World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Goldsmiths' Gallery

Goldsmiths' Gallery at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Door

However rich it may be, the monumental entrance to class 24 (goldsmiths) is one of those banal façades like those of bronze and watchmaking.

But here, let us be clear, I do not mean that these façades are of no value, on the contrary, they would look good in many places; but here, in the midst of the excellent things gathered in a space that is, all in all, limited, what is only good is likely to appear mediocre.

Thus, this entrance lacks character, although it was thought necessary, in order to break the uniformity, to widen the two bays on the left and right at the expense of the central bay, which is now only a false entrance occupied by a white marble vase, or one playing the white marble.

Short blue columns with gold cladding at the base and equally gold capitals support the round arches of the bays. There is much, much gold in all of this and yet it is far from giving rise to any idea of wealth, quite the contrary. There are also details that have been executed with great carelessness. For example, the escutcheons which depict the old arms of the silversmiths above each opening are executed as crudely as possible, and already they are blistering and will crumble and fall off.

The same observation can be made for the gilding of the cornice, but here it is more serious and above all more counter-intuitive, for if gold is a chimera, it was not in the interest of the silversmiths to prove it to us.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Alfred Grandin.


Gallery

Goldsmithing has a long history of nobility in France. - It proudly claims to be the work of the good Saint Éloi who, after having seated his monarch Dagobert on a throne of solid gold, gave him - probably in order to keep him there, despite the political storms of the time - advice of such harsh frankness.

This Saint Eloi was, in fact, a goldsmith; he worked with the same hammer and on the same anvil, and near the same forge, from which his assistant Oculi drew the bellows, the horseshoes and the crowns of the good King Dagobert, and perhaps he would be astonished if he saw the path that the profession he honoured has taken, from the rough Merovingian goldsmiths to the table tops of Christofle.

He would in any case be happy and proud, after passing through the large blue and gold columned doorway which, from the thirty-metre gallery, leads into the goldsmith's shop, to see how gallantly his successors have installed their works in light galleries whose columns support green hangings.

Goldsmiths' and silversmiths' work can be divided - roughly speaking - into three main parts:
Domestic silverware, decorative silverware, religious silverware. The three parts are largely represented by old houses which have been the glory of French industry and art for years.
Domestic silverware, tableware, cutlery, etc., is by far the least interesting. Flatware has long since fallen out of fashion, and for good reason, and electrochemical processes have brought silverware so far into the realm of industrial production that it has lost all its artistic cachet, which is the case with real silverware.

Table tops are as much decorative silverware as they are domestic silverware, since they decorate beautifully and serve no purpose at all. There are some magnificent ones, including one in the style of Louis XIV, which looks absolutely royal.

Toiletries - which are very domestic - are made only for export. It is a rather gaudy luxury which displeases our French women - at least those with taste. It is true that they all have taste.

Ornamental silverware is, by its very value, somewhat confined to the trinket: it is not within the reach of the general public to acquire pieces of importance as was produced during the Renaissance, boxes without a purpose, sconces without a goal, only decorative. We are in the midst of the reign of the cream pot, which is only on the shelf, of the tea set, which is placed prominently, but into which one carefully avoids pouring a drop of liquid. The statuettes are also very well worn; here is a Semeur which has real allure and a Bacchante which would be perfect, were it not for a little mawkishness. At other times, the goldsmith's art is merely the setting for an object of art, as with this ravishing statuette of Mercié, which stands out on an admirable silver canvas.

As for style, the rococo triumphs, everything is volute, small branches, varied foliage, ornaments in profusion; too many ornaments even. One can also blame the abuse of black and oxidised silver, which brings out the delicacy of the chiselling, but which gives a false patina, not to the taste of the truly delicate.

Even more than the details, the ornaments have remained pure Louis XV. One should not complain about this, for it is a truly French style, cheerful, warm, shimmering; what the hell, goldsmithing cannot arouse such majestic ideas that one is saddened by them.

The style of the 19th century is hardly to be found anywhere else than in the objets d'art intended to be given as prizes in competitions, and of which Christofle exhibits an important collection. Mercié, Coutan, Delaplanche, are the usual suppliers of this silverware, a little banal in its reproductions, but whose originals denote a conscientious study of nature; there are reapers, haymakers, farm girls who are truly inspired by an astonishing search for the real thing.

But the most interesting part of this section is undoubtedly religious goldsmithing. It had its renaissance in this century. Under the vigorous impulse of the artistic doctrines of the master Viollet-le-Duc, it abandoned all that it had, by degeneration, acquired of mawkish and contrived, to return to pure architectural conceptions, translated by an art arrived at its maximum of productive means. The altars intended for the churches of Rouen, the high altar of Mierville are true masterpieces, monuments of art that recall the best periods of religious goldsmithing.

Alongside this, the worship accessories are no less admirable, and we should mention several monstrances of superb workmanship and an episcopal armchair, a faldistorium intended for the archbishop of Sens and which was executed according to drawings by Viollet-le-Duc.
The masters of painting now provide the enamellers with cartons, and patient research has brought them back into possession of recipes and techniques that have been lost for centuries.


It is necessary to mention in passing pewter goldsmithing. This metal with its soft tones, so malleable, so suitable for all sorts of uses, has provided some charming pieces of crockery. Unfortunately, this is a revival that has little chance of success. Goldsmithing pewter seems to be as dead as truly chiselled iron, of which there are some very attractive samples.


Goldsmithing has always been an art of many tricks and bizarre masterpieces; so it is not surprising to find a few curiosities here; we will mention two.

One is a silver reproduction of the Paris Bourse at 275. It seems that on closer inspection, not a single detail is missing. Around this Greek temple in metal are placed 64 street lamps whose lanterns measure about two millimetres in height. It seems that these 64 lanterns were supposed to light up. However, as no gas was installed in the gallery, we were deprived of this spectacle.


The other curiosity is the work of Mr. Dufresne Saint-Léon, an erudite, if slightly fanciful, artist who has restored some very interesting pieces of medieval goldsmithery. His masterpiece is called The Crowns. It is a huge bowl around which, on different levels, are grouped energetic figures; Latin legends shed a dim light on this dishevelled but truly artistic composition. There is the ambition that devours Caesar, the vengeance that intoxicates Attila, the avarice that gnaws at Croesus. All these philosophical expressions are represented by wild cavales that unrestrainedly drag the said characters along, while at the top Saint Thecla rests in her glorious purity and in peace.

It is highly symbolic, but very beautiful.


©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henri Anry.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie de l'Orfèvrerie


Galerie de l'Orfèvrerie à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Porte

Si riche qu'elle soit, l'entrée monumentale de la classe 24 (orfèvrerie) est une de ces façades banales comme celles du bronze et de l'horlogerie.

Mais ici, entendons-nous bien, je ne veux pas dire que ces façades ne soient d'aucune valeur, elles feraient au contraire bonne figure en maint endroit; mais ici, au milieu des excellentes choses rassemblées dans un espace, somme toute, restreint, ce qui n'est que bien a des chances de paraître médiocre.

Ainsi, cette entrée manque de caractère bien qu'on ait cru devoir, pour rompre l'uniformité, élargir les deux baies de gauche et de droite au détriment de la baie centrale, qui n'est plus qu'une fausse entrée occupée par un vase de marbre blanc, ou jouant le marbre blanc.

De courtes colonnes bleues avec revêtement d'or à la base et des chapiteaux également dorés supportent les arcs en plein cintre des baies. Il y a beaucoup, beaucoup d'or dans tout cela et cependant c'est loin de faire naître la moindre idée de richesse, bien au contraire. Il y a du reste des détails qui ont été exécutés avec une grande négligence. Par exemple, les écussons qui retracent au-dessus de chaque ouverture les anciennes armes des orfèvres sont exécutés aussi grossièrement que possible, et déjà ils se boursouflent et vont s'effriter et tomber.

On peut faire la même observation pour la dorure de la corniche, mais ici c'est plus grave et surtout plus à contresens, car si l'or est une chimère, il n'était pas de l'intérêt des orfèvres de nous le prouver.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Alfred Grandin.


Galerie

L'orfèvrerie a de vieilles lettres de noblesse en France. — Elle se réclame orgueilleusement de ce bon saint Éloi qui, après avoir assis son monarque Dagobert sur un trône d'or massif, lui donnait, — probablement pour l'y maintenir, en dépit des orages politiques de ce temps, — des conseils d'une si rude franchise.

Ce saint Éloi était, à vrai dire, un forgeron sur or; il travaillait du même marteau et sur la même enclume, et près de la même forge, dont son aide Oculi tirait le soufflet, les fers à cheval et les couronnes du bon roi Dagobert et peut-être serait-il bien étonné s'il voyait le chemin qui a été parcouru par la profession qu'il honora, depuis les rudes orfèvreries mérovingiennes jusqu'aux surtouts de tables de chez Christofle.

Il serait en tout cas heureux et fier, après avoir passé la grande porte à colonnes bleu et or qui, de la galerie de trente mètres, dorme accès dans l'orfèvrerie, de voir combien galamment ses successeurs ont installé leurs œuvres, dans de légères galeries dont les colonnettes supportent des tentures vertes.

L'orfèvrerie peut se diviser — en gros — en trois grandes parties :
L'orfèvrerie domestique, l'orfèvrerie décorative, l'orfèvrerie religieuse. Les trois parties sont largement représentées par des vieilles maisons qui sont, depuis des années, la gloire de l'industrie et de l'art français.
L'orfèvrerie domestique, services de tables, couverts, etc., est de beaucoup la moins intéressante. La vaisselle plate, depuis longtemps, n'est plus de mode et pour cause, et d'autre part les procédés électrochimiques ont mis le couvert argenté tellement dans le domaine de la production industrielle, qu'il a perdu tout le cachet artistique, ce qui est le cas des vrais couverts d'argent.

Les surtouts de tables sont autant de l'orfèvrerie décorative que de l'orfèvrerie domestique, attendu qu'ils décorent superbement et ne servent à rien du tout. Il y en a de magnifiques, entre autres un dans le style de Louis XIV, qui. a une allure absolument royale.

Les services de toilette, — on ne peut plus domestiques,, ceux-là, — se fabriquent uniquement pour l'exportation. C'est un luxe un peu criard qui déplaît à nos Françaises,. — à celles du moins qui ont du goût. Il est vrai qu'elles, en ont toutes.

L'orfèvrerie d'ornement est, par sa valeur même, un peu confinée dans le bibelot : il n'est pas à la portée du public en général, d'acquérir des pièces d'importance comme en-, produisait la Renaissance, des coffrets sans destination, des appliques sans but, seulement décoratives. Nous sommes en plein règne du pot à crème, qui figure seulement sur l'étagère, du service à thé, que l'on place en évidence, mais dans lequel on évite soigneusement de verser une goutte de liquide. Les statuettes sont aussi très bien portées; voici un Seméur qui a véritablement de l'allure et une Bacchante qui serait parfaite, n'était un peu de mièvrerie. D'autres fois l'orfèvrerie n'est que le cadre d'un objet d'art, comme avec cette ravissante statuette de Mercié qui ressort sur une admirable toile d'argent.

Comme style, le rococo triomphe, tout est volute, menues branches, feuillages variés, ornements à profusion; trop d'ornements même. On peut également blâmer l'abus des argents noirs, des oxydés qui font ressortir, il est vrai, la délicatesse des ciselures, mais qui donnent une fausse patine, peu du goût des véritables délicats.

Plus encore que les détails, les parures sont restées au pur Louis XV. Il ne faut pas s'en plaindre, car c'est là un style véritablement français, gai, chaud, chatoyant; que diable, l'orfèvrerie ne saurait éveiller des idées si majestueuses qu'on en soit attristé.

Le style du XIXe siècle, on ne le trouve guère que dans les objets d'art destinés à être donnés en prix dans les concours, et dont Christofle expose une collection importante. Mercié, Coutan, Delaplanche, sont les fournisseurs habituels de cette orfèvrerie, un peu banale par ses reproductions, mais dont les originaux dénotent une consciencieuse étude de la nature ; il y a des faucheurs, des faneuses, des filles de fermes qui sont véritablement inspirés d'une recherche étonnante du vrai.

Mais la partie la plus intéressante de cette section est incontestablement l'orfèvrerie religieuse. Elle eut, dans ce siècle, sa renaissance. Sous la vigoureuse impulsion des doctrines artistiques du maître Viollet-le-Duc, elle a abandonné tout ce qu'elle avait, par dégénérescence, acquis de mièvre et de contourné, pour en revenir à de pures conceptions architecturales, traduites par un art arrivé à son maximum de moyens producteurs. Les autels destinés aux églises de Rouen, le maître-autel de Mierville sont de véritables chefs-d'œuvre, des monuments d'art qui rappellent les meilleures époques de l'orfèvrerie religieuse.

A côté, les accessoires de culte ne sont pas moins admirables, il faut citer plusieurs ostensoirs d'un travail superbe et un fauteuil épiscopal, un faldistorium destiné à l'archevêque de Sens et qui a été exécuté d'après des dessins de Viollet-le-Duc.
Nous retrouvons là un art également bien français, qui est entrain de renaître, l'émail.Les maîtres de la peinture fournissent aujourd'hui des cartons aux maîtres émail-leurs, que de patientes recherches ont remis en possession de recettes et de tour de main perdus depuis des siècles.


Il faut citer en passant l'orfèvrerie d'étain. Ce métal aux tons doux, si malléable, si propre à recevoir toute espèce de façons, a fourni quelques pièces de vaisselle qui ont beaucoup de charme. Malheureusement, c'est une renaissance qui, celle-là, n'a que peu de chances de succès. L'étain d'orfèvrerie paraît mort comme le fer véritablement ciselé, dont il y a quelques échantillons pourtant bien attrayants.


L'orfèvrerie a été de tout temps un art à tour de forces et à chefs-d'œuvre bizarres ; aussi n'est-il pas étonnant de trouver ici quelques curiosités; nous en citerons deux.

L'une est une reproduction en argent, de la Bourse de Paris au 275me. Il paraît qu'en examinant à la loupe il n'y manque pas un détail. Autour de ce temple grec en métal sont placés 64 réverbères dont les lanternes mesurent à peu près deux millimètres de hauteur. Il paraît que ces 64 lanternes devaient s'allumer. Mais, comme on n'a pas installé de gaz dans la galerie, nous avons été privés de ce spectacle.


L'autre curiosité est l'œuvre de M. Dufresne Saint-Léon, un artiste érudit, quoique légèrement fantaisiste, qui a restitué de bien intéressantes pièces d'orfèvrerie moyen âge. Son chef-d'œuvre s'appelle Les Couronnes. C'est une coupe immense autour de laquelle, à différents étages, sont groupées d'énergiques figures; des légendes latines éclairent, d'un jour faible, cette composition échevelée mais véritablement artistique. Il y a l'ambition qui dévore César, la vengeance qui enivre Attila, l'avarice qui ronge Crésus. Toutes ces expressions philosophiques sont représentées par des cavales sauvages qui sans frein entraînent les dits personnages, tandis qu'au sommet sainte Thècle repose dans sa glorieuse pureté et dans la paix.

C'est fortement symbolique, mais c'est très beau.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henri Anry.