World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Costa Rica

Costa Rica at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Although built entirely of iron, perhaps because of this, the pavilion of the Republic of Costa Rica is very attractive.

In the four corners are bronze statues of a soldier, a peasant, a locksmith and a blacksmith. You reach it by a small and very elegant staircase. But why does the view immediately fall on a collection of ophidians. You would think this was the land of snakes.

There are huge ones, and then there are tiny ones that look just as unsafe as the big ones. They may all be in alcohol, or stuffed, but at first it makes a strange impression.

The pavilion is very small.
In the first showcase is a whole collection of birds of all sizes with varied and lively plumage. Above is a beautiful collection of butterflies. Along the walls is a beautiful series of watercolours representing the flora of America, which is remarkable.
The other showcases contain more birds, especially parrots. The central showcase contains a series of dried plants from the country. It is a real drugstore, we can see the ipecac, the sarsaparilla and, above all, the mikania guaco, thanks to which we will be able to visit even living snakes with impunity. In fact, the Indians take the juice of these leaves and drink them in spoonfuls to protect themselves against the bite of venomous snakes, and in order to sustain the action they take them five or six times a month. In addition, they carry the leaves with them, claiming that the smell alone produces a stunning effect on snakes. American doctors hold this plant in high esteem. As for its effectiveness, it is only effective if the juice is absorbed before the bite, because afterwards there is no effect.

Nature does things well, by putting the remedy next to the evil, but it seems to me that she would have done even better if the remedy was curative and not only preservative.

Finally, there are large jars containing coffee and cocoa. The coffees are of the mocha variety. The cocoa is excellent. This culture is a real treasure, for if it requires five years of preparation, without profit, after that it produces a very abundant harvest, without the slightest fatigue, and if one took a little trouble to pull out the weeds, it would be something else, but the natives do not like work.

The weather in this little state is most agreeable; it is a perpetual spring.

Its import trade amounts to 18 million and its export to 26 million. Exports consist mainly of coffee, sugar, leather, cocoa, timber and minerals.

In the past, an isthmus was planned to cross this small state. It was the project of Messrs Blanchet, Lull, Menocal, Amnen, Belly. It ran from Gregtown on the Atlantic Ocean side to Brito Cove on the Pacific Ocean, through the states of Nicaragua and Costa Rica, over a distance of 292 kilometres with 25 locks. But the Panama project prevailed.

At the time, this was greatly welcomed in France, but alas, times have changed.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Louis Phalanchet.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Costa Rica


Costa Rica à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Bien qu'entièrement construit en fer peut-être même à cause de cela, le pavillon de la République de Costa Rica est très coquet.

Aux quatre coins sont des statues en bronze, un soldat, un paysan, un serrurier, un forgeron. On y arrive par un petit perron très élégant. Mais pourquoi la vue tombe-t-elle aussitôt sur une collection d'ophidiens. Ce serait à croire que c'est le pays des serpents.

Il y en a d'énormes, puis d'autres tout petits, qui ont l'air aussi peu rassurants que les grands. Ils ont beau être tous dans l'alcool, ou bien empaillés, cela produit tout d'abord une singulière impression.

Le pavillon est tout petit.
Dans la première vitrine est toute une collection d'oiseaux aux plumages variés et vifs, de toutes les grandeurs. Au-dessus une très belle collection de papillons. Le long des murs est une jolie série d'aquarelles représentant la flore de l'Amérique, qui est remarquable.
Les autres vitrines contiennent encore des oiseaux et particulièrement des perroquets. La vitrine centrale renferme une série de plantes desséchées du pays. C'est un véritable droguier, on y voit l'ipéca, la salsepareille et, surtout le mikania guaco, grâce auquel nous allons pouvoir rendre visite impunément aux serpents même vivants. En effet, les Indiens s'inoculent le suc de ces feuilles, ils en boivent également par cuillerées, pour se prémunir contre la morsure des serpents venimeux, et pour que l'action se soutienne ils en prennent ainsi cinq à six fois par mois. De plus ils portent de ces feuilles sur eux, prétendant que l'odeur seule produit un effet stupéfiant sur les serpents. Les médecins américains estiment beaucoup cette plante. Quant à son efficacité, elle n'a lieu que si on a absorbé le suc avant la morsure, car après, le résultat est nul.

La nature fait bien les choses, en mettant le remède à côté du mal, mais il me semble qu'elle eût encore mieux fait si le remède était curatif et non pas seulement préservatif.

Enfin de grands bocaux contiennent des cafés et des cacaos. Les cafés sont du genre moka. Les cacaos sont excellents. Cette culture est une véritable richesse, car si elle demande cinq années de préparation, sans profits, après cela elle produit une récolte très abondante, sans la moindre fatigue et si l'on se donnait un peu de mal pour arracher les mauvaises herbes, ce serait bien autre chose, mais les indigènes n'aiment pas le travail.

La température de ce petit État est on ne peut plus agréable, c'est un printemps perpétuel.

Son commerce d'importation s'élève à 18 millions et son exportation à 26 millions. L'exportation comprend surtout le café, le sucre, le cuir, le cacao, les bois, les minerais.

On fit autrefois un projet d'isthme qui traversait ce petit État. C'était le projet de MM. Blanchet, Lull, Menocal, Amnen, Belly. Il partait de Gregtown, du côté de l'Océan Atlantique jusqu'à l'anse de Brito dans l'Océan Pacifique, à travers les États de Nicaragua et Costa Rica, sur un parcours de 292 kilomètres avec 25 écluses. Mais le projet de Panama prévalut.

A l'époque, on s'en félicita beaucoup en France, mais hélas I les temps sont bien changés.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Louis Phalanchet.