World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Gallery of the Glass Factory

manque image

Among man's inanimate servants, glass occupies one of the highest ranks: it is everywhere: in the cellar, in the garden, in the kitchen, in the living room, in the toilet; it is used for everything: for drinking, for lighting, for sheltering, for enlarging objects, for reproducing them; it renders almost every service to us, not counting those that we do not admit.

It is easy to understand how varied its display can be.

It goes, in fact, from the vulgar green or black bottle, of which the Richarme factories showed a curious and very complete collection, to the diamond, imitated to a fault, which is exhibited by a factory of fine glasses, used especially for optics. Let's talk about the latter.

Depending on the instrument, optics requires very dense or, on the contrary, very light lenses of a particular manufacture. These special lenses, made of the finest materials, are called crown glass or flint glass. They have all the appearance and qualities of natural crystal, known as rock crystal, combined with dimensions that the latter cannot achieve. Thus, we are shown here a crown glass lens, lm,05 in diameter. It is the largest ever made, and is intended for the Spence Observatory telescope, built at the expense of the University of Southern California.

Flint is used mainly for plane mirrors, or prisms.


There is not much to be said for window glass, as nothing resembles a window so much as a window like it. Stained glass windows are nowadays in great favour and are consumed to a considerable extent, only as they are expensive, they are quite generally replaced by simple panes of enamelled glass with designs. This arrangement, which is obtained by the application of an enamel on the white glass, gives pretty results.

It is known that, despite the progress of glassmaking, thin glass has not yet been cast and, above all, not cheaply. We shall see that Saint-Gobain is moving in this direction. In the meantime, we are still at the blowing stage, which is currently done either by mouth or by compressed air. It is to blowing that we owe, not only the bottles, but also the glass and the sleeves which are either kept in sleeves called cylinders, for clocks and other objects to be sheltered, or split, extended and annealed for the manufacture of glass.

Watch glasses are also blown. This means that a huge ball, such as the one shown in the middle of the gallery, is blown and watch glasses are cut out of the ball, giving them a slight convexity.


The mirrors are technically cast glass, which distinguishes them from blown glass. Commercial mirrors, in the low price range, are usually only made of double tinned or silvered glass, although they are decorated with the name of mirrors.

The leading organisation in the world for the manufacture of mirrors is the Société des manufactures des glaces et produits chimiques de Saint-Gobain, Chauny et Cirey.

It is a national industry, although it is owned by a limited company. Founded in 1665, on a report from Colbert, to whom we must almost always trace the creation of our great industries, it inaugurated, in 1691, the casting of ice invented by Louis Lucas de Nehou. It is clear that the company has been in existence for 224 years.

In the middle of the gallery, the exhibition includes a magnificent mirror, i.e. one that is intended to be silvered, measuring 7.63m by 4.10m and weighing 938 kilograms. This mirror comes from Chauny. It is accompanied by a series of silvered and non-silvered mirrors and glazed mirrors that exceed the largest dimensions achieved to date. But the most important piece is a window of 8m,14 by 4m,20 which closes a window of class 21. A piece this large has never been produced before.

Saint-Gobain sent one measuring 8.10m by 4.14m, but this one is raw, i.e. it has not yet undergone any of the operations which should give it a polished finish and make it either a window or a mirror. These operations are shown to us in a series of small mirrors which are :
The first, rough, that is to say such as it is provided by the cast iron, in this state, it is grooved and as if sandblasted on one of its faces.
The second is roughened by rubbing with sand.
Then it is soaped with emery, and in this state it resembles what Ton calls frosted glass.
Finally, polished with iron peroxide, it is ready to be silvered by the reaction of tartaric acid with nitrate of
tartaric acid on the silver nitrate. Silver plating replaced mercury plating, which was deadly for the workers.


Saint-Gobain has sought and found many applications for molten glass over the years. For example, the company's factories manufacture polished slabs that can be used as a front for money changers, jewellers and goldsmiths, and, thanks to their resistance, can be used without another closure. There are also headlight and optical parts, represented by a mirror that weighs 600 kilograms.

In the thin glasses mentioned above, we have not yet managed to obtain a polished finish, and we have to be content with replacing the frosted glasses with granulated, fluted or diamond-shaped glasses. They are much more resistant than frosted glass and are less expensive.

For paving, which must allow light to pass through, either tiles with reliefs or simply rough tiles are made. Finally, when a passageway needs to be covered so that cars can drive through and yet light is required, glass blocks can be used, which are 15 centimetres thick and which, when placed on an iron in 1, can withstand any pressure.

Finally, Saint-Gobain glass is used to make wall coverings for hospitals, guttering, communal seats, urinals, and tiles which have the advantage of stopping air and rain while letting light through.


With Saint-Gobain, we have seen just about every industrial application for glass. Now it is being used as a tableware. It is still the beautiful white crystal, cut or engraved, which holds the first rank, and it is not ready to be abandoned, however successful the fancy services imitating either the Venice or the Bohemian may be.

The Middle Ages disease from which French taste suffered some time ago, has left its traces in enamelled glasses which are, my faith, charming in their forms and decorations.

Add to this a large number of goblets, candelabras and chandeliers and you will have a general idea of the glass exhibition.

But what you won't find anywhere is the reason why there is no Baccarat exhibition. I asked everyone about it and no one answered me.

It is, it seems, the secret of the gods.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Paul Le Jeinisel.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie de la Verrerie



Au nombre des serviteurs inanimés de l'homme, le verre occupe l'un des premiers rangs : il est partout : à la cave, au jardin, à la cuisine, au salon, dans le cabinet de toilette ; il sert à tout : pour boire, pour éclairer, pour abriter, pour grossir les objets, pour les reproduire; il nous rend à peu près tous les services, sans compter ceux qu'on n'avoue pas.

On comprend combien son exposition peut être variée.

Elle va, en effet, delà vulgaire bouteille verte ou noire, dont les usines Richarme ont montré une collection curieuse et très complète, jusqu'au diamant, imité à s'y méprendre, qu'expose une fabrique de verres fins, employés surtout pour l'optique. Parlons de suite de ces derniers.

L'optique exige, selon les instruments, des verres d'une fabrication particulière très denses ou au contraire très légers. Ce sont ces verres spéciaux, fabriqués avec des matières de premier choix, qui portent le nom de crown glass, ou de flint glass. Ils ont toute l'apparence et toutes les qualités du cristal naturel, dit cristal de roche, jointes à des dimensions que ce dernier ne saurait atteindre. Ainsi, on nous montre ici un objectif en crown glass, de lm,05 de diamètre. C'est le plus grand qui ait jamais été fabriqué, il est destiné à la lunette de l'Observatoire de Spence, élevé aux frais de l'Université de la Californie du Sud.

Le flint est employé principalement pour les miroirs plans, ou les prismes.


Il n'y a pas grand'chose à dire du verre à vitre, rien ne ressemblant tant à une vitre qu'une vitre pareille. Les vitraux sont aujourd'hui en grande faveur et l'on en fait une consommation considérable, seulement comme ils sont chers, on les remplace assez généralement par de simples vitres en verre émaillé à dessins. Cette disposition,qui est obtenue par l'application d'un émail au poncif sur le verre blanc, donne de jolis résultats.

On sait que, malgré les progrès de la verrerie, on n'est pas encore arrivé à couler les verres minces et surtout à les couler bon marché. Nous verrons que Saint-Gobain s'achemine dans celte voie. En attendant on en est toujours au soufflage, qui se fait actuellement soit à la bouche, soit par l'air comprimé. C'est au soufflage que nous devons, non-seulement les bouteilles, mais encore les vitres et les manchons qui sont, ou bien conservés en manchons dits cylindres, pour les pendules et autres objets à abriter, ou bien fendus, étendus et recuits pour la fabrication des vitres.

Les verres de montre, eux aussi, sont soufflés. C'est-à-dire que l'on souffle une énorme boule, comme celle qui nous est montrée vers le milieu de la galerie, et que l'on découpe dans celle boule des verres de montre, qui ont ainsi une légère convexité.


Les glaces sont techniquement des verres coulés, ce qui les distingue des verres soufflés. Les miroirs du commerce, dans les prix doux, ne sont le plus souvent, quoique décorés du nom de glaces, que du verre double étamé ou argenté.

La première organisation du monde entier pour la fabrication des glaces, est la Société des manufactures des glaces et produits chimiques de Saint-Gobain, Chauny et Cirey.

C'est une industrie nationale, quoiqu'elle soit la propriété d'une société anonyme. Fondée en 1665, sur un rapport de Colbert, à qui il faut presque toujours faire remonter la création de nos grandes industries, elle inaugurait, en 1691, le coulage des glaces inventé par Louis Lucas de Nehou. On voit que la maison a 224 ans d'existence.

Son exposition comprend au milieu de la galerie, une magnifique glace de miroiterie, c'est-à-dire destinée à être argentée, qui mesure 7m,63 sur 4m,10 et pèse 938 kilogrammes. Cette glace vient de Chauny. Elle est accompagnée d'une série de glaces, argentées ou non argentées, et de glaces de vitrages qui dépassent les plus grandes dimensions atteintes jusqu'à ce jour. Mais la pièce la plus considérable est un vitrage de 8m,14 sur 4m,20 qui ferme une vitrine de la classe 21. On n'a jamais produit une pièce aussi grande.

Saint-Gobain en a envoyé une de 8m,10 sur 4m,14, mais celle-là est brute, c'est-à-dire qu'elle n'a encore subi aucune des opérations qui doivent lui donner le poli et en faire, soit.un vitrage soit un miroir. Ces opérations, on nous les montre dans une série de petites glaces qui sont :
La première, brute, c'est-à-dire telle qu'elle est fournie par la fonte, en cet état, elle est striée de rainures et comme sablée sur une de ses faces.
La deuxième est dégrossie par des frictions de sable.
Puis elle est savonnée à l'émeri et, dans cet état, elle ressemble à ce que Ton appelle le verre dépoli.
Enfin, polie au peroxyde de fer, elle est prête à recevoir l'argenture qui est appliquée par la réaction de l'acide
tartrique sur le nitrate d'argent. L'argenture a remplacé l'étamage au mercure, qui était mortel pour les ouvriers.


Saint-Gobain a cherché et trouvé depuis plusieurs années nombre d'applications du verre fondu. C'est ainsi que l'on fabrique dans les usines de la Société des dalles polies qui peuvent servir de devanture aux changeurs, bijoutiers, orfèvres, et, grâce à leur résistance, dispenser d'une autre fermeture. Il y a aussi les pièces de phares et les pièces d'optique, représentées par un miroir qui pèse 600 kilogrammes.

Dans les verres minces dont nous parlons plus haut, on n'est pas encore arrivé à obtenir le poli et il faut se contenter de remplacer par des verres granulés, ou cannelés ou losanges, les verres dépolis. Ils sont beaucoup plus résistants que le verre dépoli tout en coûtant moins cher.

Pour les dallages, qui doivent laisser passer la lumière, on fabrique soit des dalles à reliefs, soit simplement des dalles brutes. Enfin, lorsqu'il s'agit de recouvrir un passage de telle façon que les voitures puissent circuler et que, néanmoins, on veut obtenir de la lumière, on peut employer les pavés de verre, qui ont 15 centimètres d'épaisseur et qui, placés sur fer en 1 résistent à n'importe quelle pression.

Enfin, l'on fait en verre de Saint-Gobain des revêtements de muraille pour les hôpitaux, des plaques de caniveaux, des sièges communs, des urinoirs, et des tuiles qui ont l'avantage d'arrêter l'air et la pluie en laissant passer la lumière.


Nous avons vu avec Saint-Gobain, à peu près toutes les applications industrielles du verre. Le voici maintenant comme service de table. C'est toujours le beau cristal blanc, taillé ou gravé, qui tient le premier rang, et il n'est pas prêt d'être abandonné, si réussis que puissent être les services de fantaisie imitant soit le Venise, soit le Bohême.

La maladie moyen âge dont a souffert il y a quelque temps le goût français, a laissé ses traces dans des verres émaillés qui sont, ma foi, charmants de formes et de décorations.

Ajoutez à cela un fort lot de coupes, de candélabres et de lustres et vous aurez une idée générale de l'exposition de verrerie.

Mais ce que vous n'aurez trouvé nulle part, c'est la raison pour laquelle il n'y a pas d'exposition de la manufacture de Baccarat. J'ai interrogé tout le monde à ce sujet et nul ne m'a répondu.

C'est, paraît-il, le secret des dieux.

Paul Le Jeinisel.