Back - List of Pavilions

Fine Arts - Expo Paris 1889

Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889
Architect(s) : Formigé

Since we are unable, for lack of space, to examine the main works (sculptures, paintings, drawings, watercolours, etc.) assembled in the Palais des Beaux-Arts, we would like to describe as briefly as possible the interior layout of this building, for the convenience of the reader and to avoid unnecessary searches through the meanders of Mr. Formigé's blue palace.

After having walked through the immense Rapp gallery, which will host the majority of the French sculpture, we enter on the right the part of the Palais reserved for our ten-year exhibition. On the ground floor, there is a series of small side salons with a most fortunate layout, for M. Antonin Proust, special commissioner for Fine Arts, decided that the works of each artist would be grouped together in a single panel, and would form as many individual exhibitions.

This arrangement was also adopted for pastel, watercolour, drawing and engraving, in the first floor gallery.

Then we arrive under the dome of the central dome, where this marvellous exhibition of the masterpieces of French art (painting, sculpture, engraving, drawings) from 1789 to 1878 is installed, which we will discuss again later. The whole part of the Palais, beyond the Retrospective Exhibition, that is, beyond the dome and the adjacent rooms, which will also be devoted to works of art belonging to the centennial period, belongs to the foreign sections.

Italy, Spain, England, Germany, Russia, Austria-Hungary are on the ground floor. Belgium, Switzerland, Greece, the United States, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Holland, Serbia, Romania and the International (a section composed of the few countries that have not officially joined the Exhibition) are on the first floor.
We have calculated that if the glorious picture rail, on which the best of all these works will rest, were to be given a rectilinear direction, we would arrive at a length of about one and a quarter leagues. France alone has no less than 2,820 metres of picture rail. Foreigners have obtained 2,123 metres. The difference between these two figures belongs to the Retrospective Exhibition. This indication is sufficient to give an idea of the artistic production of the last ten years. We hope that with the help of this brief description, the visitor will be able to orientate himself easily in the midst of the thousands of works of art that populate Mr. Formigé's Palace.
Once this main excursion has been completed, he will still have an interesting walk to make through the French and international sculptures, a certain number of which have been, for lack of space (for sculptors are no less fertile than painters), scattered in other parts of the gardens and palaces.

In particular, we draw the visitor's attention to the retrospective exhibition of the Beaux-Arts, this superb display of all the masterpieces of painting, sculpture and engraving of the century, a vast synthesis of the history of art, customs, costumes and some of the political events of an entire period.

Let us express our regret that the principle which presided over the organisation of this splendid festival of French art has not been further generalised. Intelligently applied to all branches of human work, it would have enabled the scholars gathered in congress at the Champ de Mars to write on the spot, according to the documents gathered around them, a vast encyclopaedia from which future generations would have drawn valuable lessons and which would have prolonged through the centuries the memory of this splendid exhibition of 1889.

The organisation of the centennial exhibition of Fine Arts was probably not without its difficulties. Bringing together some sixteen hundred choice works (paintings, drawings, sculptures, engravings, etc.) was no easy task, without emptying our national galleries. However, only rare loans were made from museums. The special commissioner for Fine Arts turned mainly to private collections. If all the masterpieces of the century are not on display at the Champ de Mars, it is because some collectors did not feel they had to contribute to the splendour of this great celebration of national art. But all of them were asked, and with a few rare exceptions, all of them made it a sort of patriotic duty to collaborate in the organisation of the retrospective exhibition of Fine Arts, which contains no less than 650 paintings, 350 drawings, 200 sculptures and 400 engravings.

The organisers of the Centennial could not admit works signed before 1789, otherwise they would have profoundly altered the character of their programme. On the other hand, it was difficult not to include in the catalogue the names of those very French masters: Fragonard, Greuze, Moreau le jeune, who still signed some interesting works after the great revolutionary date. It was therefore decided that these artists would only be represented by a relatively small number of paintings and drawings, most of which were executed by hands already weakened by age.

As we said earlier, the entire part of the Palais des Beaux-Arts, located between the dome and the wide vestibule facing the Seine, is occupied, both on the ground floor and on the first floor, by the foreign sections.

Let us continue our walk in the methodical manner in which we began, examining first the works of painting exhibited on the ground floor by Austria-Hungary, Italy, Germany (which Mr. Tisza's sinister prophecies have decidedly not frightened to any great extent), Russia, Spain and England.

Then we will climb the left-hand staircase (Seine side), and visit successively, stopping in front of the main works, the Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Dutch and Serbian sections, and the small international section. After this examination, we will retrace our steps and, after having walked through the long transverse gallery, occupied for the most part by the United States section, we will visit the Greek, Swiss and Belgian sections.
Despite its vast dimensions, the Rapp Gallery is unable to contain the works of contemporary sculpture executed in the last ten years. Most of this superb hall has been devoted to French sculpture, the rest to foreign sculpture. But nevertheless a veritable flood of works has spread, for lack of space, under the various vestibules, in the smallest corners of the Palais, and even in the gardens.

The remarkable works that caught our attention during our walk through this bronze and marble population are numerous and, let us say it with a very legitimate pride, the artistic genius of France asserts itself in an even more triumphant way than in painting.

Right next to the Palais des Beaux-Arts, in the part of the garden facing the Seine, are the two pavilions of the pastellists and the watercolourists, which we strongly urge art lovers to visit.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Beaux-Arts


Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Formigé

Ne pouvant, faute d'espace, procéder à l'examen des principales œuvres (sculptures, peintures, dessins, aquarelles, etc.) rassemblées dans le Palais des Beaux-Arts, nous voulons,pour la commodité du lecteur, et pour lui éviter d'inutiles recherches à travers les méandres du palais d'azur de M. Formigé, décrire aussi brièvement que possible la disposition intérieure de cet édifice.

Après avoir parcouru l'immense galerie Rapp qui recevra, en grande partie, la sculpture française, on pénètre à droite dans la portion du Palais réservée à notre exposition décennale. C'est, au rez-de-chaussée, une suite de petits salons latéraux dont la disposition particulière est des plus heureuses, car M. Antonin Proust, commissaire spécial des Beaux-Arts, a décidé que les œuvres de chaque artiste seraient réunies en un même panneau, et formeraient autant d'expositions particulières.

Cette disposition a été également adoptée pour le pastel, l'aquarelle, le dessin et la gravure, dans la galerie du premier étage.

Puis, nous arrivons sous la coupole du dôme central, où est installée cette merveilleuse exposition des chefs-d'œuvre de l'art français (peinture, sculpture, gravure, dessins) depuis 1789 jusqu'à 1878, dont nous reparlerons tout à l'heure. Toute la partie du Palais, située au delà de l'Exposition rétrospective, c'est-à-dire au delà du dôme et des salles adjacentes, qui seront également consacrées aux œuvres d'art appartenant à la période centennale, appartient aux sections étrangères.

L'Italie, l'Espagne, l'Angleterre, l'Allemagne, la Russie, l'Autriche-Hongrie sont au rez-de-chaussée. La Belgique, la Suisse, la Grèce, les États-Unis, le Danemark, la Norwège, la Suède, la Hollande, la Serbie, la Roumanie et l'Internationale (section composée des envois des rares pays qui n'ont pas officiellement adhéré à l'Exposition), au premier étage.
Nous avons calculé que si l'on donnait à la glorieuse cimaise, sur laquelle reposeront les meilleures de toutes ces œuvres, une direction rectiligne, on arriverait à une longueur d'une lieue un quart environ. A elle seule, la France n'a pas moins de 2,820 mètres de cimaise. Les étrangers ont obtenu 2,123 mètres. La différence entre ces deux chiffres appartient à l'Exposition rétrospective. Cette indication suffît à donner une idée de la production artistique depuis dix ans. Nous espérons qu'à l'aide de cette rapide description, levisiteur pourra facilement s'orienter au milieu des milliers d'oeuvres d'art qui peuplent le Palais de M. Formigé.
Cette excursion principale une fois achevée, il aura encore une intéressante promenade à faire à travers les sculptures françaises et internationales et dont un certain nombre ont été, faute de place (car les sculpteurs ne sont pas moins féconds que les peintres), disséminées dans d'autres parties des jardins et des palais.

Nous appelons notamment l'attention du visiteur sur l'exposition rétrospective des Beaux-Arts, cette superbe exhibition de tous les chefs-d'œuvre de peinture, de sculpture, de gravure du siècle, vaste synthèse de l'histoire de l'art, des mœurs, des costumes, et d'une partie des événements politiques de toute une époque.

Qu'on nous permette ici d'exprimer le regret que le principe, qui a présidé à l'organisation de cette splendide fête de l'art français, n'ait pas été généralisé davantage. Intelligemment appliqué à toutes les branches du travail humain, il eût permis aux savants réunis en congrès au Champ de Mars de rédiger sur place, d'après les documents rassemblés autour d'eux, une vaste encyclopédie où les générations à venir eussent puisé de précieux enseignements et qui eût prolongé à travers les siècles le souvenir de cette splendide exposition de 1889.

L'organisation de l'exposition centennale des Beaux-Arts ne s'est probablement pas faite sans difficultés. Réunir environ seize cents œuvres de choix (peintures, dessins, sculptures, gravures, etc.) n'était pas chose aisée, sans dégarnir nos galeries nationales. Il n'a été cependant fait aux musées que de rares emprunts. C'est aux collections particulières que le commissaire spécial des Beaux-Arts s'est surtout adressé. Si tous les chefs-d'œuvre d'art du siècle ne figurent pas au Champ de Mars, c'est que certains collectionneurs n'ont pas cru devoir contribuer à l'éclat de cette grande fête d'art national. Mais tous ont été sollicités, et à quelques rares exceptions, tous se sont fait une sortede devoir patriotique de collaborer à l'organisation de l'exposition rétrospective des Beaux-Arts, qui ne contient pas moins de 650 toiles, 350 dessins, 200 sculptures, 400 gravures.

Sous peine d'altérer profondément le caractère de leur programme, les organisateurs de la Centennale ne pouvaient admettre les œuvres signées avant 1789. D'un autre côté, il était difficile de ne pas faire figurer sur le catalogue les noms de ces maîtres si français : Fragonard, Greuze, Moreau le jeune, qui ont encore signé quelques œuvres intéressantes après la grande date révolutionnaire. Aussi a-t-on décidé que ces artistes ne seraient représentés que par un nombre relativement restreint de toiles et dessins exécutés, la plupart du temps, par une main déjà affaiblie par l'âge.

Ainsi que nous l'avons dit plus haut, toute la partie du palais des Beaux-Arts, située entre le dôme et le large vestibule qui fait face à la Seine est occupée, aussi bien au rez-de-chaussée qu'au premier étage, par les sections étrangères.

Continuons notre promenade de la façon méthodique que nous l'avons commencée, en examinant d'abord les œuvres de peinture exposées au rez-de-chaussée par l'Autriche-Hongrie, l'Italie, l'Allemagne, (que les sinistres prophéties de M. Tisza n'ont décidément pas effrayées outre mesure), la Russie, l'Espagne et l'Angleterre.

Puis nous gravirons l'escalier de gauche (côté de la Seine), et nous visiterons successivement, en nous arrêtant devant les œuvres principales, les sections danoise, norvégienne, suédoise, hollandaise, serbe, et la petite section internationale. Après cet examen, nous reviendrons sur nos pas, et, après avoir parcouru la longue galerie transversale, occupée en grande partie par la section des États-Unis, nous visiterons les sections grecque, suisse et belge.
Malgré ses vastes dimensions, la galerie Rapp est impuissante à contenir les œuvres de sculpture contemporaine exécutées depuis dix ans. La plus grande partie de ce hall superbe a été consacrée à la sculpture française, l'autre à la sculpture étrangère. Mais néanmoins un véritable flot destatues s'est répandu, faute d'espace, sous les divers vestibules, dans les moindres recoins du Palais, et jusque dans les jardins.

Les œuvres remarquables qui ont fixé notre attention dans notre promenade à travers ce peuple de bronze et de marbre, sont nombreuses et, disons-le avec un orgueil bien légitime le génie artistique de la France s'y affirme d'une façon plus triomphante encore que dans la peinture.

Tout à côté du Palais des Beaux-Arts, dans la partie du jardin faisant face à la Seine, se trouvent les deux pavillons des pastellistes et des aquarellistes, que nous engageons fort les amateurs d'art à visiter.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889