World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

United States of America

United States of America at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

The United States government was one of the first to want to take part in the 1889 Exhibition. On 10 May 1888, it responded to the invitation of the French government by declaring that it would participate in the Exhibition. The Congress voted without opposition a subsidy of 1,250,000 francs and the government also paid for the transport of American products. Under these conditions, the work of the committee was not difficult: General Franklin was appointed Commissioner General by the government: each of the 38 States of the Union appointed a commissioner, and they set to work. The American industrialists wanted nothing better than to take part in the struggle, and a figure of 1,500 exhibitors were gathered together, occupying an area of 8,000 square metres in the various sections, including Fine Arts. The appearance of the industrial section is very simple: it is decorated with flags in the colours of the different States. In the centre of the section, around a pavilion containing gold, diamond and silver ores, the four most important industrial exhibitions have been grouped.

Firstly, Gorham and Company, the great New York silversmiths, who are exhibiting, among other things, what they call the centenary vase in solid silver, 1m28 high, weighing 60 kilos and worth 125,000 francs. Around this artistically crafted giant are enamels. Then Tiffany, the jeweller, whose shops are all made of solid rosewood, exhibits many diamonds, among them a necklace worth 2,000,000 francs. Then Meviden, who exhibits plated silver, and Collamore with his crystals and porcelain, some of which are of a rather curious pattern.

As we do not have to speak here of the products exhibited in the Galerie des Machines, we do not have to speak of Edison's main products. He exhibits in the Miscellaneous Industries gallery only the graphophone, typewriter and some phonographs similar to those he has in his large exhibition in the Machinery gallery.

But the electricity section is no less interesting. There is an exhibition of Bell telephones which shows, among other things, a telephone pole for 80 wires. Then there is the Western Electric Company's exhibition; specimens of New York's electric conduit; the Graz telotograph, with which one can write at a distance; Mr. Abdank's collection, comprising the complete publication of what has been written on electricity; and finally Professor Elie Thomson's exhibition, in which one will see a massive copper ring 15 centimetres in diameter, held in the air without suspension by the repulsive effects of invisible magnets.

Another very curious exhibition is that of petrified wood, coming from the territory of Avizola: a whole forest which was found transformed into jade, if one can express it in this way; a very beautiful, very curious and unique product in the world has resulted.

The government exhibits a model of post office which seems to be the perfection of the kind; the service of prophetic signals of the time and perfected firearms. Then all over the place and in a bit of a jumble, tobacco, furs, a chocolate Venus, a machine for sweeping carpets without making dust, a device for mending steamboat drive shafts, artificial limbs and typewriters.

In the education section, the photographs of universities and schools are particularly noteworthy.

The agriculture section, on the other hand, is very interesting and well developed. There is the corn palace, which is built entirely of corn and in which the public will be offered corn prepared in every way known and unknown in Europe. Then there are various steam-powered agricultural machines, crushers, corkscrew machines, and finally the government exhibition, which shows the evolution of the various articles, taking us through all the intermediary phases from the state of nature to the finished and saleable article.

From the foregoing it will be seen what a powerful interest the United States exhibition presents. There is perhaps none at the Champ de Mars that is more curious and instructive.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Etats-Unis d'Amérique


Etats-Unis d'Amérique à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Le gouvernement des États-Unis a été un des premiers à vouloir prendre part à l'Exposition de 1889. Il répondit le 10 mai 1888 à l'invitation du gouvernement français, en déclarant qu'il participerait à l'Exposition. Le Congrès vota sans opposition une subvention de 1,250,000 francs et le gouvernement se chargea de plus de payer le transport des produits américains. Dans ces conditions-là, l'œuvre du comité ne fut pas difficile: le général Franklin fut nommé commissaire général par le gouvernement: chacun des 38 États de l'Union nomma un commissaire, et l'on se mit à l'œuvre. Les industriels américains ne demandant pas mieux que de prendre part à la lutte, on réunit un chiffre de 1,500 exposants qui occupent dans les différentes sections, Beaux-Arts compris, une superficie de 8,000 mètres carrés. L'aspect de la section industrielle est des plus simples : elle est décorée avec des drapeaux aux couleurs des différents Etats. On a groupé au centre de la section, autour d'un pavillon contenant des minerais aurifères, diamantifères et argentifères, les quatre expositions industrielles les plus importantes.

D'abord la maison Gorham et Cie, les grands orfèvres de New-York qui exposent entre autres ce qu'ils appellent le vase centenaire en argent massif, haut de 1m28, pesant 60 kilos et valant 125,000 francs. Autour de ce géant fort artistiquement travaillé, se trouvent des émaux. Puis Tiffany, le bijoutier, dont toutes les boutiques sont en bois de rose massif, expose beaucoup de diamants, entre autres un collier valant 2,000,000 de francs. Ensuite Meviden, qui expose de l'argent plaqué, et Collamore avec ses cristaux et ses porcelaines, dont quelques-uns sont d'un modèle assez curieux.

Comme nous n'avons pas à parler ici des produits exposés dans la galerie des Machines, nous n'avons pas à parler des principaux produits d'Edison. Il n'expose dans la galerie des industries diverses que le graphophone, Machine à écrire et quelques phonographes semblables à ceux qu'il a dans sa grande exposition à la galerie des Machines.

Mais la section d'électricité n'en est pas moins des plus intéressantes. On y voit l'exposition des téléphones Bell qui montre entre autres un poteau téléphonique pour 80 fils. Puis l'exposition de la Western Electric Company ; des spécimens de canalisation électrique de New-York, le télotographe de Graz, avec lequel on peut écrire à distance ; la collection de M. Abdank, comprenant la publication complète de ce qui a été écrit sur l'électricité, et enfin l'exposition du professeur Elie Thomson, dans laquelle on verra un anneau de cuivre massif de 15 centimètres de diamètre, maintenu en l'air sans suspension par des effets de répulsion d'aimants invisibles.

Une autre exposition très curieuse est celle de bois pétrifié, provenant du territoire de l'Avizola : toute une forêt qui a été trouvée transformée en jade, si l'on peut s'exprimer ainsi; il en est résulté un produit très beau, très curieux et unique au monde.

Le gouvernement expose un modèle de bureau de poste qui semble être la perfection du genre ; le service des signaux prophétiques du temps et des armes à feu perfectionnées. Puis un peu partout et un peu pêle-mêle, des tabacs, des fourrures, une Vénus en chocolat, une machine à balayer les tapis sans faire de la poussière, un appareil pour raccommoder les arbres moteurs des bateaux à vapeur, des membres artificiels et des machines à écrire.

Dans la section d'éducation, il faut surtout remarquer les photographies des universités et des écoles.

La section d'agriculture est au contraire très intéressante et très développée. On y trouve le palais du maïs, qui est bâti tout en maïs et dans lequel on offrira au public du maïs préparé de toutes les façons connues et inconnues en Europe. Puis différentes machines agricoles mues par la vapeur ; des broyeurs, des machines à fabriquer les tire-bouchons et enfin l'exposition du gouvernement qui montre l'évolution des divers articles nous faisant passer par toutes les phases inter-médiaires depuis l'état de nature jusqu'à l'article fini et vendable.

On voit, par ce qui précède, quel puissant intérêt présente l'exposition des États-Unis. Il n'y en a peut-être point au Champ de Mars qui soit plus curieuse et plus instructive.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889