World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Hawaii

Hawaii at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Bon

The kingdom of Hawaii or the Sandwich Islands is officially represented at the Paris Exposition. The government has voted a grant of 20,000 francs for this purpose.

The Hawaiian exhibition is situated on the Avenue de Suffren side, next to the Indian Palace. It occupies a very elegant pavilion, built according to the drawings of M. Bon, architect, and covers an area of about 250 square metres.

This pavilion, surrounded by a veranda cheerfully painted in red and blue, contains the products sent by 50 exhibitors. As with all countries where industry is almost non-existent or at least rudimentary, it is the products of the soil, whether mining or agricultural, that make up the bulk of this small kingdom's exhibition.

The Hawaiians therefore sent coffee, sugar, sugar cane, tobacco, rice, taro flour (arum esculentum) and in general all the products of the culture of hot countries.

There is also a fine collection of mineralogical samples. These are mainly lava and volcanic rocks of which these regions, covered with active or extinct volcanoes, offer numerous specimens. There are also textile fibres (ramies), mats of modern manufacture, ancient fabrics, clothes made by beating with wood bark and naively decorated; but it is especially important to note coats made exclusively of bird feathers.

We will mention in particular a kind of pilgrimage coat in which crescents of red and black feathers stand out against a background of bright yellow feathers to a truly curious effect. These richly coloured feathers are provided by birds, roosters, which have very few of them, and one is astonished at the quantity of birds that it took to make whole coats in this way.

The Sandwich Islands section also shows us furniture made from various local woods (opiko, haw, kou, olapa, ohia, etc.), including mosaic tables and a huge wardrobe belonging to the king.

On the walls are paintings of Hawaiian landscapes and portraits of King Kalakaua and Queen Kapiolani.

This exhibition is, in short, most interesting: it shows the activity and intelligence of this small monarchy, where, moreover, education is extremely well developed, for there is not a single inhabitant in the kingdom who cannot at least read.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Hawaï


Hawaï à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Bon

Le royaume de Hawaï ou des îles Sandwich est représenté officiellement à l'Exposition de Paris. Le gouvernement à voté à cet effet une subvention de 20,000 francs.

L'exposition hawaïenne est située du côté de l'avenue de Suffren, à côté du palais indien. Elle occupe un fort élégant pavillon, construit d'après les dessins de M. Bon, architecte, et couvre une superficie d'environ 250 mètres carrés.

Ce pavillon, entouré d'une véranda gaiement peinte de rouge et de bleu, renferme les produits envoyés par 50 exposants. Comme pour tous les pays où l'industrie est presque nulle ou en tout cas rudimentaire, ce sont les produits du sol, miniers ou agricoles, qui composent en grande partie l'exposition de ce petit royaume.

Les Hawaïens ont donc envoyé du café, du sucre, de là canne à sucre, du tabac, du riz, de la farine de taro (arum esculentum) et en général tous les produits de la culture des pays chauds.

Il y a aussi une belle collection d'échantillons minéralogiques. Ce sont surtout des laves et des roches volcaniques dont ces contrées, couvertes de volcans actifs ou éteints, offrent des spécimens nombreux. Ce sont encore des fibres textiles (ramies), des nattes de fabrication moderne, des étoffes anciennes, des vêtements faits par battage avec des écorces de bois et naïvement décorés ; mais il faut surtout remarquer des manteaux composés exclusivement de plumes d'oiseaux.

Nous citerons particulièrement une sorte de pèlerine où sur un fond de plumes d'un jaune vif se détachent des croissants en plumes rouges et noires d'un effet vraiment curieux. Ces plumes aux riches couleurs sont fournies par des oiseaux, des coqs, qui n'en ont que très peu, et l'on s'étonne de la quantité d'oiseaux qu'il a fallu pour faire ainsi des manteaux entiers.

La section des îles Sandwich nous montre aussi des meubles faits avec différents bois du pays (opiko, haw, kou, olapa, ohia, etc.), entre autres des tables mosaïquées et une immense armoire appartenant au roi.

Sur les murs sont des tableaux représentant des paysages hawaïens et les portraits du roi Kalakaua et de la reine Kapiolani.

Cette exposition est en résumé des plus intéressantes : elle montre l'activité et l'intelligence de cette petite monarchie, où d'ailleurs l'instruction est extrêmement développée car il n'y a pas un habitant, dans le royaume, qui ne sache au moins lire.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889