World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Clothing Gallery

Clothing Gallery at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

Door

Rich enough in appearance, the monumental entrance to class 36, devoted to clothing for both sexes, did not provide much inspiration to its organisers, and it is really much more industrial than artistic.

Of the three bays in the façade, two are occupied by display windows, where women's clothes are exhibited on mannequins, as in all novelty shops.

The facade itself is made of wood, covered with a rather sad grey varnish that does little to brighten up either the head of Mercury on the pediment, wearing the mythological winged hat, or the two compositions on the left and right, which obviously represent coquetry and the art of dressing.

Golden Book of the Exhibition - Alfred Grandin.


Gallery

MEN'S CLOTHING

The exhibition of clothing for both sexes opens on the thirty-metre gallery. It is the ladies' clothing that adorns the main entrance, and this is only fair, as this part is much more successful than the part concerning the stronger sex.

Indeed, you have to be strong to be able to lift the first shoes you come across. They should have been displayed in the War Ministry Pavilion. They are shoes with armoured soles, cuirassées, the labels say; indeed, we can no longer see the colour of the leather, they are just huge iron nails, of all shapes, as unsightly as possible, armour plates on the heels and toes. These must be for the use of divers probably; one can be sure, with similar devices on the feet, that the centre of gravity of the body will be placed very low.

We also find waterproof, unsinkable boots, this time the nails are removed and replaced by nuts, these are made of copper, for example. Finally we come to more portable shoes. These are varnished boots, slammed in yellow, green, blue, white goatskin, etc. Boots as sticky as jerseys, laced up on the side, coming up to mid-thigh. It must be very awkward to bend the leg. Then there are the big boots for hunting. The foreign competition is quite formidable in this kind of article.

From the shoes, we jump to the hats.
And first the caps. What trouble the manufacturers must have gone to in order to make such successful horrors as those we regret to see. If only this could indicate some kind of tour de force, but no, it is ugly simply for the sake of being ugly. An assortment of ugly coloured pieces, sewn together 1 I make an exception for the racing, canoeing, lawn-tennis caps. These have their purpose, it's fashionable to have colourful headgear. But at least the shades here are cheerful, clear, pleasing to the eye. But these other caps without character, brown, false blue, green that makes us grind our teeth, what are they doing here, not to mention the silk caps, the three hundred bridges, the Eiffelian caps? At least they are completely black.

We also see black or blue velvet caps, with beautiful gold embroidery, all around and on top. It's not the latest elegance, the latest good taste, nor the latest fashion, but to attract the eyes, the embroidery represents the Eiffel Tower. It is a way like any other to modernise the antique.

Then there are silk hats, felt hats, padded hats for Amazons, black and even white satin hats, elderberry hats, so light that you have to put on a chinstrap to prevent them from flying off.

Would you like to have an idea of the different operations to be carried out to obtain a felt hat? A helpful exhibitor shows us the successive results of each preliminary operation. There are twelve operations, and these hats are advertised at twelve francs a dozen. The raw wool is first washed with soda. Then we proceed to what is called Vépaillage, which consists in destroying the vegetable matter, straw, etc., by sulphuric acid. The purification consists of removing all the detritus from the previous operation. In carding, the wool fibres are stretched parallel to form a wadding. The wadding is then formed by applying it to a cone. This is followed by a first start of steam felting, the simoussage or felting. The next step is to use the fulling machine, which is called fulling. The previous piece, soaked in boiling water, can be shaped, this is the dressing. In the sanding process, the protruding parts are shaved off. After this, the hat is dyed, then appropriated, where it receives its final shape under a pressure of thirty atmospheres. Finally, the last operation, or trimming, consists of tucking it in and putting a ribbon on it. All this for twelve francs a dozen, which is really not expensive.

Finally, for lack of novelty, the hat makers show us the old, historical hats, the hats of Bonaparte, Carnot, Kléber, Marat, Lafayette, etc.

Let us finish with the hat shop, with the children's headgear, some of which is quite pretty; but why show us again those horrible velvet hats, without any definite shape, which were worn by many of the little peasants who came to visit the great exhibition? They are no uglier than the others, these poor cherubs, but were they ungainly enough under this ridiculous ornament!

Let us now come to the costume in general. What can we say about men's costumes? Except that it is always the same thing, and that the main thing is not to have a nice garment, but to wear it well; it is not an art, it is natural. All men are dressed more or less the same. Apart from the jacket, the morning coat, the frock coat and the suit, not to mention the overcoat, we can find nothing better. A new form has been tried to dethrone the habit: the dinner jacket, which is only a jacket with a large lapel. This competition is not serious, the suit will have a long life ahead of it. However, they are trying to vary the colour, which brings us back to the past. For want of something new, we resurrect the old. I confess that I do not see the absolute necessity of inventing new forms of men's clothing. We see at the Exhibition red, brown, light green suits, with matching waistcoats or white ones, embroidered with silk all around. We also see dinner jackets, even cheap ones, which will quickly kill this new fashion.

But here is a novelty: the modest trousers. You read that right. So modest that it is impossible to see why they are modest, because they are so well folded. Is this new or a rescued old fashion? A mystery!

We see some very pretty dressing gowns, however; there is one, folded up like the canvas of a theatre, which must be nicely heavy.

We pass a shop window containing only a mirror, as in novelty shops, to try on clothes; it is the factory of Saint-Go-bain which obligingly exhibits a mirror, to try on nothing at all.

We come to the work clothes. Small cardboard figures represent butchers, commission agents, pastry cooks, grocers, coopers, waiters, in service clothes.

Let us finish the clothing proper with the military uniforms, where we see the model of the latest pelisse, which all mounted officers are now allowed to wear.

Let's go into the accessory sections of the garment.

We see braces, silk, embroidered, matching the tie. What refinements! Then embroidered shirts, pleated, with a daytime look, since this fashion has now come back more than ever in the high-life, which only wanted flat fronts. Shirt fronts are even worn in batiste, so fine that it is transparent. The slightest hint of this will be seen, and the chest will have to be carefully powdered so that there is nothing to draw the eye under the thin batiste.

The pants also receive embroidery, well matched with those of the shirt. The only thing missing is embroidery on the false collars and cuffs, then lace, and finally, borrowing from the ladies the model of their most elegant clothes. The pants, slightly shortened and decorated with lace, will imitate the trousers of the fair sex.

For our nightgowns the manufacturers do not find models elegant enough. All these embroidered silk shirts will make our elegant women jealous, and they will end up taking our models.

If, at the beginning of our visit, we found things horribly disgraceful, to finish we fall into the opposite excess, it is a little too much refinement, but this excess is however much preferable to the other.

Golden Book of the Exhibition - S. Favière.

WOMEN'S COSTUME.

We must begin this article by offering our condolences to our female readers, for they have been much misgendered, as regards the garment, or at least the principal piece of the garment, the dress.

And however brilliant the exhibition of women's clothing may have been on the surface, it was nevertheless one of the weakest and one of the least indicative of the present state of the industry which it represented.

In fact, it represented nothing at all. For sewing is an art - an art, I say - which does not lend itself at all to exhibition. If you show a design of a fabric, a competitor may be inspired by it, but he cannot copy it on sight; a patent protects the machine which is exhibited, whereas no patent protects this or that form of bodice, this or that drape, this or that arrangement of a trim; whereas it will only take a short study for a skilled worker to recognise the design of a machine.
to recognise how everything that constitutes the originality of a costume has been obtained.

The pride one may have in exhibiting pretty things is satisfied, it is true, but one's interests suffer if this exhibition allows the generalisation of any model which has no value except as long as it retains the individuality of the seamstress who made it, and does not spread it to an unlimited number of copies.

Under these conditions, it is understandable that the leading Parisian fashion houses, those who make the fashion and the law in matters of elegance, have refrained from exhibiting, thus leaving the field open to the workshops specially equipped for export and to the large novelty shops.

And the exhibition was vigorously resented. It shimmered, it glittered, it had every colour and shimmer. In any case, it was of execrable taste, and no Parisian woman of taste would consent to wear one of these composite toilettes, where four or five different fabrics, feathers, trimmings, pearls and rainbows of ribbons are superimposed.

The department stores have exhibited the masterpieces of this genre, which is a great success among the high life of the South American republics. Some of these toilets represent the synthesis of all industrial production applied to the art of clothing; they were no more charming for that. And last but not least, these suits were dead. Let me explain. The most beautiful dress in the world is only worth seeing on the shoulders of the woman for whom it was made, and shown in the environment for which it was intended, it is probable that these costumes, loaded like those of the Queen of Sheba, and of a luxury so curiously "fairground", would have produced the most mirific effect if they had been worn by some superb Venezuelan creole, with the blue sky over her head, in the air the tremor of an approaching earthquake, and

With the great tropical sun. . on her back,
as François Coppée said.

Here, in the blackened fir windows, between the columns with white imitation marble capitals of class 36, it was very banal, and let's say the word, very ugly.

Another category of costumes which, without being more remarkable, offered the opposite of these defects, was that of the so-called "tailor-made" clothes. The others lacked taste in their richness, these lacked taste in their poverty. The suit is an English import, one that is not to be welcomed. The woman is made to be wrapped in silk and lace and not wrapped in the thick sheets that have the stiffness of the capote of the pioupiou. With that, the forms lose considerably in elegance. You can see that there is no reason to be very enthusiastic about the tailor type. You have met them in the galleries and gardens of the Champ de Mars and also on our boulevards, the hideous Englishwomen tied up in a skirt that is too flat, without a supple fold, with one or two breaks, as stiff as a wall, with an ulster with three pilgrims that seemed to have been stolen from the wardrobe of their coachman. Here was the real suit, tailor-style. The prettiest woman in the world is nothing but a graceless androgynous thing underneath, and if all English women dress like that, I can understand Jack the Ripper.

In short, there was nothing very attractive about the women's costumes of Class 36.

The hats, on the other hand, were overwhelmingly lovely. Today's hats are eclectic, taking all forms from the antique capote to the huge Gainsborough; the Basque beret, the bolero, the real bolero also flourish. This one has been brought to us by bullfighting. It is no longer, as in the past, a simple evocation of the hairstyle of the majestic Andalusian majos, it is the hairstyle itself, flat and round with its three caterpillar balls. Our milliners have sometimes been more inspired.

The hatters' hats for women have shown charming travel headgear, but why should they want to make a city hat out of this thing that is heavy on the eye and has no other elegance than that of showiness.

I am, for example, quite opposed to another headdress which the Exhibition has also brought us: the English cap; it is of two kinds and both are more ignominious than the other. The first type is the cloth cap with earflaps, the stable boy type. It is more than ugly, it is villainous. The second type is the jockey cap, but with a sort of wick helmet folded down at the front at the top.

Ugh, the horror!

The shoe was a natural neighbour to clothing and hats. It allowed us to see the renaissance of the high heel, which had been beaten to the punch for several years by the almost imperceptible English heel. The Louis XV heel, which has not yet regained the position, but is well on its way, pushes the woman's body forward. The flat heel throws her backwards. Between the two my heart sways, while recognising the elegance of the foot arched by the Louis XV heel.

In English shoes, inflexibly cut to the given size, the foot has neither personality nor coquetry; it has the shape of the shoe. With the French shoe the shoe has the shape of the foot. I like the latter better.
In class 30 there were still artificial flowers, feathers and wigs. Let's move on, ladies, and please excuse me, but my duty was to report everything.
This duty forces me to say of an important part of class 35 what I said of class 36: corsets were obviously intended for Negresses. One has no idea of such garish debaucheries of colour. Golden yellow, fiery red, national blue, sometimes even the three colours of our flag together; these are the corsets. I like the lingerie around them much better. There were marvels of shirts, trousers for fairy-tale princesses, a whole snow of fine batiste, in the midst of which stood out with the elegance of a sunflower in a bed of roses, the German woollen lingerie. The inventor of natural wool underwear is quite clever: when your shirt is dirty, you have to burn it. This is his recipe, perhaps it is excellent for the
manufacturer.

But what about gloves? There were many of them, made of goat, lamb, beaver, anything... and of all the colours of the rainbow; it is better to take a retrospective look at the fans, which are much more pleasant to contemplate, especially as there was a collection as considerable as it was varied, from the one-cent fan for advertisements to the twenty-five thousand franc fan painted by M. Meissonier, or one of his pupils.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henri Anry

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie du Vêtement


Galerie du Vêtement à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Porte

Assez riche d'aspect, l'entrée monumentale de la classe 36 consacrée aux vêtements des deux sexes, n'a pas fourni grande inspiration à ses organisateurs, et c'est véritablement beaucoup plus industriel qu'artistique.

Sur les trois baies de la façade, deux sont occupées par des vitrines, où sont exposées sur des mannequins, des toilettes de femmes, comme dans tous les magasins de nouveautés.

La façade, elle-même, est en bois, revêtu d'un vernis gris assez triste et que n'arrive pas à égayer beaucoup, ni la tête de Mercure qui est au fronton, coiffée du mythologique chapeau à ailes, ni les deux compositions de gauche et de droite, qui représentent évidemment la coquetterie et l'art de la toilette.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Alfred Grandin.


Galerie

VÊTEMENTS D'HOMME

L'exposition des vêtements des deux sexes s'ouvre sur la galerie de trente mètres. Ce sont les vêtements de dames qui ornent l'entrée principale et ce n'est que justice, car cette partie est bien mieux réussie que celle concernant le sexe fort.

En effet, il faut être fort pour pouvoir soulever les premières chaussures que nous rencontrons. On aurait dû les exposer dans le Pavillon du Ministère de la Guerre. Ce sont des souliers à semelles blindées, cuirassées, disent les étiquettes; en effet, on n'en voit plus la couleur du cuir, ce ne sont qu'énormes clous en fer, de toutes les formes, aussi disgracieuses que possible, des plaques de blindage aux talons et à la pointe. Ce doit être à l'usage des plongeurs probablement; on peut être sûr, avec des appareils semblables aux pieds, que le centre de gravité du corps sera placé très bas.

Nous trouvons aussi des brodequins imperméables, insubmersibles, cette fois les clous sont supprimés et remplacés par des écrous, ceux-ci sont en cuivre, par exemple. Nous arrivons enfin à des chaussures plus portables. Ce sont des bottines vernies, claquées en chevreau jaune, vert, bleu, blanc, etc. Des bottes aussi collantes que des maillots, lacées sur le côté, montant à mi-cuisse. Ce doit être bien gênant pour ployer la jambe. Puis ce sont les grandes bottes pour la chasse. La concurrence étrangère est bien redoutable dans ce genre d'articles.

Des souliers, nous sautons brusquement aux chapeaux.
Et d'abord les casquettes. Quel mal ont dû se donner les fabricants pour faire des horreurs aussi réussies que celles que nous regrettons de voir Si encore cela pouvait indiquer un tour de force quelconque, mais non, c'est laid simplement pour le plaisir d'être laid. Un assortiment de pièces de couleurs affreuses, cousues les unes à côté des autres 1 Je fais une exception cependant pour les casquettes de courses, canotage, lawn-tennis. Celles-là ont leur raison d'être, c'est la mode d'avoir des coiffures bariolées. Mais au moins les nuances ici sont gaies, claires, agréables à l'œil. Mais ces autres casquettes sans caractères, marron, bleu faux, vert qui nous fait grincer les dents, que font-elles là, sans parler des casquettes de soie, a trois cents ponts, des casquettes eiffeliennes? Au moins sont-elles tout à fait noires.

Nous voyons aussi des calottes en velours noir ou bleu, avec de belles broderies d'or, tout autour et sur le dessus. Ce n'est pas de la dernière élégance, du dernier bon goût, ni de la dernière mode, mais pour attirer les regards, les broderies représentent la Tour Eiffel. C'est une façon comme une autre de moderniser l'antique.

Puis les chapeaux de soie, de feutre, chapeaux capitonnés pour amazone, chapeaux à claque en satin noir et même blanc, les chapeaux en moelle de sureau, si légers qu'on est obligé de mettre une jugulaire pour ne pas qu'ils s'envolent.

Voulez-vous avoir une idée des différentes opérations auxquelles on doit procéder pour obtenir un chapeau de feutre? Un exposant obligeant nous fait assister aux différents résultats successifs de chaque opération préliminaire. H y a douze opérations, et ces chapeaux sont annoncés à douze francs la douzaine. On part de la laine brute en suint, elle est d'abord lavée à la soude. On procède ensuite à ce que l'on appelle Vépaillage, qui consiste à détruire les matières végétales, paille, etc., par l'acide sulfurique. L'épuration consiste à enlever tous les détritus de l'opération précédente. Dans le cardage, on étire les fibres de laines parallèlement, de façon à former une ouate. On procède ensuite à la formation de la bastissage : la ouate est appliquée sur un cône. On donne alors un premier commencement de feutrage à la vapeur, c'est le simoussage ou feutrage. On passe ensuite à la machine à fouler, c'est le foulage. La pièce précédente, trempée dans l'eau bouillante, peut recevoir la forme, c'est le dressage. Dans le ponçâge, on rase les parties saillantes.. Après l'on procède à la teinture, puis l'appropriage, où le chapeau reçoit sa forme définitive, sous une pression de trente atmosphères. Enfin la dernière opération, ou garniture, consiste à le border et lui mettre un ruban. Tout cela pour douze francs la douzaine, ce n'est vraiment pas cher.

Enfin, faute de nouveauté, les chapeliers nous montrent les chapeaux anciens, historiques, les chapeaux de Bonaparte, Carnot, Kléber, Marat, Lafayette, etc.

Finissons-en avec la chapellerie, par les coiffures d'enfants, dont quelques-unes sont assez jolies; mais pourquoi encore nous montrer ces horribles toques de velours, sans formes déterminées, que portaient beaucoup il est vrai, les petits paysans venus pour visiter la grande exposition? Us ne sont pas plus laids que les autres, ces pauvres chérubins, mais étaient-ils assez disgracieux sous cet ornement ridicule !

Arrivons maintenant au costume en général. Que dire du costume d'homme? Sinon que c'est toujours la même chose, et que le tout n'est pas d'avoir un joli vêtement, il faut surtout bien le porter; ce n'est pas un art, cela est naturel. Tous les hommes sont à peu près habillés de même. Sortis du veston, de la jaquette, de la redingote et de l'habit, sans compter le pardessus, nous ne trouvons rien de mieux. On a bien essayé une nouvelle forme pour détrôner l'habit : le smoking, qui n'est qu'un veston à grand revers. Cette concurrence n'est pas sérieuse, l'habit aura longtemps encore de beaux jours. On essaie cependant de varier sa couleur, ce qui nous ramène au temps passé. Faute de nouveau, on ressuscite l'ancien. J'avoue que je ne vois pas la nécessité absolue d'inventer de nouvelles formes de vêtements d'homme, d'ailleurs. Nous voyons à l'Exposition des habits rouges, marrons, verts clairs, avec les gilets assortis ou blancs, brodés de soie tout autour. Nous voyons aussi des smokings, même à bon marché, ce qui tuera rapidement cette mode nouvelle.

Mais voilà une nouveauté : le pantalon pudique. Vous avez bien lu. Si pudique même qu'il est impossible, tellement il est bien plié, d'apercevoir en quoi il est pudique. Est-ce du nouveau ou une mode ancienne repêchée ? Mystère !

Nous voyons de bien jolies robes de chambre cependant; il y en a une, relevée comme la toile d'un théâtre, qui doit être joliment lourde.

Nous passons devant une vitrine ne renfermant qu'une glace, comme dans les magasins de nouveauté, pour essayer les vêtements, c'est la manufacture de Saint-Go-bain qui expose obligeamment une glace, pour ne rien essayer du tout.

Nous arrivons aux vêtements de travail. De petits bonshommes, en carton, représentent des bouchers, commissionnaires, pâtissiers, épiciers, tonneliers, garçons de café, en tenue de services.

Terminons le vêtement proprement dit par les uniformes militaires, où nous voyons le modèle de la dernière pelisse, que tous les officiers montés ont maintenant le droit de porter.

Pénétrons dans les sections d'accessoires du vêtement.

Nous voyons des bretelles, en soie, brodées, assorties à la cravate. Que de raffinements! Puis des chemises brodées, plissées, à jour, puisque maintenant cette mode est revenue plus que jamais dans le high-life, qui ne voulait plus que des plastrons plats. On porte même des devants de chemises en batiste, si fine qu'elle en est transparente. Le moindre signe se verra, on devra se poudrer la poitrine soigneusement pour que rien ne tire le regard sous la fine batiste.

Les caleçons reçoivent aussi des broderies, bien assorties avec celles de la chemise. Il ne manquera plus que de broder les faux-cols, les manchettes, puis d'y mettre des dentelles, et enfin, d'emprunter aux dames le modèle de leurs vêtements les plus élégants. Le caleçon, un peu raccourci et orné de dentelles, imitera à s'y méprendre les pantalons du beau sexe.

Pour nos. chemises de nuit les fabricants ne. trouvent pas de modèles assez élégants. Toutes ces chemises de soie brodées, vont rendre jalouses nos élégantes, qui finiront par nous prendre nos modèles.

Si, dans le commencement de notre visite, nous avons trouvé des choses horriblement disgracieuses, pour finir nous tombons dans l'excès inverse, c'est un peu trop de raffinements, mais cet excès est cependant bien préférable à l'autre.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - S. Favière.

LE COSTUME FEMININ.

Nous devons commencer cet article par offrir nos condoléances à nos lectrices, car elles ont été fort mal partagées, en ce qui concerne le vêtement, ou tout au moins la pièce principale du vêtement, la robe.

Et si brillante à la surface qu'ait été l'exposition du vêtement féminin, elle n'en était pas moins au fond l'une des plus faibles et l'une de celles qui donnaient le moins l'idée de l'état actuel de l'industrie qu'elle représentait.

En vérité, elle ne représentait même rien du tout. Car la couture est un art — un art, je dis bien — qui ne se prête pas du tout à l'exposition. Montrez le dessin d'une étoffe, un concurrent peut s'en inspirer, mais il ne peut le copier à simple vue; un brevet protège la machine que l'on exhibe, alors que nul brevet ne protège telle ou telle forme de corsage, tel ou tel drapé, tel ou tel arrangement d'une garniture; alors encore qu'il suffira d'une courte étude à
une ouvrière exercée, pour reconnaître comment a été obtenu tout ce qui constitue l'originalité d'un costume.

L'orgueil que l'on peut avoir d'exposer de jolies choses est satisfait, il est vrai, mais les intérêts en souffrent, si cette exposition permet de généraliser un modèle quelconque qui n'a de valeur que tant qu'il garde le personnalisme de la couturière qui l'a exécuté, et ne le répandra pas à un nombre d'exemplaires illimité.

Dans ces conditions, on comprend que les premières maisons de Paris, celles qui font, en matière d'élégance, la mode et la loi, se soient abstenues d'exposer, laissant ainsi le champ libre aux ateliers spécialement outillés en vue de l'exportation et aux grands magasins de nouveauté.

Et dame l'exposition s'en est ressentie vigoureusement. Elle miroitait, elle scintillait, elle a eu toutes les couleurs et tous les chatoiements. Au demeurant, elle était d'un goût exécrable et pas une Parisienne de goût ne consentirait à s'affubler d'une de ces toilettes d'ordre composite, où se rencontrent superposées quatre ou cinq étoffes différentes, des plumes, des passementeries, des perles et des arcs-en-ciel de rubans.

Les grands magasins ont exposé les chefs-d'œuvre, de ce genre, qui a un succès grandiose parmi le high life des républiques sud-américaines. Certaines de ces toilettes représentent la synthèse de toutes les productions industrielles appliquées à l'art du vêtement; elles n'en étaient pas plus charmantes pour cela. Et enfin, dernière faiblesse et non la moindre, ces costumes étaient morts. Je m'explique. La plus belle robe du monde ne vaut que vue sur les épaules de la femme pour qui elle a été faite, et montrée dans le milieu auquel elle est destinée, il est probable que ces costumes chargés comme ceux de la reine de Saba, et d'un luxe si curieusement « baraque de foire » eussent produit le plus mirifique effet s'ils avaient affublé quelque superbe créole vénézuélienne, avec le ciel bleu sur sa tête, dans l'air le frémissement d'un tremblement de terre prochain, et

Avec le grand soleil tropical. . dans le dos,
comme a dit François Coppée.

Ici, dans les vitrines en sapin noirci, entre les colonnes à chapiteau de simili-marbre blanc de la classe 36, c'était très banal, et disons le mot, très laid.

Une autre catégorie de costumes qui, sans être plus remarquable, offrait tout le contraire de ces défauts, était celle des vêtements dits c façon tailleur ». Les autres manquaient de goût dans leur richesse, ceux-là manquaient de goût dans leur pauvreté. Le costume façon tailleur est une importation anglaise, une de celles dont il ne faut pas se féliciter. La femme est faite pour être enveloppée de soie et de dentelle et non emballée dans les draps épais qui ont les raideurs de la capote du pioupiou. Avec cela, que les formes y perdent considérablement comme élégance. On voit qu'il n'y a pas lieu d'être bien enthousiaste du genre tailleur. Vous les avez rencontrées par les galeries et les jardins du Champ de Mars et aussi par nos boulevards, les hideuses anglaises ficelées dans une jupe trop plate, sans un pli souple, avec une ou deux cassures, raides comme un pan de mur, avec un ulster à trois pèlerines qui semblait dérobé à la garde-robe de leur cocher. Le voilà le vrai complet façon tailleur. La plus jolie femme du monde n'est plus là-dessous qu'un androgyne sans grâce, et si toutes les Anglaises s'habillent ainsi, je comprends Jack l'Éventreur.

En résumé, rien de bien attrayant parmi les costumes féminins de la classe 36.

Les chapeaux, par contre, étaient en grande majorité ravissants. Le chapeau d'aujourd'hui est on ne peut plus éclectique, il prend toutes les formes, depuis la capote antique jusqu'à l'immense Gainsborough; le béret basque, le boléro, le vrai boléro florissent également. Celui-là nous a été amené par les courses de taureaux. Ce n'est plus comme jadis une simple évocation de la coiffure des majestueux majos andalous, c'est la coiffure elle-même plate et ronde avec ses trois boules de chenille. Nos modistes ont été parfois mieux inspirées.

Les chapeaux de chapeliers pour femmes ont montré de charmantes coiffures de voyage, mais pourquoi vouloir faire un chapeau de ville de cette chose lourde à l'œil et sans autre élégance que celle de la crânerie.

Je suis,par exemple, tout à fait opposé à une autre coiffure que nous a apportée également l'Exposition : la casquette anglaise ; elle est de deux sortes et les deux sont plus ignominieuses l'une que l'autre. Premier genre, la casquette de drap à oreillettes, genre garçon d'écurie. C'est plus que laid, c'est crapuleux. Deuxième genre, la casquette jockey, mais dont la partie supérieure est formée d'une sorte de casque à mèche rabattu sur le devant.

Pouah, l'horreur!

La chaussure avoisinait tout naturellement le vêtement et les chapeaux. Elle a permis de constater la renaissance du haut talon, battu à plates coutures depuis plusieurs années par le talon anglais presque imperceptible. Le talon Louis XV, qui n'a pas encore reconquis la position, mais qui est en bon chemin, rejette le corps de la femme en avant. Le talon plat la rejette en arrière. Entre les deux mon cœur balance, tout en reconnaissant au pied cambré par le talon Louis XV, une souveraine élégance.

Dans les souliers anglais inflexiblement taillés sur le gabarit donné, le pied n'a ni personnalité ni coquetterie; il a la forme de la chaussure. Avec le soulier français la chaussure a la forme du pied. J'aime mieux la dernière manière.
Il y avait encore dans la classe 30 les fleurs... artificielles, les plumes et... les perruques et ouvrages en cheveux. Passons, Mesdames, et veuillez m'excuser, mais mon devoir était de tout signaler.
Ce devoir me force à dire d'une partie importante de la classe 35 ce que j'ai dit de la classe 36 : les corsets étaient évidemment destinés à des négresses. On n'a pas idée de débauches de couleurs aussi criardes. Le jaune d'or, le rouge feu. le bleu national, parfois même les trois couleurs de notre drapeau assemblées ; voilà les corsets. J'aime infiniment mieux la lingerie qui les avoisinait. Il y avait là des merveilles de chemises, des pantalons pour les princesses des contes de fées, toute une neige de fine batiste, au milieu de laquelle détonnait avec l'élégance d'un tournesol dans un parterre de roses, la lingerie de laine allemande. 11 est assez adroit, l'inventeur du linge de corps en laine naturelle, quand votre chemise est sale, il faut la brûler. Voilà sa recette, c'est peut-être excellent pour le
fabricant.

Resterait à parler des gants, mais qu'en dirais-je? qu'il y en avait beaucoup, en chevreau, en agneau, en castor, en n'importe quoi... et de toutes les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel; mieux vaut jeter un coup d'œil rétrospectif sur les éventails, de beaucoup plus agréables à contempler, d'autant qu'il y en avait une collection aussi considérable que variée, depuis l'éventail à un centime pour réclames, jusqu'à l'éventail de vingt-cinq mille francs peint par M. Meissonier, ou l'un de ses élèves.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henri Anry