façades se raccordait à celle de la façade Seine.

Au rez-de-chaussée et à l'étage, l'effet décoratif intérieur était principalement obtenu par des charpentes de bois restées apparentes : poteaux, arcatures, traverses, consoles courbes, corbeilles à balustres, solives, poutres américaines avec frises. Le lambris de l'étage se composait d'une balustrade-clôture à jour, laissant voir dans ses vides des fleurs et des blés. Tous les bois du rez-de-chaussée avaient été peints en blanc; ceux de l'étage, teintés en jaune vert et vernis.

©Exposition universelle de 1900 à Paris