World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Furniture Gallery

Furniture Gallery at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Door

Next to the entrance door of the Upholsterers' Exhibition is the door to the Furniture Exhibition. Which is quite natural, since these two industries are sisters.

But not always.

It is very rare, if one furnishes a living room, for example, entirely new, that the upholsterer does not find that the cabinetmaker was wrong in a lot of details, while the latter declares that the hangings of his colleague do not make his furniture worthwhile. This is because in the trade the upholsterer has become a furniture dealer and the furniture dealer an upholsterer, and neither of them admits the division of this kind of trade.

But in production, the separation exists and these two great industries are, one beside the other, among those which make the glory of the capital.

If it was once said: "There is no good beak except from Paris", it is still true to say that there is no beautiful furniture except from Paris. I am speaking here, of course, of furniture produced today, with the character of its time and the fashion of the day. Antique furniture comes from here or elsewhere, and it is the luck of an archaeologist or collector to find a beautiful piece. But the Parisian craftsman, alone in the world, knows how to produce the furniture of this time, both artistic and comfortable.

And not the artistic art of that false art, which produces by large repetitions, a Louis XIII chair or a Henri II dresser, but the artistic art of the personal art of the worker, or rather of the artist. From certain small owners, whose workshops are lost in a corner of a suburb, furniture comes out which is not imitated by anyone, which does not copy any master and before which one would be tempted to kneel. And it has slowly emerged, after months of work, from the chisel and scissors of a master sculptor, assisted by a journeyman and an apprentice.

Unfortunately, the piece only made one trip from the furniture dealer to a foreign country, from where it came back to us six months later in the form of disastrous copies, described as originals when the German producer is frankly dishonest, and as repeats when he is only half dishonest.

It is therefore interesting to note the astonishment of the visitors and especially of the half-knowledgeable in front of the superb entrance of the furniture.

This entrance, which leads to the galleries of class 17, is a remarkable façade made of various woods. The general style is far from easy to define; it is somewhat Louis XVI in the regularity of the cuts. The large square bay in the middle, of a simplicity of great character, is framed in a wide cabbage leaf border, which has a very beautiful effect. The ornamentation is, all in all, of great sobriety; it consists mainly of two wooden statuettes, one probably representing drawing and the other the art of woodworking. Two pediments surmount the secondary bays. They are of an amiable fantasy. They are carved wood compositions in half-relief.

In the first one, a loving cabinetmaker brings a Henry II chair to a naked young woman, who really needs this beginning of furniture since she is sitting on the ground. Nevertheless, coquetry has not waited for the furniture, and the young woman contemplates herself in a hand mirror. This suggests that the first object to leave the hands of the first cabinetmaker was the first frame of the first mirror.

This may not be of great historical truth, and certainly scholars who have dealt with the origins of mankind would find it of interest, but it is well executed and quite graceful.

The counterpart is just as pleasant. We find the same cabinetmaker's love and the same young woman; the latter is still as naked as in the previous chapter. Perhaps she is waiting for the fabric gallery to dress her. But the furniture has increased: not counting the chair from earlier, on which this lady disdains to sit, 'since she is still originally lying on the floor, we can see in the second plan a credenza which could well be a secretary... - Already!

Love brings a rag, which is truly a luxury item, as the young woman does not have a single rag on her body. She, for her part, divides her admiration between the small piece of furniture presented to her by her usual supplier and a jewellery box in her hand.

These two delicacies temper the severity of this large door to a very fair degree and bring it back to an excellent note.

The hangings consist of a red door and a canopy of the same colour, embroidered with an inscription that should be moved to another place, as it alters the harmony of this beautiful ensemble.

Golden Book of the Exhibition - Henry Anry.


Gallery

The furniture industry is one of the most important in Paris, not only in terms of production but also and above all in terms of the artistic value of its products. For luxury furniture, it is without rival and foreign cabinet makers have almost always had to copy models from Paris when they wanted to get away from the conventional banalities of everyday furniture.

This high artistic value is due both to French taste and to the care taken to develop it by the major cabinet makers, who are the first to be interested. Alongside the municipal professional furniture school (Ecole Boulle), there are other employers' institutions, museums of documents, and a whole organisation of artistic and manual education which will guarantee the superiority of our cabinetmaking for a long time to come, and to which it provides a contingent of young workers each year, who combine a solid knowledge of the art with an indisputable sure hand.

Class 17, which includes luxury and cheap furniture, opens onto the thirty-metre gallery through the magnificent door we have already described. It is the only class that occupies a gallery in its entire length, from the central vestibule to the front of the palace, where it leaves only a narrow edge for countries in the Far East. The organisers have focused their decorative efforts on the entrance to their class. Inside, they rightly assumed that the furniture was sufficiently furnished and that it was unnecessary to fill the gallery with pavilions or showcases, in which, moreover, the exhibits would hardly have been at ease. The whole perimeter is occupied by compartments which form real rooms for displaying complete furnishings. In the middle, the most varied pieces of furniture are arranged in the best possible way. The gallery has its central aisle cut in two by the large Krieger pavilion, which is, as it were, the altar of the god's divinity. It is a sort of immense buffet made of natural wood, with curious rope hangings, which includes two salons below and a salon on the first floor, reached by a graceful staircase. I find, for my part, that the container is infinitely superior to the content. The one downstairs is banal and the one upstairs consists of an oak piece of furniture, which has the great disadvantage of being upholstered in old pink plush. But plush, brought into fashion a few years ago by an exotic painter, will never, however well used, achieve great stylistic effects.

The central aisle is almost entirely occupied by billiards. Given that a billiard table is expensive and lasts a long time, and that it is not a piece of furniture of primary importance, one might think that the production of billiards is rather limited. This is not the case; it is one of the most important and flourishing branches of Parisian cabinet making. It must be admitted that the sight of two hundred billiard tables in battle order is not surprisingly recreational. To find interest in them, you have to examine them closely.

Thus you would not suspect that billiard tables are still being made with blouses, that is to say, with holes in the four corners. It seems, however, that there are some stubborn people who have not converted to billiards. For them, billiard tables with holes are made, but to satisfy everyone, the tables can be made to fit the current taste and the coats can be closed at will.

Other billiard tables are for poor people, who cannot afford the luxury of a dining room and a carom room. Cric! and you have a billiard table, American cushions, etc. Crac! and you have a table for 18 people. Is that ingenious enough? Well, it gets better.

This is the pool table: Cric! and you can indulge your passion for pile driving... Crac! plunge into deep study. Obviously this one was invented by a law tutor in the Latin Quarter.

It is certain that all styles are represented in this long gallery, but the general trend can be identified as follows.

For the dining rooms and libraries, the Renaissance triumphs: a lot of Henri II, a lot of Flemish.

For the bedrooms, everything, or almost everything, is Louis XV.

The salons are also Louis XV, although there are some fine attempts at the grand Louis XIV style.

That said, we cannot be expected to describe in detail the hundreds of furnishings on display; we must be content to mention a few highlights.
Here is a Louis XV bedroom, in Martin varnish, which is the most remarkable piece of its kind in the Exhibition. Another bedroom, Moorish style, says the sign which comes from Marseille, but in any case of a pretty aspect, was bought by Mrs. Carnot, probably to lodge the Algerian sheiks who were visiting the Elysée.

A dining room includes the sideboard and the Henri II fireplace, both pieces are superb.

A ravishing room of style which is indeed the most coquettish nest of girl that one can dream, is a bedroom of the XIIIth century, reconstituted according to Viollet le Duc. Under the natural coloured wool blankets with blue fillets, the blue and white gothic bed is adorned with ogives with gold fillets; the table is of an elegant simplicity. The large armchair is highly evocative of this beautiful period.

All these stylish furnishings are not overpriced, and for a thousand francs you can have a middle bed and a three-body wardrobe, with decorative paintings. All of it of the most beautiful Louis XV.

However, there are some very expensive pieces, those which have brought together the collaboration of masters of various arts. Here, for example, is a piece of decorative furniture made by a house in Marseille. The design was provided by the architect Paul Sédille, the figures are sculpted by Aliar, and the enamels, after Luc-Olivier Merson, were executed by F. de Courcy.

It is understandable that the price of the piece of furniture was somewhat high. It is certainly as expensive as a neighbouring jewellery chest, which costs only 60,000 francs. The large Louis XV desk which is in the Louvre, I do not know in which gallery, but which everyone knows, has been copied twice. One of these copies is worth 50,000 francs. Although it is a Louis XV, it is a real minister's desk.


There is also the furniture exhibited by Galle de Nancy. Galle is both an industrialist and an artist, and on top of that an amiable fantasist. In the manner of the artists of the Middle Ages, he does a bit of everything. In the 30-metre gallery he exhibited a cabinet-making kiosk, ceramics and crystals all at the same time. I would not be very surprised if he had a statue and a few paintings in the Beaux-Arts, and if his music was played on one of the organs in the Desaix gallery.

He does not give in to banal furniture, so his exhibition is extremely interesting.

Here is an oak cabinet. The raw material is not common. It is lacustrine oak collected from a pond in the Lorraine region. Well, Gallé has used this piece of furniture to create a monument to the glory of old Gaul; his art is patriotic, but broadly and intelligently patriotic. The ornaments are borrowed from oak and the panels, inspired by the ancient poems of Leconte de Lisle, show us
The pale Ueldeda prophetess of Sein,

or symbolise the

beautiful hymns of the sea, soft murmurs of the winds;

on another

The stags bray at the feet of the radiant oaks

while the fourth recalls the "rocks of Armor".

But Galle's triumph is in his marquetry furniture. He is to furniture what the symphonists (?) are to the new literature. The subject and the wood must go together. A planter called Exotic Flora is all inlaid with island wood. The masterpiece of this exhibition is a unique and admirable piece, which will certainly not be moved to any museum. It is a large thorn table made up of three strips of walnut and plum wood; the middle one, in marquetry, translates this sentence from Tacitus in his De moribus germanorum :
"Germania omnis a Galliis Rhenoseparatur. Germania is entirely separated from Gaul by the Rhine.

On the cartoons of the master Prouvé, Galle executed a tour de force of marquetry, without the difficulties of the work having altered in the slightest the energetic expression of the characters. The foot, formed of a garland of oak leaves with the legend: Je tiens au coeur de la France, bears in one corner this patriotic signature: Fait par Emile Galle, de Nancy, en bon espoir.

Another word about the Gallé table. It must not leave France, it is covered with thousand franc notes.

Cheap furniture is represented above all by iron beds. The iron bed has nowadays won the right to be in the city, and it is quite possible to offer a guest in the country a room furnished in the devil's own way, with an iron bed, provided that it has a certain appearance. And we have managed to make some lovely ones, both very comfortable and eminently hygienic.

The all-metal bedsteads, made either of steel strips or of chains stretched by springs, have dethroned the odious bedstead of old, the natural refuge of all parasites, and which groaned pitifully every time you made a movement between your sheets.

The chairs are more picturesque than they ever were. It is for the dining room, the Henri II with the high backs, upholstered in embossed leather. This leather is more or less Cordoba. The lounge chair, if not upholstered, is made of golden rush, much too golden. It should be noted that we Americanise too much the accessory furniture which thus becomes too rich, or at least too brilliant.

Thus, basketry furniture, which is very fashionable, is uniformly gilded on all sides. It loses all its simple charm.

But furniture follows fashion, it does not make it. Let us not be too hard on this fashion, which has allowed us to find here enough masterpieces of taste and enough masterpieces of execution to furnish all the palaces of Europe.

And to furnish them with elegance, with richness, in the French style, to put it in a nutshell.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henry Anry.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie du Meuble


Galerie du Meuble à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Porte

Près de la porte d'entrée de l'Exposition des tapissiers décorateurs, est la porte du Meuble. Ce qui est assez naturel, du reste, puisque ces deux industries sont sœurs.

Pas toujours cependant.

Il est bien rare, si l'on meuble un salon, par exemple, entièrement à neuf, que le tapissier ne trouve que l'ébéniste a eu tort dans un tas de détails, tandis que ce dernier déclare que les tentures de son confrère ne font pas valoir ses meubles à lui. Cela tient à ce que dans le commerce le tapissier est devenu marchand de meubles et le marchand de meubles tapissier, et que ni l'un ni l'autre n'admettent la division de ce genre de commerce.

Mais dans la production, la séparation existe et ces deux grandes industries sont, l'une à côté de l'autre, de celles qui font la gloire de la capitale.

S'il a été dit jadis : « Il n'est bon bec que de Paris », il est toujours vrai de dire qu'il n'est beau meuble que de Paris. Je parle ici, bien entendu, du meuble produit aujourd'hui, avec le caractère de son époque et la mode du jour. Le meuble ancien vient d'ici ou d'ailleurs, c'est une chance d'archéologue ou de collectionneur de mettre la main sur une belle pièce. Mais l'ouvrier de Paris, seul au monde, sait produire le meuble de ce temps, à la fois artistique et confortable.

Et non pas artistique de cet art faux, qui produit par grosses de répétitions, une chaise Louis XIII ou un dressoir Henri II, mais artistique de l'art personnel de l'ouvrier, il faudrait mieux dire de l'artiste. Il sort de chez certains petits patrons, dont les ateliers sont perdus dans un coin de faubourg, des meubles qui ne sont imités de personne, qui ne copient aucun maître et devant lesquels on serait tenté de se mettre à genoux. Et cela est sorti lentement, après des mois de travail, de l'ébauchoir et des ciseaux d'un maître sculpteur, aidé d'un compagnon et d'un apprenti.

Malheureusement, la pièce ne fait qu'un saut de chez le marchand de meubles à l'étranger, d'où elle nous revient six mois après sous les espèces de désastreuses copies, qualifiées d'originaux quand le producteur allemand est franchement malhonnête, et de répétition quand il ne l'est qu'à moitié.

Aussi est-il intéressant de constater l'étonnement des visiteurs et surtout des demi-connaisseurs devant la superbe entrée du meuble.

Cette entrée qui conduit aux galeries de la classe 17 est une remarquable façade en divers bois. Le style général est loin d'être facile à définir; cela tient un peu du Louis XVI par la régularité des coupes. La grande baie carrée du milieu, d'une simplicité de très grand caractère, est encadrée dans une large bordure feuille de choux, qui fait très bel effet. L'ornementation est, somme toute, d'une grande sobriété; elle consiste principalement en deux statuettes en bois qui représentent vraisemblablement l'une le dessin et l'autre l'art de travailler le bois. Deux frontons surmontent les baies secondaires. Ils sont d'une aimable fantaisie. Ce sont des compositions en bois sculpté en demi-relief.

Dans le premier un amour ébéniste apporte une chaise Henri II à une jeune femme nue, qui a vraiment bien besoin de ce commencement de mobilier puisqu'elle est assise à terre. Néanmoins la coquetterie n'a pas attendu l'ameublement, et la jeune femme se contemple dans un miroir à main. Ce qui donne à supposer que le premier objet sorti des mains du premier ébéniste, fut le premier cadre du premier miroir.

Cela n'est peut-être pas d'une grande vérité historique et certainement les savants qui se sont occupés des origines de l'homme y trouveraient à reprendre, mais c'est d'une bonne exécution et tout à fait gracieux.

Le pendant est tout aussi agréable. Nous retrouvons le même amour d'ébéniste et la même jeune femme ; cette dernière est toujours aussi nue qu'au chapitre précédent. Peut-être attend-elle la galerie des tissus pour se vêtir. Mais le mobilier s'est augmenté : sans compter la chaise de tout à l'heure, sur laquelle du reste cette dame dédaigne de s'asseoir.'puis qu'elle est toujours primitivement couchée sur le sol, on aperçoit au deuxième plan une crédence qui pourrait bien être un secrétaire… — Déjà!...

L'amour apporte une chiffonnière, ce qui est véritablement un objet de luxe, la jeune femme n'ayant pas l'ombre d'un chiffon sur le corps. Elle, de son côté, partage son admiration entre le petit meuble que lui présente son fournisseur habituel et un coffret à bijoux qu'elle tient à la main.

Ces deux mignardises tempèrent dans une mesure très juste, la sévérité de cette grande porte et la ramènent à une note excellente.

Les tentures se composent d'une portière rouge et d'un baldaquin de même couleur, broché d'une inscription que l'on fera bien de reporter ailleurs, car elle altère l'harmonie de ce bel ensemble.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henry Anry.


Galerie

L'industrie du meuble est une des premières de Paris non seulement par son importance de production mais encore et surtout par la valeur artistique de ses produits. Pour le meuble de luxe, elle est sans rivale et les ébénistes étrangers ont dû presque toujours se résoudre à copier des modèles venus de Paris, lorsqu'ils ont voulu sortir des banalités conventionnelles du meuble courant.

Cette Haute valeur artistique tient à la fois au goût français et au soin qu'ont pris de le développer, les grands fabricants d'ébénisterie, qui sont les premiers intéressés. A côté de l'école professionnelle municipale du meuble (école Boulle), coexistent d'autres institutions patronales, des musées de documents, toute une organisation d'éducation artistique et manuelle qui garantit pour longtemps la supériorité de notre ébénisterie, à laquelle elle fournit chaque année un contingent déjeunes ouvriers, qui joignent une solide connaissance des choses de l'art, à une indiscutable sûreté de main.

La classe 17 qui comprend les meubles de luxe et les meubles à bon marché, ouvre sur la galerie de trente mètres par la magnifique porte que nous avons déjà décrite. Elle est la seule classe qui occupe une galerie dans toute sa longueur, depuis le vestibule central jusqu'à la façade du palais où elle ne laisse qu'une étroite lisière pour des pays d'extrême Orient. C'est dire l'importance de cette exposition Les organisateurs ont porté leurs efforts décoratifs sur l'entrée de leur classe. A l'intérieur ils ont supposé avec raison que les meuble? étaient suffisamment meublants et qu'il était inutile de garnir la galerie de pavillons ou de vitrines, dans lesquelles, du reste, les objets exposés n'eussent guère été à l'aise. Tout le pourtour est occupé par des compartiments qui forment de véritables chambres, pour exposer les ameublements complets. Au milieu,les meubles les plus variés sont disposés au mieux du coup d'œil. La galerie a son allée centrale coupée en deux par le grand pavillon Krieger, qui est comme qui dirait, l'autel de la divinité du dieu. C'est une sorte de buffet immense en bois naturel, avec de curieuses tentures de corde, qui comprend en bas deux salons et au premier étage un salon auquel on accède par un gracieux escalier. Je trouve, pour ma part, que le contenant est infiniment supérieur au contenu. Celui des salons d'en bas est banal et celui d'en haut consiste en un meuble de chêne, qui a le grand tort d'être garni en peluche vieux rose. Or la peluche,mise à la mode il y a quelques années par un peintre exotique, n'arrivera jamais, si bien employée qu'elle soit, à de grands effets de style.

L'allée centrale est presque entièrement occupée par les billards. Etant donné qu'un billard coûte cher et dure longtemps, qu'en outre ce n'est pas un meuble de première nécessité, on pourrait croire que la fabrication en est assez restreinte. Erreur, c'est l'une des branches les plus importantes et les plus florissantes de l'ébénisterie parisienne. Il faut avouer que la vue de deux cents billards en ordre de bataille n'est pas étonnamment récréative. Il faut, pour y trouver intérêt, les examiner de près.

Ainsi vous ne vous douteriez pas que l'on fabrique encore des billards à blouses, c'est-à-dire avec des trous aux quatre coins. Il paraît cependant qu'il y a des obstinés qui ne se sont pas convertis au carambolage. On fabrique pour eux des billards à trous, mais, pour contenter tout le monde, les billards peuvent se mettre au goût du jour et les blouses se ferment à volonté.

D'autres billards sont pour les gens pauvres, qui ne peuvent se payer le luxe d'une salle à manger et d'une salle à caramboler. Cric! et vous avez un billard, bandes américaines, etc.. Crac! et vous avez une table pour 18 couverts. Est-ce assez ingénieux. Eh bien,il y a mieux.

Voici le billard-bureau : Cric ! et vous pouvez vous livrer à votre passion pour le carambolage... Crac ! plongez-vous dans de profondes études. Evidemment celui-là a été inventé par un répétiteur de droit du quartier Latin.

Il est certain que tous les styles sont représentés dans cette longue galerie, mais l'on peut dégager ainsi la tendance générale.

Pour les salles à manger, les bibliothèques, la Renaissance triomphe : beaucoup de Henri II, beaucoup de flamand.

Pour les chambres à coucher, tout ou à peu près tout, est Louis XV.

Les salons sont également Louis XV, quoiqu'il y ait quelques belles tentatives de grand style Louis XIV.

Cela dit, on ne peut s'attendre à ce que nous décrivions en détail les centaines d'ameublements exposés; il faut se contenter de citer quelques pièces marquantes.
Voici une chambre à coucher Louis XV, en vernis Martin, qui est dans ce genre la pièce la plus remarquable de l'Exposition. Une autre chambre à coucher, style mauresque, dit l'écriteau qui vient de Marseille, mais en tout cas d'un joli aspect, a été achetée par Mme Carnot, probablement pour loger les cheiks algériens en déplacement à l'Elysée.

Une salle à manger comprend en pendants, le buffet et la cheminée Henri II, les deux morceaux sont superbes.

Une ravissante chambre de style qui est bien le plus coquet nid de jeune fille que l'on puisse rêver, est une chambre à coucher du XIIIe siècle, reconstituée d'après Viollet le Duc. Sous les couvertures de laine couleur naturelle rehaussée de filets bleu, le lit gothique bleu et blanc est orné d'ogives à filets d'or; la table est d'une élégante simplicité. Le grand fauteuil est, au plus haut point, évocateur de cette belle époque.

Tous ces ameublements de style, ne sont pas d'un prix exagéré, et pour mille francs vous pouvez avoir un lit de milieu et une armoire à trois corps, avec peintures décoratives. Le tout du plus beau Louis XV.

Il est cependant des pièces de haut prix, ce sont celles qui ont réuni la collaboration de maîtres de divers arts. Voici par exemple un meuble décoratif exécuté par une maison de Marseille. Le dessin en a été fourni par l'architecte Paul Sédille, les figures sont sculptées par Aliar, et les émaux, d'après Luc-Olivier Merson, ont été exécutés par F. de Courcy.

On comprend que le prix du meuble se soit quelque peu élevé. Il atteint certainement celui d'un coffre à bijoux son voisin, lequel coffre ne coûte que 60,000 francs. Le grand bureau Louis XV qui est au Louvre, je ne sais plus dans quelle galerie, mais que tout le monde connaît, a été copié deux fois. Une de ces répétitions vaut 50,000 francs. Quoique Louis XV, c'est un vrai bureau ministre.


Il y aussi les meubles exposés par Galle de Nancy. Galle est à la fois un industriel et un artiste, et par-dessus le marché un fantaisiste aimable. A la manière des artistes du moyen âge, il fait un peu de tout. Dans la galerie de 30 mètres il a exposé à la fois un kiosque d'ébénisterie, des céramiques et des cristaux. Je ne serais pas très étonné qu'il ait une statue et quelques toiles aux Beaux-Arts, et que l'on n'exécute de sa musique sur l'un des orgues de la galerie Desaix.

Il ne donne pas dans le meuble banal, aussi son exposition est-elle extrêmement intéressante.

Voici un cabinet en chêne. La matière première n'est point commune. C'est du chêne lacustre recueilli dans un étang du pays lorrain. Eh bien de ce meuble, Gallé a su faire un monument à la gloire de la vieille Gaule; il a l'art patriote, mais largement et intelligemment patriote. Les ornements sont empruntés au chêne et les panneaux, inspirés des poèmes antiques de Leconte de Lisle nous montrent
La pâle Ueldeda prophétesse de Sein,

ou bien symbolisent les

Beaux hymnes de la mer, doux murmures des, vents;

sur un autre

Les cerfs brament aux pieds des chênes radieux

tandis que le quatrième rappelle les « rocs d'Armor ».

Mais le triomphe de Galle est dans ses meubles en marqueterie. Il est dans le meuble ce que les symphonistes (?) sont dans la nouvelle littérature. Le sujet et le bois doivent s'accorder. Une jardinière qui s'appelle la flore exotique est toute incrustée de bois des îles. Le chef-d'œuvre de cette exposition est une pièce unique, admirable, qui certes ne sera déplacée dans aucun musée. C'est une grande table à épine formée de trois bandes noyer et prunier; celle du milieu en marqueterie traduit cette phrase de Tacite dans son De moribus germanorum :
« Germania omnis a Galliis Rhenoseparatur. La Germanie est entièrement séparée des Gaules par le Rhin. »

Sur les cartons du maître Prouvé, Galle a exécuté un tour de force de marqueterie, sans que les difficultés du travail aient altéré si peu que ce fût, l'énergique expression des personnages. Le pied, formé d'une guirlande de feuilles de chêne avec cette légende : Je tiens au cœur de la France, porte dans un coin cette patriotique signature : Fait par Emile Galle, de Nancy, en bon espoir.

Encore un mot sur la table Gallé. Elle ne doit pas sortir de France, la couvrît-on de billets de mille francs.

Le meuble bon marché est représenté surtout par des lits de fer. Le lit de fer a aujourd'hui conquis son droit de cité et l'on peut très bien, à la campagne, offrir à un invité une chambre meublée à la diable, avec un lit de fer, à condition qu'il ait un peu d'aspect. Et l'on est arrivé à en faire de ravissants, à la fois très confortables et éminemment hygiéniques.

Les sommiers tout en métal, formés soit de bandes d'acier, soit de chaînettes tendues par des ressorts, ont détrôné l'odieux sommier de jadis, refuge naturel de tous les parasites, et qui gémissait lamentablement chaque fois que l'on faisait un mouvement entre ses draps.

Les chaises sont plus pittoresques qu'elles n'ont jamais été. C'est pour la salle à manger, le Henri II avec les hauts dossiers, garnis de cuir gaufré. Ce cuir est plus ou moins de Cordoue. La chaise de salon, si elle n'est tapissée, est en jonc doré, beaucoup trop doré. Il est à observer que nous américanisons trop le meuble accessoire qui devient ainsi trop riche, du moins trop brillant.

Ainsi les meubles de vannerie, très à la mode, sont-ils uniformément dorés sur toutes les coutures. Ils y perdent tout leur charme de simplicité.

Mais le meuble suit la mode, il ne la fait pas. Ne lui soyons pas trop durs, à cette mode qui nous a permis de trouver rassemblés ici assez de chefs-d'œuvre de goût et assez de chefs-d'œuvre d'exécution pour meubler tous les palais d'Europe.

Et les meubler avec élégance, avec richesse, à la française, pour tout dire en un mot.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henry Anry.