World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Italy

Italy at the Exhibition Paris 1889

The history of Italy's participation in the Universal Exhibition would be too long to give in all its details. Moreover, it would contain painful political passages that it is unnecessary to mention today. It will suffice to recall that the Italian government refused in the most energetic manner to take part in the Expo-sinon in Paris. Mr. Crispi, in a statement made in the Chamber of Deputies, left no doubt as to the reasons for his action. But a large part of the Italian population disapproved of the minister's ideas, and soon there was agitation throughout the peninsula in favour of participation in the Paris Exhibition. A committee was formed to collect subscriptions. M. de Gentilli moved heaven and earth, and while a Committee was being organised in Paris under the presidency of M. de Camondo, M. Sonzogno, the great publisher of Milan, sent 50,000 francs to the Rome Committee, the Chamber of Commerce of Rome gave 20,000 francs, the Chamber of Commerce of Naples gave 10,000 francs, and soon the Committee had 350,000 francs which were used to organise the Italian section of the Champ de Mars.

This section, whose installation was directed with as much taste as devotion by Mr. Verardini, covers an area of 5,000 square meters, and counts in the different groups more than 700 exhibitors.

The anthropology section is an independent exhibition under the direction of Mr. G. Achim.

The Fine Arts section was directed by Mr. Boldini, the well-known painter. This section cost 75,000 francs to organise, as the paintings were taken from the painters' studios, packed, and transported at the expense of the Committee, which will return all the artistic products that have not been sold.

The most important part of the Italian section is located in the Palace of Miscellaneous Industries. It is picturesquely decorated. The colour red dominates and contributes to making it very cheerful. The façade, which is made of mosaic and marble, cost no less than 45,000 francs. It was designed by Mr. Manfredi, of Rome, who made himself available to the Committee free of charge.

As in all Italian exhibitions, glassware and crystals occupy the most important place. The Salviati exhibition in Venice is a good example of the great reputation that the products of the great glassmaker have throughout Italy and Europe. The Murano exhibition is also very curious and proves that Venetian glass is worthy of its reputation. The glass industry seems to have developed considerably in Italy. Note the exhibition of the Zenka factory in Milan, which is tending to become the Saint-Gobain of Italy.

Burano lace is also very curious, as well as carved wooden furniture. Fifteen exhibitors in this section, who can only be reproached for a little overloading in the details.

A little further on, Florence sends remarkable and tasteful ceramic products. The same cannot be said of the Neapolitan corals and cameos, which are no better than those in previous exhibitions.

No major exhibition represents the textile industry. The great manufacturers have abstained, but on the other hand, the Chambers of Commerce of Milan and Como have sent very complete collections of samples. This will be a very interesting subject of study for French manufacturers.

In the social economy section located at the Esplanade des Invalides, the exhibition of Mr. Luzzatti should be noted, which shows the path taken by Italy in the direction of progress. It is also interesting to see the large relief plan sent by the municipality of Naples to show what it intends to do to clean up the city. Finally, the very curious exhibition of Mr. Sonzogno.

In the mechanical section, Italy is not seriously represented; but in the railway section, with France and Belgium, it is certainly one of the most beautiful exhibitions. The firm of Miani Silvestri exhibited a locomotive with its tender and eleven wagons.

When we have talked about the wines and agricultural machinery, which will be on display at the Quai d'Orsay, we will only have to talk about the four houses that Mr Garnier has made available to the Italian section in his history of housing. These are :
An Etruscan house and a Pelasgian house which will be occupied by a bar.
A Pompeian house where imitation Pompeian objects, lamps, vases, etc. will be sold. Mr. Morabito is the specialist in this imitation and he will be selling them.

Finally, a Renaissance house, in which Mr. Candis has set up a kiln where Venetian glass will be fired. For fifty cents, the visitor can take away an object that he has seen made in front of him.

We can see that, although it was not official, Italy's participation was nonetheless complete. It is to be hoped that it will strengthen the ties between the two nations and that the Exhibition will help to dispel certain clouds that should never have arisen.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie


Italie à l'exposition de Paris 1889

L'historique de la participation de l'Italie à l'Exposition universelle serait trop long à faire si on voulait le faire dans tous ses détails. Il contiendrait du reste des passages politiques douloureux qu'il est inutile d'évoquer aujourd'hui. Il suffira de rappeler que le gouvernement italien refusa de la façon la plus énergique de prendre part à l'Expo-sinon de Paris. M. Crispi, dans une déclaration faite à Chambre des députés, ne laissa planer aucun doute sur 1: raisons qui le faisaient agir. Mais une grande partie de la population italienne réprouva les idées du ministre, et bientôt il y eut dans toute la péninsule une agitation en faveur de la participation à l'Exposition de Paris. Un Comité forma pour recueillir les souscriptions. M. de Gentilli remu ciel et terre, et pendant qu'un Comité s'organisait à Paris sous la présidence de M. de Camondo, M. Sonzogno, le grand éditeur de Milan, envoyait 50,000 francs au Comité de Rome, La Chambre de Commerce de Rome donnait 20,000 francs, celle de Naples 10,000, et bientôt le Comité disposait de 350,000 francs qui servirent à organiser la section italienne du Champ de Mars.

Cette section dont l'installation a été dirigée avec autant de goût que de dévouement par M. Verardini couvre une superficie de 5,000 mètres carrés, et compte dans les différents groupes plus de 700 exposants.

La section d'anthropologie constitue une exposition indépendante sous la direction de M. G. Achim.

La section des Beaux-Arts a été dirigée par M. Boldini, le peintre bien connu. Cette section a coûté 75,000 francs à organiser, car les tableaux ont été pris dans les ateliers des peintres, emballés, transportés aux frais du Comité qui renverra tous les produits artistiques qui n'auront pas été vendus.

La partie la plus importante de la section italienne se trouve dans le palais des Industries diverses. Elle est pittoresquement décorée. La couleur rouge domine et contribue, à la rendre très gaie. La façade qui est en mosaïque et en marbre n'a pas coûté moins de 45,000 francs. Elle a été dessinée par M. Manfredi, de Rome, qui s'est mis gratuitement à la disposition du Comité.

Comme dans toutes les expositions italiennes, ce sont les verreries et les cristaux qui occupent la place la plus importante. L'exposition de Salviati de Venise se montre à la hauteur de la grande renommée que les produits du grand verrier ont dans toute l'Italie et dans toute l'Europe. L'exposition de Murano est également très curieuse et prouve que les verres de Venise sont dignes de leur renom. L'industrie des glaces semble s'être développée considérablement en Italie. A remarquer l'exposition de l'usine Zenka de Milan, qui tend à devenir le Saint-Gobain de l'Italie.

Les dentelles de Burano sont également très curieuses, ainsi que les meubles en bois sculpté. Quinze exposants dans cette section auxquels on ne peut reprocher qu'un peu de surcharge dans les détails.

Un peu plus loin, Florence envoie des produits céramiques remarquables et de bon goût. On ne peut pas en dire autant des coraux et des camées napolitains qui ne sont pas supérieurs à ceux des expositions précédentes.

Aucune grande exposition ne représente l'industrie textile. Les grands manufacturiers se sont abstenus, mais en revanche, lès Chambres syndicales de Milan et de Côme ont envoyé des collections d'échantillons très complètes. Il y aura là un sujet d'études très intéressant pour les industriels français.

Dans la section d'économie sociale située à l'Esplanade des Invalides, il faut remarquer l'exposition de M. Luzzatti qui montre le chemin parcouru par l'Italie dans la voie du progrès. On verra aussi avec intérêt le grand plan en relief envoyé par la municipalité de Naples pour montrer ce qu'elle a l'intention de faire pour assainir la ville. Enfin l'exposition si curieuse de M. Sonzogno.

Dans la section de la mécanique, l'Italie n'est pas sérieusement représentée ; mais dans la section des chemins de 1er, avec la France et la Belgique, c'est certainement elle qui a une des plus belles expositions. La maison Miani Silvestri expose une locomotive avec son tender et onze wagons.

Quand nous aurons parlé des vins et des machines agricoles, que l'on retrouvera au quai d'Orsay, il ne nous restera plus qu'à parler des quatre maisons que M. Garnier a mises à la disposition de la section italienne dans son histoire de l'habitation. Ce sont :
Une maison étrusque et une maison pélasge qui seront occupées par un bar.
Une maison pompéienne où l'on vendra des objets imitation de Pompéi, des lampes, des vases, etc. C'est M. Morabito qui a la spécialité de cette imitation et c'est lui qui les vendra.

Enfin une maison Renaissance, dans laquelle M. Candis a établi un four où l'on cuira des verres de Venise. Pour cinquante centimes, le visiteur pourra emporter un objet qu'il aura vu fabriquer devant lui.

On voit que, pour ne pas avoir été officielle, la participation de l'Italie n'en est pas moins complète. Il faut espérer qu'elle resserrera les liens qui existent entre les deux nations et que l'Exposition contribuera à dissiper certains nuages qui n'auraient jamais dû s'élever.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889