World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Switzerland

Switzerland at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Switzerland's participation in the World Exhibition has no history. Everything went off without a hitch; as early as 1887, Switzerland's participation was assured. The Swiss government sent its official adhesion, and the Federal Chambers voted a subsidy of 450,000 francs. To this sum were added the credits voted by various cantons and cities to subsidise collective exhibitions. Thus the canton of Zurich voted funds for the silk exhibition. Geneva and Neufchâtel for watchmaking, St. Gallen for embroidery, the canton of Vaux for wine, etc. We can therefore see that there was general enthusiasm throughout Switzerland and that, with the exception of the ribbon industry, which refused, for whatever reason, to take part in the Exhibition, the Swiss section presented a more or less complete picture of the current commercial and industrial situation in the Helvetic Republic.

This section had 1,100 exhibitors, and occupied an area of more than 6,500 square metres. The Swiss section in 1878 occupied only 5,000 metres. These figures prove better than all the reasoning in the world the part taken by Switzerland in the Exhibition. We have already spoken of her Machinery Exhibition, where Switzerland had 128 exhibitors and showed the public the enormous progress made by her mechanical industry. All the products exhibited in the other groups are remarkable. We would especially like to draw attention to the collection of maps exhibited by the Federal Topographical Bureau. It seems absolutely impossible to go any further in cartography. Mr. Simon from Basel also exhibits a very curious relief of the Jung Frau. The school exhibition is also very interesting. It shows how much importance is given in Switzerland to all matters of education and hygiene. The watch exhibition alone covers 250 metres with 160 exhibitors. The exhibitors from Geneva and Neufchâtel in particular sent models that had never been seen before and managed to overcome the greatest mechanical difficulties. A very complete exhibition is also that of church ornaments and objects of worship. There are also stained glass windows. The glass industry, which seemed to have been forgotten in Switzerland for centuries, has been revived in recent years. Then we come to one of the most important sections: the collective exhibition of Zurich silks, which is contained in a superb showcase and in which cheap silks are mainly on display. Another important exhibition is that of lace and embroidery from Appenzell and St. Gallen, which occupies the pavilion next to the front of the section. The main attraction is the window curtains with very original and new arrangements.

Other important Swiss industries are also represented at the Champ de Mars. One will see, for example, milk, condensed milk and milk flour from Vevay. These huge factories absorb most of the milk from the canton of Vaux and send their products as far as America, where they are highly appreciated. Next to the Suchard chocolates, there is a large exhibition of Gruyère cheeses where you can see the most advanced products of this important industry.

In a Swiss restaurant situated on the inner perimeter of the garden of the Champ de Mars, one will be able to taste the wines of the Valais which are too little known outside of Switzerland, and when, in July, one will see the part taken by Switzerland in the cattle exhibition, one will be able to get an exact idea of the agricultural and industrial wealth of this valiant little country which has always been a friend of France and which has proved this feeling in times of misfortune. It will never be forgotten.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suisse


Suisse à l'exposition de Paris 1889

La participation de la Suisse à l'Exposition universelle n'a pas d'histoire. Tout s'est passé sans aucune difficulté ; dès 1887, la participation de la Suisse était assurée. Le gouvernement helvétique envoyait son adhésion officielle, et les Chambres fédérales votaient une subvention de 450,000 francs. A cette somme venaient encore s'ajouter les crédits votés par différents cantons et différentes villes pour subventionner des expositions collectives. Ainsi le canton de Zurich a voté des fonds pour l'exposition des soieries. Genève et Neufchâtel pour l'horlogerie, Saint-Gall pour les broderies, le canton de Vaux pour les vins, etc. On a donc à constater que l'entrain a été général dans la Suisse entière et qu'à l'exception de l'industrie des rubans qui a refusé, l'on ne sait trop pourquoi, de prendre part à l'Exposition, la section suisse présente un ensemble à peu près complet de la situation commerciale et industrielle actuelle de la République Helvétique.

Cette section compte 1,100 exposants, et occupe une surface de plus de 6,500 mètres carrés. La section suisse en 1878 n'occupait que 5,000 mètres. Ces chiffres prouvent mieux que tous les raisonnements du monde la part prise par la Suisse à l'Exposition. Nous avons parlé déjà de son exposition des Machines, où la Suisse compte 128 exposants et montre au public les progrès énormes faits par son industrie mécanique. Tous les produits exposés dans les autres groupes sont remarquables. Nous attirons surtout l'attention sur la collection de cartes exposées par le Bureau topographique fédéral. Il semble absolument impossible d'aller plus loin dans la cartographie. M. Simon, de Bâle, expose aussi un très curieux relief de la Jung Frau. L'exposition scolaire est, elle aussi, très intéressante. On y voit quelle importance est donnée en Suisse à toutes les questions d'éducation et d'hygiène. L'exposition d'horlogerie couvre à elle seule 250 mètres avec 160 exposants. On y trouve toutes les espèces de montres connues et inconnues jusqu'à ce jour, car les exposants de Genève et de Neufchâtel surtout ont envoyé des modèles que l'on n'avait jamais vus et sont arrivés à vaincre les plus grandes difficultés de la mécanique. Une exposition très complète est aussi celle des ornements d'église et des objets du culte. On y trouve aussi des vitraux. L'industrie verrière, qui semblait oubliée en Suisse depuis des siècles, reprend depuis quelques années. Puis, nous arrivons à une des plus importantes sections : l'exposition collective des soieries de Zurich qui est contenue dans une superbe vitrine et dans laquelle on trouve surtout des soies bon marché. Une autre exposition importante est celle des dentelles et broderies d'Appenzell et de Saint-Gall qui occupe le pavillon à côté de la façade de la section. On y remarquera surtout des rideaux de vitrages avec des dispositions très originales et neuves.

D'autres industries suisses importantes sont encore représentées au Champ de Mars. On y verra, par exemple, des laits, condensés et des farines lactées de Vevay. Ces manufactures énormes absorbent la plus grande partie du lait du canton de Vaux et envoient leurs produits jusqu'en Amérique où ils sont très appréciés. A côté des chocolats Suchard, une grande exposition de fromages de gruyère où l'on verra les produits les plus perfectionnés de cette importante industrie.

Dans un restaurant suisse situé sur le pourtour intérieur du jardin du Champ de Mars, on pourra goûter les vins du Valais qui sont trop peu connus en dehors de la Suisse, et quand, au mois de juillet, on verra la part prise par la Suisse à l'exposition de bestiaux, on pourra se faire une idée exacte de la richesse agricole et industrielle de ce vaillant petit pays qui a toujours été l'ami de la France et qui a prouvé ce sentiment aux jours de malheur. On ne l'oubliera jamais.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889