Universal and International Exhibition of Paris 1900

The balance sheet of a century

April 15, 1900-November 12, 1900


Back - List of Pavilions

Old Poitou

Old Poitou at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1900

Architect(s) : Etienne Bentz

The Poitevin exhibition, or Vieux Poitou, has as its lord and master the chansonnier Georges Oble, originally from Poitou and remaining Poitevin despite his current status as a Montmartrean. He was assisted by the architect Joseph Carré, the contractor-builder Chapelle, and by the painters Léon Oble and Raoul Carré, all, like him, compatriots of the Lusignans and Mélusine.

He set out to restore the façade of the venerable Provost's House in Poitiers, now transformed into a school. Two elongated cloisters extend at right angles from the ends of this façade, one of which is a reproduction of the cloister of the abbey of Ligugé where M.J.-K. Huysmans went there to seek final peace. Very skilful connections have made these three elements, to which must be added the keep of Château-Guillaume, into a very harmonious and blended whole.

Around the entrance door of the Provostry, on the turrets built into the facade, flowers climb upwards and, after gaily framing the windows, reach the roof made of old Poitevin tiles. In the courtyard, pigeons frolic; everything here is bright, joyful, good, and breathes the sweetness of life.

Inside, you can visit an exhibition of Poitou pottery; you can crowd in front of the shops run by cheerful Poitevin women; outside, you can attend, every afternoon, the curious ceremony, directed by Georges Oble, of the Wedding of the Rosière, as it takes place at La Motte-Saint-Héraye.

I forgot to mention that the building formed by the meeting of the cloisters and the Provost's office is called "Hostellerie de Mélusine". It was Oble who gave it this name in memory of one of the most graceful legends of France. Needless to say, Mélusine has all the honours of music and poetry at the artistic evenings that take place daily in her hostelry.

Soleil du Dimanche


The Vieux Poitou concession was granted to Mr. Oble and comprised 800 square metres.

Around a courtyard open on one of its sides, there was a succession of wooden and plaster buildings designed by the architect Bentz (617m2).

The low buildings, separated by pepperpot towers, were reminiscent of the Gothic style of the late 15th century; their high roofs served as a backdrop to the elegant cut-outs of the dormer windows. The facade of the Prévoté, the Château-Guillaume Tower, the Saint-Jouin cloister, the Ligugé abbey, etc. were all there.

In these buildings, a restaurant known as the Hôtel de la Mélusine and shops selling regional art objects were installed.

Visitors could also see a shadow theatre

©Rapport Général et Administratif - 1900

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vieux Poitou


Vieux Poitou à l'exposition de Paris 1900

Architecte(s) : Etienne Bentz

L'exposition poitevine, ou Vieux Poitou, a pour seigneur et maître le chansonnier Georges Oble, originaire du Poitou et resté Poitevin malgré sa qualité actuelle de Montmartrois. Il a été secondé par l'architecte Joseph Carré, l'entrepreneur-constructeur Chapelle, et par les peintres Léon Oble et Raoul Carré, tous, comme lui, compatriotes des Lusignan et de Mélusine.

Il s'est attaché à restituer la façade de la vénérable Prévôté de Poitiers, aujourd'hui transformée en école. Des extrémités de cette façade partent à angle droit deux cloîtres très allongés dont l'un est la reproduction du cloître de l'abbaye de Ligugé où M.J.-K. Huysmans est allé chercher la paix définitive. Des raccords très habiles ont fait de ces trois éléments, auxquels il faut ajouter encore le donjon de Château-Guillaume, un tout très harmonieux et très fondu.

Autour de la porte d'entrée de la Prévôté, à l'assaut des tourelles encastrées dans la façade, des fleurs grimpent en escalade et, après avoir gaiement encadré les fenêtres, parviennent jusqu'au toit formé de vieilles, tuiles poitevines. Dans la cour, des pigeons s'ébattent ; tout ici est clarté, joie, bonté, et respire la douceur de vivre.

A l'intérieur on visite une exposition de poteries du Poitou; on se presse devant les boutiques tenues par d'accortes Poitevines; à l'extérieur, on peut assister, chaque après-midi, à la curieuse cérémonie, réglée par Georges Oble, du Mariage de la Rosière, tel qu'il a lieu à La Motte-Saint-Héraye.

J'oubliais de dire que le bâtiment formé par la réunion des cloîtres et de la Prévôté porte le nom d' « Hostellerie de Mélusine ». C'est Oble qui l'a baptisé ainsi en souvenir d'une des plus gracieuses légendes de France. Inutile d'ajouter que, comme il sied, Mélusine a tous les honneurs de la musique et de la poésie, aux soirées artistiques qui ont lieu quotidiennement, en son hostellerie.

©Illustré Soleil du Dimanche


La concession du Vieux Poitou avait été accordée à M. Oble et comprenait 800 mètres carrés.

Autour d'une cour ouverte sur l'un de ses côtés , se succédaient des constructions en bois et plâtre dues à M. l'architecte Bentz (617m2).

Les bâtiments peu élevés et séparés par des tours en poivrière rappelaient le style gothique de la fin du XVe siècle; leurs hautes toitures servaient de fond aux élégantes découpures des lucarnes. On y retrouvait la façade de la la Prévoté, la Tour de Château-Guillaume, le cloître de Saint-Jouin, l'abbaye de Ligugé, etc.

Dans ces constructions avaient été installés un restaurant dit Hôtel de la Mélusine et des boutiques pour la vente d'objets de l'art régional.

Les visiteurs y rencontraient aussi un théâtre d’ombres

©Rapport Général et Administratif - 1900