World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Russia

Russia at the Exhibition Paris 1889

The Russian Government did not subsidise the Exhibition we see on the Champ de Mars, which is entirely due to private initiative; and if we could tell the story of the negotiations to which the organisation of this Exhibition gave rise, and the struggles which broke out between the various committees, we might perhaps interest the reader keenly, and revive struggles which are best forgotten. It does not matter, moreover, whether it was this or that committee that made the Exhibition: it is enough to note that Russia is taking part in the Exhibition, that it has 500 exhibitors, and that it covers a total area of 3,200 square metres.

The facade of the Russian section reproduces the most beautiful monuments of Byzantine architecture in Moscow.

The architect had the idea of reproducing the Kremlin wall: the windows of the Tehrem Palace, the towers of the Wassili-Lajenij Cathedral, the bell tower of Ivan the Terrible, the Sukareff Tower. One of the entrances is copied from the Kremlin gate, the other represents the main gate of Wassili.

The interior of the section is cheerfully decorated. Red and blue dominate. At the back of the room is a coat of arms depicting St George slaying the dragon. As Russia did not officially exhibit its national coat of arms, only the central motif was removed.

The 600 exhibitors in the Russian section are divided into 73 classes, so it is clear that it is not possible to list all the products sent. However, first of all, Russian goldsmiths, niello objects and imitations of Byzantine jewellery were very remarkable.

Then come the textile industries, printed shawls, cotton fabrics, all from Moscow; the silks show what enormous progress Russia has made in this branch.

Furs, leathers, mineral oils, naphtha oils, and above all petroleum, the exploitation of which has taken on such formidable development in southern Russia in recent years. It is from this part of the Tsar's empire that the numerous samples of tobacco that can be seen in the section also come.

Then, for food: grains, flours, wheat, starch, oils, cheeses, butter, preserved fruits, etc.

Finally, drinks of all kinds: wines from the Crimea, where the vines are very well cultivated; wines from Hacheti; there are also many bottles of brandy, grain brandy, the vodka of the Russian peasant.

In the park, near the Eiffel Tower, there is a first annex of the Russian section: it is an isba, a peasant's house, in which Mr. Houtin had the excellent idea of installing twelve artists who paint icons, those images of sanctity so original that one finds in all Slavic houses, before the eyes of the public.

Then, in the history of the house, the Russian house built by Mr. Garnier is occupied by peasants engaged in what is known there as "bush industry"; it is small-scale rural industry. Thus we have before our eyes, at the Champ de Mars, a complete, though limited, picture of the industrial state of modern Russia.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Russie


Russie à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Le Gouvernement russe n'a pas subventionné l'Exposition que nous voyons au Champ de Mars, qui est entièrement due à l'initiative privée ; et si l'on pouvait raconter les négociations, auxquelles a donné lieu l'organisation de cette exposition, les luttes qui ont éclaté entre les différents comités, on intéresserait peut-être vivement le lecteur et on raviverait des luttes qu'il vaut mieux oublier. Il importe peu, du reste, que ce soit tel ou tel comité qui ait fait l'Exposition : il suffit de constater que la Russie prend part à exposition, qu'elle y a 500 exposants, et qu'elle couvre une superficie totale de 3,200 mètres carrés.

La façade de, la section russe reproduit les plus beaux monuments de l'architecture byzantine de Moscou.

L'architecte a eu l'heureuse idée de reproduire le mur du Kremlin: les fenêtres du palais de Tehrem, les tours de la cathédrale de Wassili-Lajenij, le clocher d'Ivan le Terrible, la tour Soukareff. L'une dès entrées est copiée sur la porte du Kremlin, l'autre représente la porte principale de Wassili.

L'intérieur de la section est gaiement décoré. Le rouge et le bleu dominent. Au fond de la salle, un écusson représentant saint Georges terrassant le dragon. La Russie n'ex-posant pas officiellement, on n'a pas pu arborer les armes nationales : on en a détaché seulement le motif central.

Les 600 exposants de la section russe sont partagés dans 73 classes : il est donc clair que l'on ne peut pas énumérer tous les produits envoyés. Cependant, il faut citer tout d'abord l'orfèvrerie russe, les objets niellés et des imitation des bijoux byzantins très remarquables.

Puis, viennent les industries textiles, les châles imprimés, les cotonnades, provenant tous de Moscou ; les soieries montrent quels progrès énormes la Russie a faits en cette branche.

Des fourrures, des cuirs, des huiles minérales, huiles de naphte et surtout des pétroles dont l'exploitation a pris, depuis quelques années, un si formidable développement dans la Russie méridionale. C'est de cette partie de l'empire des tsars que viennent aussi les nombreux échantillons de tabacs que l'on peut voir dans la section.

Puis, pour l'alimentation: des grains, des farines, des blés, de l'amidon, des huiles, fromages, beurre, fruits conservés, etc.

Enfin, des boissons de toutes sortes : les vins de Crimée où la vigne est très bien cultivée; les vins de Hakhéti; il y a aussi de nombreux flacons d'eau-de-vie, l'eau-de-vie de grains, la vodka du paysan russe.

Dans le parc, près de la Tour Eiffel, se trouve une première annexe de la section russe : c'est une isba, maison de paysan, dans laquelle M. Houtin a eu l'excellente idée d'installer douze artistes qui peignent sous les yeux du public des icones, ces images de sainteté si originales que l'on trouve dans toutes les maisons slaves.

Puis, dans l'histoire de l'habitation, la maison russe édifiée par M. Garnier est occupée par des paysans se livrant à ce que l'on appelle là-bas l'industrie buissonnière ; c'est la petite industrie rurale. On a donc sous les yeux, au Champ de Mars, un tableau complet, quoique restreint, de l'état industriel de la Russie moderne.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889