World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Bartholdi fountain

Bartholdi fountain at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Bartholdi

It is almost impossible for you not to have noticed this fountain, which is located in the thirty-metre gallery, at the end that borders the Palais des Machines, i.e. between the two ramps of the grand staircase leading to the promenades that extend for more than a kilometre around the building.

Made of lead after Bartholdi's model, it is intended to decorate one of the public squares in the city of Bordeaux.

I do not undertake to say exactly whether it represents the Garonne on its way to the sea, or the Dordogne bringing its waters to the Garonne and uniting with it to form the Gironde, for there are state graces for the allegory, which has the right to be applied to just about anything one wants, but what I do know is that it shows a very ancient and highly seaworthy chariot, since it is made of a shell, with a very beautiful woman guiding, without seeming to find it difficult, four vigorous horses which are not very seaworthy, or at least they are shod like the first horses to come along.

This is the only thing they have in common with ordinary horses, for they are superb in their movement and attitude and form an admirable foreground to a monumental whole, which will be even more so when the fountain is in place and in operation, for the large plateau on which the chariot stands, and which rather ungracefully intersects the pyramidal group, will disappear under the waters to which it will serve as the first basin and which will then flow into the lower basin, partly masking the rocks, the base of the upper building.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Lucien Huard

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Fontaine Bartholdi


Fontaine Bartholdi à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Bartholdi

Il est peu près impossible que vous n'ayez pas remarqué cette fontaine, qui se trouve dans la galerie de trente mètres, à l'extrémité qui confine au Palais des Machines, c'est-à-dire entre les deux rampes du grand escalier conduisant aux promenoirs qui ont plus d'un kilomètre de développement autour de l'édifice.

Exécutée en plomb d'après le modèle de Bartholdi, elle est destinée à l'ornement d'une des places publiques de la ville de Bordeaux.

Je ne me charge pas de dire au juste si elle représente la Garonne se rendant à la mer, ou la Dordogne apportant le concours de ses eaux à la Garonne et s'unissant à elle pour former la Gironde, car il y a des grâces d'état pour l'allégorie, qui a le droit de s'appliquer à peu près à tout ce que l'on veut, mais ce que je sais, c'est qu'on y voit sur un char très antique et fortement marin puisqu'il est composé d'une coquille, une fort belle femme, guidant, sans avoir l'air de trouver cela difficile, quatre vigoureux chevaux qui n'ont pas le pied bien marin, du moins sont- ils ferrés comme les premiers chevaux venus.

C'est d'ailleurs la seule chose qu'ils aient de commun avec les chevaux ordinaires, car ils sont superbes de mouvement et d'attitude et forment admirablement le premier plan d'un ensemble monumental, et qui le sera encore bien plus quand la fontaine sera en place et en activité, car le grand plateau sur lequel est le char et qui coupe assez disgracieusement le groupe pyramidant disparaîtra sous les eaux auxquelles il servira de première vasque et qui, de là, couleront dans le bassin inférieur en masquant en partie les rochers, base de l'édifice supérieur.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Lucien Huard