World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Forges of Saint-Denis

manque image

A large wooden pavilion contains the exhibition of the Société des forges et ateliers de Saint-Denis.

It contains a huge first-class carriage of the state railway, which is very beautiful.

In the background, a rather interesting diorama shows the construction of large iron ships.

All around, is a state of the material executed: sails of the various railway companies, wagons, naval constructions (express boats of the Seine, pontoons, gunboats), shells, carriages, metal frameworks, metallurgical wires.

At the Exhibition, this company executed a quarter of the galleries of the Palais des Machines, and the frameworks of the buildings of the foreign sections on the Avenue de La Bourdonnais side.

Then, as you leave, you will find the small wooden chalet of the Compagnie Générale des Asphaltes, and the Goldenberg Pavilion from Saverne, which exhibits circular saws, various tools, household utensils, gardening equipment, marine equipment, etc.

Let us not forget a small kiosk, a tobacco shop, and finally, the Bouillon Duval.

And now that we have seen the whole of the left-hand side, let us retrace our steps to the Cail establishments. All along the bodywork galleries and the foreign sections, there are still some interesting exhibitions.

First of all, there are Belgian steam engines, locomotives, boilers, mills, wagons, rails, and a model of monorail.

The small pavilion of the Société de la Vieille Montagne, which exhibits its calamine ores, its wrought zinc objects, or art zinc.

Then the Belgian ceramic tiles. The exhibition of Belgian marbles is very beautiful. It consists of enormous slabs of polished marble, representing the various types, especially the slabs of white marble and black marble without the slightest defect; then the Saint-Anne marble which is the common greyish marble, the French Saint-Anne marble with more elongated veins; the red marbles, etc.

Then comes an exhibition of stoneware appliances for chemical products, refractory bricks for blast furnaces, crucibles, gas retorts, acid condensation columns, jugs, jars, vats, accumulator vessels. Then glazed bricks, Portland cement, refractory earth for cupola furnaces, Cardiff earth coal mines and anthracite mines.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - S. Favière.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Forges de Saint-Denis



Un grand pavillon en bois, contient l'exposition de la Société des forges et ateliers de Saint-Denis.

Elle contient un énorme wagon de première classe du chemin de 1er de l'Etat, qui est très beau.

Dans le fond, un diorama assez intéressant, représente la construction de grands bateaux en fer.

Tout autour, est un état du matériel exécuté : voilures des diverses compagnies de chemin de fer, wagons, constructions navales (bateaux express de la Seine, pontons, canonnières), obus, affûts, charpentes métalliques, fils métallurgiques.

Cette société a exécuté à l'Exposition, le quart des galeries annexes du Palais des Machines, et les charpentes des bâtiments des sections étrangères, côté de l'avenue de La Bourdonnais.

Puis, en sortant, on trouve le petit chalet en bois de la Compagnie générale des Asphaltes, et le Pavillon Goldenberg de Saverne, qui expose des scies circulaires, outils divers, ustensiles de ménage, jardinage, agrès pour la marine, etc.

N'oublions pas à la suite un petit kiosque, bureau de tabac, et pour finir, le Bouillon Duval.

Et maintenant que nous avons vu toute la partie gauche, revenons sur nus pas, jusqu'aux établissements Cail. Tout le long des galeries de la carrosserie et des sections étrangères, il y a encore quelques expositions intéressantes.

Ce sont d'abord les machines à vapeur belges, locomobiles, chaudières, broyeurs, wagonnets, rails, wagons, un modèle de monorail.

Le petit pavillon de la Société de la Vieille Montagne, qui expose ses minerais de calamine, ses objets en zinc ouvrés, ou en zinc d'art.

Puis le carrelage céramique belge. L'exposition des marbres belges est très belle. Elle se compose de plaques énormes en marbre poli, représentant les diverses sortes, surtout les plaques de marbre blanc et de marbre noir sans le moindre défaut; puis le marbre Saint-Anne qui est le marbre commun grisâtre, le marbre Saint-Anne français à veinures plus allongées; les marbres rouges, etc.

Ensuite vient une exposition d'appareils en grès, pour produits chimiques, de briques réfractaires pour hauts fourneaux, de creusets, de cornues à gaz, de colonnes de condensation par acides, de cruchons, jarres, cuves, vases d'accumulateurs. Puis les briques émaillées, ciment de Portland, terres réfractaires pour fourneaux de coupelle, les mines de charbon de terre de Cardiff et les mines d'anthracite.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - S. Favière.