Back - List of Pavilions

Norway - Expo Paris 1889

Norway at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889
Architect(s) : M. Thams & Co de Orkedalsøren

Since 1811, Norway has taken part not only in all the Universal Exhibitions held in London, Paris, Philadelphia and Vienna, but also in a considerable number of other major competitions of a more or less international character. It has, in particular, taken a large part in the Scandinavian exhibitions, in Stockholm in 1866, and in Copenhagen in 1888. Finally, Norway has been represented at several special international exhibitions, notably the fisheries exhibitions, one of which, in 1865, took place in Norway itself, in Bergen.

Until 1878, Norwegian participation in the various exhibitions was generally under the immediate direction of the State. But this system was recognised as too costly. It was therefore decided in 1880 that in future the State would leave the organisation and management of its national participation to private initiative and would confine itself to assisting the organisers by providing a subsidy. This is how it has been done since then, on the occasion of the exhibitions in London in 1883, Antwerp in 1885, Liverpool in 1886 and Copenhagen in 1888.

The Central Commission set up for the Universal Exhibition of 1889 immediately applied to the Norwegian Government for a grant of 100,000 kroner (1 kroner equals 1 fr. 39). The government, when submitting this request to the national representation - the Storthing - thought it necessary to reduce the figure of the grant to be awarded by a quarter, in view of the burden on the budget. However, in its meeting of 17 May 1888, the Storthing voted by 56 votes to 44 for the full amount requested by the Commission.

It had been agreed from the beginning that the Norwegian participation in 1889 should be somewhat different from that in 1867 and 1878, and that it should be more utilitarian, so to speak. In its first communication to the Norwegian Government, the Christiana Commission had expressed the opinion that it should be restricted to the representation of industries whose products are already or may become objects of export - adding, however, the fine arts, as well as objects which may give foreigners an idea of the beauties of the country, and thereby invite tourists to visit it. This programme was fully approved by the government and by the national representation. It was, moreover, almost imposed by the budget, much smaller than in 1878, which was available this time, and by the absolute necessity of not allowing expenditure to exceed the limit fixed. We were therefore obliged to observe the greatest economy and to reduce to the strictest necessary the costs of decoration of all kinds. Certain performances for which high expenses would have been indispensable had to be sacrificed. Moreover, one could not demand, as one had done successfully in previous circumstances, a large participation of the official administrations and institutions. Finally, a great difficulty was to be encountered - perhaps more considerable for the Norwegian representation than for that of most other nations, and created by the very disposition of the sites on which it would have to be installed - that of making full use of the national exhibition, although fragmented and scattered.

Indeed, the products had to be separated into two great divisions of almost equal importance: one, in which the wood and metal industries predominated, located on the replacement which had been granted - in the galleries of miscellaneous industries, between the sections of the United States and Japan; the other in the galleries of agriculture, at the Quai d'Orsay, where it had been necessary to relegate the very complete installations of the fisheries, as well as the industries of fermented drinks. But these were not the only places on the Exhibition grounds where the Norwegian flag was flown. In the Palace of Fine Arts, the Norwegian section was placed on the first floor, between the Danish and Swedish sections. In the garden of the Champ-de-Mars, at the foot of the Eiffel Tower, stood the large wooden pavilion, built and exhibited by the firm of M. Thams et Ci0, where, for the duration of the Exhibition, the offices of the Norwegian Commissariat were located, and where later on the offices of the administration of the Eiffel Tower Company succeeded them. A few steps away a small wooden chalet contained the exhibition of a new Norwegian industry, that of preserved sterilised milk. On the Seine, in the section of floating boats, swung a large Nordland boat - the direct grandson of the deckless ships on which, a thousand years ago, the Norwegian ancestors came to make their first visits to the capital of France.

There is no doubt that the reunion under the same roof of all these parts of the exhibition would have constituted a complete and more picturesque whole. Nevertheless, we must admit that the general impression produced by these different sections on the visitors was in every respect very unfavourable. In this respect, Norway has reason to be particularly satisfied with the testimony which one of the most authoritative voices has been willing to give, in the most flattering terms, to the sincerity of the Norwegian representation at the Champ-de-Mars in 1889. This was precisely the character that had been endeavoured to give it from the first moment, and which alone was likely to make it of good value.

The total number of Norwegian exhibitors was 278; some of them exhibited in several Classes. Of these 278 exhibitors, six were outside the competition
as members of the awards jury; two exhibited in the retrospective section of the history of work where no awards were given. The number of exhibitors competing for awards was therefore 270. The jury awarded 252 prizes to them, namely: five grand prizes, one diploma equivalent to a grand prize, forty gold medals, seventy-seven silver medals, seventy-five bronze medals and sixty-four honourable mentions.

In Group I (Fine Arts), the number of exhibitors competing was 76; the number of winners was 35. In all other groups, the number of exhibitors competing was 194; the number of winners was 178, so that only 16 Norwegian exhibitors did not receive an award.
Eleven Norwegian exhibitors received honorary distinctions, namely: seven, the cross of the Legion of Honour, and four, the academic palms.
Finally, one silver and three bronze medals were awarded to collaborators.

In recognition of the warm welcome given to Norway on this occasion, some souvenirs of the participation were offered and graciously accepted by French institutions. We shall quote: the façade of a wooden granary, exhibited by Mr. Egeberg and given by the exhibitor to the Musée des arts décoratifs; a collection of fishing products and gear, exhibited by the Norwegian Commission, and given by it to the Musée municipal de la ville de Boulogne-sur-Mer; a large ornamental map of Norway, drawn and exhibited by Messrs. 0. and Th. Holmboe, given by Mr. Aug. Pellerin, member of the Commission de réception des chœurs norvégiens, to the Société de géographie de Paris; collection of models of wooden constructions, exhibited by the firm M. Thams et Cie, and given by it to the Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers; collection of objects of old national jewellery, given by M. Hammer, goldsmith and craftsman, to the Société de géographie de Paris. Hammer, goldsmith and antique dealer in Bergen, to the Museum of Ethnography; collection of Norwegian music editions, donated by Mr. C. Warmuth, music publisher in Christiana, to the Conservatoire de musique.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1889 de Monod

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Norvège(Norwège)


Norvège(Norwège) à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : M. Thams & Co de Orkedalsøren

La Norvège a participé, depuis 1811, non seulement à toutes les Expositions universelles qui ont eu lieu à Londres, à Paris, à Philadelphie et à Vienne, mais encore à un nombre considérable d’autres grands concours, d’un caractère plus ou moins international. Elle a, particulièrement, pris une large part aux expositions Scandinaves, à Stockholm en 1866, et à Copenhague en 1888. Enfin, la Norvège a été représentée à plusieurs exhibitions spéciales internationales, notamment aux expositions des pêcheries, dont l’une, celle de 1865, a eu lieu en Norvège même, à Bergen.

Jusqu’en 1878, la participation de la Norvège aux différentes expositions eut généralement lieu sous la direction immédiate de l’État. Mais ce système fut reconnu' comme trop coûteux. Aussi décida-t-on, en 1880, qu’à l’avenir l’État, laissant à l’initiative privée le soin d’organiser et de diriger sa participation nationale, se bornerait à prêter son concours en accordant une subvention aux organisateurs. C’est ainsi qu’il fut procédé depuis, à l’occasion des expositions de Londres en 1883, d’Anvers en 1885, de Liverpool en 1886 et de Copenhague en 1888.

La Commission centrale constituée en vue de l’Exposition Universelle de 1889 adressa immédiatement au gouvernement norvégien une demande de subvention de 100,000 couronnes (1 couronne égale 1 fr. 39). Le gouvernement, en soumettant cette demande à la représentation nationale, — le Storthing — crut devoir réduire d’un quart, eu égard aux charges du budget, le chiffre de la subvention à accorder. Pourtant, dans sa séance du 17 mai 1888, le Storthing votait, par 56 voix contre 44, la somme intégrale demandée par la Commission.

Dès le début, du reste, il avait été convenu qu’en 1889 la participation norvégienne devait avoir un caractère quelque peu différent de celui qu'elle avait eu en 1867 et en 1878, un caractère pour ainsi dire plus utilitaire. Dans sa première communication au gouvernement norvégien, la commission de Christiana avait émis l’opinion qu’il fallait se restreindre à la représentation des industries dont les produits sont déjà ou peuvent devenir des objets d’exportation — en y ajoutant toutefois les beaux-arts, ainsi que les objets pouvant donner aux étrangers une idée des beautés dû pays, et par là inviter les touristes à venir le visiter. Ce programme fut entièrement approuvé par le gouvernement et parla représentation nationale. Il était, en outre, presque imposé par le budget, beaucoup plus restreint qu’en 1878, dont on disposait cette fois, et par la nécessité absolue de ne pas permettre aux dépenses de dépasser la limite fixée. On était donc obligé d’observer la plus grande économie et de réduire au plus strict nécessaire les frais de décoration de toute nature. Il fallait sacrifier certaines représentations pour lesquelles des dépenses élevées eussent été indispensables. De plus, on ne pouvait réclamer, comme on l’avait fait avec succès dans des circonstances antérieures, une large participation des administrations et institutions officielles. Enfin on allait se trouver en face d’une difficulté grande — plus considérable peut-être pour la représentation norvégienne que pour celle de la plupart des autres nations et créée par la disposition même des emplacements sur lesquels elle aurait à s’installer, — celle de faire valoir pleinement, bien que morcelée et éparse, l’exposition nationale.

En effet, les produits durent être séparés en deux grandes divisions d’une importance presque égale: l’une, où les industries du bois et des métaux prédominaient, située sur remplacement qui avait été accordé- dans les galeries des industries diverses, entre les sections des États-Unis et du Japon; l’autre dans les galeries de l’agriculture, au quai d'Orsay, où il avait fallu reléguer les installations très complètes des pêcheries, ainsi que les industries de boissons fermentées. Encore n’étaient-ce pas là les seuls points de l’enceinte de l’Exposition où le drapeau norvégien fut arboré. Dans le palais des Beaux-Arts, la section de la Norvège était placée au premier étage, entre celles du Danemark et de la Suède. Dans le jardin du Champ-de-Mars, au pied de la tour Eiffel, s’élevait le grand pavillon en bois, construit et exposé par la maison M. Thams et Ci0, où, pendant la durée de l’Exposition, les bureaux du Commissariat norvégien étaient installés, et où plus tard les bureaux de l’administration de la Société de la tour Eiffel leur ont succédé. A quelques pas de là un petit chalet en bois contenait l’exposition d’une nouvelle industrie norvégienne, celle du lait stérilisé conservé. Sur la Seine, dans la section des embarcations flottantes, se balançait un grand bateau de Nordland — petit-fils en ligne directe des navires sans pont sur lesquels, il y a un millier d’années, les ancêtres norvégiens vinrent faire leurs premières visites à la capitale de la France.

II est hors de doute que la réunion sous le même toit de toutes ces parties de l’exposition aurait constitué un ensemble à la fois complet et plus pittoresque. Néanmoins, nous devrons reconnaître que l’impression générale produite par ces différentes sections sur les visiteurs a été de tous points très défavorable. A ce sujet, la Norvège a lieu d’être tout particulièrement satisfaite du témoignage qu’une voix des plus autorisées a bien voulu accorder, dans les termes les plus flatteurs, au caractère de sincérité de la représentation norvégienne au Champ-de-Mars en 1889. C’était précisément là le caractère que l’on s’était efforcé, dès le premier moment, de lui donner, et qui seul était susceptible de lui faire avoir une valeur de bon aloi.

Le nombre total des exposants norvégiens était de 278; certains d’entre eux exposaient dans plusieurs Classes. Parmi ces 278 exposants, six se trouvaient hors concours
comme membres du jury des récompenses; deux exposaient dans la section rétrospective de l’histoire du travail où il n’a pas été décerné de récompenses. Le nombre des exposants qui concouraient à des récompenses était donc de 270. Le jury leur en décerna 252, savoir: cinq grands prix, un diplôme équivalant à un grand prix, quarante médailles d’or, soixante-sept médailles d’argent, soixante-quinze médailles de bronze et soixante-quatre mentions honorables.

Dans le groupe I (Beaux-Arts), le nombre des exposants concourant était de 76; celui des récompensés fut de 35. Dans l’ensemble des autres groupes, le nombre des exposants concourant était de 194; celui des récompensés fut de 178, de sorte que, dans ces derniers, seize exposants norvégiens seulement n’eurent aucune récompense.
Onze exposants norvégiens reçurent des distinctions honorifiques, savoir : sept, la croix de la Légion d’honneur, et quatre, les palmes académiques.
Enfin, une médaille d’argent et trois de bronze furent décernées à des collaborateurs.

En reconnaissance de l’accueil si cordialement bienveillant qui, à cette occasion, a été fait à la Norvège, quelques souvenirs de la participation ont été offerts et ont été gracieusement acceptés par des institutions françaises. Nous citerons : la façade d’un grenier, construction en bois, exposée par M. Egeberg et donnée par l’exposant au Musée des arts décoratifs; collection de produits et engins de pêche, exposée par la Commission norvégienne, et donnée par elle au Musée municipal de la ville de Boulogne-sur-Mer; grande carte ornementale de la Norvège, dessinée et exposée par MM. 0. et Th. Holmboe, donnée par M. Aug. Pellerin, membre de la Commission de réception des chœurs norvégiens, à la Société de géographie de Paris; collection de modèles de constructions en bois, exposée par la maison M. Thams et Cie, et donnée par elle au Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers ; collection d’objets d’ancienne bijouterie nationale, donnée par M. Hammer, orfèvre et antiquaire à Bergen, au Musée d’ethnographie; collection d’éditions de musique norvégienne, donnée par M. C. Warmuth, éditeur de musique à Christiana, au Conservatoire de musique.

©L'Exposition Universelle de 1889 de Monod