World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Gallery of Tapestry - Decorators

Gallery of Tapestry - Decorators at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Door

If the two entrances to the Clockwork and Bronze sections give a certain amount of chill on the right side of the thirty-metre gallery, this bad impression is immediately erased in front of the superb door of class 48.

The upholsterers and decorators have done things splendidly, and they have certainly proved the proverbial shoemakers wrong. Their three-bay facade, one of which is round-headed, the middle one, and the other two, with straight lintels, is composed of marble panels of various colours, with gold highlights.

Above each of the end bays, a composition by the young master Charles Toché, the decorator of Chenonceaux, fills the part that has been gained by the lowering of the lintel.

One of these paintings represents - says the legend inscribed in a corner of the work - the decorative painters, the upholsterers and the ornamental sculptors. This one is rather cold. But its neighbour is pleasantly fanciful. In the middle of the panel, an old woman drapes a thick brocade over the shoulders of a young person, who is in great need of this garment, for she is clad only in a pearl held to her neck by a chain. The sight of the young person, in such a gallant state of undress, does not move her neighbour on the right, an enameller, also naked - this is obviously in the South - who is putting the finishing touches to the decoration of a vase.

The tones are curiously exaggerated. While the young woman is a milky pink, her enameller neighbour is brick red.

The moral is safeguarded by the presence of the old seamstress, - whose role in the decorative tapestry I do not quite see, - and who has, under her glasses and white cap, an honest air which rules out all malicious suppositions. This is so true that the fourth character in the panel, a neighbour who is colouring a statue of the Virgin, does not even think of turning his head and remains absorbed in his chromosculpture.

All of this is violently executed, with oppositions that are sometimes too deliberate, but Charles Toché must nevertheless be recognised as having a real talent for interior decoration. And the upholsterers have shown great intelligence in associating their work with that of this artist who is their best collaborator.

It goes without saying that hangings occupy a large place in this façade, there are hangings of all styles and for all tastes. But the one in the middle, a huge Venetian door in red velvet with gold tassels, is particularly remarkable.

Golden Book of the Exhibition - Alfred Grandin.


Gallery

When the building industry is going - everything is going -, it is usually said, and this is true because of the multiplicity of industries that derive from the building industry and live from it. At the forefront of these industries is that of the decorative upholsterer, which is indeed an art and not one of the least refined.

And it must be said that for the moment the building industry is doing admirably, because the art of upholsterers and decorators is in a superb period of bloom. This period has lasted for twenty-five years. In all peoples and in all ages, the development of the art of the upholsterer has been the criterion of the wealth of the age and its taste for luxury and comfort. The great Asiatic civilisations were able to erect the most superb monuments, cyclopean palaces and temples, where thousands of gods fraternised at Taise; but the bare walls of these marvellous edifices indicate very clearly that nothing was born of what constitutes with us the sense of comfort and domestic life. Imperial Rome itself did not suspect this very modern luxury, nor did the artists of the Middle Ages. The artists of the Renaissance began to lay the foundations of the decorative art, which today has become so widespread that it costs almost less to build a stylish house than to furnish it, not including the furniture.

For we do not have to deal here with furniture, whose most remarkable productions we have shown elsewhere. Certainly the furniture remains, even in this class 21, the principal object since it includes "objects of bedding, upholstered seats, etc.," but it is with the accessories that we will have to deal with the bed; we will see only the canopy, and the seat only the trim.


The gallery is occupied entirely by a series of arches, which imitate the stone detailing and which give the place a more than severe appearance. It is naked, like Hassan on his sopha. But this austerity is only a very well-intentioned skill. It leaves all their value to the ornamental motifs, to the decorations which form the exhibition itself.

Within this rigid framework, the upholsterers have installed marvels of drapery and decoration, some in a marked style, others, and this is the great majority, without any style, or rather bringing them all together in that amiable disorder which is the great chic of modern furnishing.

As soon as we enter, to the right of the monumental door, we find a bedroom - "Interpreted Delaplanche period," says the exhibitor. The interpretation is very pretty; the bed is placed on a sort of platform in a cutaway, a balustrade separates it from the room, everything is white, soft blue, soft pink, gold or silver. Above the baldachin, a marabou crown and large white feathers seem to indicate that this room is intended for the Princess of Wales or someone in her family.

In this one room alone we find, more or less, a sample of all the productions of the art of the upholsterer and decorator, and God knows how varied they are!

We have almost every decorative motif, either in the hanging or in the furnishings. Varnish, stone cardboard, plaster and papier-mâché patterns, so used for light ornaments. This last branch of the decorator's industry has developed considerably in recent years. And there is not a living room today that does not have a rose window in the most rococo Louis XV style. And when this is carefully applied to a suitable background, it is difficult to tell whether one is in the presence of a sculpture or a simple staff moulding.


The big novelty shops, which sell furniture as they sell horses, carriages, negroes and railway tracks, have each installed a bedroom. It is not very artistic, but it is so copiously crowded that a column would be needed to describe each of these furnishings.

It will suffice to point out a very fine needlepoint reproduction of Alexander's Battles, by Lebrun, which can rival the finest classical tapestries.

Another mode of reproduction of tapestries, which form very beautiful panels, is the wooden mosaic. Here it is not a question of stone cubes set in a clear cement, but of small square wooden sticks which, suitably assembled, can reproduce any point. The palette of this mosaic is, so to speak, infinite; at the present time, there are more than 12,000 different shades. It is understandable that it is still, more than stone mosaic, a work of patience. In the large point, 40,000 logs are needed to cover one square metre of composition. In the small point, 160,000 sticks are needed. This process has been used to reproduce hangings and paintings by masters. It is at the same time very artistic, very exact and very solid; when the panel begins to lose its freshness, it is enough to scrape it slightly, to revive the nuances by removing light chips, the log being dyed in all its length, the drawing and the colours are not altered.


Upholsterers are the ones who make transformations of furniture that can turn a couch into a bed, a surgical table or a chaise longue. This type of transformation is very fashionable. Doctors, for their part, have for some time now given up those horrible moleskin-covered armchairs that used to look like instruments of torture in their surgeries; it is an elegant sofa that, with a simple push, will be transformed into an operating bed. You suffer just as much during, but you don't suffer before; and that's just as much gained.

These pieces of furniture have the massive and soft forms that were once their prerogative, but all living-room furniture today has come to these softnesses and roundnesses. As little wood as possible is shown, and all angles are rounded. It is the oriental divan that triumphs.


Religious furniture has as much to do with the art of the cabinetmaker as with that of the upholsterer, and it would even be difficult to say under which signs we find choir stalls here. Perhaps it is because they have not been placed anywhere else, and it would really have been a pity not to show them to us, for they are superb.

Religious statues belong to the art of the ornamentalist and the decorator, or rather they do not belong to any art. For there is a deplorable decadence in this industry. Figures without character, shapeless garments, emblems which by routine have lost all their primitive symbolism, that is what remains of this magnificent Christian art which was one of the most glorious parts of French art. It is still, as the great Catholic polemicist Léon Bloy eloquently wrote, the unpacking of the Rue Saint-Sulpice, "the Saint Joseph uniformly dressed in a blue tartan striped with slug burrs, offering a potato flower to a cerulean Infant Jesus". No inspiration, no breath, no faith. The whole line of saints, whose hieratic attitudes are nothing more than banal; And one is deeply saddened, whether one is a believer or simply an artist, when one compares these unbearable theories of mannered saints, covered in the same whitewash, of puffed-up and pink saints, dressed in the same azure, to the radiant processions that pass through the stained-glass windows of the Middle Ages, to the celestial courts that the Primitives knelt at the feet of the Virgins and of the Emmanuel Child. Lady, we understand a little of this decadence. Commerce is where faith was, and one cannot ask a good merchant in the Rue du Vieux-Colombier for the artistic impulses of Fra Angelico of Fiesole.

However, we must do justice to a remarkable piece, a Saint Martin sharing his cloak, carved in solid wood, by some unskilled workman perhaps, but who must have revived the time of the legend. It is naive and sometimes carved with an axe, but it is there, whereas the gilded wood St. Vincent de Paul and the gingerbread St. Francis of Assisi are absolutely non-existent.


Marbles are found in both religious and domestic decoration. It must be admitted that they are much more stylish in the latter. Amongst others, we find some superb fireplaces. One Louis XVI in blue marble is worthy of all praise. Another of great style, in Pyrenean marble, would not be out of place in any palace.

This is art, at its most decorative, without the needs of decoration having cut the wings of artistic inspiration.

And this is the great pitfall that, with the benefit of the few criticisms we have just made, our decorators know very well how to avoid.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Paul Le Jeinisel.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie des Tapissiers - Décorateurs


Galerie des Tapissiers - Décorateurs à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Porte

Si les deux entrées de l'Horlogerie et du Bronze jettent un certain froid sur Je côté droit de la galerie de trente mètres, cette mauvaise impression s'efface tout de suite devant la superbe porte de la classe 48.

Les tapissiers décorateurs ont fait, eux, splendidement les choses, et certes ils ont su faire mentir ce proverbe qui dit les cordonniers toujours mal chaussés. Leur façade à trois baies, dont une en plein cintre, celle du milieu, et les deux autres, à linteaux droits, se compose de panneaux de marbre de diverses couleurs, avec des rehauts d'or.

Au-dessus de chacune des baies extrêmes, une composition du jeune maître Charles Toché, le décorateur de Chenonceaux, vient remplir la partie qui a été gagnée par le surbaissement du linteau.

L'une de ces peintures représente — dit la légende inscrite en un coin de l'œuvre — les peintres décorateurs, les tapissiers et les sculpteurs ornemanistes. Celle-là est assez froide. Mais sa voisine est d'une agréable fantaisie. Au milieu du panneau, une vieille bonne femme drape un brocart épais sur les épaules d'une jeune personne, qui a bien besoin de ce vêtement, car elle est uniquement vêtue d'une perle retenue à son cou par une chaînette. La vue de la jeune personne, en si galant déshabillé, n'émeut pas son voisin de droite, un émailleur, tout nu également, — cela se passe évidemment dans le Midi, — qui met la dernière main à la décoration d'un vase.

Les tonalités sont très curieusement exagérées. Tandis que la jeune femme est d'un rose laiteux, son émailleur de voisin est, lui, rouge brique.

La morale est sauvegardée par la présence de la vieille couturière, — dont je ne vois pas bien le rôle dans la tapisserie décorative, — et qui a sous ses lunettes et son bonnet blanc, un air honnête qui écarte toutes les suppositions malveillantes. Cela est tellement vrai que le quatrième personnage du panneau, un voisin qui met en couleur une statue de la Vierge, n'a pas même l'idée de tourner la tête et reste absorbé par sa chromosculpture.

Tout cela est violemment exécuté, avec des oppositions quelquefois trop voulues, mais il n'en faut pas moins reconnaître à Charles Toché un véritable talent pour la décoration intérieure. Et les tapissiers ont fait preuve de grande intelligence en associant à leurs œuvres, celle de cet artiste qui est leur meilleur collaborateur.

Il va sans dire que les tentures occupent une grande place dans cette façade, il y en a de tous les styles, et pour tous les goûts. Mais celle du milieu, une immense portière vénitienne de velours rouge à glands d'or, est particulièrement remarquable.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Alfred Grandin.


Galerie

Quand le bâtiment va —tout va —, dit-on habituellement, et cela est vrai à cause de la multiplicité des industries qui procèdent du bâtiment et vivent de lui. Au premier rang de ces industries figure celle du tapissier décorateur, qui est même, bel et bien, un art et non l'un des moins raffinés.

Et il faut croire que pour l'instant le bâtiment va admirablement, car l'art des tapissiers et des décorateurs est dans une superbe période d'épanouissement. Voilà bien vingt-cinq ans qu'elle dure, cette période. Chez tous les peuples et à tous les âges, le développement de l'art du tapissier a été le critérium de la richesse de l'époque et de ses goûts de luxe et de confortable. Les grandes civilisations asiatiques ont su élever les plus superbes monuments, des palais cyclopéens et des temples, où des milliers de dieux fraternisaient à Taise; mais les murs nus de ces merveilleux édifices indiquent très nettement que rien n'était né de ce qui constitue chez nous le sens du confortable et de la vie domestique. La Rome impériale, elle-même, n'a pas soupçonné ce luxe tout moderne, non plus que les artistes du moyen âge. Ceux de la Renaissance ont commencé à jeter les fondements de l'art décoratif, quia pris aujourd'hui une telle extension que cela coûte presque moins cher de construire une maison de style, que de l'aménager, non compris le mobilier.

Car nous n'avons pas à nous occuper ici du meuble, dont nous avons montré ailleurs les plus remarquables productions. Certainement le meuble reste, même dans cette classe 21, l'objet principal puisqu'elle comprend les « objets de literie, sièges garnis, etc., » mais, c'est de l'accessoire que nous aurons à nous occuper du lit; nous ne verrons que le baldaquin, et du siège que la garniture.


La galerie est occupée toute entier par une série d'arcades, qui imitent la pierre détaille et qui donnent à l'en semble un aspect plus que sévère. C'est nu, comme Hassan sur son sopha. Mais cette austérité n'est qu'une habileté très entendue. Elle laisse toute leur valeur aux motifs ornementaux, aux décorations qui forment l'exposition proprement dite.

Dans ce cadre rigide, les tapissiers ont installé des merveilles de tenture et de décoration, les unes d'un style marqué, les autres, et c'est la grande majorité, sans aucun style, ou plutôt les réunissant tous dans cet aimable désordre qui est le grand chic de l'ameublement moderne.

Dès l'entrée, à droite de la porte monumentale, nous trouvons une chambre à coucher — Epoque Delaplanche interprétée, — dit l'exposant. L'interprétation est fort jolie; le lit est placé sur une sorte d'estrade dans un pan coupé, une balustrade le sépare de la chambre, tout est blanc, bleu tendre, rose tendre, or ou argent. Au-dessus du baldaquin, un couronnement de marabout, de grandes plumes blanches semblent indiquer que cette chambre est destinée à la princesse de Galles ou à quelqu'un de sa famille.

Nous trouvons dans cette seule chambre, à peu de chose près, un échantillon de toutes les productions de l'art du tapissier et du décorateur, et Dieu sait si elles sont variées !

Nous avons presque tous les motifs de décoration, soit dans la tenture soit dans l'ameublement. Les vernis, les cartons pierre, les motifs de plâtre et de papier mâché., si employés pour les ornements légers. Cette dernière branche de l'industrie du décorateur a pris, pendant ces dernières années, un développement considérable. Et il n'est plafond de salon qui ne possède aujourd'hui sa rosace fouillée dans le goût Louis XV le plus rococo. Et quand cela est appliqué avec soin sur un fond convenable, il est bien difficile de dire si l'on se trouve en présence d'une sculpture ou d'un simple moulage en staff.


Les grands magasins de nouveautés, qui vendent de l'ameublement comme ils vendent au besoin des chevaux, des voitures, des nègres et des rails de chemin de fer, ont installé chacun une chambre à coucher. C'est peu artistique, mais c'est si copieusement encombré qu'il faudrait une colonne pour la description de chacun de ces ameublements.

Il suffira de signaler une très belle reproduction en point à l'aiguille des batailles d'Alexandre, de Lebrun, qui peut rivaliser avec les plus belles tapisseries classiques.

Une autre mode de reproduction des tapisseries, qui forment de fort beaux panneaux, est la mosaïque de bois. Il s'agit ici non de cubes de pierre enchâssés dans un ciment clair, mais de petites bûchettes de bois carrées qui, assemblées convenablement, peuvent reproduire n'importe que) point. La palette de cette mosaïque est, pour ainsi dire, infinie ; à l'heure qu'il est, il existe plus de 12,000 teintes diverses. On comprend que c'est encore, plus que la mosaïque de pierre, un travail de patience. Dans le gros point, il faut 40,000 bûchettes pour couvrir un mètre carré de composition. Dans le petit point, il faut 160,000 bûchettes. Par ce procédé on a reproduit des tentures, des tableaux de maîtres. C'est à la fois très artistique, très exact et très solide; quand le panneau commence à perdre de sa fraîcheur, il suffit de le gratter légèrement, pour raviver les nuances en enlevant de légers copeaux, la bûchette étant teinte dans toute sa longueur, le dessin et les teintes n'en sont pas altérés.


Ce sont les tapissiers qui fabriquent les meubles à transformation permettant de faire d'un divan, un lit, une table d'opération chirurgicale ou une chaise longue. C'est un genre de transformation qui est fort à la mode. Les médecins ont pour leur part, depuis pas mal de temps, renoncé à ces horribles fauteuils recouverts de moleskine qui, dans leur cabinet, prenaient des airs d'instrument de supplice; c'est un élégant canapé qui, sous une simple pression, va se transformer en un lit d'opération. On souffre tout autant pendant, mais on ne souffre pas avant; et c'est autant de gagné.

Ces meubles ont des formes massives et molles qui étaient autrefois leur apanage, mais tout le mobilier de salon d'aujourd'hui en est venu à ces mollesses et à ces rondeurs. On montre le moins de bois possible, et l'on arrondit tous les angles. C'est le divan oriental qui triomphe.


Le mobilier religieux tient autant de l'art de l'ébéniste que de celui du tapissier, et même il serait difficile de dire à quelles enseignes nous trouvons ici des stalles de chœur. C'est peut-être parce qu'elles n'ont trouvé place nulle part ailleurs, et vraiment c'eût été dommage qu'on ne nous les montrât pas, car elles sont superbes.

Les statues religieuses appartiennent à l'art de l'ornemaniste et du décorateur, ou plutôt elles n'appartiennent hélas! à aucun art. Car il faut constater une déplorable décadence dans cette industrie. Les figures sans caractère, les vêtements informes, les emblèmes qui par la routine ont perdu tout leur primitif symbolisme, voilà ce qui reste de ce magnifique art chrétien qui fut une des plus glorieuses parties de l'art français. C'est toujours, ainsi que l'écrivit éloquemment le grand polémiste catholique Léon Bloy, le déballage de la rue Saint-Sulpice, « le saint Joseph uniformément vêtu d'un tartan bleu rayé de bavures de limaces, offrant une fleur de pomme de terre à un Enfant Jésus céruléen ». Plus d'inspiration, plus de souffle, plus de foi. La camelotte sur toute la ligne des saints, dont les attitudes hiératiques ne sont plus que banales; et l'on est profondément attristé, que l'on soit croyant ou simplement artiste, quand l'on compare ces insupportables théories de saints maniérés, badigeonnés de la même bure, de saintes bouffies et roses, attifées du même azur, aux radieux cortèges qui passent sur les vitraux du moyen âge, aux cours célestes que les Primitifs ont agenouillées aux pieds des Vierges et de l'Emmanuel Enfant. Dame, on comprend un peu cette décadence. Le commerce est où fut la foi, et l'on ne saurait demander à un brave négociant de la rue du Vieux-Colombier, les élans artistiques de fra Angelico de Fiesole.

Cependant il faut rendre justice à une pièce remarquable, un Saint Martin partageant son manteau, sculpté en plein bois, par quelque ouvrier peu habile peut-être, mais qui a dû revivre le temps de la légende. C'est naïf et parfois taillé à coups de hache, mais cela est, tandis que les Saint-Vincent de Paul en bois doré et les Saint-François d'Assise en pain d'épice, sont absolument inexistants.


Les marbres se trouvent à la fois dans la décoration religieuse et dans la décoration domestique. Il faut convenir qu'ils ont infiniment plus de style dans celte dernière. Nous trouvons entre autres des superbes cheminées. L'une Louis XVI en marbre bleu est digne de tous les éloges. Une autre de grand style, en marbre des Pyrénées, ne déparerait aucun palais.

C'est de l'art, au plus haut point décoratif, sans que les nécessités de la décoration aient coupé les ailes de l'inspiration artistique.

Et c'est là le grand écueil que, sous le bénéfice des quelques critiques que nous venons de formuler, nos décorateurs savent très parfaitement éviter.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Paul Le Jeinisel.