Back - List of Pavilions

Bonshommes Guillaume Theatre - Expo Paris 1900

Bonshommes Guillaume Theatre at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

"A universal exhibition must be smiling, it must please women", repeated M. Alphand, an expert in the matter. Joy and smiles are rarely to be found in the pompous palaces where industry is preparing to display its miracles, and without in any way denying the instructive and highly interesting shows that are being planned for us, we have the right to be concerned if gaiety and fantasy have been called upon to mix the pleasant with the useful, as was expressed in Latin, a good while ago, by a poet who, for that reason, had not foreseen universal exhibitions.

M. A. Picard, a worthy emulator of M. Alphand on this point, recognised the imperative need to enliven the future Exhibition, to brighten it up as much as possible, while ensuring that good morals were not in any way offended; so we have reserved for what are called individual initiative projects, prominent places where the visitors of 1900, when they have had enough of the marvels presented to their admiration by the Exhibition proper, will be able to relax their minds in the more fanciful spectacles. The commission, charged with examining and classifying the projects due to private initiative, rejected all those which did not present any originality. It was useless to clutter up the ground, which was already so limited, with establishments that could be found on every street corner. We demanded something new and unexpected, and, with the inexhaustible imagination of the researchers, the attractions next to the Exhibition will not constitute the least charm of this enterprise.

Among these attractions, the future theatre of Guillaume figures will not be the least important. Everyone knows what a charming draughtsman Albert Guillaume is; he has a sense of humour, irony, and acute finesse, and disdains that brutal magnification which is called the charge; he has set himself up as an admirably informed portraitist of a corner of our modern world, and it is above all in the numerous family of snobs that he seeks his models.

The natural thought came to him to animate the myriads of good men that his pencil has been evoking for so long, and to make them spout the witty legends with which he underlines their deeds and gestures. A theatre then, with its actors and actresses? yes, a theatre, but with a reduced stage and tiny characters. Puppets? Puppets, very well, and why not?

An author, who was a scholar of the first order, and of the Institute, to boot, M. Ch. Magnin, did not disdain to write a "History of the Puppets"; in the preliminary epistle of this volume, he placed this sentence: "What does it matter how small the frame is, if, between this frame of six square feet, on the floor of this dwarf theatre, as much and perhaps more wit, mischief and frank comedy is spent, year in, year out, than behind the ramp of many theatres with vast enclosures and gigantic pretensions? If the theatre of the Bonshommes Guillaume needed an epigraph, it could not choose a better one.

Let us observe that there are puppets and puppets; puppets and pupazzi. The puppets are animated by a series of strings, which are directed from a higher level; the pupazzi are classical Guignol characters; everyone knows the manoeuvre of their play; three are enough to give them life. The index finger is placed in the hollow head of the doll; the thumb and the middle finger occupy each of the arms, and the difference in the length of the fingers, the angle formed by the indicator which is tilted backwards, results in that comical, irresistibly funny look which the smallest pupazzi gives off.

Mr Guillaume's bonshommes are neither puppets nor pupazzi, but a skilful combination of the two principles. Let us first enter the theatre, which will be erected on the Cours-la-Reine, in that place where, under the name of Rue de Paris, one must gather the characteristic fantasies imprinted to the highest degree with this extract of Parisian, of which Roqueplan spoke.

The façade is of a well modernised Louis XV, with its annoying caryatids, and its masks in good humour, which, at night, will light up with silvery transparencies, because they are modelled in glass paste. A frieze painted by Albert Guillaume runs the length of the façade; it is a foretaste of the show we are about to see. The room, particularly coquettish, as it should be, contains one hundred and sixty-eight seats; the stage frame has an opening of 3 meters, and as the characters are a little smaller than the third of nature, the theatre, on a human scale, corresponds to a theatre of the size of a Vaudeville.

The show prepared for the opening of the Exhibition has four sets. The first represents a salon of the wealthy, and the curtain rises on a ball in action, with its waltzers, and its orchestra, this one composed of gypsies. Then a part of the concert is performed, and we see a singer coming forward to the ramp, performing a large piece, with the obligatory roulades; the eyes turn, the mouth opens, the chest rises, accompanying the gestures; the singer is dressed in silk and satin, studded with diamonds.
The ladies who make up the opulent audience are dressed with similar luxury, and the brilliant horsemen who hurry around their powdered shoulders are wrapped in black or coloured clothes, signed by renowned tailors. The curtain is lowered and raised almost immediately; there is no intermission, because the presentation is not long: half an hour, three quarters of an hour at the most; so the change takes barely a minute, thanks to a special installation. It should be added that these sets are not simple painted canvases; they have the projection and relief of nature.
The living room, which we have seen, is natural, with its furniture, its paintings, its chandeliers, its girandoles lit by electricity, and the landscape which follows it has its "natural" foregrounds, too: it is a country setting, with the buildings of a farm in the background, and the horizon lost in the vapours of dawn. We hear roosters crowing, then the sun comes out, and over there, on the hill, bugles sound; it is the regiment passing in the distance, reappearing in the plain, and finally appearing on stage, with its music, its staff on horseback, and its endless lines of little soldiers.

The third scene takes us back to Paris, in front of the Opéra, it is the evening of a gala performance; the President of the Republic is expected to accompany a distinguished guest. The crowd circulates, groups form, conversations are exchanged; then the town sergeants and the officers of the peace come running up in a hurry: Move along, move along! A swarm of sergeants de ville lined up in a hedge, while the picketer Montjarret appeared, followed by the presidential pram and the cars of the suite.

The fourth picture reconstructs one of the fêtes of the Quatre z'arts, which was once so harshly censured by a modesty that was quick to take fright. M. Guillaume's taste and discretion have enabled him to get out of the difficulty. No one will be scandalized. This fourth tableau will be the apotheosis of the show; the last term of the progression, an orgy of luxury, colour and light.

But let's talk a little about the material means used to produce this show. First of all, the sets: the system adopted for the changes is that of the revolving stage, inaugurated by C. Lautenschlager of Munich, and taken up again, since then, by M. Samuel, at the Variètés. A quarter of a turn, and the set is transformed.

As for the pupazzi, they are simple marvels. All the heads have been sculpted in wood to the designs of M. Guillaume; the wigs and beards have been put on by theatrical wigmakers; the hands, admirably modelled, are gloved with real gloves. The dresses and costumes are marvels of cut, and the most sumptuous fabrics have not been spared.

The leading figures are articulated with particular care; by what process? It is a secret, but, all in all, as we are dealing with puppets, it is a bit of a Polichinelle secret; so we will allow ourselves an indiscretion.
When M. Boucher gave, at the Galerie Vivienne, his puppet show, which was so successful, the puppets were moved by a series of vertical rods, corresponding to a mobile base on which the character was placed. These rods were operated by means of levers, and thus provided the vertical movements; the horizontal ones were operated by return wires, attached to the rods.

These vertical rods were concealed in the ample and ample clothing of M. Bouchor's characters, but the Guillaume men are modern; they are (the male ones at least) dressed in the narrow costume of our day; the vertical rods would have appeared, and produced the unfortunate effect of puppet wires. The only thing to do was to imprison the rods and the wires in a single hollow tube, which is all the more easily concealed because the foreground figures will only be seen at mid-body. The return wires run along the arms, provoking gestures by differential levers hidden in the shoulders; they circulate in the head and animate the eyes and mouth. For the beautiful, low-cut ladies, whose breasts we see rising and falling with their breathing, it is a simple rubber bellows. Wires and rods are operated by a series of metal keys, placed at the bottom of the hollow rod, which slide into grooves. The characters in the background are simpler mechanisms; those in the last plan are painted mechanised silhouettes, which will allow, in this tiny space, to give the illusion of a staging such as no fairy or opera theatre has ever shown.

©L'Exposition de Paris 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Théâtre des Bonshommes Guillaume


Théâtre des Bonshommes Guillaume à l'exposition de Paris 1900

"Il faut qu'une exposition universelle soit souriante, il faut qu'elle plaise aux femmes", répétait M. Alphand, expert en la question. La joie et le sourire, on les rencontrera rarement dans les palais pompeux où l'industrie s'apprête à nous étaler ses miracles, et sans médire nullement des spectacles instructifs et de haut intérêt qu'on nous ménage, nous sommes en droit de nous inquiéter si la gaieté et la fantaisie ont été appelées à mêler l'agréable à l'utile, ainsi que l'exprimait en latin, il y a déjà un bon bout de temps, un poète, qui, pour cela, n'avait pas prévu les expositions universelles.

M. A. Picard, digne émule de M. Alphand sur ce point, a reconnu l'impérieuse nécessité d'animer l'Exposition future, de l'égayer autant que possible, en veillant à ce que les bonnes moeurs ne fussent en rien choquées; aussi a-t-on réservé à ce qu'on a nommé les projets d'initiative individuelle, des emplacements bien en vue, où les visiteurs de 1900, quand ils seront rassasiés des merveilles présentées à leur admiration par l'Exposition proprement dite, pourront se délasser l'esprit dans les spectacles plus fantaisistes. La commission, chargée d'examiner et de classer les projets dus à l'initiative privée, a repoussé tous ceux qui ne présentaient aucune originalité. Il était inutile d'encombrer le sol, déjà si restreint, d'établissements qu'on rencontre à tous les coin de rue. On a exigé du neuf et de l'imprévu, et, l'imagination inépuisable des chercheurs y aidant, les attractions, à côté, de l'Exposition ne constitueront pas le moindre charme de cette entreprise.

Parmi ces attractions, le futur théâtre de bonshommes Guillaume ne comptera pas parmi les moindres. Chacun sait quel charmant dessinateur est Albert Guillaume; il à l'humour, l'ironie, la finesse aiguë et dédaigne ce grossissement brutal qu'on nomme la charge; il s'est érigé en portraitiste admirablement renseigné d'un coin de notre monde moderne, et c'est surtout dans la nombreuse famille des snobs qu'il va chercher ses modèles.

La pensée toute naturelle lui est venue d'animer les myriades de bonshommes que son crayon évoque depuis sis longtemps, et de leur faire débiter les spirituelles légendes dont il souligne leurs faits et gestes. Un théâtre alors, avec ses acteurs, ses actrices? oui, un théâtre, mais orné d'une scène réduite, et de personnages minuscules. Des marionnettes? Des marionnettes, fort bien, et pourquoi pas?

Un auteur, qui fut un érudit de premier ordre, et de l'institut, par dessus le marché, M. Ch. Magnin, n'a pas dédaigné d'écrire une "Histoire des Marionnettes"; dans l'épitre préliminaire de ce volume, il a placé cette phrase : "Qu'importe l'exiguïté du cadre, si, entre ce châssis de six pieds carrés, sur le plancher de ce théâtre nain, il se dépense, bon an, mal an, autant et peut-être plus d'esprit, de malice et de franc comique que derrière la rampe de beaucoup de théâtres, à vaste enceinte et à prétentions gigantesque?". Si le théâtre des bonshommes Guillaume avait besoin d'épigraphe, il n'en pourrait choisir de meilleure.

Observons qu'il y a marionnettes et marionnettes; fantoches et pupazzi. Les fantoches sont animés par une série de fils, que l'on dirige d'un niveau supérieur; les pupazzi sont des personnages de Guignol classique; chacun connait la manoeuvre de leur jeu; trois suffissent à leur donner la vie. L'index se loge dans la tête creuse de la poupée; le pouce et le médium occupent chacun des bras, et, de la différence de longueur des doigts, de l'angle formé par l'indicateur qui se renverse en arrière, résultent cette allure cocasse, d'une drôlerie irrésistible, que dégage le moindre pupazzi.

Les bonshommes de M. Guillaume ne sont ni fantoches, ni pupazzi, mais une adroite combinaison des deux principes. Entrons d'abord dans le théâtre, qui s'érigera sur le Cours-la-Reine, en cet endroit où, sous le nom de rue de Paris, on doit rassembler les fantaisies caractéristiques empreintes au plus haut point de cet extrait de parisien, dont parlait Roqueplan.

La façade est d'un Louis XV bien modernisé, avec ses agaçantes cariatides, et ses agaçantes cariatides, et ses masques en belle humeur, qui, la nuit, s'éclaireront de transparences limoneuses, car ils son modelés en pâte de verre. Tout le long de la façade, court une frise, peinte par Albert Guillaume; c'est un avant gout du spectacle que nous allons voir. La salle, particulièrement coquette, ainsi qu'il convient, contient cent soixante-huit fauteuils; le cadre de scène à 3 mètres d'ouverture, et comme les personnages sont un peu plus petits que le tiers de nature, le théâtre, à l'échelle humaine, correspond à une théâtre de la grandeur d'un Vaudeville.

Le spectacle préparé pour l'ouverture de l'Exposition comporte quatre décors. Le premier représente un salon des opulents, et le rideau se lève sur un bal en action, avec ses valseurs, et son orchestre, celui-çi composé de tsiganes. Puis une partie du concert fait internéde, et nous voyons s'avancer à la rampe une cantatrice qui exécute un grand morceau, avec les roulades obligées; les yeux se tournent, la bouche s'ouvre, la poitrine se soulève, accompagnant les gestes; la chanteuse est vêtue de soie et de satin, constellée de diamants.
Les dames qui constituent l'opulente assistance sont costumées avec un luxe analogue, et les brillants cavaliers qui s'empressent autour de leurs épaules poudreries sont enveloppés d'habits noirs ou de couleurs, signés de tailleurs de renom. Le rideau baisse, et se relève presque aussitôt; pas d'entr'acte, car la présentation n'est pas longue : une demie-heure, trois quarts d'heure au plus; aussi le changement prend une minute, à peine, grâce à une installation spéciale. Il faut ajouter que ces décors ne sont pas de simples toiles peintes; ils ont la saillie et le relief de la nature.
Le salon, que nous avons vu, est nature, avec ses meubles, ses tableaux, ses lustres, ses girandoles éclairés à l'électricité, et le paysage qui lui succède a ses premiers plans "nature", également : c'est un décor de campagne, avec les bâtiments d'une ferme en second plan, et l'horizon se perdant dans les vapeurs de l'aube. On entend les chants des coqs, puis le soleil se dégage, et là-bas, sur la colline, des clairons sonnent; c'est le régiment qui passe au loin, qui réapparait dans la plaine, et qui finit par déboucher en scène, avec sa musique, son état-major à cheval, et ses interminables files de petits troupiers.

Le troisième tableau nous ramène à Paris, devant l'Opéra, c'est le soir d'une représentation de gala; on attend le président de la République qui doit accompagner un hôte de distinction. La foule circule, les groupes se forment, les conversations s'échangent; puis les sergent de ville les officiers de paix accourent affairés : Circulez, circulez! Une nuée de sergents de ville s'aligne en haie, tandis qu'apparait le piqueur Montjarret, suivi du landau présidentiel, et des voitures de la suite.

Le quatrième tableau reconstituera une des fêtes des Quatre z'arts, que censura jadis si vertement une pudeur prompte à s'effaroucher. Le gout et la discrétion de M. Guillaume lui ont permis de se tirer de la difficulté. Personne ne se scandalisera. Ce quatrième tableau sera l'apothéose du spectacle; le dernier terme de la progression, une orgie de luxe, de couleur et de lumières.

Mais parlons un peu des moyens matériels employés pour réaliser ce spectacle. D'abord, les décors : le système adopté pour les changements est celui du plateau tournant, inauguré par C. Lautenschlager de Munich, et repris, depuis, par M. Samuel, aux Variètés. Un quart de tour, et voilà le décor métamorphosé.

Quant aux pupazzi, ce sont de simples merveilles. Toutes les têtes ont été sculptées, en bois, sur les dessins de M. Guillaume; les perruques, les barbes les ont été posées par des perruquiers de théâtre; les mains admirablement modelés, sont gantées de gants véritables. Les robes, les costumes sont des merveilles de coupe, et les étoffes les plus somptueuses n'ont pas été épargnées.

Les personnages de premier plan sont articulés avec un soin particulier; par quel procédé? C'est un secret, mais, somme toute, comme il s'agit de marionnettes, c'est un peu de secret de Polichinelle; aussi, nous allons nous permettre une indiscrétion.
Lorsque M. Boucher donna, à la galerie Vivienne, son spectacle de marionnettes, dont le succès fut si vif, les marionnettes étaient mues par une série de tiges verticales, correspondant à un socle mobile sur lequel posait de personnage. Ces tiges s'actionnaient au moyen de leviers, et fournissaient ainsi les mouvement verticaux; les horizontaux s'opéraient par des fils de rappel, rattachés aux tiges.

Ces tiges verticales se dissimulaient dans les vêtements amples et étoffés des personnages de M. Bouchor, mais les bonshommes Guillaume sont modernes; ils sont (les masculins tout au moins) vêtus du costume étriqué de nos jours; les tiges verticales eussent apparu, et produit l'effet malheureux de fils fantoches. Il n'y avait donc qu'à emprisonner tiges et fils de rappel dans un seul tube creux, qui se dissimule d'autant plus aisément que les personnages de premier plan ne seront vus qu'à mi-corps. Les fils de rappel courent le long des bras, provoquant les gestes par des leviers différentiels cachés dans les épaules; ils circulent dans la tête et animent les yeux et la bouche. Pour les belles dames, largement décolletées, dont nous voyons la poitrine se soulever et s'abaisser au rythme de la respiration, s'est un simple soufflet en caoutchouc. Fils et tiges sont actionnés par une série de touches métalliques, placées en bas de tige creuse, et qui coulissent en des rainures. Les personnages de second plan sont plus simples de mécanismes; ceux de dernier plan sont des silhouettes mécanisées et peintes, ce qui permettra, dans ce minime espace, de donner l'illusion d'une mise en scène comme jamais théâtre de féerie ou d'opéra n'en a montré.

©L'Exposition de Paris 1900