World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Siam

Siam at the Exhibition Paris 1889

The Exhibition of the Kingdom of Siam was made on the orders of His Majesty the King, who wanted his country to be represented at the Exhibition of 1889, as it had already been at the two Exhibitions of 1867 and 1878. All the costs of organising and installing the Siamese section were borne by the King, who was the only exhibitor.

The section occupies an area of 250 square metres in the end gallery, on the Rue du Caire side, between Japan and Egypt. It also occupies a pavilion in the extension of Cairo Street, near the fire station, which covers an area of 100 metres. There is no exhibition in this pavilion, which is more like a type of Siamese architecture. It is a small building with four stoops arranged at right angles and a double roof with steep slopes. It is made of beautifully carved wood.

The facade of the gallery of various industries is a specimen of composite order in which various details of ornamentation borrowed from the palaces and temples of Bangkok have been brought together.

The King has brought together here, somewhat haphazardly, all the industries of his kingdom; royal garments, men's and women's clothes, brightly coloured silk panungs embroidered with flowers, gold and silver, copper utensils, palanquins, secular and sacred musical instruments, elephant tusks, harnesses, preserved flowers, kawmak (fermented rice), etc. All these products introduce us to the history of the kingdom.

All these products introduce us to unknown customs and to a marvellous art; but they remind us above all of the concern the King of Siam has always had to be represented at the great solemnities to which France invites all sympathies and all intelligences.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Siam


Siam à l'exposition de Paris 1889

L'Exposition du royaume de Siam a été faite sur les ordres de Sa Majesté le Roi qui a voulu que son pays fût représenté à l'Exposition de 1889, comme il l'avait déjà été aux deux Expositions de 1867 et de 1878. Tous les frais d'organisation et d'installation de la section siamoise ont été supportés par le Roi, qui est d'ailleurs le seul exposant.

La section occupe dans la galerie extrême, du côté de la rue du Caire, entre le Japon et l'Egypte, une superficie de 250 mètres carrés. Elle occupe aussi dans le prolongement de la rue du Caire, près du poste de pompiers, un pavillon qui couvre une superficie de 100 mètres. Il n'y a pas à proprement parler d'exposition dans ce pavillon qui est là plutôt comme un type de l'architecture siamoise. C'est une petite construction avec quatre perrons disposés à angles droits et à double toit dont les pentes sont très inclinées. Il est en bois merveilleusement découpé.

La façade de la galerie des industries diverses est un spécimen d'ordre composite où l'on a réuni divers détails d'ornementation empruntés aux palais et aux temples de Bangkok.

Le Roi a réuni là, un peu au hasard, toutes les industries de son royaume ; des vêtements royaux, des habits d'hommes et de femmes, des panungs de soie aux couleurs éclatantes, brodés de fleurs, d'or et d'argent, des ustensiles de cuivre, des palanquins, des instruments de musique profane et sacrée, des défenses d'éléphant, des harnais, des fleurs conservées, du kawmak, riz fermenté, etc.

Tous ces produits nous initient à des mœurs inconnues et à un art merveilleux ; mais ils nous rappellent surtout quel souci le roi de Siam a toujours eu d'être représenté aux grandes solennités où la France convie toutes les sympathies et toutes les intelligences.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889