Back - List of Pavilions

Argentina - Expo Paris 1889

Argentina at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889
Architect(s) : A. Ballu

For some years now, the Argentine Republic has been in fashion. There is nothing but talk of Buenos Aires, of the prosperity of Buenos Aires, of emigration to Buenos Aires. Throughout Europe, governments have been forced to deal seriously with this universal emigration, which is becoming frightening. Buenos-Ayres, that is to say the great Argentine Republic, is the land of gold, of fast business, of quickly won wealth. It is undoubtedly in order to prove that this reputation is legitimate, that the Argentine country has raised a superb pavilion at the foot of the Eiffel Tower, not far from Brazil and Mexico. You can see a large sun crowning the building from a distance. It is there. In a truly republican country, the Argentine Republic is officially competing. It has spent more than any other American nation. Its pavilion cost one million two hundred thousand francs, and the luxury displayed there will attract the French and foreigners in droves. Of all the American pavilions, that of the Argentine Republic is, with that of Mexico, the most important. In order to prove its friendship for France, this rich country was not content to erect a sumptuous building, its Committee asked our best artists to paint the domes, the panels, the galleries. Renowned French painters and sculptors contributed to the ornamentation: Gervex, Besnard, T. Robert-Fleury, Cormon, Saint-Pierre, Merson, Barrias, Favre, Duffer, Chancel, Paris, Montenard, Duez, Toché, Jules Lefebvre, Leroux, Roll, Tureau, Hugues, Pépin, Ch. The earthenware is by Parvillée, the terracotta by Lœbnitz, the stoneware by Muller, the mosaics by Facchina. As you can see, we are dealing with a republican country that does things in a princely manner.

It is Mr. A. Ballu, the architect whose name dispenses with all praise, who made the Argentine Pavilion.

Instead of reproducing monuments as he did in the Algerian section, and in the absence of a characteristic architecture in the style of the Mexican Pavilion, Mr. Ballu boldly embarked on all the innovations that his imagination suggested to him. He was so successful that he claims to have been plagiarized in other installations not far from this one, and he had the President of the Committee for the Artistic Protection of Works of Art take note of the double plagiarism.

The Argentine Pavilion covers an area of 1,600 square metres on the ground floor and 1,400 on the first floor. It is made entirely of iron and cast iron, and can be dismantled and rebuilt in Buenos Aires.

A large iron and wood staircase fills the entrance axis. Around the monument - for it is a real monument - runs a large gallery on the first floor. A huge dome, flanked by four smaller ones, crowns the building. All the outer glass domes are lit by electric light. More than nine hundred points of light will give this palace a fairy-tale appearance every evening.

M. Ballu wanted to remind us everywhere of the wealth of the Argentine Republic. There are only precious stones and earthenware set in terracotta, stained glass windows of an absolutely new system, used in mosaics, decorative sculptures crowning the four corner pylons, the main entrance and adorning the pendentives of the great dome inside. It is here, and also in the interior of the four small domes, that the great French artists have put their signature.

The whole pavilion is covered with earthenware, porcelain, glazed mosaics, enamelled stoneware, applied glass and first-class stone. In a word, luxury everywhere. The good taste of the architect has delicately displayed the wealth of this country in an absolutely original pavilion.

The list of products and things to study that the Argentine Republic exhibits would be very long. Determined to be noticed, in the good sense of the word, this country sends us a host of exhibitors who are all able to do a great deal. The Argentine Republic produces cotton, sugar, tea, maté, tobacco, cocoa, coffee, etc. Its rare trees and plants are innumerable, and the country has a large number of exhibitors. Its trees and rare plants are innumerable, so that in this pavilion one will find all kinds of plants very worthy of observation.

The principal wealth of the country consists in its immense pastures, and its colossal export of cattle is famous. Its meats, its meat extracts, everything that is meat in Buenos-Ayres is absolutely remarkable.

One of the most curious things about the installation is the great refrigerating machine for preserving fresh meat indefinitely without any alteration. Connoisseurs will also find magnificent samples of wool, leather, cotton, saddlery and, above all, canned food. All this explains the emigration fever to Buenos Aires that has seized a large number of inhabitants of our old Europe, a fever that has become a monomania in France, Italy and Spain. The exhibition of the Argentine Republic is not only a great artistic monument, but a kind of summary of the wonders of this country. It will certainly turn many heads and increase the number of emigrants who, faced with all this wealth, will no longer hesitate to undertake the long journey.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Argentine


Argentine à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : A. Ballu

Depuis quelques années, la République Argentine est à la mode. On ne parle que de Buenos-Ayres, de la prospé-rité de Buenos-Ayres, de l'émigration à Buenos-Ayres. Dans toute l'Europe, les gouvernements ont été forcés de s'occuper sérieusement de cette émigration universelle qui devient effrayante. Buenos-Ayres, c'est-à-dire la grande République Argentine, est le pays de l'or, des affaires rapides, de la fortune vite conquise. C'est sans doute afin de prouver que cette réputation est légitime, que le pays argentin a élevé au pied de la Tour Eiffel, non loin du Brésil et du Mexique, un pavillon superbe. Vous voyez de très loin un grand soleil couronnant l'édifice. C'est là. En pays vraiment républicain, la République Argentine concourt officiellement. Elle a fait des dépenses supérieures à celles des autres nations américaines. Son pavillon lui coûte un million deux cent mille francs, et le luxe déployé y attirera en foule les Français et les étrangers. Parmi tous les pavillons américains, celui de la République Argentine est, avec celui du Mexique, le plus important. Afin de prouver son amitié pour la France, ce riche pays ne s'est pas contenté d'édifier un bâtiment fastueux, son Comité a demandé à nos meilleurs artistes de peindre les coupoles, les panneaux, les galeries. Peintres et sculpteurs français en renom ont donc contribué à l'ornementation : Gervex, Besnard, T. Robert-Fleury, Cormon, Saint-Pierre, Merson, Barrias, Favre, Duffer, Chancel, Paris, Montenard, Duez, Toché, Jules Lefebvre, Leroux, Roll, Tureau, Hugues, Pépin, Ch. Gauthier, Dupuis et cent autres figurent partout dans cette installation. Les faïences sont de Parvillée, les terres cuites de Lœbnitz, les grès de Muller, les mosaïques de Facchina. Vous le voyez ; nous avons affaire à un pays républicain qui fait les choses princièrement.

C'est M. A. Ballu, l'architecte dont le nom dispense de tout éloge, qui a fait le Pavillon argentin.

Au lieu de reproduire des monuments comme il l'a fait dans la section algérienne, et en l'absence d'une architecture caractéristique dans le genre de celle du Pavillon mexicain, M. Ballu s'est lancé hardiment dans toutes les innovations que son imagination lui a suggérées. Il a tellement réussi, qu'il prétend avoir été plagié dans d'autres installations qui ne sont pas loin de celle-là, et il a fait prendre acte du double plagiat par le président du Comité de la protection artistique des œuvres d'art.

Le Pavillon argentin occupe une superficie de 1,600 mètres carrés au rez-de-chaussée, et de 1,400 au premier étage. Tout en fer et fonte, il est construit de façon à pouvoir être démonté et reconstruit à Buenos-Ayres.

Un grand escalier en fer et bois remplit l'axe d'entrée. Autour du monument, — car c'est un vrai monument, — court, au premier étage, une grande galerie-promenoir. Une immense coupole, flanquée de quatre plus petites, couronne l'édifice. Tous les cabochons de verre extérieurs sont éclairés à la lumière électrique. Plus de neuf cents points lumineux donneront à ce palais, tous les soirs, un aspect féerique.

M. Ballu a voulu rappeler partout la richesse de la République Argentine. Ce ne sont que pierres précieuses et faïences enchâssées dans les terres cuites, vitraux d'un système absolument nouveau, employés en mosaïques, sculptures décoratives couronnant les quatre pylônes des angles, l'entrée principale et ornant les pendentifs de la grande coupole à l'intérieur. C'est là, et dans l'intérieur aussi des quatre petites coupoles que les grands artistes français ont mis leur signature.

Tout le pavillon est revêtu de faïences, porcelaines, mosaïques vitrifiées, grès émaillés, verre en application, pierres de premier choix. En un mot, le luxe partout. Le bon goût de l'architecte a su étaler délicatement la richesse de ce pays en le logeant dans un pavillon absolument original.

La liste des produits et des choses à étudier que la République Argentine expose serait très longue. Décidé à se faire remarquer, dans le bon sens du mot, ce pays nous envoie une foule d'exposants qui sont tous en mesure de faire grandement les choses. La République Argentine produit le coton, le sucre, le thé, le maté, le tabac, le cacao, le café, etc. Ses arbres et ses plantes rares étant innombrables, on trouvera dans ce pavillon toute espèce de végétaux très dignes d'observation.

La principale richesse du pays consiste dans ses immenses pâturages, et sa colossale exportation de bétail est célèbre. Ses viandes, ses extraits de viandes, tout ce qui est viande à Buenos-Ayres est absolument remarquable.

Une des choses les plus curieuses de l'installation est la grande machine frigorifique permettant de conserver indéfiniment la viande fraîche sans aucune altération. Les connaisseurs trouveront, en outre, de magnifiques échantillons de laines, cuirs, cotons, objets de sellerie, et surtout des conserves alimentaires. Tout cela explique la fièvre d'émigration, pour se rendre à Buenos-Ayres, qui s'est emparée d'un grand nombre d'habitants de notre vieille Europe, fièvre qui est devenue monomanie en France, en Italie, en Espagne. L'exposition de la République Argentine est non seulement un grand monument artistique, mais une sorte, de résumé des merveilles de ce pays. Elle tournera certainement beaucoup de têtes et augmentera le nombre des émigrants qui devant toutes ces richesses n'hésiteront plus à entreprendre le long voyage.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889